Upcoming Perodua D55L model rendered based on Daihatsu’s New Compact SUV, as seen in Tokyo

By now, you would have seen the Daihatsu New Compact SUV from our 2019 Tokyo Motor Show coverage. A surprise debutant, the still unnamed B-segment crossover by Daihatsu is set to be sold in its home market wearing both D and T badges – parent company Toyota will market the Daihatsu Kyushu-made car as the Toyota Raize, with a different face.

The car is set to reach Malaysia, where Perodua would be planning its version of the New Compact SUV – locally made, of course. Asked to comment on the possibility of the Daihatsu showcar being the upcoming Perodua D55L B-segment SUV, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad stopped short of an outright “yes”, but gave us plenty of hints at the sidelines of TMS 2019.

Things to expect with the D55L are the all-new Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform (which is designed for the future and will be making its debut in P2’s line-up), the possibility of a downsized 1.0 litre turbocharged engine (as seen on the Daihatsu showcar) and Perodua-specific design.

Already, the Daihatsu car we saw was a collaborative effort, with Perodua having a hand in the final design of the JDM vehicle. This is perhaps most obvious at the SUV’s rear, which bears resemblance to the current Perodua Myvi. Of course, the Myvi’s design is a fully-Malaysian effort, just like the Perodua Bezza – there are no Daihatsu equivalents of both cars (the Indonesian-market Daihatsu Sirion is a rebadged Myvi made by P2).

Here, you’re looking at renders that we commissioned Theophilus Chin to digitally produce, based on our live shots from Tokyo. It’s pretty much the same car, except for changed bumpers and some plastic trim, a unique grille and the removal of the black/floating roof of the showcar. Styling changes should be limited, as doing more would defeat the cost purpose of sharing a car between brands.

We’ll focus on the front end, as that’s where the Perodua D55L will be most differentiated from the Daihatsu, as it is with the Toyota Raize. The scaled LED headlamps are intact, but we gave the Perodua a stronger “X” theme to the face, which is what we can expect from future Peroduas, according to P2 chief designer Muhamad Zamuren. That, and the horizontal LED daytime running lamps, are in reference to the Perodua X-Concept from KLIMS 2018.

Theo also put in a grille that’s visually connected to the headlamps, Aruz-style. The look is then garnished by silver-painted “skid plates” for that all-important rugged SUV look. Personally, I prefer this over the Daihatsu face, which reminds me too much of Subaru. This writer’s theory is that the kei-car specialist does not have a family look, as Japan’s micro cars are much like cartoon characters, in that each character has its own face.

At the rear, we kept the Myvi-esque bum pretty much intact, save for slight mods to the bumper for a mirror of the X-theme – the reflectors of the original car, which was at the lowest point of the bumper, have been moved up to the fake vents, which themselves have a different design and are now visually linked by black plastic.

Further up, besides the badge swap, Theo neatly integrated a chrome wing strip, which conveniently flows into the white portion of the taillamp cluster. Very Perodua, right? Tell us what you think of our vision of the upcoming Perodua D55L B-segment SUV, based on the Daihatsu New Compact SUV. Do you prefer this look, the original face, or the Toyota Raize’s big mouth?

GALLERY: Daihatsu New Compact SUV at the 2019 Tokyo Motor Show

GALLERY: Perodua X-Concept at KLIMS 2018

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Edwin L on Oct 29, 2019 at 2:10 pm

Perodua & Daihatsu already pressed the panic button so just like the Aruz/Rush rebadging, you can expect D55 to be 99% same looks with the ori car, as they need to speed up the launching before X50 comes and kills them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 42
    • Ais kacang on Oct 29, 2019 at 4:54 pm

Thank you Theophilus Chin for the awesome render! I hope Perodua will consider to use Theophilus design for their upcoming game changing D55L model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
      • Waytoogood on Oct 29, 2019 at 6:15 pm

To be honest, if p2 really rebadge this Raize / Rocky, Aruz sales will drop cos this Raize / Rocky really good design.

