Perodua Ativa D55L – cheaper in Malaysia compared to the Daihatsu Rocky and Toyota Raize in Japan

Believe it or not, the Perodua Ativa D55L is priced cheaper here in Malaysia compared to its Japanese counterparts in their home market. Made official yesterday, Perodua’s new compact SUV has an estimated price range of between RM62,500 and RM73,400. In Japan, the Daihatsu Rocky goes for the equivalent of RM65k to RM82k, while the Toyota Raize is surprisingly slightly cheaper at RM64k to RM80k.

UPDATE: We’ve driven the new Perodua Ativa! Read our first impressions review here.

This is definitely a unique situation, as it’s not something that we can say often, with Malaysian car prices and taxation being the way it is. Usually, we report the opposite: model X launched in country Y at (a ridiculously low) RMxxk. Unless of course, we are talking about car launches in Singapore and more recently, Thailand as well (though that has more to do with the weakening ringgit than anything else).

The Ativa’s price announcement has been met with surprisingly polarising reception. While those in the industry (us included) are generally impressed by Perodua’s high specs-affordable price game, plenty more complained on the Internet that they expected the new SUV to be cheaper still. Malaysians, we are a hard bunch to please, aren’t we?

Perodua Ativa D55L – cheaper in Malaysia compared to the Daihatsu Rocky and Toyota Raize in JapanPerodua Ativa D55L – cheaper in Malaysia compared to the Daihatsu Rocky and Toyota Raize in Japan

Looking at the prices in detail, the case gets even stronger for Perodua. The Rocky starts from 1,705,000 yen (RM65,300) in Japan for the base L variant, and that’s a kosong model with steel wheels and plastic caps, and no radio even! The Rocky X at 1,848,000 yen (RM70,800) appears closer to our base Perodua Ativa X (RM62,500).

The top Rocky Premium that goes for 2,145,000 yen (RM82,200) is the closest model that comes to matching the RM73,400 Ativa AV’s specs, being equipped with Lane Keep Control, Blind Spot Monitor, Rear Cross Traffic Alert and Adaptive Cruise Control. And even then, you’d still have to add another 99,000 yen (RM3,800) for the 9.0-inch head unit (standard on Ativa H and AV).

Speaking of add ons, we can again consider ourselves lucky when it comes to the premium colour options. On the Ativa AV, opting for the two-tone special metallic (black roof) will cost you an extra RM800 over the standard metallic colours. For the Rocky, it’s a 77,000 yen (RM2,950) option!

It’s pretty much the same deal with the Toyota Raize in Japan. The entry price is slightly lower compared to the Rocky only because the base Raize X (1,679,000 yen, RM64,300) is not equipped with the Smart Assist pack, which includes Pre-collision Warning, Pre-collision Braking (AEB), Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control. The Raize X”S” adds that back on, priced at 1,745,000 yen (RM66,800). As we now know, all that is standard across the Ativa range.

Mind you, the Rocky and Raize ceiling prices mentioned earlier (RM80k-RM82k) are for the top 2WD variants to maintain parity with the FWD Ativa. As is the norm in Japan, both models have 4WD options (for snowy areas), pushing their prices up to 2,367,200 yen (RM90,700) for the Rocky Premium 4WD and 2,282,200 yen (RM87,400) for the Raize Z 4WD.

Do note that the Ativa’s prices here also include the current SST exemptions and of course, ever-changing (and currently favourable) foreign exchange rates are at play here, but at the time of writing, all figures are accurate.So, still think the Perodua Ativa D55L SUV is overpriced?

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky in Japan

GALLERY: Toyota Raize in Japan

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Bear in mind that the disposal income in Japan is the highest among Asia country and I don’t think it is a fair comparison!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 36
    • Logical Deduction on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:11 pm

Perodua Bezza selling RM103,000 in Sri Lanka. Again Sri Lanka is one of the highest disposal income among Asia country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 46
      • Ativa on Feb 20, 2021 at 8:24 pm

Is perodua ativa using CVT or D-CVT? Very confuse cos most site said CVT but in perodua site said D-CVT.

• Ahmad on Feb 21, 2021 at 11:08 am

My 18yo son who just got his driving lesen, he say only mengidam that full TRD kits and 19″ wheels for the new Ativa he’s getting. Langsung xkesah pon CVT… Hahahah ape punye budak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Hamdan on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:44 pm

Like father, like son Hahahah ape punye bapak.

• PlainBS on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:21 pm

100 percent is D-CVT, because it’s lighter and cheaper

• petrolhead on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:35 pm

Cut cost version of CVT
            CVT sucks, this DCVT is rubbish

• Hahaha on Feb 20, 2021 at 9:20 pm

But but but is the price including sst or no?

