SPYSHOTS: Perodua Ativa sighted with GearUp kit

More photos of the upcoming Perodua Ativa (also known as the D55L) have surfaced, with this latest batch coming courtesy of paultan.org reader Sulaiman Hamid. While not the best kept secret thanks to previous leaks, the decals on this test drive unit confirm the Ativa nameplate.

We also get a much better look at the compact B-segment SUV’s front end, which is distinctively different from the Daihatsu Rocky, the model on which the Ativa is based on. For starters, the grille is much wider on the Perodua model and features a different design for the insert.

The multi-slat look is headlined by chrome accents at the top, which help to frame the Perodua logo and bridge the front headlamps. The bumper is also unique to the Ativa, with triangular fog lamp enclosures that are highlighted by L-shaped trim in black.

These cues are something we’ve already seen with a previous sighting, but what’s new with this unit is the GearUp bodykit fitted. The package includes a front bumper extension that accentuates the lower intake, while giving the Ativa more “bite” with serrated bits in the lower apron.

Also included in the package are side skirts with chrome accents, while the rear will receive additional garnishing around the number plate holder, with very small, faux “exhausts” in chrome. An accompanying document that shows the list of available GearUp accessories for the Ativa refers to the bodykit as Blaze, which is priced at RM2,500. It should be noted that Perodua’s bodykit looks nothing like the Rocky’s optional accessories, be it the Elegance, Powerful, and Sporty packages, or Modellista.

Other items listed include Blaze seat covers, a rear bumper protector, LED scuff plates, interior floor lighting, a luggage net, hood insulator and a Utility package (door visors, luggage tray and coil mats), with prices ranging from as low as RM30 to RM800.

The decals also confirm the turbocharged engine’s displacement, which is 1.0 litre, and most certainly refers to the Rocky’s 1KR-VET. The turbo three-cylinder engine serves up 98 PS at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque from 2,400 to 4,000 rpm, with drive going to the front wheels via a D-CVT (Dual mode CVT).

Both are among the many firsts for the Ativa, as it is also the company’s first model to be built on the Daihatsu New Global Architecture (DNGA). We’ve already had a go in the new Perodua SUV, and you can read our first impressions, here.

Estimated pricing for the Ativa starts at RM62,500 on-the-road without insurance, and goes all the way up to RM73,400. That places it within the realms of the larger, seven-seat Aruz, although the smaller Ativa does command quite an equipment advantage.

In terms of safety and driver assist systems, the Ativa will impresses by offering six airbags, stability control, autonomous emergency braking, lane keeping assist and automatic high beam as standard across the range. The range-topping AV gets even more goodies, adding on adaptive cruise control, lane centring assist, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert and plus matrix LED headlights.

The Ativa will make its official launch debut on March 3, which is only a few days away. Armed with all the information we’ve gathered so far, is the compact SUV something you’re looking forward to? Do you prefer the standard or GearUp look? Sound off in the comments below.

Our coverage of the 2021 Perodua Ativa D55L SUV

GALLERY: Daihatsu Rocky in Japan

GALLERY: Toyota Raize in Japan

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• M & B on Feb 28, 2021 at 4:54 pm

Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • zamer on Feb 28, 2021 at 9:12 pm

Cool dan ranggi. Ativa stylo, awek pon suke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Roti john on Mar 01, 2021 at 11:44 am

Stunning design! I dont know what will happen to Proton X50 after Perodua launch the Game-Changing Ativa. This car will dominate the market for sure as it is using the newest DNGA platform, equiped with complete safety features and advance technologies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:06 pm

Well done our national auto bumper changer and bodykit maker! Rebadge dulu kini dan selamanya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Bumper Designer on Mar 03, 2021 at 3:26 pm

Hahahaha

• This will be best seller here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • How to save money on Mar 01, 2021 at 11:50 am

Rm20 road tax. And it’s a Toyota DNA. The rest is common sense.

