2020 Honda City – 5,000 bookings received so far, Honda Malaysia targeting monthly sales of 3,000 units

During the launch of the 2020 Honda City, Honda Malaysia revealed that it received 5,000 bookings for the new fifth-generation B-segment sedan prior to the car’s official introduction today.

At point of launch, the City is available in three 1.5 litre petrol variant forms, these being the Grade S, E and V, but the eventual line-up will consist of four models when the RS e:HEV hybrid makes its appearance in January next year.

At present, the company says it is looking to shift 3,000 units of the car per month, but this will increase by 500 units to 3,500 units a month when deliveries of the RS begin, making for an annual sales volume of 42,000 units.

The petrol variants are all powered by a new 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC i-VTEC engine offering 121 PS at 6,600 rpm and 145 Nm at 4,300 rpm. Paired with a CVT, the 1.5L City will do the 0-100 km/h run in 10.2 seconds, on the way to a top speed of 196 km/h. That’s for the S and E variants. The V is a shade slower at 10.4 seconds, with a 195 km/h top whack.

As for the upcoming RS, which we sampled briefly last month during a visit to HM’s production facility in Pegoh, Melaka, it’s powered by an intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) system. There’s a 98 PS and 127 Nm 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine, but that doesn’t power the car directly.

Instead, the unit functions primarily as a generator with the help of an integrated electric motor, which also acts as a starter. A second, larger motor, which churns out 108 PS and 253 Nm, provides motive power. Performance-wise, the hybrid RS is the fastest sprinter in the City range, accomplishing the 0-100 km/h sprint in 9.9 seconds. However, there’s a trade-off, and that’s with its top speed, which is 173 km/h.

Watch our walk-around video and read our 2020 Honda City launch report as well as our spec-by-spec comparison for the full details on all the variants. Also, find out more about the accessories packages that are available for the car.

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City RS e:HEV

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.5L V

GALLERY: 2020 Honda City 1.5L E with Modulo Package 1.0 bodykit and options

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Maria on Oct 13, 2020 at 6:21 pm

Roadtax rm20 only, and that voluptuous 253Nm.

• dream_125 on Oct 13, 2020 at 8:49 pm

And powerful 109PS, which is only 41PS less than X50.

• Copy and Paste II on Oct 13, 2020 at 10:30 pm

Copy and Paste II: “ 9.9 seconds and 173km/h? Aiyooo….cannot beat Camry la based on accelerations and top speed. Sudah tipu lah to customers from Honda Malaysia”

• Li Peng on Oct 14, 2020 at 4:51 pm

More slow = more save

• No1 car in Malaysia on Oct 15, 2020 at 7:20 am

Smart choice. Those who cant afford will go to X50, hope one day they can upgrade to sushi.

• suomynona on Oct 14, 2020 at 10:42 am

Eh wait, the top spec mild hybrid also 1.5 kan? So its actually rm90?

• Amran on Oct 14, 2020 at 3:50 pm

If JPJ ever amends roadtax structuring tier to power delivery, habislah all these RS hybrid owners have to pay D-segment roadtax price.

• Birdman on Oct 13, 2020 at 6:28 pm

5000 bookings? Soon more and more will cancel booking because of specs and quality issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Karam Singh on Oct 13, 2020 at 6:56 pm

Already many are eyeing for x50.

But I will ditch both for Nissan Almera Turbo. Yumm yummy.

Unless the City RS can do 0-100 in 6 seconds, unfortunately not any faster than 9 seconds. Disappointing when looking at the giant torque figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Mason on Oct 13, 2020 at 7:14 pm

20K proton x50 rambutan VS 5k honda city durian.

• newme on Oct 13, 2020 at 9:47 pm

Even more cancelling X50 when people cannot get parts and not to mention the usual quality issues. Don’t forget, it’s a Proton with China quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Oh I’m waiting for resident trolls to come out and accuse PaulTan of working for Honda. Oh wait, it is their beloved Japs so not even a murmur from them.

But the moment Proton launches X50….

• Dong gor on Oct 13, 2020 at 6:41 pm

At this price for a day to day car with Japanese reliability… Can book lor. Only factor not to do so is perhaps an suv is in mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • vivizurianti on Oct 13, 2020 at 7:08 pm

Booking is pretty easy, like ABC. Just go to Honda showroom. Even a person without driving license or without proof of monthly income can book.

Like my fren used to say “In Malaysia, you can book (almost anything) just with air liur”.

• Jason on Oct 13, 2020 at 7:15 pm

5000 disappointments on their faces soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • ccy7218 on Oct 13, 2020 at 8:22 pm

I observed that Honda is doing a good job in staying competitive in the Malaysian car market even after launch of X50, i mean specs are upgraded yet the price is more or less the same, unlike Toyota prices keep on going up without specs enhancement, GOOD JOB Honda!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
    • Unfair prices on Oct 13, 2020 at 9:53 pm

Yeah, Honda is trying to cheat for making price even lower than non-national car. This must be something not very accuracy. In other countries, Honda sells expensive than other Japanese cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Doing great job? You mean Honda Malaysia has already making efforts for removing specs to make prices even more cheaper.

• Not Honda dream on Oct 13, 2020 at 10:32 pm

In own country, Japan, we hardly see any Honda car on the road.. Do you know the reason?

But only in boleh land, many of H car owners feedback many quality issues. Check it out at Honda Malaysia FB comments.

• agreed, what i saw is country in south east asia honda car everwhere but like others country u only can saw civic and crv.

• boring car…boring price/spec…next!
    x50 incoming….booking already >20k

• The ultimate benchmark car in Malaysia, built in Alor Gajah, Melaka. BOOOOOOOOOOORIIIIIIIIINGGGGGGGGGG AF car.

• The amount of hate towards Honda in this page.. It’s quite sad really. I’m no Honda fanboy but every person has their own personal taste on what car to buy. Also, why compare X50 sales with City? X50 is totally a brand new B-segment SUV coming out from Proton so sure enough it’s gonna eat the City in sales. Who wouldn’t want to try something new? design wise, this City looks more mature compare to the previous generation and IMO they could have done a little bit better with the safety features. And for the people complaining about the lower specs without AEB. If you drive safely and concentrate on the road, do you really need that?it’s like you guys expect the car to save you from everything. Top speed too, i chuckle everytime I see people saying “wah the RS spec only can go 173km/h rather than petrol variant going up to 196km/h”. Do you think the City is a B-segment made for track use? Noones gonna give a damn how fast you drive only your own ego. In the end, my conclusion is, Malaysians banyak pattern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Lim 2 on Oct 14, 2020 at 4:43 pm

This page is full of the same trolls talking to each otherr. Dont mind them.

• You mean only for same trolls from honda always talking to each other, but not other brands

• Bolster on Oct 14, 2020 at 7:04 pm

So you say many hated towards Honda in this page? It is true. Why? Because honda SA are the first one for spending their free time for bashing and attacking proton and other brands by talking fake feedbacks about proton spare parts problem and always gave fake info. By the way, it is also true that X50 can still able to compare with City since both of City and X50 are also B-segment. Come on la. Everyone also doing the same thing. It is very common.

• I can’t wait to see China BYD car in Malaysia market especially it transcend fully EV technology.We still think ICE fossil fuels engine and embbeded with hybrid tech to look fun and sophiscated without much tech improvement.By then all Japs and local car maker will lose the battle.When Malaysians find out it safe their pocket penny.

• Yes, honda will lose the battle and will be game over soon. Even GM has already formed Honda. Meaning Honda will not design anymore. Habisla to Honda

• Becareful Lim or else our resident troller might just accuse you of being someone else, perhaps even being me. haha.