Toyota Raize revealed – rebadged Daihatsu Rocky, 98 PS 1.0L turbo three-pot, CVT, optional AWD, fr RM64k

Daihatsu may have been the first to show its new compact SUV (set to be called the Rocky) at the recent Tokyo Motor Show, but Toyota has beaten its subsidiary to the showrooms by putting the near-identical Raize on sale in Japan. The new model is part of a three-pronged offensive from the Japanese conglomerate, with Perodua also expected to introduce its own version in Malaysia the near future.

As we’ve seen in leaked images, the Raize is almost a facsimile of the Rocky, apart from a few aesthetic changes. The front end has been redesigned to fit Toyota’s corporate look, dominated by a broad trapezoidal lower grille that is flanked by squared-off bumper corners and vertical fog light and LED daytime running light enclosures. The LED headlights and sequential indicators are joined together by a gloss black strip.

Apart from that and the prerequisite T badges, the rest of the car is unchanged. As such, it’s still very small, measuring just 3,995 mm long and 1,695 mm wide, and features an upright glasshouse with blacked-out A- and D-pillars, body-coloured C-pillars, prominent wheel arch bulges, broad two-piece tail lights and a bumper-mounted rear number plate recess.

The largest 17-inch wheel option gets a unique turbine-style two-tone design, while lower-end models get smaller steel and alloy rollers. Eight colour options will be offered – such as a new Turquoise Blue Mica Metallic hue – with three of those colours, including the new hero colour, being optionally available with a Black Mica Metallic roof.

Inside, the Raize is again very similar to the Rocky, with a driver-oriented dashboard design, a high-mounted gearlever and a large area carved out for the freestanding nine-inch infotainment touchscreen. The car is offered with SmartDeviceLink screen mirroring and Apple CarPlay functionality, as well as a seven-inch TFT LCD instrument display with Advanced, Exciting, Simple, and Analog display modes.

Toyota promises plenty of interior space despite the compact dimensions, with a quote 900 mm between the front and rear seats. The boot features a dual-level floor that at its lowest position results in 369 litres of boot space. The false floor itself can be removed to reveal a deep well (there’s no spare tyre), onto which tall items such as houseplants can be loaded.

Safety-wise, there’s Daihatsu’s Smart Assist suite of driver assistance systems, including autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, all-speed adaptive cruise control and front and rear Erroneous Start Prevention Function with braking control, along with a Smart Panorama Parking Assist system that provides steering assistance and visual and audible guidance when parking.

Under the skin, the Raize sits on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA), which accommodates the co-development of Toyota- and Daihatsu-branded models. Unlike the larger Rush (and its Daihatsu Terios and Perodua Aruz siblings), this car features a monocoque construction that utilises high-tensile steel plates for increased rigidity, and rides on MacPherson strut front and torsion beam rear suspension.

All models come with a 1.0 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine making 98 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm, paired to a D-CVT. The latter gets split gears to provide both gear drive and belt drive at high speeds for increased efficiency, leading to a WLTP fuel efficiency figure of 18.6 km per litre with front-wheel drive and 17.4 km per litre with the optional all-wheel drive with Dynamic Torque Control.

The Raize goes on sale across Japan today, with prices ranging from 1,679,000 yen (RM64,000) to 2,282,200 yen (RM87,000). The car will also be added to the Kinto One car subscription service from November 12, with monthly pricing to start at 39,820 yen (RM1,500).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• thepolygon on Nov 05, 2019 at 1:51 pm

Selamat kembali Kembaraku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Putu piring on Nov 05, 2019 at 2:03 pm

Everyone is interested with this all new game changing Rocky and Raize. When Perodua rebadge this car, time to say good bye to Chinese rebadged X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 36
      • P2 Fanboy on Nov 05, 2019 at 2:55 pm

Interesting that Perodua engineers were involved with the design of this car… its mentioned in another recent PT article

• English Teacher on Nov 05, 2019 at 3:01 pm

30 Perodua local engineers involved in R&D as well… in kyushu plant. Local engineered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • I want p2 rocky on Nov 05, 2019 at 4:19 pm

take my money…Take My Money…TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Calvin on Nov 05, 2019 at 5:39 pm

They will take your money once you cannot reach your target sales thanks to X50 hot selling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • y not on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:09 pm

how many proton local engineers were involved in the RnD of binyue and boyue? anybody knows?

• Engineer on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:05 pm

About 100 are in Geely assisting with the various developments, according to Dr Li.

• They are involved in designing the bumpers for local production and removing some of the features in the JDM car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
          • Perodua supporters thought Perodua got R&D department to design car chasis, platform, gearbox and engine. In fact they just involve in design bumpers only.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:27 am

As Malaysians, we feel so ashamed that some of us are proud to be just a rebadger only, this is worse that Proton which has their own cars. We are so ashamed that Perodua has never developed any of their cars after 25 years of nonstop rebadging. They have not realised the Japs didn’t teach them anything about making cars after 25 years, so they learnt nothing.

Shame shame shame Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Dredd on Nov 05, 2019 at 2:33 pm

Return of the mighty , P2 Nautica !

• Steven Lim on Nov 05, 2019 at 3:26 pm

According to PRoton fanboy logic, Daihatsu/Toyota copied PErodua myvi’s design. The back of the Rocky looks like the Myvi.

But no Perodua fans complain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
        • Engineer on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:07 pm

Perodua fans mana ada complain? The car burned down in fire also they still won’t blame the brand. You can’t change blind fanatics

• P2suv on Nov 05, 2019 at 4:23 pm

Kembara ku kembali…x50 ku game over tido jer dlm showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Perodua Laize 1.0L turbo incoming frm RM54k,

• Fun fact: this car is actually the TRUE successor to the Toyota Rush (the JDM 5 seater version).

the latest ASEAN Rush/Aruz is the successor to the old 7 seater Rush (which was an extended version of the JDM model, and its sold in ASEAN markets only)

correct me if im wrong.

