Toyota Vellfire replaces Proton Perdana as official car for Malaysian ministers – costs RM5.8k per month

It has been made known that the Malaysian government has switched the official minister car from the Proton Perdana to the Toyota Vellfire 2.5L. The changeover, which happened in April this year, was brought to light in a parliament sitting yesterday.

Bayan Baru member of parliament Sim Tze Tzin asked finance minister Tengku Zafrul Aziz about the cost of leasing the luxury MPVs, which continue to be sourced from the government’s longstanding fleet management partner Spanco. In response, Zafrul said that the total monthly lease for each unit comes up to RM5,759, which includes RM4,852 to rent the car and RM908 to maintain it.

It should be noted that the Vellfire supplants the stretched version of the Perdana, which has always been reserved for ministers. The standard-wheelbase variants used by other government officials have already been replaced by the X70, also supplied by Spanco.

The news also confirms that Spanco retains the government contract it has held since 1994. Early last year, it was reported that a Naza-Berjaya consortium had secured a new deal, but that was with the Pakatan Harapan government which has long since fallen.

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Vellfire 2.5L facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hazri on Nov 03, 2021 at 8:28 pm

menyampahnya.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 1
    • Sick & Tired on Nov 03, 2021 at 9:55 pm

Tengkiu PH for changing the Govt fleet to Velfires. Menyampah mereka semua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 73
      • jinggo on Nov 03, 2021 at 10:59 pm

65tahun kjaan BN Umno , Hellfire to them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 88
        • Spin Too Much on Nov 04, 2021 at 8:25 am

It wasn’t BN UMNO that put the proposal to change the Govt fleet. PH to burn in hellfire!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 23
          • Spin Doctor on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:56 pm

S&T, STM & RM.. Good job! I’m proud to have you as my students. Keep it up!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:04 am

65 years of stable kjaan BN UMNO that used Proton as gomen cars but only needs 2 years of chaotic & utterly stupid PH rule to change the system and bought vellfires. Too bad for them they did not stay long enough to enjoy this perk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 32
          • Afeeq on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:19 pm

Proton hasn’t even existed for 65 years what are you smoking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
          • Fastfred on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:57 pm

My bro I think you are mistaken …according to the artical it’s says tht it was not pH tht did it , cos when they were in power they gave it to naza/berjaya but since pH fell it went back to spanco who are appointed by BN/umno

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
          • Bro. Government bureaucracy meant decisions taken in 2019 was approved in 2020 and delivered in 2021. Who were those in power back in 2019?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
          • His Friend on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:26 pm

Bro afeeq. Do understand that during BN rule they had used Proton thru and thru. It was under PH rule that Government start to go upcar with using Vellfire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
          • Hidup Spanco on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:52 pm

As the government’s longstanding fleet management partner which still retains the government contract since 1994, Spanco was unable to find a suitable replacement for the stretched Perdana from the national brands, to be reserved for the ministers. Therefore, it had to select a non-national brand which is the Vellfire. Luckily the Naza-Berjaya deal with the former PH administration did not go through because it is doubtful whether they can properly refurbish the stretched Perdanas.

• His Friend on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:23 pm

My bro I think you are mistaken … this is no more BN Government anymore. This is Muafakat Government and it is just 2 months old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:16 pm

Ah yes, it is like wearing the same underwear, but inside out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • Whatever name you want to give it, BN is still a sizeable part of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • Logical Deduction on Nov 04, 2021 at 11:30 pm

Like voting for change but got worse than 65 years of rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • Chua Ah Hing on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:07 pm

It was change by Muhdydin Perikatan please read the article again thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Copy Paste on Nov 04, 2021 at 11:23 pm

Copy paste: “Bro. Government bureaucracy meant decisions taken in 2019 was approved in 2020 and delivered in 2021. Who were those in power back in 2019?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • FAIlure to read on Nov 05, 2021 at 12:11 am

Its Perikatan(another form of UMNO)….did u really read the article and u got so many likes…to many blind UMNO supporters on paultan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Copy Paste on Nov 05, 2021 at 12:09 pm

Copy paste: “Bro. Government bureaucracy meant decisions taken in 2019 was approved in 2020 and delivered in 2021. Who were those in power back in 2019?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • kopi pasta on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:37 pm

More ‘siaran ulangan’.

