100,000 connected Proton cars as of May 2021; 80% active users, 1.5 million “Hi Proton” commands/month

There are now 100,000 connected Proton cars in Malaysia as of May 2021, car connectivity technology and products joint venture ACO Tech said in a statement from chief executive officer Li Pu. Signed in June 2019, the joint venture between Proton, Altel Communications and ECarX saw the forming of ACO Tech in September 2019 to serve the connected vehicle technology needs of markets in Malaysia and in the greater Asean region.

In line with the milestone, the connected car technology firm has released an infographic briefly describing its users and the usage patterns observed. Across Malaysia, the male-female user split has been found to be 62:38, with around 80.3% of the 100,000 users fund to be active users. A total of 1.5 million “Hi Proton” voice commands were received by the system on a monthly basis.

Music playback was found to account for 43 minutes a day on average for its users, and this function was also the most commonly dictated voice command to the system; also in the top three most common voice commands were to “open radio”, as well as “open sunroof”.

These on-demand functions consume a considerable amount of data; ACO Tech finds a total of 557 GB of data being used on a daily basis, with the top 5 users of data on the system found to use 18.5 GB, 10.1 GB, 8.7 GB, 7.8 GB and 6.4 GB on a monthly basis, respectively.

In terms of adoption rates by vehicle model, the X70 leads the table at 66%, followed by the Persona B-segment sedan at 18%. Third on the chart is the Exora with 8%, followed by the Iriz at 6%, and the X50 at 2%, according to ACO Tech.

ACO Tech has committed its research and development resources to the rolling out of eight over-the-air (OTA) software updates across different vehicle models since February 2020, it said. At present, the firm is developing an upgrade to the localised version of software that will bring more than 300 upgrades to the current iteration.

This will be another step towards achieving a connected lifestyle that promotes safe driving, aids convenience as well as granting access to useful local content, ACO Tech CEO Li said in a statement.

The partnership between Proton and ECarX – who comprise two out of the three JV partners – began with the joint creation of the Global Key User Interface (GKUI) for the X70 in 2018, which then saw ACO Tech play a vital role in the localisation of Proton’s GKUI-based infotainment system.

This has been infused with ‘local flavours’ to better suit the preferences and and driving habits of local customers, said Li. Beyond Malaysia, localisation of the GKUI system also applied to the Thai market, where a Thai version of the infotainment system has been in development in preparation for the export of the X50 and X70.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Celup King on Jun 14, 2021 at 12:04 pm

Proton new direction, global ideas local flavour!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • p.mageran on Jun 14, 2021 at 12:48 pm

I am the owner of a 9mth Proton x70 executive… I wondering if anyone ever tried to ask your x70.. “Hi Proton… Spare part bila baru nk sampai”

• Shahdan on Jun 14, 2021 at 3:24 pm

Geely chinas infiltrated local flavour? kominis??

• Simon Liu on Jun 14, 2021 at 12:15 pm

Please make Folders view/ selection possible for USB drives.

• USB is so passe now people are flocking towards music on demand from the cloud.

• Thang CK on Jun 14, 2021 at 4:22 pm

yes, this is super inconvenience for user. Please do something Proton!!

• Faris on Jun 14, 2021 at 12:20 pm

Hi Paultan, did you ask them about the possiblity of introducing Apple carplay / Android Auto on the head unit via G-Netlink Apps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Dun dun on Jun 14, 2021 at 10:35 pm

Haha don’t think so. They might convince you to use their own info system instead so you might pay for the future subscription. Just like Mercedes tesla and ford did

• I mainly use voice commands to make calls and play music.

• Ben Yap on Jun 14, 2021 at 12:38 pm

proton is tracking their users’ usage and this is an invasion of privacy. the tech company knows what the users do and their interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Copy Paste on Jun 16, 2021 at 10:06 am

Copy paste: “I suggest you take a long, hard look at your smartphone.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • Putera Proton yang Kacak on Jun 14, 2021 at 1:04 pm

Canggih and terbaek, bossku Proton.
    Memang padu and berbaloi!

• Bob Mal on Jun 14, 2021 at 1:54 pm

Wow that is a lot of data collected I wonder how about my privacy or just sell it>?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Copy Paste on Jun 16, 2021 at 10:06 am

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • Azgarffield on Jun 14, 2021 at 2:43 pm

“Hi Proton, please locate the SC that has the spareparts to repair you”

• Why So Serious on Jun 16, 2021 at 10:08 am

Hi Proton reply: “But there is nothing wrong with me. Oh wait, you forgot to refill petrol you nitwit”

• Paul Tom on Jun 14, 2021 at 3:38 pm

It’s scary to think about the level of privacy when driving Geely/Proton cars. They can listen to your conversation too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 12
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 14, 2021 at 4:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 139
      • James on Jun 14, 2021 at 5:12 pm

For phones you are allowed to set your privacy, can you do that for Proton Cars?