• John Geli on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:14 am

Yes true finally we Don’t Need Geely Anymore (DNGA) !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • Kim Jong Din on Mar 01, 2021 at 1:04 pm

P1 sales advisors extremely upset cos of the most brutal blockbuster launching of affordable SUV of 2021.
        In you tube there is also a auto journalist who list down the real downside of buying the X50.(10 reasons not to buy).
        It is brutal competition,cos P1 isreportedly faced with mass cancellations of X50.Due to covid,people are downsizing,not upgrading ,unlike Hafriz who still can afford to add another new car to his collection.
        Anyway,bring it on,Perodua.School aready reopened.We want affordable SUV to bring kids to school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • eyecheck on Mar 02, 2021 at 3:17 am

Ativa is not created by daihatsu to go h2h with X50, the whole teamleaders including the designer know it’s limit.It is what it is, below average looking design with sufficient specs for 2021. Design is the forefront of the brand image which is not Daihatsu’s forte. Oversell it as a blockbuster hit movie (false alarm) then seriously pinned it sidebyside with the premium good looking X50,
          a funny joke that you should keep to yourself. Strangely enough its embarrassing for X50 to have anything to do with Ativa. But the efforts keep coming including from you here shamelessly.
          What kind of point to troll now? a video? Massive cancellation?
          X50’s test drives and new bookings keep coming, never slowing down.Theyre now and then thousand videos uploaded in style by youtubers, having great impression on their testdrive, many more on special vehicle deliveries. When the new owner ride and sit in X50, live with it daily, the honeymoon period never stop, it keep growing and growing. The X50’ers are happy and satisfied with their ownership experiences. The network is growing, so fast.

• Modela on Mar 01, 2021 at 9:44 am

It also uses Aisin CVT because of Dahaitsu/Toyota. More reliable, No problem.

• Vader on Mar 01, 2021 at 11:43 am

Lel! A dozen d55 write ups even before the car got launched! The bias is strong with this one.

• YB Albert on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:23 pm

High time,P1 and P2 clean up its act.
      Telling buyers to wait 6-8 months is not right.
      If u have done proper research coupled with affordable pricing with a decent suv to offer the public,production should have started earlier,and stocks made available once the bank grants the loan.
      Imagine having to fork out more money to repair your current vehicle which keeps breaking down lately.Most people want a new car ,simply to avoid costly repairs and frequent trips to the workshop for their current car they wanted to dispose.But how to dispose the old car when the new car is not ready?

• Jia Ren on Feb 28, 2021 at 4:56 pm

Bring it on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • powerbank on Feb 28, 2021 at 5:01 pm

P2 all the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Venza on Feb 28, 2021 at 5:10 pm

Impressive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Very ordinary appearance, good grocery shopping cart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • P2 lover on Feb 28, 2021 at 5:48 pm

Nampak agak heavy dgn bodykit ni, tapi ranggi. modellista Japan pun heavy jugakkan..apa2pun satu percubaan yg boleh diberi pujian.kita nantikan full episod 3mac nanti..

• Fengshui Master on Feb 28, 2021 at 5:49 pm

The front fang gigi taring means it will bite off huge chunk of sales from Proton X50 soon.

Very good symbolic design by Perodua indeed !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
  • Fariz on Feb 28, 2021 at 5:49 pm

Over siaa too gear-ed up for what it is

• Hakim Shahmi on Feb 28, 2021 at 6:03 pm

Rasenye sudah sampai masa untuk perodua tukar logo baru

• #delay #lewat on Feb 28, 2021 at 6:29 pm

have you already placed a booking? share your thoughts in the comments below:
    before you all rushing to tick the booking form,
    read this headlines first:
    metro daily:
    ‘masih menanti ativa tidak kunjung tiba, booking dah 4 bulan, lama sangat tu’ – keluhan ‘anis’ pegawai kerajaan.
    translated from sin-chew:
    ‘penjual janji 1 bulan tapi kini sudah 5 bulan woo, kereta budget pun lambat, kalau tempah itu roll-royce logic la, satu tahun pun i sanggup tunggu’ – kata2 sinis dari ‘wong’, pegawai bank.
    mg-news live video on youtube,:
    ‘dulu itu kawanla mulut manis convinced me to cancel x50 for ativa lor, 1 bulan pasti dapat, saya kasihan sama dia, komisyen sikit tak mcm proton, saya masih tunggu-tunggu macam apa itu melayu peribahasa oh pungguk rindukan mulan tapi why my officemate dapat x50 dulu, sakit hati ini macam’ – sindir ‘puan lim’ pengurus jualan.
    paultan.org, comment by username – ‘in dilema’:
    ‘guys, booked ativa av pearl delima red in march, now july! they asked to wait for another month. what should i do?’
    malay daily:
    ‘bukan hanya myvi yg tertangguh, model sensasi ativa pun terlibat sama’
    paultan versi bm:
    ‘coo mengeluarkan kenyataan minta maaf, akan selesaikan isu kelewatan tempahan ativa secepat mungkin’
    be attentive and guard your decision carefully. you may ended like them in the news, stranded then unnoticed. #tunggulama #norush #jgntergesagesa #kitajagakita

