Another new special vehicle registration plate series has been announced. Universiti Malaysia Kelantan is the latest institution to come up with a special plate, badging its UMK series under a Untuk Malaysia Ku tagline.
Bids for number plates in the series, which run from 1-9999, began on November 23 and runs until November 30, and these are open to individuals as well as companies. Bidding can only be made through a dedicated uBIDA online system.
The highest valued plate is UMK 1, which starts at RM100,000, with subsequent single-digit plates starting from RM20,000. Meanwhile, two-digit plates are priced from RM5,000, while those for double-digits (UMK 11, 22 etc) start from RM15,000.
Universiti Malaysia Kelantan is the latest in a line of universities to offer special series number plates since the provision to sell such plates – to raise funds for themselves – was given by the transport ministry last year.
Last month, International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM) and Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) also released their own special run of number plates. Earlier this year, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM) and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) announced tenders for their special plates, while Universiti Malaysia Terengganu (UMT) did so for its series last year.
Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.
Hahaa., I thought UMK kelantanese promote X50 China Car
Anyway, this is right. Don’t racist.
Work together. Work smart, work hard.
Only ones who are racist will think racist thoughts.
#NoRacism
Now officers can endowed their Roll Royce Phantom, Ford Mustang, Range Rover and Audi RS… with special no plate too. Tax the rich so no problem #NoRacism
Sinkie officers too, goes to show anybody whether here or there will do it if given the opportunity.
inb4 individual with criminal records and member of secret society can apply.
I feel sorry for public univ. Not getting enough funding from gomen and had to sell plates to survive.
Universities migrated from MOE to MOT ka?
Let’s wait (UM,UKM,UKL,UPM,USM,UTM,UTAR,UUM,UMP …)
60years gomen failure, Malaysia in doldrums..
Ini semua salah dulu punya Mentri Pendidikan potong biaya untuk pengajian tinggi sehingga Dato Liow Tiong Lai perlu buat kempen derma untuk uni2 swasta.
Very soon,students and lecturers may have to sell roti chanai to raise funds.
The gomen should lelong those seized luxury cars from the immigration corrupted dudes,and give to deserving universities short of funding.
Terimo kasih atas support demo belako ….
Kelantan need maney
I will wait for COVID19 or COV 19 plate.
nice try UMK
if sell it as universiti malaysia kelantan, surely nobody wanna buy it.
make it to “Untuk Malaysia Ku”…. such patriotic, very malaysia, much wow :)
Demo kenal bare
ah yes, sell more of these vanity plates.
the market is so flooded now that last time single and double digit is quite rare, now is like everywhere.
i play number plates, i play alphabet one. less alphabet better.
these noobs don’t understand the game.
my 2 alphabet plate JL XXX will be worth more than your WXX 1 or FU 6 plates anytime…..
eventually i want to get my hands on a sarawak plate like J XX S.
no one cares ;)
Vanity it may be but at least they are legally sold and the money is taken from those who could afford them.
Elon Musk of Tesla and SpaceX fame spent 1 week in one very top American Uni… like the former second richest man Bill Gates who was a Uni-dropout. BTW Elon Musk was born in South Arica and also a citizen of Canada and USA
UMK 8481
ah now we truly know the old money making scheme gov is back.
You do realised Anthony Loke has never stopped it right? Even after promising to do just that.
Per below.
well its another money grabbing cina there now, if the minister was indian it wont be an issue
Cash is king! LOL
is it a trend that universities sell number plates? i don’t think singapore does that.