• bezza is imported by sri lanka with exchange rate at play as well as country tax. Perodua is supposedly local car. 60-70k range without sst and roadtax..is almost near to vios/yaris. Not to mention x50 which has an sub size. They could have started at 59k..sad.

• Japan’s 18K vs ours 5k. It’s relatively more expensive compared to our disposable income.

• Smart Buyer on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:11 pm

Soon all X50 owners will trade-in to buy Ativa with spare change cash excess some more!

Bye bye farewell to Proton Geli !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
        • Jeremy on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:44 pm

Daihatsu selling Rocky in Japan cheaper than Msia. Without Perodua we could buy the same car from Japan @RM59k. So why better just close down Perodua for us to get cheaper cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 37
          • At least the price of P2 cars still more affordable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Even Ativa price is still affordable too

• Copy Paste on Feb 20, 2021 at 7:05 pm

Copy paste: “I’d reckon majority of Perodua customers are from the rm30-50k band and this here priced at rm60k+ is a missed opportunity for them.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 7:14 pm

You know we can tell you are just quoting your own comment, right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 4
          • Copy Paste on Feb 23, 2021 at 5:24 pm

Copy paste: ““If you’re talking about the model we saw just now, we didn’t have a lot of input in terms of spec or architecture. Because the platform is actually the new DNGA. I don’t know if you can see it tomorrow (we’re paying a visit to Daihatsu’s Kyushu plant), but this car will be produced at Kyushu if I’m not mistaken,” Zainal revealed.

“But what we learned is when you create a new platform, we learn about production preparation. For example, setting up a line. When our designers work in DMC, they will share info with DMC. So if, if, we need to make this in Malaysia tomorrow, we know that it fits (the factory),” he added.

If all of the above comments aren’t strong enough hints for you, here’s one more. On whether there’s a market for the New Compact SUV in Malaysia, Zainal said: “That’s what we’re studying now, whether there’s a market for this (type of car). We’re not sure yet. Perception in Malaysia is a little different – whether a 1.0 litre turbo with that kind of body (size) will be accepted by Malaysians.

Daihatsu new compact SUV-TMS-2019-27Daihatsu new compact SUV-TMS-2019-18
            “Malaysians always feel that the engine is small but the body is big. We are now studying that perception and the technology,” he concluded.”

• Lets See on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:54 pm

I doubt there will be any, if at all, migration as the size and pricing difference makes both in different segments.
          Ativa is certainly a compelling car if your looking to buy a Myvi sized SUV which imho is highly impractical SUV being so small as it is.
          What made it worse is the pricing is too high, going into Aruz territory.
          What this new car would do is rob sales from both Myvi and Aruz, self cannibilization is Perodua’s forte after all.
          Will it sell? Of course.
          But will it rob sales from Proton and boost Perodua figures? I don’t think so.
          Despite all the hoohaa for Aruz it didn’t account for a significant chunk of Perodua yearly sales last year.
          I’d reckon majority of Perodua customers are from the rm30-50k band and this here priced at rm60k+ is a missed opportunity for them.
          Lets see what this comes at the end of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • doesnt matter if perodua sell car models with overlapping price range. always better to have more option rather than limited to one model only.

• Ahmad Tebo 660cc JDM Kancil on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:34 pm

Cheapest compact SUV at India,

Need RM85k+ to get eqv features too.
      India lagi tu, cheapest car outside China

Indian also got alot high tech Tesla eqv Tech cars too.
      Self driving, AEB
      Lane watch,

Even low spec Tesla need to pay optional for Level 2self driving…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Geely Proton X50 at china only RM46k to RM64k…
      The Chinese lagi Kaya Raya than Malaysian full of B40 and M40 with 4 figure RM salary too..

But car so cheap for them..
      My logic say japan selling expensive, got conflict…..
      Still cheaper than USA hi tech compact SUV price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Brian on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:30 pm

Also unfair to compare when during SST free period. This situation ain’t going to last so pointless to make such comparisons unless the writer is blatantly trying to hardsell Ativa, in this case please indicate the article is an advertorial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:19 pm

This is clearly not an advertorial. If it was, it would be clearly labelled as such.

Yes, the prices here are with the SST exemptions, as mentioned in the article. But, even assuming prices would go up between RM3k-RM5k in July, the Ativa X would still be cheaper than the similarly-equipped (close enough, at least) Rocky X at 1,848,000 yen (RM70,800)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
        • Bull Poop on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:15 pm

Then how do you get paid ? Esp the way you been BODEKING Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
          • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 8:42 pm

We make money from all the advertising space you see on this website, all of which has no influence in our editorial content, that I manage.