• The Kembara name plate should make a comeback ,

perodua would probably stick with the tried tested and proven 1.5 litre + 4 speed auto as per everything else

ASA 2.5 ? Would make debut along with myvi facelift
    auto start stop for full spec model

N AWD will be offered to increase sales in east malaysia

Expect all LED headlamps as per myvi , n probably cheapened interior

hopefully the climate control makes the cut, albeit saved only for advanced models

Plus, all other in-house niceties and practical touches perodua is known for

Maybe a new driver seat, the one in Aruz could use more thigh support for taller drivers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Norlia on Nov 05, 2019 at 2:58 pm

Doubt the new kembara able to naik genting, jz like the old one. Reach halfway, take cable car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • granny on Nov 05, 2019 at 2:18 pm

https://paultan.org/2018/02/19/2018-honda-hr-v-facelift-detailed/

2018 Honda HR-V facelift with Sensing as standard, priced from RM76k to RM103k in Japan.

2019 Toyota Raize with Smart Assist3 – RM64k to RM87k in Japan.

• SighMalaysia on Feb 08, 2021 at 1:00 am

And malaysia until now don’t have honda sending for HRV, still charge 110+k.

• Ongtk on Nov 05, 2019 at 2:35 pm

Daihatsu Rocky was sold in Malaysia in the 60s. Those days, we get the Suzuki Jimny and Rocky.

• Frozen on Nov 05, 2019 at 3:05 pm

At that prices, X50 has nothing to worry about. I specs and powertrain it has soundly beaten its rival before Rocky is even born.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • sir rhys lee on Nov 05, 2019 at 6:11 pm

you mean the x50 that fanboys say a volvo in disguise?consumer brands 2018 reported that volvo cars were the least reliable. volvo is owned by…?

• Unknown on Nov 05, 2019 at 10:14 pm

Meanwhile a Volvo won 2018 COTY award in nearly every part of the globe including Japan. The experts know less than plebs like you? Yeah sure.

• sir rhys lee on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:59 am

COTY does not include reliability scores.

• Engineer on Nov 06, 2019 at 11:08 pm

Neither does reliability tell you it is a good car. You want a super reliable car? Go get a bicycle.

• sir rhys lee on Nov 10, 2019 at 2:12 pm

@Engineer,
            by your logic, COTY does not tell us it’s a good car too. and i never doubted COTY, i just pointed out that even though on paper and out of the factory it’s a good car, the more important thing is how the car performs in the long run. cos u know, we dont change our car every year. perhaps stuck with it 3 years minimum.

• Really? on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:04 am

Read the whole article instead of only cherry picking some to suit your basher agenda. Owners’ mostly complain about the Volvo’s HU. Not the engines or powertrain. IIRC, Lexus also got complains for its HU.

• sir rhys lee on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:07 pm

i could not hv cherrypicked if it came from a list or ranking. did lexus end up being the worst car brand tho? because volvo did. and volvo is owned by… ?

• Paultan team, pls do us a favour on Nov 05, 2019 at 3:34 pm

Can anyone from Paultan team be kind enough to give us a comparison summary in terms of dimensions between Raize/Rocky vs X50.

From the fotos, it looks like this new p2 kembara / nautica is qutie tiny compared to the X50 we seen in the pictures.

It will be an interesting topic to discuss.

Thanks in advance.

• P2suv on Nov 05, 2019 at 4:22 pm

No need to compare larrrrr. Once this new p2 kembara/raize/daihatsu enter Msia market, x50 is game over already. X50 only sleep in showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • kenot on Nov 05, 2019 at 4:19 pm

Perodua need to be careful if want to rebadge this mini suv. it will kill myvi slowly.

• Imran Naim on Nov 05, 2019 at 4:46 pm

Oh classic-classic Kembara where have you been. I’ve been waiting for 16 years oh my sweetheart

• Kecik la on Nov 05, 2019 at 5:09 pm

Jack up hatchback. More options for msian. Yay!

• sir rhys lee on Nov 05, 2019 at 6:09 pm

this will be selling like hotcakes. another anecdote to add to perodua’s success story. in this day and age when the moniker ‘national carmaker’ is regularly basterdised, perodua can always be proud for being the one and true malaysian carmaker.

• Unknown on Nov 05, 2019 at 10:16 pm

Proud? Please define this, and how are defined as true Malaysian carmaker? Which car are truly made by them and not just a reskinned Daihatsu?

• sir rhys lee on Nov 06, 2019 at 12:03 pm

very proud. true malaysian carmaker like perodua who caters to malaysian needs and sells quality first and foremost. but i’ll admit, the definition used to be stricter when we had the national carmaker proton (1985-2017). RIP proton.

• Damon Lee on Nov 06, 2019 at 10:59 pm

You are very proud for a fake? Sir, you must be proud to be living in some charade life.

• sir rhys lee on Nov 12, 2019 at 11:41 am

whaddya mean fake? fake like a PRC car being affixed with a former malaysian carmaker’s logo on the hood?

• Confused on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:38 pm

Toyota already have a B-segment SUV/crossover which is C-HR in their product lineup. So why need another product on the same segment?

Same as other manufacturer: Icon=Binyue, Yaris=Passo, Stonic=Selltos, Jazz=City Hatchback etc. Please explain. I am puzzled.

• Fairul on Nov 06, 2019 at 1:40 pm

This SUV looks really gorgeous!! When is Perodua gonna sell it here?????

• paragon on Jan 15, 2020 at 9:35 pm

Gonna get one the moment it launches