Touch n Go card reload via eWallet ready by year end

At the media Q&A session this morning following the virtual launch of Touch n Go eWallet’s new GO+ investment product, TnG Group CEO Effendy Shahul Hamid shared a couple of updates regarding the firm’s original product – the good ol’ Touch n Go card.

Effendy touched on the progress of removing the surcharge for using Touch n Go as payment at carparks, which is at an encouraging 93% (620 out of 662 sites are surcharge-free now). Another “top request” by urban commuters is the ability to top up the physical Touch n Go card with the TnG eWallet app, and this is currently work in progress.

The TnG chief said that one would be able to reload TnG cards with the TnG eWallet app by the end of this year. He hinted at a “new variant” of the card, which could mean that to enable the reload via app function, users would need to swap to, or purchase a new card. So perhaps the reason why we don’t have this feature yet is due to our current TnG cards’ functionality, or lack of.

There is already a link between the physical TnG car and the eWallet app. Introduced in 2018, the PayDirect function deducts toll charges at supported highways from the eWallet balance instead of the card balance. TnG’s goal is to have PayDirect on all highways, and this is also work in progress. Some mall carparks are also going the PayDirect route now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• John Doe on Mar 29, 2021 at 2:38 pm

The best thing that happened in Malaysia for the past 3 years.

• johnwick on Mar 29, 2021 at 11:31 pm

Agree John. Easy to use credit card but interest too high.

• John Doe on Apr 05, 2021 at 9:18 am

Good point, breakdown of spending category will help.

TNG can focus on bringing more value on using the app rather than just increasing the convenience of spending ie credit card. The “highway spending” mindset needs to change within their management.

• pomen on Mar 29, 2021 at 2:53 pm

if swap the card for free then ok…if need to purchase new then it is bullshit, tng make easy money again for selling the card

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Avenger on Mar 29, 2021 at 3:54 pm

You duwan to pay you can keep using ur non-Android NFC compatible card until expiry then change. Stop whining everything must be free, nothing is free in this world not even clean air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Mar 29, 2021 at 11:04 pm

Actually the real problem is the added TnG card cannot draw from the e-Wallet…

• Hell yeah! Right about time! I don’t mind paying Rm10 for each of mine TnG card if it allows me to reload from phone.

• Jane Doe on Mar 29, 2021 at 3:16 pm

Damn slow leh

this function has been requested ages ago

• TnG system is far older than that. It takes time and money to overhaul the very backbone of their business.

• Darren on Mar 29, 2021 at 4:51 pm

This should be done many years back…so inconvenient to top up now

• This system came out in 1997. Back then in 1997 the iphone of the day, a Nokia 3110 came with fiddly antenna, monochrome screen and *gasp* buttons on the front! Back in 1997 TnG developers could not have predicted what kind of NFC tech will be deployed on smartphones today that would allow them to make it compatible for phone topups.

• GaryGo2H*ll on Mar 29, 2021 at 6:05 pm

Why u defend them like h*ll, Gary?

• I’m stating that people here are being selfish jerks. The point is people refuse to understand that TnG is a legacy system incompatible with current smartphone tech, that was born when smartphones had never existed. They ARE aware of this and they ARE working towards changing that. Instead of understanding that some people make demands to change history, and worse demanding for free. Ask yourself, whenever new iphone or samsung is launched do you bring your outdated phone back to the shop and demand a free replacement of the latest model?

• no wonder we are always trailing in terms of technology.

• Kiew Tee on Mar 29, 2021 at 7:35 pm

Everyone know that their system is old. That is not our problem as consumer. We pay to use their service. They should think abt upgrading their system years ago. Yeah, you quote NFC, and I know the progress in NFC technology and the timelines, they should have upgrade their system years ago. They were busy sucking profit since they purchase from PLUS.

• It is not so easy as talking to replace the system backbone with an incompatible system whilst maintaining operation nationwide.

We can see the ongoing dual use of SmartTag and RFID. That is why SmartTag is still maintained even with intro of RFID. It is a real challenge and would still need time to go full RFID changeover, and still having to deal with stubborn stragglers.

Are they adapting and changing? Of course that’s why eWallet & RFID came out years ago. That was the bridge between the old and new.

They were the pioneers and like all starts, we tend to take their convenience for granted like as our rights, without realising how things was before them.

• Dear Gary, remember the speech made by Nokia CEO Stephen Elop years ago? As a business, you have to adapt to change and if you don’t/can’t then you have no one to blame but yourself.

• Correct , adapt to change. Ubahlah

• And yet somebody’s gotta pay for that change. We used to have Nokia 3310 for Rm600 now an iphone is Rm3000. Should we whine and complain to Apple that we deserve all those new gadgets and tech every year and only pay Rm600 for their new phones? If people weren’t willing to pay Rm3000 for an iphone yearly, Nokia would still be around ruling the roost.

• Kapchai on Mar 29, 2021 at 5:43 pm

Should just open up the system so that you can use ANY wave credit cards to touch, for public transport, parking as well as highway tolls. Straight charge to credit card, no need reload. Like in London tube system
    No more monopoly for one company.

• touchcannotgo on Mar 30, 2021 at 10:17 am

Finally…the best thing happen in Malaysia