• P2suv on Oct 29, 2019 at 11:30 pm

I really like it got 2 cup holder under the front end left n right aircond vent. Very easy for driver to keep drink there.

• lembu on Oct 29, 2019 at 7:01 pm

Perodua Aruz sales already beaten Proton X70 sales. When Perodua launch the game changing D55L SUV, the upcoming X50 will be game over even before launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
        • Lolwhut? on Oct 30, 2019 at 1:52 am

Lol! Without X70 you will only get Aruz in 2021, without X50 you will only get D55 in 2027. So thanks to X70 & X50!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
        • Muahaha on Oct 30, 2019 at 10:04 am

Easily…kacang peanut butter. Higher Rv than p1 no rv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • Damon Lee on Oct 30, 2019 at 5:14 pm

Higher RV but life KO first how to enjoy that higher RV? Hmm….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • 25yrsOld on Oct 29, 2019 at 6:53 pm

Proton clicked the panic button, just rebadge china’s nation car now.

All nothing difference to Inokom/HiCom/TanChong.
      Assembly companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 29
      • Celup King on Oct 30, 2019 at 12:05 am

Cannot compare to King of Rebadging: Perodua. Rebadging since 25 years ago and still continuously rebadging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
      • Real LLort on Nov 07, 2019 at 9:56 am

Umm doesn’t seem to be correct.. because if Proton clickes the “panic” button, they wouldn’t tease the X70 for so damn long. I would suggest that the other one *hint:PERODUA* that does the panic button clicking — a million times .. LOL

• savvyKL on Jan 08, 2020 at 12:59 pm

D55 will sell in 60-75K price range, well X50 will sell in 75-95K range so more to 2 different class, different market and not competitor each other. unless x50 also sell 1.0T version.

• Hitcharide on Oct 29, 2019 at 2:20 pm

Design wise, the car that rakyat really waiting for and gonna sell like hotcake. 1.0 turbo? Why not 1.2 turno 8nr-fts found in chr? Or at least 1.5 myvi engine.

• Keijidosha on Oct 29, 2019 at 6:03 pm

The 1.0 turbo makes almost the same amount of horsepower but has more torque than the 1.5.. So whay not?

• P2suv on Oct 30, 2019 at 10:07 am

Yap true wat u said. Why not p2 just gv it a go wif 1.0 turbo on upcoming d55l. Plus its not an suv for racing or speeding. Its just a nice cute suv that can bring people from point a to point b. Easy to park.

• But the 1.0L engine is a 3 cylinder engine which vibrates alot. So he has a point. At least the Myvi 4 cylinder 1.5L unit dont vibrate as much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Coollllll on Oct 29, 2019 at 2:21 pm

Take money now!!!

• M50B25 on Oct 29, 2019 at 2:32 pm

Employee: boss, I want a raise!
    Boss: What?!?
    Employee: I mean, I want a Raize!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Gaya habes… tak payah stress, tak payah pening

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • Don’t be surprise if this one is for the 3rd National Car project :P

(Daihatsu has confirmed that they are helping Msia with the 3rd National car project)

• Amran on Oct 29, 2019 at 3:50 pm

The real game changer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • When is perodua going to rebadge the Altis and Camry?

• Same L0rr on Oct 30, 2019 at 8:05 am

What? Altis 1.8, camry 2.0.. Not save roadtax.. Perodua product is to save roadtax..

• Johny on Oct 30, 2019 at 4:54 pm

That’s Toyota not Daihatsu. Despite Toyota owned Daihatsu 100%, they’re not the same company and Perodua partners with Daihatsu not Toyota.

• Lolwhut? on Oct 30, 2019 at 9:27 pm

Rush is belong to Toyota yet they can rebadge it as Aruz what. So why cannot? Asnwer is pure Japanese bosses greed.