Funny how anyone would insinuate such a thing on a Perodua article I wrote though ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • PlainBS on Feb 22, 2021 at 9:35 am

Seriously? Attacking the author without proof?

• skodamalaysia on Feb 23, 2021 at 3:44 pm

‘Great Wall’ cyber trooper attacking author spotted

• Casual reader on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:18 pm

I can see proton fanboys are being matured and not pouring any vile and hate onto these perodua articles of late and yet we still see the immaturity coming from perodua fanboys in egging on with their proton comments when nobody invited them to do so.
      Sad, really sad this group of people have such sewer mentality, or as my father used to say, sewel mentality.
      I find it ironic they spoke more on their competition instead their own car. I don’t care much for both brands but from all their hateful comments, it makes me curious to find out what was X50 so special that they feel so threatened to pour this much hate.
      Sorry guys, the way you project your fanboyism doesn’t peak my interest onto your new Ativa instead i think i might take a look what made X50 so special and i think i am not the only one here.
      So please do continue! I am sure PT welcomes your fanboys web traffic and smashing the like (or dislike) buttons, and i am sure proton also welcomes your driving interest & attention towards their X50. I know i am, thanks to you guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 17
      • Marketing Failure 101. Lesson No1: Whatever Perodua does, DON’T!

• Originally they have 4WD variant. Here in Malaysia, always get discounted variant, no 4WD. What a dissappointment..

• izhar on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:49 am

They can get it at kedai potong in three years time.

• Because there’s snow in Malaysia too right where we would need AWD, what a disappointment

• Lets See on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:20 pm

We don’t have snow so why should we need VSC too, right? What a disappointment.

• Let’s be real. 2wd also ppl keep complaining about the price. If they have 4wd model here as well, some will call it “harga yahudi”.

• Littlefire on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:57 am

In Japan, got 2WD & 4WD option. If want to get more wider customer range, especially those older Kembara owner to upgrade they would prefer something similar to their previous ride like AWD/4WD option available. Driving a AWD/4WD vechicle does provide better traction especially in slippery condition like during rain and going offroad. Besides that cornering performance also can give more better control by reducing the over/understeer situation mechanically.

• skodamalaysia on Feb 21, 2021 at 3:29 am

hopefully umw toyota will bring in toyota riser or yaris cross

Gear up people please like –

• Kevin on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:49 am

It just wants to highlight that normally cars are priced cheaper in japan. With ativa that is no longer the case. Msia cheaper with the same spec.

• M & B on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:02 pm

Awesome

• Spin Too Much on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:23 pm

Awesome. maybe for benefit of all esteemed PT fans, can compare the price X50 & X70 here to Boyue and Binyue in China, Ahaksss..

• Lampiran on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:54 pm

This car also benefits and more attractive to all Malaysians here

• Kesimpulan on Feb 20, 2021 at 4:25 pm

Syukuring just gets better and better and better. Thanks so much perihatin gomen!

Kereta JDM Perodua cheaper in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Betol Tak? on Feb 20, 2021 at 4:03 pm

Perodua Ativa cheaper than home country Japan price.

vs.

X50 more expensive than home country China price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Logical Deduction on Feb 20, 2021 at 5:42 pm

Rocky article title mention selling price at RM59k and say 59k is higher than 62k. Yup very logical.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:15 pm

RM59k was based on the forex at that time. Now it’s the prices listed above.

• Casual reader on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:25 pm

Can’t really compare since Japan selling price is unchanged.

• Lets See on Feb 20, 2021 at 7:12 pm

Clearly showing Proton is moving upmarket while Perodua is diverging downwards the segment. Like trying to compare Merc and VW even tho both are from Germany.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • Logical Deduction on Feb 21, 2021 at 12:29 am

Let’s try this comparo
        CR-V in CN starts at RM 93,594
        CR-V in JP starts at RM 128,763
        CR-V in MY starts at RM 139,913
        So why CR-V in home country JP more expensive than CN?

• Some country with small road government sure tax more for car like Vietnam..
          And by the way your crv price in China u search from where I thought rm120k above

• But Tesla CKD not cheaper at China

• Tesla Level2 Self Driving on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:02 pm

Congratulations to TYT and Perodua

Now,
    5Seater Rush Aruz – same wide
    But more power,
    Turbo,
    CVT
    Adaptive LED lamp
    Lower Center Gravity Sporty Ride
    Taller 2nd row sofa

Goodness ASA 3.0 not reserved for TYT Raize,
    Perodua can sell it for its flagship SUV.

