Taking delivery of my own Proton X50 – Hafriz Shah

It’s no secret that I booked a Proton X50 Flagship for myself – making it three new Protons in the last two years, joining the X70 Premium CBU and Iriz Standard MT. Here’s a video of me taking delivery of my new B-segment SUV, including why I bought it plus plans for mods and fixes.

In short, I needed a replacement for my Peugeot 208 GTi, which has gone over five years. Having owned an out-of-warranty Fiat Bravo recently, it’s not an experience I’d want to go through again, let’s just leave it as that. As clichéd as it sounds, you can’t really put a price on having peace of mind. Well, actually you can – the price of a new car, that is ;)

An SUV fits my needs as well, with a coupe already serving as my daily. While I do believe that having a two-door as your primary car makes absolute sense, the rare times that you do need rear seats or a bigger boot do come more often than you may first think. I’ve learnt it the hard way.

Citric Orange wasn’t my first colour choice for the X50 either. I picked red at first, until I saw it in the flesh under direct sunlight. Too bright and flat, I thought, so orange became the next best choice. There’s a story behind the number plate too, which you can hear in the video above.

So, do you think I’ve made the right decision with the X50? Let me know in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Skim Cepat Kaya on Dec 30, 2020 at 4:11 pm

That’s right hafriz.

1 car cannot hit all the jackpot.
    Every cars have pros and cons.

Buy more car, then enjoy more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Dec 30, 2020 at 5:35 pm

Congrats…you deserve it

• Ah Kow on Dec 30, 2020 at 6:43 pm

3118. Konpom hit all the jackpot!

• Proton Geli on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:38 pm

Nothing Proton or national about it.

“Proton” is nothing but a reseller of China cars that benefits China’s economy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
          • Amran on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:12 am

I rather give money to china economy that giving money to japan economy but receives junks in return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
          • Afeeq on Dec 31, 2020 at 1:43 pm

True, in the end you only helping Chinese economy and tbh China doesn’t exactly have a good human rights record at the moment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
          • Celup King on Jan 01, 2021 at 1:35 am

Human rights? Your in the wrong blog dude. This is an AUTOMOTIVE BLOG, not for your HUMAN RIGHTS BLOG. We only care about OUR rights to get a decent car for our money and China is giving us just that. Japan have been ripping us off for a very long time. That should be against OUR HUMAN RIGHTS right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 30, 2020 at 8:59 pm

Should take next month. Still SST-free but 2021 car

• Haf bro has had Fiat and Pijot and Mesidis, u think he cares so much about 2021 RV ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
          • TopsyBoxyTurvy on Dec 31, 2020 at 1:05 am

Haf bro got it right. way better then MB GLA200 244K…

• Albert Yap on Dec 31, 2020 at 10:07 am

If you truly likes car and enjoy driving…Stop all this RV bullshit and poor man mindset will you?

• Hannah on Dec 31, 2020 at 8:55 pm

Cannot trade in change new car?
            How to enjoy, aged car are dinasuaur

• RV base on year of manufacturing not registration.

• Suggestion to honk whenever we see Hafriz on the road. Together as a community, traffic congestion never sounded so festive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Thanks for sharing

• Claim Warranty on Dec 30, 2020 at 4:19 pm

Good luck China car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • Ajibkor on Dec 30, 2020 at 6:26 pm

Your Excellency Hafriz,r u a hardcore PI car collecter?I hope u spare a thought for people whose cars were repossessed cos they were retrenched due to covid crisis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Celup King on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:41 pm

No brainer. Best option by far

• android auto i m heavy user. will NOT buy this car. KONA is the answer or wait for kia seltos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • Congratulations on the new car Hafriz.

You have highlighted a crucial point on the lack of Apple Carplay integration with the car. I live with Apple ecosystem and to be honest, as much as I like the new Proton, not being able to integrate my Apple Carplay into my dash is actually a make and break deal for me when buying a new car.

Sorry Proton. It may sound simple but yes, crucial for some people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Brian on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:14 pm

Depends. Not everyone is an apple user and android auto is not official here so mirroring is the best option as of now.

• Monana on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:30 pm

Thats because Google Malaysia is sleeping. They only know to make doodles. Hey, I’m in Malaysia and I’m using AndroidAuto. You clearly dont know much abt AndroidAuto. I understand Azri’s stand. I hold my purchase for 2019 Corolla until they provide AndroidAuto now. The absence of AndroidAuto and Apple CarPlay IS a deal-breaker for me too!

• Amran on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:10 am

You using AA here means nuts because without official support your AA HU is open to hacking or viral attacks. Some rakyat values their privacy and data more than others, especially those who are ignorant or just plain dunno.