• Brian on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:53 pm

The inconvenient truth as some puts it

• kopi pasta on Nov 05, 2021 at 9:47 pm

The inconvenient illusory truth

• Spin Too Much on Nov 06, 2021 at 1:09 pm

Only those propounding the convenient lie would be opposed to the inconvenient truth.

• Tiru lekat on Nov 06, 2021 at 7:21 pm

Tiru lekat: ‘Copy & paste a comment often enough and it’ll appear to be the truth.’

• Joseph G on Nov 06, 2021 at 12:19 pm

Welcome to another propaganda show.

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 03, 2021 at 10:05 pm

Patut beli je Proton. Kata hari tu nak BMF.. Vellfire ni produk kapir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
      • Ya lah, sekurang2nya dia org patut pakai Saga utk membantu pemulihan ekonomi negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • hahahah on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:50 am

Produk kapir? Eh banggang nya and sakit kepala nya baca comment kau ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
      • nasib baik test 2 minggu on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:53 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/10/08/bmw-m3-x3-and-vw-tiguan-police-cars-in-malaysia-only-for-two-week-testing-not-purchased-pdrm/

• bajet 2020 on Nov 04, 2021 at 2:00 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/11/16/pdrm-adds-39-toyota-hilux-2-8-black-edition-and-24-bmw-r-1250-gs-vehicles-to-its-fleet-k9-unit-utk-use/

• 2020-2021 on Nov 05, 2021 at 8:18 am

Last year, government also bought 425 PDRM Civic as police car

• Boyue on Nov 05, 2021 at 9:31 am

https://paultan.org/2020/08/25/2020-proton-x70-police-car-spotted-suv-joins-pdrm/

• Additional, another PDRM batch of 653 Civic equals to 1078 Civic

https://paultan.org/2020/06/24/proton-x70-to-join-honda-civic-in-pdrm-patrol-fleet/

• Kancil Hybrid on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:00 pm

Suka sangat mencari kereta kapir, barang2 kapir. Takkan kicap goreng kueyteow dengan fucuk je nak cari BMF halal? Kereta pun kena BMF halal jugak. Apa punya turr..

• mirage on Nov 04, 2021 at 10:49 am

The opposition should be very vocal against these wasteful spending by the government if they really want to help the rakyat.

But no, they won’t make a sound as they also want the same luxuries when they become the government later.

Scumbags left and right!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
      • This scumbaggy was initiated during their stay in Government bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Manifesto Dicapati on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:30 pm

The wheels started turning under their rule. Can you blame the current one then?
        https://paultan.org/2019/08/13/government-vehicle-fleet-tender-attracts-big-names/

• The opposition or rather PH for now, cannot say anything as it was their idea in changing the fleet to luxury MPVs. It would be highly embarrassing if the current Govt were to pull a proposal paper to change the fleet was initiated during their rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Yes, it would be embarrassing if the approval signature for the renewal of the contract belongs to someone in the current administration.

• Copy Paste on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:07 pm

Copy paste: “Which is why voting is all just a mirage, a hoax. We voted for change and what did they do, they changed their cars to Alphards & Vellfires! Ridiculous! Why do you think the voters are angry with them!”

• Tiru lekat on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:48 pm

Tiru lekat: “https://paultan.org/2021/04/14/mrt3-circle-line-targets-30-stations-10-interchanges-up-to-30-private-sector-funding-tender-opens-in-aug/
            The current government can reverse the previous administration’s decision on this RM20-30 bil MRT3 project but it can’t reverse the previous administration’s proposal for new official vehicles?”

• Brian on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:54 pm

The current Govt can reverse previous decision on MRT3 because it would be bad for their image if they did nothing and they cannot blame it on the previous team.
            But for this case, the current Govt would enjoy these luxury cars and can blame it on the decision of the previous team. Govt only takes action when it would benefit them moreso when it is the blunder of the previous one.

• more sick more tired on Nov 04, 2021 at 4:38 pm

More waste of public gov funds.

• Spin Too Much on Nov 04, 2021 at 6:42 pm

Blame those in power back when decision made in 2019 to change the fleet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
        • Stop da spin on Nov 04, 2021 at 7:59 pm

Wah! How convenient for u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
          • Contradiction on Nov 04, 2021 at 11:22 pm

An inconvenient truth becomes convenient for others, why gripe about the truth.