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 01, 2021 at 1:00 am

Wait till you see the crap going on in the Proton X50 and X70 forums about the long wait. Best part? Proton didn’t apologize at all lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • Ahmadjr on Mar 01, 2021 at 11:30 am

Heard that all faults of those jokers in Proton Parts Dept. Local deadwoods from DRB not doin their job, sabotaged Proton revival. CEO Dr Li completely outraged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • China Geli on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:04 pm

Rebadge also need to wait ? Proton will always be Proton

• Rakyat Malaysia on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:05 pm

Nice try Perodua salesman hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Melania Rosmah on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:52 pm

I think the gomen should enforce a law to penalise the car distributor for bad planning and overdue waiting period.
      They should comply with a 2plus 1 rule..meaning deliver within 2 months,plus a month of grace period due to parts shortage etc.
      If you dont have confidence to deliver within the time frame,then dont accept my booking.By accepting my booking,you are tying me down up to 9 months wait,in some cases,which is unacceptable.Also,there is no proper lemon law regarding defective vehicle which cant be driven.
      Most of the time,the buyer has to put up with the delay and costly court case if the vehicle turns out to be a lemon.

• Aura89 on Mar 01, 2021 at 2:16 pm

The world body should enforce a law to penalise semi-con industry for the chronic shortage of chips and electronic parts, jacking up their prices and making people wait 6-8 months for their car, computer, smarphone, microwave oven, TV and whatnot.

These semi-con companies don’t have confidence to deliver with reasonable time so they should stop all innovations, launching new CPUs, launching new GFX cards, launching new PCs, launching new PS5es and Xboxes until they clear their backlog.

Better if they stop all this and we can go back to main guli. I hear there is no shortages of gulis so we don’t have to bring anyone to court. Win-win for all.

Yeah we should go back to that Age when semi-con don’t control our lives. We just need incandescent lightbulbs.

• sarawak sarawak on Mar 01, 2021 at 6:28 pm

follow this idea then the government should punish the people when the car maker have made so many cars and the people didnt buy it….

• Brian on Mar 01, 2021 at 8:46 pm

Follow this idea, hot sellers should punish customers waiting in line to buy their stuff.

• geardown on Feb 28, 2021 at 6:44 pm

that front diffuser look like for rear. gear up kit never look good to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
  • Amin S on Feb 28, 2021 at 6:52 pm

The facade looks overdone, feels like Predator mouth wide open especially the decals around the foglights. And the Bezza grill joining the headlights? Should have picked one instead of doing both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
  • overall impression,
    If raize rocky never existed, you will be thinking this is overbloated bezza in the SUV form, overly done tho. Kind of messy, too many unnecessary sharp creases satin chrome on the bumper plus the drl weird placement.You will be schocked even more when the rear bumper exposed as leaked in the FB, mimics exactly like bezza ‘tonggekness’. Design team should just go to minimalist route : smooth, tidy and clean. This is the opposite of all that. Average looking suv coupled with messy bodykit = ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 34
  • Not sure why the a big hoo ha, after all it’s going to be on the road for the next donkeys years.

• revirdotua on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:03 pm

Ok I take back when I said “well done Perodua, no need to tease here and there like Proton. We all know how X50 look like from the Binyue but Proton still show bit by bit”. Looks like Perodua is clearly imitating Proton. Just like how sudden this Ativa is announced. Afraid of X50 and the rise of Proton maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • seancorr (Member) on Mar 01, 2021 at 1:05 am

Nah since when was Perodua afraid? The X50 base spec has nothing going against this P2 model as mentioned by the paultan team except for it’s size. P2 sell by the numbers and at lower price range so no one’s gonna undercut them at that price point and I lost count how many years the Myvi is top dog in the country for sales. A decade maybe?

• revirdotua on Mar 01, 2021 at 5:07 pm

Well, since previously Proton offering safer cars and Perodua are stuck with ancient safety features. Now its clear that what Proton did (or Geely) are getting in the skin of them. If Perodua maintain the kind of ancient safety features while Proton keep giving better safety along with improving their image (ultimately increasing their sales), Perodua will definitely be forgotten. Definitely. Its true. Don’t deny it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Dinkin on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:08 pm

Cute car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • (Dude) on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:09 pm

Looks like a bulldozer at the front

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Koala on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:12 pm

Feel comfort and better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Kesuma Anthlers on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:12 pm

Ativa (Like), X50 (dislike)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 32
  • Yamseng on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:17 pm

Better than old dahaitsu/toyota platform

• It’s going to be fun when driving this

• AFMGT youtube on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:30 pm

Lets go EV Perodua..ICE is yesterday!

