DBKL encouraging its employees to utilise public transport – studying a no-car day on Fridays for staff

In a bid to support its effort towards creating a low-carbon city, Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) says it is encouraging its employees to use public transport to get to the workplace, Bernama reports. According to Kuala Lumpur mayor Mahadi Che Ngah, the city council is looking at the feasibility of implementing a no-car day on Friday for its staff.

“We are studying a ban on our employees from driving to work every Friday to encourage a low-carbon lifestyle. The action is to minimise the release of carbon from the use of motor vehicles in the city centre,” he said. Mahadi said that this would also be a part of the city council’s efforts to help reduce the use of vehicles in the federal capital.

“This can make the air here cleaner and make people feel more comfortable and safer, besides helping to improve the health level, he said. He added that as a start, DBKL began giving its employees My30 travel passes early this month to encourage them to utilise public transport on a wider basis.

The city council’s move to shift its employees from private vehicles to public transport is very much in line with the ambition outlined by the government to increase the take-up for public transport. Under the 12th Malaysia Plan (RMK-12), which was unveiled earlier this week, the plan is to improve the public transport modal share over the course of the next few years.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Dream125 on Sep 30, 2021 at 6:32 pm

So public transport will be overcrowded on fridays? Possibly there are better ways to encourage their staff to use public transport?

• LRT User on Oct 01, 2021 at 12:20 am

Support our mayor’s effort to promote use more public transportations. Every bosses should encourage that whenever possible if their organisation are located nearby rail services. Once critical demand is there, there will be more impetus to improve services & coverage. We LRT users fully support this move.

• the thing is, your public transport service are crap, and you want ppl to use more public transport???

60 years of tongkat, never learned anything

• LRT User on Oct 01, 2021 at 5:12 pm

60 years of blaming tongkat and all you get is tin kosong, in the first place you folks supported bringing to power a gomen that WANTS to reduce LRT3 scope & size, WANTS to stop MRT3, WANTS to make ECRL useless, WANTS to reduce the bus fleet, WANTS to stop rail system in Penang & Johor. Don’t blame the system when you folks chose to cripple the system.

• Good Luck on Sep 30, 2021 at 6:35 pm

I say good luck. What they’re doing is like what the movie industry is doing to fight piracy. By making it harder for real buyers.

Instead of tackling the real problem, they create more problems.

Improve the public transportation and people will use it.

I’ve driven in Tokyo before, and even if I have a car, it’s far more convenient to use public transportation there.

• Faris Ariffin on Sep 30, 2021 at 7:08 pm

personal experience living in Batu 11 .. nak naik MRT batu 11 .. kereta kena park tepi jalan .. no parking .. and now you suggest what? make your mrt line better as well things that are complementary to your service

• Kapchai on Sep 30, 2021 at 7:20 pm

Better promote EV-Scoot.

Do we have Free Friday Ride around whole KL?
    If got this campaign might work.

• heybadigol (Member) on Sep 30, 2021 at 7:25 pm

If they really want to lower carbon footprint, just ask the staff to work from home. If they take public transport, they might still have to drive to their pickup point/LRT Station.

• Newme on Sep 30, 2021 at 8:26 pm

Will the mayor takes public transport himself? Do it as long as the campaign and not during the first friday for photo shooting.

• LRT User on Oct 01, 2021 at 12:24 am

Everything needs a start, one cannot jump into the deep end without learning to swim, and doing it one day a week for starters is the best way to coax people. Once they felt the benefits of using public transportation, it will be easier to convince majority to expand usage on a daily basis. That will increase service & coverage helping other users like us.

• Bob the builder on Sep 30, 2021 at 8:38 pm

Then dbkl staff will use Grab or ask husband wife to send them to work. Good move tho.

• Smart minister, pls come and show me how I can take public transport to work. I want to save money.

• masuda on Sep 30, 2021 at 9:28 pm

Transport cluster

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 30, 2021 at 10:19 pm

mayor taking? better make sure he does

• Macam yes on Sep 30, 2021 at 10:45 pm

Encouraging… And studying again… After studying do share your findings with the public? Free PR only after recent syiok sendiri announcement of the public transport underutilized cry.

• Let’s start with the Mayor and all FT Ministers. No more black Alphards. Can hah?