Hipsters High Tech SUV
    Diamond Pearl White Dual Tone, Pretty Choice.
    Proton X50 dual tone also very nice, RM 103k – cheaper than Kosong HR-V, CX-3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • FC No.1 SUV on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:05 pm

Most fuel efficient SUV

Even more fuel economy than Honda HR-V 1.5L Hybrid.
    Interior space also no less, decent size
    Handsome, Hipster, Hi-Tech, JDM DNGA lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • YB Albert on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:09 pm

If P1 is still struggling to deliver X50,I think a big chunk of those bookings will migrate over to this Ativa,who dont mind settling for less horsepower.
    A waiting period of 2 months is acceptable,not 4-6 months for most buyers,unless you are talking about fanboys who only want a proton and nothing else.
    Now the competition is getting hotter ,which is a good thing.It keeps car distributors on their toes,always being adaptive and innovative to fight for market share.
    Perodua,bring it on…but dont let fanboys wait 6 months ,ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • klguy on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:36 pm

X50 instead took away sales from honda, nissan, mazda & toyota chr… to some extent kia seltos, hyundai kona, merc gla & bmw x1. X50 sales no migrate to ativa …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Datuk on Feb 20, 2021 at 4:15 pm

China Proton X50 and Japan Perodua Ativa
        Cannot compare….

My house gonna have both

• Venza on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:18 pm

Impressive

• Drinker on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:42 pm

Handsome looker

• azrai on Feb 20, 2021 at 3:49 pm

P2 should export their Ativa to Japan.

• Good

• Cheaper..but have to compare by salary rate. 2,000,000 yen is about 10 month salary for new uni grad. But for us rm65,000 is about 30 month uni grad salary…Which country have more power to buy? And cheaper also should have the reason, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • 23 years ago, a nasi ayam set meal in Tokyo cost you RM18. So how much do you think the price today. The point is, the graduate Japanese don’t even bother to buy a car since their public transport is near perfect. Not like ours which the 1st thing in mind is to buy a brand new car, even using PTPTN money for the new car deposit.

• Uni grad, can buy Toyota Passo,
      Daihatsu Mira
      Proton Saga

• Wow. Another hit from Perodua. The other SUV makers are going to have a torrid time competing with this. With its equipment level at those prices, it’s gonna gobble up everybody’s lunch across segments – SUV or otherwise, small or big.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • murad on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:19 pm

Wait till you see it in flesh. Slightly bigger than Myvi. Just like Subaru XV, it is a jacked up car to smoke screen as SUV. Then Iriz Activ. SUV wannabe.

• Green Dog on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:19 pm

Japanese technology 2.0 begins

• Ahamad on Feb 20, 2021 at 6:31 pm

The article is too long but nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Not really. This will be more interested and doesn’t make you bored.

• Sulaiman Vivien on Feb 20, 2021 at 7:37 pm

my logic is that Rocky and Raize both are actually overpriced in Japan. this is why they are underperformed compared to Yaris Cross (same segment).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • But both P2 Ativa (Rocky and Raize) and Yaris Cross are good overall cars, at least.

• Lolipop on Feb 20, 2021 at 10:35 pm

Car price cheaper may always related to local suppliers available and various cost reduction approach, from lower grade seat fabric, different type of plastic resin for dashboard, door panel, less reliable seat padding… even can have a downgraded starter system, air-conditioning… there is too much suppliers option/solutions in Automotive industries.. not to say peroduo has their own supplier base in Malaysia which is much cheaper compare to Japan. So this quick wrap up about cheaper cost in Msia is redundant and pointless..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
    • Naw I don’t think so. Our Perodua uses superior parts from top quality 1st grade suppliers. You see, every time Toyota or Daihatsu does recalls apparently it never affects their cars. Their cars are so kebal with no quality issues. Faulty fuel pump recall? What faulty fuel pumps?

• Lolipop on Feb 21, 2021 at 10:11 pm

Oh boy i never said Peroduo is bad in Quality, cheap can have good quality too fully agreed on this. you don’t get my point…

• I never said they were bad quality, hell their quality is superior to Toyota. When Toyota have recalls, Perodua almost never have recall. Isn’t that top notch quality? ;)

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 23, 2021 at 1:02 am

I see what u did there. Heheheheh…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 10:57 pm

apa lagi malaysia mau

• Dennis on Feb 20, 2021 at 11:50 pm

no 4WD of course cheaper. Editor you are giving misleading headline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 20, 2021 at 11:53 pm

As mentioned in the article, all price comparisons are of the 2WD versions of the Rocky and Raize.

