REVIEW: Volvo XC90 T8 vs Toyota Alphard in Malaysia

After putting the 2020 Volvo XC90 facelift against the G05 BMW X5 xDrive45e, Hafriz Shah had a thought – the XC90 makes for a great alternative to traditional seven-seat MPVs like the Toyota Alphard and Vellfire, at least here in Malaysia. You would think that he had lost his mind, but we’re willing to bet he wasn’t the first to draw such a comparison.

Earlier this year, UMW Toyota Motor began selling the 2020 Alphard and Vellfire. Both models are fully imported, but gets additional kit and features, primarily the Toyota Safety Sense (TSS). This includes Pre-collision System (PCS), Lane Departure Alert (LDA), Lane Tracing Assist (LTA) and Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) – All Speed. There’s also a new nine-inch AVX infotainment system with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support.

No changes have been made to the powertrain, but the added features do bump up prices slightly, at least at the time the announcement was made (February 2020). With the government’s SST exemption factored in, pricing for the Vellfire starts from RM368k, whereas the Alphard goes for RM447k. The updated Alphard Executive Lounge has yet to be introduced.

Meanwhile, in the SUV corner, the XC90 goes for RM391,150 – right smack in the middle of the two Japanese MPVs. It’s far more powerful, though, featuring a twincharged 2.0 litre Drive-E engine that’s augmented with an electric motor. Together, they crank out 407 hp and 640 Nm of torque, good for a century sprint time of 5.6 seconds. An onboard 11.6 kWh lithium-ion battery provides 50 km of pure electric range.

So, has Hafriz Shah truly lost his mind, or do you agree with what he says? Let us know, below.

GALLERY: 2020 Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription Plus

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Alphard 3.5 facelift
GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Vellfire 2.5 facelift

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Truckers on Oct 09, 2020 at 5:34 pm

Even PT fallen into the trap of comparing SUV with MPV. Orz. Should have compared XC90 with Land Cruiser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Firdaus on Oct 09, 2020 at 6:42 pm

Hard to beat 2018 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire rm120k only, bangga & selesa balik kampung…

• Rear Seat Airbags on Oct 09, 2020 at 8:02 pm

Both looks dated. Next

• Exactly.
        Might as well look to the CX-8 or CX-9. those are proper.

• Michael Yap on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:44 am

Alphard is the top car rental in Malaysia for festive seasons. Everybody like to rent ALphard to balik kampung to show off to Opah they have done well in bandar.

I see so many Alphards with just 4 people inside balik kampung.

Now lately got so many XC90 rentals too.

• Angry Voters on Oct 10, 2020 at 1:13 pm

They are smart to manage their money. Instead of buying a depreciating asset, they instead rent them.

• Datuk on Oct 09, 2020 at 5:37 pm

XC90 is a good alternative to the sempit GLB 7 seater, not Alphard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 09, 2020 at 5:42 pm

Nah people who are looking for MPVs will not cross shop with a SUV. The tall ceiling height alone is a major factor in buying one and it can lug a lot more stuff than what a SUV can do. I own both a SUV and MPV at the moment and I’m always picking the MPV (my kids will also pick the MPV when I ask which one to go on a holiday) for long trips or when I need to carry large items. The SUV is just there for when I need to travel on crap roads or when I know the location I’m going to always floods. My only regret is when I was shopping for a SUV back then there wasn’t any powerful ones until the Tiguan Allspace R line came along recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • chauffeur ride – it’s MPV win, not the compact interior 7 seater SUV.

• Lolwhut? on Oct 09, 2020 at 9:00 pm

Shud buy Sorento 2.2D 230ps 500Nm…power bro

• madmoz on Oct 09, 2020 at 9:47 pm

Aiyoyo agreed – this comparison tak bagus lah.
      Comparing the Alphard to a luxury sedan like an E-Class would be better because as you mentioned, a person who wants an MPV will not ever be looking at an SUV, price point be damned.

It is hard to argue with the sliding back doors, high ceiling and low floor of a tweaked up van if you have elderly and little kids. An SUV just doesn’t have that.

Case in point – I have a CRV as the family car, a City for the elderly parents to do their market runs and a c300 coupe as my daily driver. We got a Serena at the beginning of the year (which is anything but exciting or luxurious – utilitarian and boring to drive would be the best way to describe it) but it has ended up as being the most used set of wheels. Easy access for the parents and kids, plus it fits everything including the kitchen sink. The CRV has been sold, and the City is next as gramps actually drives the MPV nowadays.

Even if I were to get them a new runabout, SUVs won’t ever be considered – the higher floor makes it difficult for creaky knees. And sliding doors… best thing since sliced bread really. It’ll be a MPV upgrade or a small sedan/hatch.

These MPVs are so ubiquitous on our roads for a reason, and it’s a pity MBM doesnt market their V Class here as the Japanese makes seem to have the market cornered. Variety is the spice of life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • XHubby on Oct 09, 2020 at 5:44 pm

Agreed with Hafriz Shah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
  • newme on Oct 09, 2020 at 6:02 pm

This is new level of kipasing.

• Spin Too Much on Oct 09, 2020 at 6:12 pm

Naw. Hafriz hasn’t gone of the cliff… YET! Still not as crazy as other pipul comparing SUV with their favourite pickup truck! Now that is totally lost their minds!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 09, 2020 at 7:07 pm

TLDR no

• Ben yap on Oct 09, 2020 at 7:14 pm

Lol… Comparing apple with orange. I might as well compare my Honda civic turbo with Nissan Serena hybrid.

• Space all the way Alphard/vellfire. XC90 cannot beat that

• alldisc on Oct 10, 2020 at 3:41 pm

Not to forget – captain seats in the middle. The clear choice of CEOs, politicians and millionaires.