• Stop da spin on Nov 05, 2021 at 9:43 am

So, if the truth is inconvenient for you, what is convenient for you is not the truth. Thanks for sharing your contradictory thoughts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Contradiction on Nov 05, 2021 at 12:07 pm

So for those of you that spins convenient lies, the truth becomes inconvenient for you. Thanks for sharing your inconvenience.

• Stop da spin on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:36 pm

Yes, it’s me trying to stop da spin. But I can’t stop your self contradiction.

• Contradiction on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:59 pm

You only contradict yourself when your convenient spin fails against the inconvenient truth.

• Stop da spin on Nov 05, 2021 at 10:12 pm

How can I self contradict when you’re the contradiction?
            Please stop the spin.

• Spin Too Much on Nov 06, 2021 at 1:10 pm

You self contradicted the truth which fails badly as the truth is out there for all to see. Please stop the spin.

• Stop da spin on Nov 06, 2021 at 3:17 pm

So now you have to switch names?
            Yes, you do also spin too much.
            Please stop the spin.

• Stop Da Spin on Nov 07, 2021 at 12:01 am

So now you switched names and spin too much. You should stop the spin.

• So glad with all the struggles of MCO, poverty and people being jobless that my tax money is being put to good use.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 0
    • Bob the builder on Nov 03, 2021 at 10:50 pm

Ahh yes rakyat can go eat poop and buy local perodua n proton. Ministers dun care u all they just want lavish lifestyle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
      • Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:04 pm

Sounds more like envy than any genuine concerns for “rakyat”. Are you saying someone who can only afford to buy perodua n proton also can only afford to eat poop? If you are in those minister’s shoes, you are willing to drive perodua n proton instead? Instead of being jealous, you should ask yourself, why aren’t you driving a Vellfire (if you can’t afford one)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
        • Spin Too Much on Nov 04, 2021 at 6:44 pm

They should be asking why newly minted college grad ministers could suddenly afford Vellfire before the Gahmen handed it out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Defending them so hard, daddy working at gomen office is it? Lol

• Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:15 am

To be fair, you probably don’t pay enough tax money to pay for the lease of one Vellfire. The money is most likely from Petronas or borrowed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
      • mirage on Nov 04, 2021 at 10:42 am

no matter

we vote them to work to better the lives of the rakyat, not for them to live lavish lifestyle paid for by the government.

• Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:08 pm

If that’s the case, why would they want to get elected for? Life isn’t charity. You work for your own benefits. So, why would they work to better the lives of rakyat? If you think you can do better than them, run for office! Be like them. Work for your own benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr (Member) on Nov 03, 2021 at 8:57 pm

Dayum RM908 per month to maintain……what exactly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Susukotak on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:14 pm

Inclusive ppm, painting, insurance & roadtax for the 5 -6 years?

• Huck Phin on Nov 03, 2021 at 9:03 pm

Ministers need to use bicycles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • morpoyos on Nov 03, 2021 at 9:05 pm

Government can save money by choosing other options. Ministers can use X70s and officers use Personas. Support local car and industry. Money saved can use to help rakyat. Come on government you can think & act better than this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • morpoyos on Nov 04, 2021 at 2:06 pm

Want to carry a lot of things & big space take Exoras
      No advisors with saving money ideas?

• Accord Camry doesn’t work? Need vellfire?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Albert Einstein Senior on Nov 03, 2021 at 10:39 pm

Are you guys surprised? Next month,Rolls Royce is on the way.Is this a myth or coming reality?
      Albert Einstein Junior said,it is INSANITY if u keep doing the same thing,but expect different results.

• Angry Voters on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:52 pm

Which is why voting is all just a mirage, a hoax. We voted for change and what did they do, they changed their cars to Alphards & Vellfires! Ridiculous! Why do you think the voters are angry with them!

• have u heard of anger management on Nov 04, 2021 at 10:08 pm

Exactly how many voters do you represent?

• Angry Voters on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:57 pm

The angry ones

• have u heard of anger management on Nov 05, 2021 at 6:50 pm

Exactly how many angry ones?