• Muscle SUV

1.0Turbo,

Bye bye Honda S660

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Accent on Feb 28, 2021 at 7:54 pm

Keep it up team from P2 and GearUp

• WTH with those chrome things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • Kamas on Feb 28, 2021 at 8:05 pm

8 speed unit D-CVT? Another new brother king otw.

• Saliva..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Melania Rosmah on Feb 28, 2021 at 8:13 pm

Aiyah yah..just go to any car spa..u can get more geared to your taste.You can even replace the sound system with state of the art one.
    Important for perodua to deliver ATIVA within 2 months..dont be like P1,ask people to wait up to October 2021.
    Bring it on,quick.We cant wait for official walk in viewing.It is the Blockbuster affordable SUV launching of the year.

• Ahmadjr on Feb 28, 2021 at 8:18 pm

Yang design body kit tu budak2 ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • island on Feb 28, 2021 at 8:32 pm

Interesting, modern, high tech and nice

• dededede on Feb 28, 2021 at 8:54 pm

so ugly, the stock design looks much much better…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
  • Dogbert on Feb 28, 2021 at 9:23 pm

The most hideous bodykit ever produced.

• That Guy on Feb 28, 2021 at 9:49 pm

These bodykits always look too over the top. Often, aftermarket kits are way more chic.

• Thong on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:11 pm

Perodua the best

• dupe detector on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:12 pm

The top 5 comments above are all from the same person… I’m certain of it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Sure? Not really bro. They are different.

• dupe detector on Mar 01, 2021 at 5:09 pm

You’re one of the dupes. I’m certain of it. If not, why you have to defend yourself here? lol

• Aura89 on Mar 01, 2021 at 2:20 pm

More, many more. You know, I know but the powers-that-be prefer not to know.

• The Rock on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:25 pm

Let’s Rock

• The Platters on Feb 28, 2021 at 10:29 pm

So called as Queen of P2. Look like

• PeeTuu on Feb 28, 2021 at 11:09 pm

lol kereta kecik tak sedar diri perasan muscular gtfo

• This will be best seller here

• klguy on Feb 28, 2021 at 11:21 pm

looks like a fancier version of the Avanza….

• Bumper on Feb 28, 2021 at 11:55 pm

Errr.. overdone.. too much.. but if it is P2, Malaysian will buy no matter how ugly it looks.. example: Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Ben Yap on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:39 am

instead of spicing the looks of ativa, might as well remap the car for more power. all these cosmetics is all look but no go. with only 98hp, it needs more power rather than looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • looks cheap but expensive lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Borneo Monkeys on Mar 01, 2021 at 1:25 am

I guess east malaysia are very rich ppl

• sam123 on Mar 01, 2021 at 8:26 am

Menariknya! the size are ngam ngam, plan to get one for grocery and pergi balik kerja.

• Bro Gaya on Mar 01, 2021 at 9:10 am

Nice!. I’m gonna buy one for my grandfather!

• So sporty

• Inspiron on Mar 01, 2021 at 10:01 am

Wonderful spec

• osman on Mar 01, 2021 at 10:35 am

Will cancel X50, get this Ativa, much cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Still box n ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • P2 Maruah Lives Forever on Mar 01, 2021 at 11:49 am

The front design of the car looks more garang and macho than Gundam robot!!! I like it! P2 kididap and dongibab!

• China Geli on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:05 pm

Rebadge also need to wait ? Proton will always be Proton

• likesrsly on Mar 01, 2021 at 12:56 pm

daihatsu rocky and toyota raize has better front look. shouldve picked one of those designs. this one kinda tried to carry on the aruz looks. which is just meh.

• got temp gauge or not ????? on Mar 01, 2021 at 1:21 pm

got the temp gauge or not or just a bloodddy light . got or not .?

• Azroy Roy on Mar 01, 2021 at 3:25 pm

Chinese car, Chinese CEO vs Japanese car, Malay CEO. BMF. Nuff said……

• The Swede on Mar 01, 2021 at 8:51 pm

China car with the heart of Sweden vs Japan car with the heart of Indonesia. Which is better

• Buruk ar…. Kotak

• IrwanSyah on Mar 02, 2021 at 11:07 am

What type of fuel pump use in it?

• Bkn buyers. on Mar 02, 2021 at 10:29 pm

Bodoh pnya admin.. mesej yg up perodua je kau masukkn… Satu keluarga kau bangang.. padan muka buruk kau xleh reply balik mesej.. kecik2 xnk mampos.. bsr2 menyusahkn org..