• Kirikanan on Oct 10, 2020 at 11:41 pm

I known everyone will hentam me…resale value!!! Toyota wins

• Zas Zahari on Jan 02, 2021 at 9:27 am

Definitely…XC90 will be selling at bargain vehicle after 5yrs of posession.

• Busdriver on Oct 11, 2020 at 12:06 am

Space all the way Hiace Van/Bus ! Crampy Alphard cannot beat that!

• alphard…u want to be seen chauffeur in it

volvo xc90…if u want to drive yourself

• Spot ON hafriz! Dont understand msian taste…those vans are considered extinct species in most major cars market continents ie North American/ europe …..but here ppl are still buying those vans…weird taste msian ppl while the rest of world are SUV mad & most wont be caught dead in those vans…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • newme on Oct 09, 2020 at 11:34 pm

This point want to compare with North America hah? This type of van is for Asian countries, Malaysia, Japan, Korea and yes, your favourite country, China.

• 25yrsOld on Oct 10, 2020 at 9:01 am

American are those who started the love for MPV, they call it minivans, e.g Toyota Sienna, Honda Odyssey, Dodge Grand caravans, Chrysler Town & Country, Ford transit.

Otherwise, Ford F150 and Toyota Tundra truck sell more than SUV

North america/Europe? What is so special about thier oldies culture?

• Minivans on Oct 10, 2020 at 2:02 pm

Yeap, american start the minivan back in 70s but nowadays none of yank wanted to be seen in one of those vans….basically the minivans are instinct in the states, left few modls like toyota sienna/ Honda Odyssey & kia sedona(ie kia grand carnival here in msia…..the sienna & us odyssey are not sold here & those aplard/hellfire are not even sold in north america & europe…nobody want to be caught dead in a van….so soccer mum & un cool…) rest of the world except few low class asian countries only still buying this vans….

• Lolwhut? on Oct 09, 2020 at 9:02 pm

Shud buy Sorento 2.2D 230ps 500Nm…power bro

• I prefer a mitsubishi delica if it comes with triton’s diesel engines.

• Not really an apple to apple comparison. Other than both being 7 seaters, they serve different needs and purposes.
    However, interesting comparison and all those shopping for a luxury 7 seater should look into considering their needs and purpose.
    Simply for me, if Iam the driver it’s the XC90, if Iam being driven as a passenger, it’ll be the Alphard / Vellfire

• Joseph S on Oct 10, 2020 at 8:46 am

Interesting comparison, and fully agree. Arriving in an XC90 feels much better than the Alphard. Plus the T8 churns an impressive 400hp.

• Walley on Oct 10, 2020 at 9:07 am

Not right comparison. Volvo vs Toyota? I just feel like camry vs Volvo S60. Volvo far better in terms performance, luxury, logo, sound system and etc. Please compare alphard with mazda cx 8 even though I feel cx 8 still slightly luxury

• I’ve been looking at the Alphard/Vellfire/Kia grand Carnival before to complement my ageing D segment sedan. But settled on the XC90 to replace my sedan instead and never bothered with MPVs for now. Maybe until my kids grow bigger and need more space.

• T. Suleiman on Oct 10, 2020 at 3:29 pm

Yeah.. quite lost his mind. Two different animal here.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 10, 2020 at 4:53 pm

Haf, how about doing a comparison between the 7 seaters SUVs?

XC90 Vs CX9 Vs H9

• Datuk on Oct 11, 2020 at 9:42 am

Betul, many can compare

Volvo XC90 vs Toyota Innova vs Mazda CX8 vs Toyota Fortuner vs VW Tiguan Allspace vs Mitsu Xpander

• Jonathan Khan on Oct 10, 2020 at 8:22 pm

Volvo xc90 looks very uncle in comparison
    Faded very fast..

Waiting to see a new generation of it

• Darrean on Oct 10, 2020 at 9:39 pm

Hafriz lost his mind a long time ago :P

• Seriously guys, if youre looking for a comfortable 7/8 seater..please stop wasting your time & money on suv.
    2-3kids + maid, straight on vellfire/alph/starex/grand carnival. Ive been in this tricky situation..suv is more into design/more macho (ego actually), unless u got 1-2 kids without maid then please go for xc90/cx8/new tiguan/fortuner/xtrail/pajero. Im now stuck with a 7 seater suv & a vellfire.
    MUST go for mpv if space & comfort your concern. FYI..Honda odyssey is an mpv with suv space…less space volume. But again price is also another factor

• MPV….?
    So far the best is Honda Elysion. Go and test it guys…

XC90 is a go anywhere SUV. Cant compare!

• Navin on Oct 11, 2020 at 6:51 pm

Hi how about a comparison between xc90 and glb hafriz?

• Abe Mat on Oct 11, 2020 at 11:55 pm

if u just looking for more space go for vellfire/alphard, but if needs some powerful car with latest tech and PHEV ready come to papa car XC90.. :)

• hellfire on Oct 18, 2020 at 10:06 pm

vell/alphard has more road presence then xc90

• Brian on Jan 11, 2021 at 9:47 am

Since when did vans become luxury?
    What’s next? Luxury minibus?
    Alphard is functional as a Hiace.

• Ollie on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:22 pm

The Malaysian car market has never and will never be about how good a car is. Only 10% of buyers care. 90% buy cars only for badge bragging rights. Upper-mid class buyers buy Alphards not cos its good, cos they neighbours have and if not their kids will be laughed at at school. Mercs and BMW outsell Audi for badge. Good to have reviews etc but 90% of the buying decision is based on brand only.

• Kumpul duit & buy proper 7/8 seater mpv like serena >> vellfire/alphard. Buy 7 seater suv later regret space not enough especially if all 7 seats occupied. Personal experience