Tokyo 2019: Daihatsu previews new compact SUV – is this an early look at Perodua’s D55L B-segment SUV?

At this year’s Tokyo Motor Show, Daihatsu is previewing an upcoming compact SUV, which could be an early look at the much rumoured Perodua D55L B-segment SUV – a smaller five-seat, B-segment cousin to the Aruz.

The information board on site doesn’t list any names, but reports indicate that the model, which rides on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA) platform, could be called the Rocky. However, we do get a useful list of specifications, including the vehicle’s dimensions as well as the powertrain used.

Starting with the former, the 980-kg Daihatsu SUV measures 3,995 mm long, 1,695 mm wide, 1,620 mm tall, and has a 2,525 mm wheelbase. This makes it larger than the current Myvi, which has a length of 3,895 mm, width of 1,735 mm, height of 1515 mm and a wheelbase spanning 2,500 mm.

Design-wise, the unnamed SUV has a rather imposing look to it, with a large, hexagonal-shaped grille that is flanked by angular headlamps with “eyebrow-style” DRLs and triangular fog lamp enclosures – the latter houses the fog lamps, front parking sensors and a vertical LED strip. The shape of the headlamps and grille also results in the fitment of a shapely bonnet that tapers towards the latter.

Viewed from the side, we find black body cladding around 17-inch wheels (195/60 series) that is appropriate to create the SUV look and a “floating roof” look that sees the C-pillars being body-coloured as opposed to black like on the A- and B-pillars. There are even small window sections aft of the C-pillar, which are kept separate from the rear window by vertical trim pieces that lead to a tailgate spoiler.

Moving towards the rear, you’ll find relatively slim taillights that are linked by another black trim piece running across the tailgate, which sports the Daihatsu badge just above the tailgate release button. If the rear lighting setup has an air of familiarity to them – think Myvi – the lower apron reinforces that belief further thanks to the decorative “vents” and low-mounted number plate. Just to note, the red car you see here is the sportier trim level with red interior accents, while the white car is the standard trim.

Inside the five-seater, the dashboard is dominated by a free-standing touchscreen infotainment system that sits above the centre air vents. Curiously, the corner vents are placed slightly higher than expected but this is deliberate to make room for cupholders, which should help keep that fizzy drink chilled.

Below said centre vents are the switchgear for the automatic air-conditioning system and start button, while the two-tier centre console houses the gear selector, power outlets, heated seat controls, stowage areas and the handbrake. Other cues include a steering wheel that is festooned with buttons, and a digital instrument cluster display.

Powering the Daihatsu SUV is a turbocharged and intercooled three-cylinder petrol engine, with the 996-cc mill serving up 98 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm, and this is mated to a CVT driving the front wheels.

While it may not have a name, the SUV is so before you is pretty much production ready as is, although there’s no indicated date on when it will be launched. For now, Perodua has not confirmed if this will indeed turn into a model that we’ll be able to buy, but it certainly looks promising. We previously sighted a development model going up Genting Highlands earlier this month, which appeared to be a test mule wearing a stretched Axia body.

Prior to that, the national carmaker showcased the X-Concept during the 2018 Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show, and if this indeed becomes Perodua’s B-segment SUV, it will most likely get a unique front end inspired by said concept.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Oct 23, 2019 at 2:54 pm

Myvi on steroids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Another great produk by our local P2 team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Raja Celup on Oct 23, 2019 at 5:20 pm

Bye bye Proton X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • 4bini on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:40 am

Who will want to buy a China car when you can get Toyota/Daihatsu technology and quality for lesser the price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
        • Isobel Chin on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:04 am

I don’t want a car that will kill me with dangerous airbags. I prefer X50 & X70 any time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Before launch edi looks outdated. The interior even tries to mimics old BMW F30 series dashboard. Really uninspiring. I prefer to get better looking Proton X50 with Volvo engine and hybrid powertrain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Asam laksa on Oct 23, 2019 at 5:33 pm

If Perodua bring this game changing car here soon, it will definitely game the upcoming X50 and X70 over as people are more confident in driving Japanese SUV instead of a China SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • Haidi on Oct 23, 2019 at 11:15 pm

Still have more confidence on Japs over the China car. Tested the X70 a few rounds, handling is not up to par with its class.
        Perhaps the Lotus tuned X50 will do better. Let’s see.

