Proton Preve 1.6 CFE Turbo with a five-speed manual!

Can you believe that it has been nearly nine years since the Proton Preve was introduced? At the time, its 1.6 litre turbocharged CFE (Charge Fuel Efficiency) engine was the talk of the town. While it wasn’t quite as spirited as the Volkswagen Group’s 1.4 litre TSI mill, the CFE unit developed 138 hp, which was close to matching the Honda Civic FD’s 1.8L engine, and made more torque than the Civic FD 2.0L’s lump.

Our initial test drive impressions were positive – the engine was decidedly punchy, and Lotus’ ride and handling magic coursed freely through its veins. The mediocre GT Radial Champiro factory tyres aside, the Preve was a hoot to drive, with great steering response and a predictable tail. You could say it drove confidently and with much composure, even when barreling into the corners.

However, the real “potong stim” factor was the continuously variable transmission that came with it. During the Preve’s launch, Proton engaged Lotus brand ambassador and ex-Formula One driver Jean Alesi, who told the press that the CVT offered a “very smooth” driving experience and good engine braking performance. Well, let’s just say it didn’t quite work out like that, at least not for us.

The CVT wasn’t the best fit for the CFE engine. It roared uncharacteristically at full pelt, creating a loud droning noise akin to an airplane taking off. So we thought, wouldn’t a manual gearbox suit the car better? Surely it would have been more appealing to enthusiast drivers.

The green Preve you see before you is exactly that, a real-life manifestation of what should have existed. Syamil Hisham is the proud owner of the car for eight years. As an enthusiast himself, the modifications started out small. Five years in and a few transmission failures later, Syamil decided it was time to part ways with the CVT, thus began the painstaking journey of a stick shift conversion.

You might wonder, wouldn’t it be easier to do a full engine/gearbox transplant from the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution instead? If anything, the successful attempts of other Preve owners should justify the hefty investment. According to Syamil, the 1.6 litre CFE engine was already dynamic enough, and the engine swap route would only introduce more weight that could adversely affect the vehicle’s well-rounded nature.

With that, Syamil reckoned that the most “cost effective” mod, at least in the long run, is to do a manual gearbox conversion. To do this, he sourced a five-speed gearbox from a Proton Satria Neo, along with the brake and clutch pedals. These aren’t the plug-and-play kind, even though the CFE engine is based on Proton’s S4PH CamPro engine.

Some tinkering was required to get the gearbox to align with the engine (only three bolts were aligned at first). The process included modifying the CFE’s flywheel for a seamless fit, and the gated shifter itself was taken from a Lancer Evo (also modified to fit).

In case you’re wondering why Syamil didn’t just use the manual transmission from the Preve 1.6 IAFM, the answer is simple – there’s not many of those around, and not many can be found at half-cut lots. This Frankenstein method is clearly far more complicated, but let’s just call it a labour of love.

Once that’s out of the way, it’s time to sort out the electricals, specifically the wiring system and engine control unit. Like most modern engines, the Preve uses a multiplexing wiring method, allowing a multitude of compute units in the car to communicate with one another. If the signals from the original CVT are no longer present, then the engine will cease to function optimally.

To mitigate this issue, Syamil again Frankensteined the ECU. The original IAFM drive-by-wire system gets replaced with a throttle body (and cable) taken from a Nissan SR16 engine. Then, a new MaxxEcu Mini from Sweden gets installed. These aside, the rest of the electronics remain bone stock.

Speaking of which, the engine is also still in its factory state. The only work it has gotten is a top overhaul. Even the turbocharger is the factory unit. The induction system, however, gets upgraded with a Works Engineering carbon-fibre enclosure with a Simota air filter, and the air channels are shortened with custom fabricated aluminium ducts.

Syamil also used new ignition coils from a Honda K20 engine, plus a straight-pipe exhaust system that’s embellished with dual four-inch Akrapovic tips. There are no mufflers here, so you get the requisite pops and crackles, plus a little “fireworks” display when the foot is lifted off the throttle pedal.

All in, power is raised from 138 hp to 160 hp, or about a 16% increase from before. So that’s it, all good to go! No, not quite – the hurdles don’t end there. With the Neo’s gearbox now in place, the Preve’s original driveshaft is no longer usable, because the gearings on the differential slot don’t match. Syamil trialed a number of driveshafts, but many broke because they weren’t able to handle the CFE engine’s increased output.

For the time being, a carbon steel driveshaft seemed to solve the issue. Should it break again in the future, Syamil said he will resort to using chromoly, a tougher alloy made from chromium and molybdenum that’s commonly used for making bicycles.

Another aspect of the car that has been improved is suspension. Syamil went with homegrown brand FTuned Suspension for his setup, specifically the mid-range S Series. This was primarily for two reasons – optimal balance between performance and everyday comfort, and price. This is paired with a set of 17-inch Fifteen52 Tarmac wheels shod with 215/40 series Michelin Pilot Sport 4 tyres. The brakes are unchanged, though the front rotors have been drilled for better cooling.

