MRT Putrajaya Line Phase 1 operations to start in Nov

MRT Putrajaya Line Phase 1 operations to start in Nov

UPDATE: Latest news is that Phase 1 will start on June 16 2022

As indicated in July, work on the MRT Putrajaya Line Phase 1 is almost complete, and the section of the line is expected to start operations in November, according to transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong. He said that construction progress of the first phase was currently at 99.9%, The Star reports.

He said that the 17.5 km section, which runs from the Kwasa Damansara to Kampung Batu, will see the Klang Valley rail network getting nine new stations when it is opened. The journey from Kwasa Damansara to the Kampung Batu MRT Station will take 24 minutes, and the line will link commuters to areas such as Damansara Damai, Bandar Sri Damansara, Kepong and Jinjang.

The section will add some stations redesignated from the existing MRT Kajang Line, formerly known as the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) Line, which was fully completed in July 2017 with the opening of the Semantan to Kajang section of the line. “For the opening of Phase One, there are a total of 12 stations, including three stations migrated from the Kajang MRT line,” he said.

Wee added that the launch timeline for Phase 2 of the project remains on schedule. “The remainder of the Putrajaya line is scheduled to become operational in January 2023, with the construction progress currently at 93.5%,” he said.

The second phase of the line stretches from Kentonmen to Putrajaya Sentral, and when complete, the RM30.53 billion MRT Putrajaya line will span 57.7 km in length and have 36 operational stations in total. Estimated ridership on the line is around 104,000 passengers daily.

Looking to sell your car? Sell it with myTukar.

10% discount when you renew your car insurance

Compare prices between different insurer providers and use the promo code 'PAULTAN10' when you make your payment to save the most on your car insurance renewal compared to other competing services.

Car Insurance

Anthony Lim

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.



  • Train enthusiast on Oct 05, 2021 at 6:47 pm

    Phase 2 completes in jan 2023? Not 2022?

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 0
    • Engineer on Oct 06, 2021 at 4:19 pm

      Due to multiple MCO lockdowns and construction site outbreaks & quarantines. What to do…. covid…

      Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Rafiq on Oct 16, 2021 at 12:34 am

    So looking forward to travel to Putrajaya on MRT!

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • shuhada on Nov 01, 2021 at 1:34 pm

    MRT damansara damai buka berapa hb nov ya?xlarat nak hadap jam ni..mohon pencerahan

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  • Lim Kee Band on Nov 02, 2021 at 2:03 pm

    Why phase 1 not yet open?

    Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

Add a comment