• Truckers on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:46 am

I have less confidence in any Jap car, to be honest. Try test driving CRV then compare it to X70 and you will notice how terrible is the CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Dilbert on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:40 am

Let’s see how it goes. ATM Aruz is game over’ed by X70 in terms of sales and road presence. X50 will lay the final smackdown on D55L.

• Semper Fi on Nov 01, 2019 at 7:08 am

Aruz & X70 isn’t even in the same category so you can’t compare the 2 as apple to apple

• Xc60 or Boyue or Daihatsu on Oct 23, 2019 at 7:09 pm

Anytime Boyue is the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • 4bini on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:41 am

This is why Boyue is rejected in every single first world country in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Real LLort on Oct 24, 2019 at 12:10 pm

Ok, “rejected in every single first world country”. I would like some proof over this claim, your honor. I don’t believe a single word out of the blue but if this claim has proof, I have to accept the truth and agree to disagree. Oh by the way, how many is first world country? Does the combined population of first world country exceed the total population in China alone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • I see you just met our name-changing resident troll. Congrats. Hint: He is also “Hassan Yunos” below just so you know.

• Real LLort on Oct 24, 2019 at 6:05 pm

@Alan , did I just unlocked an achievement!? I’m sensing “Troll Hunter Achieved” message anytime soon.. hahaha

• Troll Hunter on Oct 26, 2019 at 9:59 am

@Real LLort
            Achievement unlocked. You have just joined our elite group of hunters!
            Keep up the good work.

• Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:53 am

At least this car, like P2 cars will have RV. I am happy to buy cars with RV. Buy Proton today RM80k, tomorrow sell also can only get RM40k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Isobel Chin on Oct 24, 2019 at 10:59 am

I don’t mind losing RV as I get to enjoy the car. If you need to worry on RV, that tells you cannot afford it.

• RM40k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:59 am

People buy Aruz over X70 because one is RM70k and the other is RM123k

this will be the same

• Veyron Owner on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:11 am

Like why many chose fake LV over real LV. This will be the same.

• Just my 0.0005 cents on Oct 23, 2019 at 3:12 pm

Bad move. They are moving towards the path of old proton. So many model until almost everything fails. Should focus on improving current models quality / price instead of beefing up new segment.

Life’s like a wheel. One day you’ll be at the TOP and one day at the bottom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Hassan Yunos on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:56 am

I don’t why until today we don’t know how to make our own car. Still need Geely, Daihatsu etc etc.

What do the local universities teach?

• Pak Toh on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:30 am

We have alot assembly plant and parts supplier company in Malaysia which required engineering skills to supervise.

• Perodua’s answer to X50. Both this and X50 looks great, it’s then down to engine and price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • the upcoming Perodua Baguz 1.0t crossover

• Typical Malaysian on Oct 23, 2019 at 3:25 pm

“Game changing design…bla bla bla…Proton game over…bla bla bla… Sales figure says all… bla bla bla…Japanese quality bla bla bla…High resale value..bla bla bla…” -worsheeper, 2019

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
  • If this comes to here, they will take out the turbo engine and plonk in their dinosaur 1.3L/1.5L engine. Why? Because we can’t have nice things that’s why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Granny on Oct 23, 2019 at 3:56 pm

Perodua Ariya

• That looks so dope!

Kembara returns! I’d get one as a second car

• thepolygon on Oct 23, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Now at least this looks more like a Kembara replacement rather than that Aruz…

• Jeremy on Oct 23, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Aruz is a real failure when up til now Proton X70 still outsells it.