• Angry Voters on Nov 05, 2021 at 10:29 pm

The ones that won them the seat of power

• have u heard of anger management on Nov 06, 2021 at 12:13 pm

U can’t give a number? It’s OK. The door to the next anger management session is always open.

• Logical Deduction on Nov 08, 2021 at 9:51 am

It is quite obvious won means > 50%

• mirage on Nov 04, 2021 at 10:45 am

vellfire is better for wife/girlfriend/mistress to go shopping.

• Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:22 pm

To be honest, these cars are expensive relative to most Malaysia’s paycheck. In other countries, ministers ride in Benz or the other German lux vehicles. So, it’s not that big a deal. They could have chosen Benz or the other German lux vehicle, but they didn’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • perdana on Nov 05, 2021 at 1:15 am

In my country, Indonesia, our ministers ride in 2019 crown or alphard, and we don’t mind it

• Mr. hardworking on Nov 03, 2021 at 9:22 pm

kalau betul mau kerja bagi Avanza pun boleh maju..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • geely on Nov 03, 2021 at 10:25 pm

x70 please why not support ckd malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • stick on Nov 03, 2021 at 11:14 pm

utter BS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Muhammad Azeem Bin Mohd Shukri on Nov 03, 2021 at 11:46 pm

teruk betul pemimpin politik kita!! sepatutnya salur tempat yg utama dulu. mmg taik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:06 am

Tu sebabnye lepas dah rasa 22bulan kjaan yng bercadang membeli keta2 mewah ni, inikalilah kasi telor begi mrk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Mengecewakan seluruh rakyat Malaysia

• punyu on Nov 04, 2021 at 7:49 am

Wow banyak duit nampak

• Local brand still behind jepun mpv. I hope perodua or proton can OEM the vellfire from Toyota to start a reliable local brand mpv. Like Arus from Rush. Perdana from accord. Toyota has alphard and vellfire. Oem one vellfire kepada P1 P2 ke. Like this win win

• Susukotak on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:11 pm

Buat oem boleh, toyota nak bagi lesen ke?

• Kerajaan boleh bantu minta Toyota bagi lesen pada Proton dan Perodua. Share share the mpv technology so Rakyat can buy local made cheaper too

• Kiasi on Nov 04, 2021 at 8:19 am

Is a death trap van. Express way to hell if got into accident.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 04, 2021 at 8:40 am

negara x ada wang bro. dulu i menteri at least i still show up for public events with perdana, go home tukar mercidis. nowadays….

• RM5,800 for 73 ministers while minimum wage at RM1,500. New engineering graduate starting RM1,800-RM2,200. Good government then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:34 pm

Are you blaming the garmen for low starting salary for engineering graduate? They don’t actually set the salaries for graduates. Perhaps those graduates should consider their capability and earning potential of their chosen fields of studies before they actually enrol in higher tertiary education.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:27 pm

u are right, wrong field of study. should just be politician straight kan?

• Sam Loo (ori) on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:53 am

Ini semua salah Proton..

• Rakyat: Kena pay cut, have to really save money to survive this pandemic, some of us have to apply for moratorium to control debt.

Malaysian ministers: Hey guys FYI we taking your hard earned tax money to get new Vellfire for ourselves because our Proton Perdana is not good enough.

FML

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:40 pm

Proton Perdana really is not good. To be fair, did Proton ever come up with a “good” car? Back to the topic of hard earned money and garmen decision to ride in a Toyota. Well, Toyota is a better optic than Proton, even if it is an econocar brand. To the foreign dignitaries, image is important, even if it means driving a more “expensive” econocar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Contradiction on Nov 04, 2021 at 11:27 pm

Japan PM & the entire Jap royal household official rides are also Toyota, yes the same econocar brand that Malaysi Gahmen has chosen. What image do they bring to others?

• All the rubbish ministers definitely not qualified to have such a luxury vehicle

• malaysia ministers must be reduced on Nov 04, 2021 at 11:12 am

Children should start writing ministers as their occupation ambitions. They will once they know how much ministers earn through salary/compensation/”retirement”.

• Bossku on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:43 pm

Yes, that should be one of their ambitions. Join them if you cannot beat them.