• Afifi Nasir on Oct 29, 2019 at 7:55 pm

to save up for my retiring fund, i might just be dropping out my 2013 cx5 for this car. my only reason for SUV was the constant back aches i had accessing in and out of sedans. and with the horrible traffic in KL ESPECIALLY on weekends my enjoyment driving a mazda was always short lived. the 1.0 litre may be underpowered, but so as my 2.0L cx5 with its heavy kerb weight. cheaper tyres, cheaper maintenance, i see this D55L as a good option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • JasonLs on Oct 29, 2019 at 8:12 pm

Bruh..pick the Proton X50. happy hidup bersara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 40
      • johnny on Oct 29, 2019 at 10:15 pm

Chinese engineering vs Japanese engineering. Pick one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
        • Celup King on Oct 30, 2019 at 12:06 am

I prefer Chinese airbags than Takata airbags. Picking the wrong one can be fatal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
    • Not Toyota Fan on Oct 30, 2019 at 12:19 pm

Assuming you took 5 year loan, you’d be debt free now. Why want to incurred another loan when you’re supposed to be saving for retirement. The maintenance of your CX5 (outside workshop, not at SC) is definitely less than servicing your new car loan + new car schedule maintenance. Just do the math for yearly basis, you’ll be surprised at how much more you end up paying for the new car.

On top of that, the refinement that you get from CX5 would not be found in P2. Comfort, NVH, on a P2 Vs CX5 is like night and day. There is a reason why certain products are cheaper. Compromises are made to lower the selling price.

• John Jelly on Oct 29, 2019 at 8:27 pm

Nice work there Mr Theo, but you forgot to add the roof rails (black colour pls) and it’s perfectly done.

• Amran on Oct 30, 2019 at 8:04 am

X50 killer.. 1.0 turbo.. Save roadtax!

• A.rahim on Oct 30, 2019 at 10:35 am

I want to buy

• This is Viva Elite with turbo kit. But, maybe it will come with L4 engine. Good for ladies out there. As long P2 rendered car from Daihatsu, the demand will be there. It is because, Malaysian like to modified their Produa and look similar to Japan standard. As for P1, since Wira end up production the sales drop because the owner does not have the idea to modi their Waja, Gen2, Persona, Neo, Preve etc. Less Japanese aftermarkets parts.
    SUV now become the first choice for a family car. The trend is there and P1/P2 should take advantage. Again P2 I think will win the game and followed close by ‘Hi Proton’. Unless P1 has plan to produce convenience easy riding urban car with sport car feeling, then that can be considered as extra boost.

• So P2 owners are modders and P1 owners are normal users? Guess which ones that are the most dangerous on the road? I thank P1 for keeping their owners sane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
  • Roticanai on Oct 30, 2019 at 6:49 pm

This car will be launched in Indonesia first as called Daihatsu taft/rocky and malaysia will be after and under P2. Always come late.

• Alibaba Chiam on Oct 31, 2019 at 6:29 am

Give good news

• Alibaba Chiam on Oct 31, 2019 at 6:30 am

More more new cars

• Alibaba Chiam on Oct 31, 2019 at 6:35 am

Boss good ..why everybody know 1.5cc suv..is under power..if u add turbo is a gimmick..why still make 1.5 is stupid…? Should be aleast…1.6cc..boss dont play play..ohhh???

• finally a proper turbo-powered engine (ya… i know campro did have a turbo version…) for national car!!!

• Farez on Nov 17, 2019 at 11:50 pm

LOL. Whats the point of having so called national car when Proton and Perodua only using other brand’s design/rebadge. No creativity at all. Using Daihatsu or Toyota engine still acceptable but same design is total nonsense. Thanks to these ‘national car’, we are paying more money for imported car.

• David Edgar on Nov 18, 2019 at 5:03 pm

Good design, good mechanic harmony. It works!

• Magic on Nov 19, 2019 at 4:45 pm

very good design

• Ariff on Nov 27, 2020 at 1:45 pm

Yey This car will be kill proton cuz proton made in China and barang made in China bukannya tahan lama