• Brother... on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:44 am

Bro, Not everyone can afford over 99k car bro… Most Malaysian can only afford below 60k car… So price and spec are main selling points.. In term of looks, spec of course X50 but pending on price…. If X50 selling 70k to 100k, perodua D55L selling at 50 to 60k sure got markets, D55L targets lower budget markets for ppl who do not care about engine power and need a good looking safe car.

• hey, i thought perodua is Malaysian…

• 4bini on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:37 am

30 years we never learnt anything as we are only rebadgers till today

• Rakyat Malaysia on Oct 24, 2019 at 5:25 pm

What to do. They spent 5 years in Japan studying, then 25 years of continuous rebadging but until today still cannot come out with their own car that we can be proud to call our own national car.

• Ntahapapantah. on Oct 23, 2019 at 8:13 pm

Pls give back manual transmission and AWD. Nak bawak masuk kebun pun x segan sangat.

• rear lights looks like myvi

• normal_user on Oct 23, 2019 at 10:22 pm

Exterior looks promising but the interior is so disappointing.

1. Dashboard & doortrim looks too plasticky & design is so archaic.
    2. Rear legroom smaller than myvi
    3. Seat base is quite short
    4. Head unit screen looks very much like aftermarket.
    5. Old school parking brake, gears & knobs (as compared to X50).

Daihatsu should learn from the new Jazz… or even Kia. Seems Toyota doesnt care much.

• Price should be a lot different bro… Targets difference markets… Below 60k will consider it.. More than 60k… Better buy X50…

• Dogbert on Oct 23, 2019 at 10:22 pm

140Nm moving 980kg is better then Myvi 1.5

• Daddykasi on Oct 24, 2019 at 7:48 am

The real game changer! Abeslah x50!

• 4bini on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:35 am

Perodua always makes rakyat of Malaysia proud. Until today, they never took 1 sen of bailout money from the Government and has been paying billions each year in company tax to the Government.

Proton on the other hand has taken over RM20 billion to date and has not paid company tax the past 20 years as they obtained tax exemptions due to yearly loss

• Veyron Owner on Oct 24, 2019 at 11:15 am

Why proud? Until today they still cannot make their own cars and continue to rely on Daihatsu & Toyota. They still continue to receive tax exemptions, despite not being a real national carmaker so they have been paying a single sen of tax.

• Lol... on Oct 24, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Nothing wrong bro… At least Malaysian can enjoy affordable price car with reliable engines n gearbox… Better safety specs… Excluded Axia n Bezza which only have 2 airbags, not all model equipped with vsc and abs. Shit

• Excluded Axia n Bezza? You do realise the bulk of their sales came from these 2 models? That is like asking us to forgive CocaCola for gifting the world diabetes all because they also sold fruit drinks?
          Sorry friend. A small good doesn’t atone for their larger evils.

• Simplify Motor on Oct 24, 2019 at 9:38 am

All we need is a Turbocharged Myvi , 1.5 turbo ,lets say 120hp with 149nm , we are not asking much

• Lol... on Oct 24, 2019 at 4:36 pm

They offer u 1.2L turbo from Toyota CHR later…. At RM 170K same pricing as AP CHR OK?

• the man on Oct 24, 2019 at 10:19 am

Why exterior looks similar to Hyundai Venue? Who rip of who?

• Nooradr on Oct 26, 2019 at 12:10 am

All of you commentors below belong to this organization group called NATO…!!!
    (No Action Talk Only)

• Semper Fi on Nov 01, 2019 at 7:10 am

Rocky was here in the 90s?
    I remember sitting in one in the 80s even!

• muhammad arshad mustapaha on Jan 15, 2020 at 1:51 am

Ok.. this is segmen B – suv 5 seater.. will challnge HRV pretty soon.. oh wait, proton going to release x50 too.. ok another choice for same segmen.. perhaps specs and price would determined the buyer.. guessing from the design, myvi selling rate maybe going to down a bit due to”cute” design of this mini suv.. usually ladies buyer dont mind so much with the prices as long it looks beutiful and cute like myvi 2018. And another mindset, ahh biarlah.. nnti kereta besar suami aku lah beli.. baik aku beli kete comel2 mcm ni.