• Faizal Misman on Nov 04, 2021 at 12:04 pm

Negara hutang pun dah banyak, lagi mahu tambah hutang. Pakar2 ekonomi tak ada yang nak nasihat pemimpin yang tak sedar diri ni ke?

• Mamat3 on Nov 04, 2021 at 4:11 pm

Ingat bapak depa punya duit ka

• Spin Too Much on Nov 04, 2021 at 6:47 pm

It is those pakar2 ekonomis back in 2019 that adviced the gahmen to change from Perdanas to Vellfires.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • David on Nov 04, 2021 at 12:56 pm

Use bull cart

• Jamea on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:38 pm

Have pride in Malaysia. Buy your own country’s vehicles and help the economy at the same time. Wasteful senseless unpatriotic spending.

• Why o why on Nov 04, 2021 at 2:14 pm

Hey, these are our elected leaders. From pushing for economic recovery to the vaccination program to ensuring national unity isn’t disrupted by the name of an internationally acclaimed whiskey, they deserve to have their bottom cushioned in the comfort of a luxury MPV. Cut them some slack.

*Picard facepalm*

• Read from the article on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:45 pm

The changeover happened in April 2021. When the current FM gave the numbers in the Parliament, he didn’t mention anything about his predecessor’s involvement, which means his & the current administration’s responsibility.

• Copy Paste on Nov 04, 2021 at 6:45 pm

• kopi pasta on Nov 04, 2021 at 10:01 pm

How to believe when you use other people’s comments.

• Casual reader on Nov 05, 2021 at 6:07 pm

You must be new here. @Copy paste style of commenting had always been about referencing comments from others. The point is, these comments do ring true. If you have a problem pls refute the facts that comment, and not the way how that person commented it.

• kopi pasta on Nov 05, 2021 at 9:45 pm

‘Copy & paste a comment often enough and it’ll appear to be the truth.’ OK, I get it.

• Susukotak on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:58 pm

Tp dalam senarai proton tiada kereta sesuai atau setaraf perdana.

• Boyue on Nov 04, 2021 at 5:23 pm

Garis panduan utk kenderaan rasmi kerajaan sepatutnya boleh diubah mengikut keadaan semasa. Apa salahnya kalau menteri naik X70 semasa fasa pemulihan negara?

• Ralph on Nov 04, 2021 at 4:54 pm

Well done..wasting money while rakyat is struggling.

• Mindset change on Nov 04, 2021 at 6:37 pm

It is a good mindset shift. Proton is no longer a national car. It is owned by a Chinese automaker.
    Second, avoid buying Merz/BMW. Don’t give them that impression that rich & famous would long for their not so reliable products. Time has changed especially with electric cars.

• Bodoh kan… Dah tau kerajaan katanya takde duit nak mrmbazir lagi

• morpoyos on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:10 pm

What the advisors for minister do?
      Got no ideas to save gomen money?
      But have ideas to spend all the money?
      Let rakyat be ministers because they the problems at bottom level
      Politicians can resign
      Politicians made chaotic decisions at all levels
      Shame on them

• ThePolygon on Nov 04, 2021 at 9:21 pm

Rupa-rupnay kerajaan masih banyk duit… suruh kita ambik EPF tapi sendiri…

• Hang on, if it’s the former government that started it then why did a PKR MP question the cost?

• read from the article on Nov 04, 2021 at 10:43 pm

The Bayan Baru MP from PH asked the FM about the Vellfires, which were supplied by Spanco, the contractor which the PH administration had wanted to replace, but it could not after being removed from power. Since the FM had provided the required figures, he did not deny that the current government had agreed with Spanco’s action to supply the Vellfires at the stated cost.

• Spanco had all these while been supplying various Protons to gomen fleet, Inspira & Preve for PDRM, Perdana for MPs, etc. The only issue is their supply now of Velfire to replace Perdana and that is due to PH decision to buy luxury MPVs when in power and they intended it to come from Naza, so really is the same raw deal for rakyat only that cronies were switched from right to left. Hypocritical for PH to bring that up as mud is also on their hands.

• S4PHCPS on Nov 05, 2021 at 2:54 pm

https://paultan.org/2021/04/14/mrt3-circle-line-targets-30-stations-10-interchanges-up-to-30-private-sector-funding-tender-opens-in-aug/
        The current government can reverse the previous administration’s decision on this RM20-30 bil MRT3 project but it can’t reverse the previous administration’s proposal for new official vehicles?