Why don’t Jonathan you provide a more useful comment…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • Valid privacy concern on Jun 14, 2021 at 11:47 pm

Some phones does not store data in the cloud.

But the real concern is whether Proton/Geely is clear about the fact that they are collecting your private data and be upfront about it. I don’t see a disclosure anywhere in their brochure/sale material that using the infotainment system requires you to share your data with Proton. Also I do not see other infotainment system doing data collection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • Western Capitalist advertisement

vs

Maoist Socialist Communist oppression freedom of expression, privacy intrusion and physical disappearance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Engineer on Jun 14, 2021 at 5:15 pm

Its okay. You can drive around wearing your tinfoil hat. Police won’t stop you. Just don’t mind the weird looks others will give you.

• dance on Jun 14, 2021 at 4:15 pm

So every time you say ‘Hi Proton’, Proton knows what you’re saying. They’re probably even listening to you when you don’t say ‘Hi Proton’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Ghani on Jun 16, 2021 at 4:21 am

U mean like how Amazon Alexa does it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • Copy Paste on Jun 16, 2021 at 10:10 am

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
      • Ken Toh on Jun 16, 2021 at 3:43 pm

Dun be stupid Copy Paste, all the voice function can be disabled in our smartphones. He/she has a valid point, although I believe the function is just to serve the consumers.

• There is more to phone data than just your voice bro. Google, Apple, Microsoft, etc, has no use for your voice… yet… but the data you send and receive from your phone is an absolute goldmine for them regardless whether you’ve set your privacy to the max.

• Raja Kamarul on Jun 14, 2021 at 4:32 pm

Worse thing was the shift to Joox…. actually I don’t use any feature except music pre-Joox. So this gets a 5/10 rating from me….

• Min Tye on Jun 14, 2021 at 5:29 pm

Besides the inclusion of ‘Hi Proton’ in some of the original cars from Proton, and also gear knob, infinite weave patterns, what else Proton get from Geely? 100, 00 connected cars, who care? We want to see more features from Geely in Proton cars. Engine? Gearbox? Man, I will definitely buy Iriz again (sold it last year) if it uses the engine and gearbox from the Flagship X50. Other variant below than that pun, jaadiklaa.

• Kok Chong on Jun 14, 2021 at 5:38 pm

“promotes safe driving, aids convenience as well as granting access to useful local content”
    We can do the same with Android Auto/Apple CarPlay. If they mean for the level-2 autonomous driving (available in X50), that is wonderful.

I thought they want to use it for updating the cars’ firmware (not the headunit, ya?). Sorry, no Android Auto/Apple CarPlay, no Proton!

• NURIZAM KHALID on Jun 14, 2021 at 5:47 pm

would prefer to have waze or google maps for GPS and please remove JOOX from the audio system.

• LOONG TIEN MING on Jun 14, 2021 at 8:51 pm

Blackpink fan ice cream song..wow!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 14, 2021 at 9:42 pm

1.5 million legit voice commands or accidental ones

• Dun Dun on Jun 14, 2021 at 10:33 pm

Funny how people think these features are amazing to be in a car. They failed to see how Proton geely will follow the Germans, Ford and Tesla by offering a subscription to consumer on anything Proton want. Mercedes already on its way to get rid both carplay and android auto so the drivers will solely rely on Mercedes own MBUX. Soon you might have to pay just to use the navigation and there will be bunch of ads in your infotainment system unless you pay extra to disable the ads. Meanwhile on a simpler carplay and android auto, you are basically mirroring your phone into your car’s infotainment system. Instead of making car better and ‘safer’ they make their vehicles become more complicated that can be called ‘computer on wheels’. I know many people even the writer himself might as well but i don’t care. I just expressed how i don’t like where the future of automobile is heading.

• Baby doll on Jun 14, 2021 at 10:45 pm

Funny how many people praise these in car features. Y’all didn’t noticed that Proton Geely did this for a reason. Look at Mercedes, Ford and Tesla. Now they are doing a subscription thing just to enable a feature in a car and put ads in the infotainment system. Meanwhile with carplay and android auto, you don’t have to deal with these. You might as well have to pay just to use a navigation system. I know some of you might disagree but i don’t care. I just want to express my dissapointment with where the future of automobile is heading.

• You sure the large data usage is not coming from surveillance of behavioral, voice recognition and location tracking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3