Tokyo 2019: Honda Freed facelift gets minor changes

The facelifted second-generation Honda Freed was revealed ahead of the 2019 Tokyo Motor Show, and as such it was no surprise to see the refreshed mini-MPV on display at the show, which ended today.

There aren’t many changes to the Freed, which sits on the same platform as the Jazz. The front end gets a rework, with the “Solid Wing Face” crossbar that links the headlights now slimmer, styled along the lines as that seen on the new Jazz. The car also gets a new bonnet and front bumper, which features a redesigned lower insert.

Like the new fourth-gen Jazz, which was the big ticket item at the show, the Freed also gets a new Crosstar variant, which dresses it up with a quasi-crossover look. Fresh bits include a new grille, black plastic-clad side skirts and silver-coloured skid plates, roof rails and door mirror covers and door handles. Two-tone 16-inch alloy wheels complete the styling makeover.

New colour options for the compact MPV include Premium Crystal Orange Metallic II, Silver Mist Green, Platinum White Pearl, Super Platinum Grey and Midnight Blue Beam.

The Freed continues to be offered in six- or seven-seater guise and also as a five-seater, the latter badged as the Freed+. Interior revisions are minor, the changes made up of new fabric seat designs and decorative trim pieces in walnut for the standard variants and plywood in the case of the Crosstar.

As is the case with the Jazz, the Freed now comes equipped with the Honda Sensing suite of driver assistance systems as standard across the entire model range. The pedal misapplication prevention system has also been updated, and now also works in reverse.

Elsewhere, a step downshift control feature, which adds engine braking on downhill slopes when the brake pedal is depressed beyond a certain point, has also been incorporated.

No powertrain revisions, the petrol Freed continuing on with a L15B 1.5 litre direct-injected i-VTEC four-cylinder mill, which offers 132 PS at 6,600 rpm and 155 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. Paired with a CVT, it’s available in front- or all-wheel drive configuration.

Unlike the upcoming Jazz, the hybrid Freed continues to utilise the familiar 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle i-VTEC engine, electric motor and seven-speed dual-clutch transmission combination. The mill itself offers 110 PS and 134 Nm, and with the motor, total system output is 137 PS and 170 Nm.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• It won’t be in malaysia shores?

• The incoming all new P2 Kenari aka Daihatsu Tanto more unik & ranggi…. macam Axia Style.

• Muhammad arshad on Nov 05, 2019 at 7:42 am

Brought to malaysia please… and make sure the price tag are resonable. Tq

• NORMAN CHOY on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:20 am

Does it come with an air conditioner filter? Why I ask? Just because I just bought a Honda BRV and I can smell a heavy air pollution from the outside of my car whenever I drive. I went back to the service centre and ask the service person and they said they have customers also compliant about this situation. Then I ask them what is the solution and they said, just add in the air con filter and we readjust the nearby wires it will be good for you. Actually the sales person in Honda who sold me the car also was very surprise surprised that this car do not come with an air con filter To me what a shame to say that Honda Japan have the best technology but for a RM216 air con filter also cannot afford to put in together in the package. I told my friends who are working with Toyota, proton, Mazda, produa and etc.They laugh until…………..anyway to me in future, no more HONDA CARS.

• Real LLort on Nov 05, 2019 at 3:02 pm

Count out perodua because my bezza can also smell those outside air.. maybe I should check?

• Muhammad arshad on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:04 pm

Maybe they forgot.. sometimes mistake can occur.. does that means quality assurance from auditor there not doing their job?

• Imran Naim on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:38 am

Previous Freed looked better to be honest.

• thepolygon on Nov 05, 2019 at 8:42 am

With Jazz losing the market to the likes of the new Myvi (way more affordable…), Honda Malaysia might want to rethink it’s strategy to reintroduced the Freed. The trend / acceptance is shifting slowly towards Sienta like vehicles (medium size with affordability and that sliding door).

• Honda Malaysia, please bring it to Malaysia.

It shares jazz platform anyway.

• Kolok buso meering on Nov 05, 2019 at 9:59 pm

Perodua should replace alza like on of these type of vehicle.. maybe sienta? Cause sienta stop selling at malaysia now..

• Pearjai on Nov 06, 2019 at 3:10 am

Honda should bring these l15b for 2020 jazz/city…..no need problematic honda turbo 1.0….not current ‘old’ soch high stress engine….from first gen jazz to 2019 third gen still use same engine lor ! So pathetic….