• Brian on Nov 05, 2021 at 5:52 pm

The current Govt can reverse previous decision on MRT3 because it would be bad for their image if they did nothing and they cannot blame it on the previous team.
          But for this case, the current Govt would enjoy these luxury cars and can blame it on the decision of the previous team. Govt only takes action when it would benefit them moreso when it is the blunder of the previous one.

• S4PHCPS on Nov 05, 2021 at 11:17 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/01/28/naza-berjaya-reportedly-picked-as-new-government-vehicle-fleet-supplier-award-to-be-announced-in-june/
            In February 2019, the PH government at that time had called for proposals for the contract to supply, maintain and manage its fleet of official cars for the next 15 years, reportedly from at least seven companies for the new concession. Spanco’s concession was originally due to end in December 2018 but was later extended 3 times until June 2020. Spanco had supplied the then PH government around 500 Proton X70s between December 2019 and January 2020 to be used as official cars for the public sector’s super scale (Jusa) officers while the ministers at that time were apparently sticking with Protons. On 27th January 2020, The Star newspaper had reported that the Naza-Berjaya consortium has apparently been chosen by the government as the new service provider that will supply, maintain and manage its fleet of official cars and police patrol vehicles. It was believed that the consortium had received the letter of intent from the finance ministry, with the actual award set to be announced by June 2020. But as we all already know, the PH government lost its Parliamentary majority in February 2020, and thus it never got to award the concession to Naza-Berjaya, whose proposal never got approved. And we also know that the PN government which took over, had since then continued on with Spanco and its proposal.

• Logical Deduction on Nov 06, 2021 at 1:07 pm

Basically, upon request from PH then, both SPANCO & Naza-Berjaya proposed to replace the Perdana fleet with Velfire and while the fall of PH meant the proposal from Naza-Berjaya was not accepted, it meant the proposal from SPANCO was. So indeed this result was the evolution development of the deal hatched by PH during their stay.

• S4PHCPS on Nov 06, 2021 at 6:40 pm

The paultan org news article dated 28/1/2020 by Anthony Lim did not reveal the contents of the proposals from the 7 bidders to the then PH administration. Hence, the degree of similarity between the proposal by Spanco and the proposal by Naza-Berjaya remains unknown. And in the last sentence in the 8th paragraph of the same news article, it was mentioned that the (PH) ministers were apparently sticking with Protons.
            The same article (1st paragraph) also mentioned that the finance ministry of the then PH administration was supposed to formally announce the award concession in June 2020, reportedly to Naza-Berjaya, but this did not materialize, because by then, the PH administration was already no longer in power after losing the Parliamentary majority in late February 2020, and thus has no longer any authority to award any government concession or contract.
            This leaves room for the PN administration (who had taken over) to negotiate a new deal with Spanco, renewing its contract, which includes the supply of Toyota MPVs for its ministers’ official use.

• read from the news on Nov 08, 2021 at 7:52 am

It’s been reported in mainstream newspapers that the MoF had said the Toyota Vellfire 2.5L model was to replace the previous fleet of Proton Perdana 2.4 Premium as they had ceased production in 2014, and the decision to replace the official vehicles was also made based on the monthly rental cost of the Toyota Vellfire 2.5 being lower than the monthly rental cost of the Proton Perdana 2.4 Premium. The monthly rental cost of the Toyota Vellfire 2.5L is RM4,851.61, while the Proton Perdana 2.4 Premium was RM4,854.41. Therefore, RM2.80 is being saved per month for each Vellfire.

• Western Star on Nov 08, 2021 at 9:58 am

Vellfire kereta rasmi menteri? Tanyalah Atok dan Abah kau
            https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/597938

• Hidup Proton on Nov 09, 2021 at 11:45 am

When the Proton Perdana 2.4 Premium fleet ceased production in 2014, number 6 was in charge at that time. So, he should ask himself why he didn’t request Proton to develop the next replacement model.

• To justify this government should make the excise duty of all cars equal to Proton. Then this would be a wise decision

• Its just a van.

• Buy a car that fits 7 for a personnel that sits one. I recommend a McLaren F1 since we like to get wasteful why not just go with it.