Proton X50 Auto Park Assist – perpendicular parking entry, and parallel entry and exit of parking spaces

A media preview for the Proton X50 has revealed that its suite of driver assistance systems will include Auto Park Assist, which will actively control the throttle, brakes, steering and gear selection to aid the driver in manoeuvring into a parking space. The system will help manoeuvre the vehicle into perpendicular parking spots, as well as both into and out of parallel parking spaces, says Proton.

This comes as part of the Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) in the Flagship variant of the X50 which offers Level 2 semi-autonomous driving, with functions such as autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, auto high beam and blind spot monitoring with a door opening warning.

The top variant of the B-segment SUV is also set apart from the rest of the X50 range with a higher output (177 PS/255 Nm) version of the 1.5 litre turbocharged direct-injection three-cylinder engine, while the engine in the other variants uses port injection and makes 150 PS and 226 Nm, the latter version unique to Malaysia.

In all variants, the engine is mated to a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic that has been developed in conjunction with Volvo, and which also serves in the larger X70.

Stay tuned as we continually update with more details on the Proton X50.

GALLERY: Proton X50 drive preview, Sepang International Circuit

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Sam Loo on Sep 30, 2020 at 10:58 am

Tahniah Friz!! On your new spanking Proton X50.
    What color u getting bruh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • lilytan on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:13 am

Kinda gimmicky. Unless the car can drop u and go find parking by itself @ valet style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
    • Brian on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:47 pm

Gimmicky, perhaps but… it’s something you find in nearly all top range luxury branded cars which touts some level of autonomous drive. After all, this is part of Level 2 UN requirements for autonomous driving, so is it purely window dressing? Not at all.

• Glorious day for John on Sep 30, 2020 at 6:49 pm

Again in their typical fashion, panic mode creeps in, overwhelmingly asshurted ‘reaction’ from rival faction. Reality really hit like an arrow and it is really hurt. Steps in with hollow & lowest diversion ‘too gimmicky’ tactic. Malu2 to admit the intended target has raised the golden bar so high and the game already left them far behind. Their hand are tight with no advantages left to strike. Expecting ahead – Glorious days in & days out to encounter, to read & to ‘sp.t’ on similarly reactions.

• Easy when big china step-bro did all the work for you.

• Norlia on Oct 01, 2020 at 1:12 am

It is when you don’t see what Proton did, is where they did it well. Kudos to Proton!

• johnweak on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:23 am

in 2021, no one will know basic parking skills anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • AliAhKauRamasamy on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:42 am

A very useful feature especially for young drivers. We love it.

• M & B on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:52 am

Tahniah Proton

• Why this one is under ‘International News’ category?

• MeToo on Sep 30, 2020 at 11:59 am

So now these driver wont park like an a$$holes?

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:53 pm

A$$hole mentality drivers will still be a$$holes, irrespective of any parking assist or driver aids.

• Damon Lee on Sep 30, 2020 at 2:43 pm

Well for the X50 driver at least, can’t vouch for the Perodua Rocky driver that has no advanced parking features to rely on….

• Brian on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Uh-oh… someone will be seething with envy that his favourite brand did not provide all these advanced gadgets in their own cars sold here…

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 30, 2020 at 12:50 pm

Kopi O lesen drivers rejoice. Now everyone can park like a boss.

• Gabriel on Sep 30, 2020 at 1:48 pm

Please be less than RM100k.

• Tee shao peng on Dec 30, 2020 at 5:47 am

Hai proton, when will you update your proton x70 to level 2 autonomous driving and equipped with park assist? I am waiting before booking done. X50 too small for my liking. Please faster update before i consider to buy CRV.