Geely considering multi-brand subscription service

As many of you will know by now, Geely has an enviable corral of brands that includes Volvo, Polestar, Lynk & Co, smart, Lotus and, yes, Proton. Now, the company is looking to leverage its might as it’s considering a multi-brand subscription service that provides access to any of its cars, reports Autocar.

Speaking at the Financial Times’ Future of the Car event, Lotus executive director of corporate strategy and product management, Uday Senapati, said that any such proposal is still very much in the discussion phase. However, he added, “When you’re part of a big group, it’s natural you will look at what could be done together. It’s an obvious thing to look at.”

Posed with the fact that the average car spends 96% of the time parked, Senapati said, “For Lotus, that number is probably higher. It’s really a Sunday summer car for a niche of enthusiasts who adore it for that. We can change that in the future, both by making our cars more useful and moving into different segments, but there are opportunities in sharing too.”

But he also mentioned that a sharing service won’t be a be-all and end-all for car ownership, adding that there will still be a future for traditional purchasing methods. “Car ownership is here to stay, I believe,” he said. “Cars aren’t just a commodity for many people; they mean more, and that will always be the case.”

Car subscription services are certainly on the rise, with a Global Market Insights report recently projecting that 20% of car journeys will be made using these services by 2026, Autocar wrote. Closer to home, several car brands have already begun offering subscriptions for their cars, although it remains to be seen if these services have any traction with the buying public.

So, what do you think – are you guys excited about the prospect of driving a Proton X50 one day and a Volvo XC90 the next? Sound off in the comments after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 25yrsOld on Dec 03, 2020 at 12:18 pm

If cheaper than Renault Subscription
    Then it still can get some subscriber.

https://paultan.org/2019/07/22/renault-subscription-now-open-to-the-public-malaysia/

• MyNewToy on Dec 03, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Glad to see Lotus is moving forward since Danny Bahar as CEO.

• Hantu Raya on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:41 pm

Current CEO of Lotus cars is Phil Popham.

• Li Peng on Dec 04, 2020 at 2:16 pm

Much credits to CEO Aslam Farikullah that enabled Lotus to make profits again after decades.

• Mason on Dec 03, 2020 at 12:23 pm

Driving Proton X50 to work Mon – Fri… balik kampung with Volvo XC90 on Sat.. and Sunday trackday in Lotus Exige.

• newme on Dec 03, 2020 at 12:38 pm

Where is mercedes logo.
    We always see geely, proton,merc > all.

Malu sikit wei. Tak habis2 nak dekatkan diri ngan orang lain.

• dumbyou 3 strikes out on Dec 03, 2020 at 5:32 pm

Masih lebih baik dari sesetengah orang yang taksub sampai tahap memuja Jepun…

• PEJUANG on Dec 03, 2020 at 10:07 pm

this triggered guy asyik obssessed with newme LOL

anyway, the new Proton logo actually looks sleek there with the other logos.

• Celup King on Dec 04, 2020 at 10:12 am

Acorrding to Geely, their expanding cosmos now comprised of too many European constellations so they could not fit all into their branding.

• Rahsia on Dec 12, 2020 at 8:59 pm

Geely doesn’t buy Mercedes you idiot.

• Rahsia on Dec 12, 2020 at 9:02 pm

Geely doesn buy Mercedes you idiot

• John Gagal on Dec 03, 2020 at 1:03 pm

Proton will get zero subs

• donno on Dec 03, 2020 at 5:39 pm

human relationship with their car is more than just driving it.

it is much 2 more than that

• Lee Cun Giler on Dec 03, 2020 at 9:03 pm

Only some tho, to others cars are an appliance like rice cooker or microwave oven.

• If the price is right. I do not see why not.