• Ediaikau on Jan 01, 2021 at 12:18 pm

What’s with the hostility? Ahhhh Apple fanboy. Keyboard warrior at its best.

• Apple ECO System user on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:46 pm

No, it is not. The fact remains that without the integration with major OS (Android and Apple), the Proton car is handicapped and out of sync. No words of comfort from you can solve the issue.

• jusknitting on Dec 31, 2020 at 3:43 pm

“handicapped and out of sync”.. that’s an interesting choice of words. It sounded like the car won’t move or won’t be performing due to lack of those stuffs. Like that we don’t need tyres, petrol etc.

• AppleCarPlay and Android Auto is essential on Dec 31, 2020 at 1:47 pm

In that case, they should at least provide Apple CarPlay for those that do use iPhones. Just because Android Auto isn’t available doesn’t mean that they should restrict connectivity for iPhone users as well. Many cars come without Android Auto but with AppleCarPlay

• Joe Ooi on Dec 30, 2020 at 4:41 pm

Wow…Just wow…Being a journalist sure pays

• bobbytan on Dec 30, 2020 at 4:41 pm

congrats Hafriz..nice color

• donno on Dec 30, 2020 at 4:57 pm

You must be the lucky few of the 11% that booked the orange colour to get the car so early.

• The premium port injection turbo should be a better choice for long term maintenance, unless u don’t know the cons of direct injection turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Right decision bro, mine x70

• Corona 2021 on Dec 30, 2020 at 7:17 pm

Nice hafriz.. If only I got 100k kwsp,we will geng of x50..

• mememe on Dec 30, 2020 at 7:50 pm

Its a fuel guzzler. Pardon me here but reliability? China does not have a good track record on it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
  • Weird on Dec 30, 2020 at 7:54 pm

PT really go all out promoting Proton. From writing an article discouraging people from buying certain P2 models to bombarding readers with endless X50 promotional articles, times are hard. Proudly Bought his third p1 minus the P2. Sold his soul to Dr.lcr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 30, 2020 at 10:50 pm

This isn’t a promotional article for the X50. Do remember that we did a similar article discouraging people from buying certain Proton models too.

Next year when the D55L comes out, you’ll see plenty of articles on that as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • Power Window on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:44 pm

You should buy the new Perodua suv as proof for not being a biased fanboy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Amran on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:13 am

No need to force inferior junks onto others. Inferior is inferior.

• X70 x50 3 or 5 yrs warranty on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:02 am

Bro. How many years is gear box warranty. 3 or 5 ?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:41 am

5 years.

• Scrap Yard Junk on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:10 pm

After 5 years the resale value is zero.

• Celup King on Jan 01, 2021 at 1:33 am

If your crystal ball, palm reading, tarot cards, bird predictions, etc, was so good why are you still here talking crap to people?

• eeeriz on Dec 31, 2020 at 9:49 am

Well done Hafriz! I’m thinking the same about the car too. It has been a while since I bought a local Perdana V6 16 years ago, and X50 kept me thinking again. Hope the car is a good reliable one. Cheers mate!

• Betol Tak?? on Dec 31, 2020 at 11:03 am

If it’s a Geely logo car, you won’t buy it for sure.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 31, 2020 at 11:25 am

If that car comes with the Geely Binyue’s stiff ride, then yes you’re right, I won’t buy it.

• Brian on Dec 30, 2020 at 11:19 pm

Haters gonna hate. Don’t like it? Move along to elsewhere. Where were you when PT did reams of articles for the recently release for Vios, Yaris FL and Yaris GR?

• Pejal on Dec 31, 2020 at 2:02 am

Just want to highlight your ALT number plate.. Hey.. My bike also using ALT 68x number plate.. ;)

• Congratulations

• Citric orange absolutely right decision though because it may seems like red at times. So you got both color.

• proton user on Dec 31, 2020 at 3:00 pm

Hafriz. with many people working from home, it is difficult to achieve even 3000 km in 6 months and yet if the car is not serviced regularly at 6 months the warranty is void.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 31, 2020 at 3:53 pm

That’s the way it is, for all car brands out there. Engine oil still degrades whether the car is being driven much or not, so regular servicing is still required.

• National Car Lover on Dec 31, 2020 at 3:23 pm

To me somebody at Tanjung Malim got their montly sallary, and can feed their families, that is sound good to me, china or japan is not important.

• Myvi1.5s on Jan 01, 2021 at 3:40 pm

Agree with Hafriz 100 pct. No need PPF, coating bla bla bla and one should just enjoy the new, nice and shiny original paint. Using coating etc is like having s** with condom on laa ;)