The 4WD versions are more expensive still, clearly mentioned in the second last paragraph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • george on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:46 am

He only read the headline since he accessed PT thru his tiny screen phone. This is the new norm now, jump the gun to comment just by reading the 1st header. Already got conclusion also.

• Who's next? on Feb 21, 2021 at 12:21 am

Dear nissan and kia,
    Please bring on nissan magnite n kia sonet.
    Okthanksbye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • vyyap on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:45 am

Cheaper than japan but we still dunno what have they cut from japan spec like 360 camera, android auto,,heater seat (we don,t need here),sound insulation material , auto touch unlock door handle , two segmented boot cover and so on . so it is not good to say it was cheaper than japan spec as we dunno what perodua give us.

• Kevin on Feb 21, 2021 at 7:46 am

Nice one from Perodua. Design, feature, fc and price are all good. Hmm no idea what to complain. Good times for car buyer.

• Mike Ombaba on Feb 21, 2021 at 8:20 am

Ok la, competitively priced for below RM80k segment. Should be a good buy for those who are searching for a brand new SUV. For those who dont really care about new or pre-owned, there ale also 2-4 years old make like Mazda CX3 or Subaru XV that are worth considering as these cars also able to provide good handling with comfort.

• Ahmad Ajeet on Feb 21, 2021 at 9:58 am

Well what do you expect from perodua rebadging/cloning….

• Bye bye proton

• Ismile on Feb 21, 2021 at 11:11 am

So will the 4WD variant on sale later and what will the price be.

• Ismile on Feb 21, 2021 at 11:23 am

Steering power will be using electric is it…. is possible to go thru water right when on snorkle. Or only suitable to 4×4 version. Hope to read info on this. Or else, only a jacked up car?

• andrew on Feb 21, 2021 at 11:58 am

of course cheaper lah. remove the parking assist features, no 4w drives, android auto, apple carplay.

• Tak boleh blah bila compare kan harga di Malaysia dengan harga di Jepun

• Parak on Feb 21, 2021 at 1:28 pm

I dont care what the price is.
    Now lets do drag against x50 x1 and hrv.

• peminat neelofa on Feb 21, 2021 at 2:13 pm

walao i heavily regret buying *** last year. this one better deal although the exterior looks boring. to top things off, my income also kena potong because of the recession. good things really happen to those who wait.

• Really? You bought that car after whacking it and the brand? Bole caya ke bro?

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 21, 2021 at 5:51 pm

But of course it will be cheaper since Perodua will have one of the highest local content in all their vehicles. Not like Proton where their CKD X70 is plagued with crap locally sourced shock absorbers so badly that they have to get Geely shocks from China and this is just the tip of the iceberg of problems.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Feb 23, 2021 at 1:02 am

It shows Proton cannot compromise on quality and sadly need to turn back to China for quality parts. Meanwhile Perodua don’t mind feeding us with subpar quality parts as long they are cheap. Car quality doesn’t matter to them since they can sell by the truckload rite? This is why company should focus on marketing rather than spending money making a good car.

• zachry on Feb 21, 2021 at 6:57 pm

no rocket science, it is a perodua not daihatsu

• Disqus Required on Feb 22, 2021 at 6:49 am

Hafriz, u said u CAN know if a commenter here quoted their own reply even they are using different name. Dont u think it is easier to use disqus, facebook, twitter, google plugin like in SoyaCincau? I know comments in old PaulTan’s articles have to be removed. I believe it is hard for u guys to maintain. It is nice to read old comments from for example, during the Gen-2 launch in 2008. Just my opinion bro. Login only using WordPress is so lame. No wonder most of the comments (including mine) uses anonymous by supplying any random name and (fake) email. Even without login, readers can likes/dislikes hundreds of time simply by refreshing the page. I believe your server has better things to do!

• Firdaus on Feb 22, 2021 at 11:28 am

I only hate one thing about all Perodua cars, the vague and inaccurate steering.
    Even with electric power steering, they could not program the steering to have a better feel.

On the other hand, Proton’s once pride Lotus precise steering is also lacking for it’s new range of Geely rebadged cars.

• Enuff said on Feb 22, 2021 at 12:03 pm

Ativa = X50 killer

• Hi Hafriz,if u are reading my comment can u share ur insight regarding ‘official’ upgrade..as we can see common car manufacture here offer upgrade option as leather seat,mat,bodykit..but i always wonder why there is always no offer for something like headunit upgrade,for something like apple carplay unit,’audiophile’ speaker upgrade..does the market for it is niche here?one of the cons of upgrading all this thing yourself is always the void warranty clause..

• Scot guppy on Feb 23, 2021 at 7:01 pm

Can I know why is acc range from 40 to 100kmh?