Aesthetically, the Preve is finished in British Racing Green (a rightful nod to Lotus) and dressed with a front lip, a front splitter (reminiscent of Proton R3’s Preve race car), a ducktail rear spoiler, plus a rear diffuser by Varis, which was actually made for the Subaru Impreza WRX STI GDB. Notice the missing front left fog lamp? Well, that has been converted to an intake, specifically for the standard intercooler that’s right behind it.

Inside, there’s a new 13-inch flat-bottomed steering wheel by OMP (wrapped with Alcantara!), Bride Low Max race bucket seat for the driver, a Bride Cuga front passenger seat, carbon-fibre-wrapped trimmings, and Ralliart gear knob.

The party trick here is the new OBD2 Magician digital instrumentation that has been retrofitted into the instrument binnacle. It provides engine revolution readout, battery voltage, engine temperature and even turbo boost meter. It also doubles as a “mask” to hide all the warning lights that have come on as a result of tinkering with the engine management system.

In an ideal world, we would love for Proton to produce the Preve CFE MT, never mind if it was sold in very limited quantities. Syamil’s car is a living proof of concept, and anyone out there looking for some fun can start sourcing for a used Preve CFE, which can typically be had in the region of RM20k to RM30k. Now, dear readers, what do you think of this manual Preve CFE?

This article has been translated from the original story written by our BM counterpart.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• newme on Feb 22, 2021 at 3:47 pm

Of course we remember Preve. That’s when we learnt about spot welding and turbo bocor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • myvier on Feb 22, 2021 at 5:02 pm

First flying car is myvi

• Intact on Feb 22, 2021 at 8:39 pm

Preve’s most memorable news , the driver escape unhurt, open the door and walk away from a wrecked accident, 6 month after the release. Cabin intact with highlevel HTS protection unlike those twin’s flying sister & Jdm brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Safety First on Feb 23, 2021 at 12:35 am

Preve- a good car driven by bad impression
      Aruz- a bad car driven by good impression
      Proton was wrong to focus on the engineering and not on the marketing and feeding their fanboys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • newme on Feb 23, 2021 at 9:21 am

Nak tipu pun agak2 lah. If Proton is so good, the company won’t be sold 2 times in 5 years. Now got to sit in same room with Sanchai China quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
        • jusknittin on Feb 23, 2021 at 2:34 pm

You need to come up with a better comeback. This one is “basi” already. Oh wait, I forgot you’re still in school. That’s probably your best comeback yet since years ago.

• hantu raya on Feb 23, 2021 at 9:24 am

could not agree more.

• AQIL ADAM on Feb 22, 2021 at 4:14 pm

Able to provide a rough estimation of how much was spent on the full change? As Matt mentioned, a used CFE Preve could be had around 20-30K region, so how much to set aside to convert it according to Syamil’s “design”?

• sohai on Feb 22, 2021 at 4:27 pm

Good job Syamil. Your love and labour paid off

• MR TER FOOK TEN on Feb 22, 2021 at 4:29 pm

Great writing indeed. Keep up this kind of content.

• anonymous on Feb 22, 2021 at 4:41 pm

those who say Proton Preve is a good car basically is merely keyboard warrior. A car with often broken oil cooler hose and rear alxe crossmember is just a junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 40
  • Tastefully tuned especially the duck tail spoiler design. Me likey

• Bruce on Feb 22, 2021 at 5:16 pm

If there is limited edition of 6MT variant, it will be much more excited than those cosmetic black edition.

• panjang on Feb 22, 2021 at 5:23 pm

Actually there is a proper original left hand drive manual cfe Preve in Bangi. Nope, its not modded but stock from factory and a left hand drive model.
    Not sure if the car is there or still in one piece as its not registered, its donated to an institution as a learning tool for the student.

Would be great if PT can test drive this car. Enough space in the institution to do so.

• Manual to a rubbish preve still rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • Straight Pipe on Feb 22, 2021 at 7:40 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/02/22/jail-term-rm2000-fine-await-exhaust-noise-offenders/

• Frank Enstein on Feb 22, 2021 at 10:22 pm

It Lives!

• aikz, the jurassic age Campro 1.6L engine still no change?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • farhunter on Feb 22, 2021 at 11:34 pm

Great story here, its all about passion.

• Ben Yap on Feb 23, 2021 at 2:19 am

after spending so much, it is still slower than a civic turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • hantu raya on Feb 23, 2021 at 9:26 am

it was never meant to race/beat a civic turbo, which by the way is slower than a saturn five rocket. irrelevent? yup, just like your statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Dogok on Feb 23, 2021 at 9:46 am

after spending so much, it is still cheaper than a civic turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Now proton, if still have any unsold units in your garage, maybe its time for final edition of improved preve. Manual tranny + upgraded turbo cfe engine tuned by R3, improve handling parts + special upholstry should be great. Im buying one if coming soon.

• Alive & kicking on Feb 23, 2021 at 8:52 am

‘5 years in & a few transmission failures later…’
    It’s clear that if the Campro CFE is tweaked beyond it’s stock 138 HP output, the Punch CVT is not going to last long.

• user69 on Dec 17, 2021 at 12:25 pm

naah, even cvt non turbo less power also got transmission issue, its the cvt is straight garbage. not bcause it overtweak or something.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Feb 23, 2021 at 10:19 am

Very complicated.. Buy manual exec preve then, convert cps engine to cfe engine..

• Jacky on Feb 23, 2021 at 10:21 am

I uesd to believe Proton car and as a loyalty customer until i bought a Proton Persona three yrs ago, problem with first cool start with a crawling n a click sound. Off engine second start as normal. Send to servis centre in Ipoh Jalan Kampar Gerak Roda 3 times, can’t solve the problem, just being told it’s normal. Its frustrated. After send to a service centre in Bidor, problem found but have to paid for the repair about Rm600 + with no warranty . Whats that 5 yrs warranty provided, feel like being cheated. I will never buy Proton car again.

• honestly, better get an inspira 1.8 manual for around same price then convert to 4b12 manual. stock with simple tuning easy 160-170hp. no hanky panky, more comfort, much better reliability

• Rakyat biasa on Feb 24, 2021 at 12:25 am

When I chose my P3-21A.
    I knew there’s gonna be a few minor issues here and there. But the price compared to a similar Jap variant will set me back another >20k at least. With that amount, I could afford a whole new engine and cvt if quality is that bad. I knew nothing good will come from CFE, so I chose IAFM. Less power for reliability and pocket friendly. Resale value is not my priority; if you want resale, better park your money in a bank and take the bus.

I wasn’t going for FD or dugong’s brother. Both cars are too “Hot market item” for me. Sometimes my work requires me to travel late night. I didn’t want my heart racing when a suspicious car is around or want to worry about it possibly not being there where I left it. Also the lack of can bus implementation throughout the car screams 90s tech packaged in a millennial car.

For sub 60k, I got a car with some of the latest safety features of its time. 6 Airbags, pretensioner, abs, ebd, vsc, traction control on a HSS (high strength steel) chassis. Lotus ride was felt firm and confident on the road compared to my previous daihatsu rebadged flying car which corners like a boat. Sounds like a good deal to me.

HSS did wonders, got hit by a Jap car from the back and it wrecked her car. Airbags out, rad puncture and hood folded into the engine. My car had a bent crash bar and minor dent on spare wheel well. Trunk opened normally, I could drive home if I wanted to.

It’s a shame our flying car factory hasn’t use HSS extensively in the car. Afterall it’s easier to market visible gadgets like ASA which is really good, all its missing are some HSS/UHSS/AHSS on important structural members so the car dont turn into scrap metal when it meets its untimely demise. Aruz is looking real attractive as my next car as it has AEB and all of the previous safety tech. Probably I’ll put all the chassis reinforcements I can legally install such as foam injection and all the UR bars.

• Donno on Feb 24, 2021 at 2:10 pm

The P3-21A is a handsome car, but is let down by the lethargic engine.

The campro head is really not suited to turbocharging, with issues with controlling the head temperatures to managable level.

The best thing to do is actually to just dump the CFE engine and go mitsubishi. All the money spent on hopping up the CFE will only reward you with a knackered head in the near future.

Its too late now, but i do wish that the preve could have the X70 turbo engine as a standard fit. Rumours abound that Geely will shut down all R&D in Proton (future protons will just be rebadged Geelys), unlike Perodua where its parent company Daihatsu is acknowledging the R&D capability and styling good tastes of Perodua.

• SmartConsumer on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:45 am

Masih takde EV version ke?

• Abu Edy al-Boltoni on Mar 01, 2021 at 7:26 am

Lotus ride & handling? Rubbish! It was all down to Malaysians lead by the legendary Syammim Noori

• SylvesterJ on May 03, 2021 at 9:49 am

Im satisfied with my manual 1.6 Iriz ☺️. Its good to see this, because very few of us actually want manual car.

• MOHD IKRAM BIN MAT RANI on May 17, 2021 at 9:18 pm

I pernah pakai perdana v6 1st model tahun 2000, kereta total lost. I beli honda jazz gk4 tahun 2016 pon total lost. Now i use preve 1st model 2012, luckily belom total lost. Just think about it

• Ujang Al-Soloki on May 17, 2021 at 9:19 pm

I pernah pakai perdana v6 1st model tahun 2000, kereta total lost. I beli honda jazz gk4 tahun 2016 pon total lost. Now i use preve 1st model 2012, luckily belom total lost. Just think about it