Yamaha Tenere 700 coming to Malaysia in Q2 2022?

Many paultan.org readers have asked this question, “is Malaysia getting the Yamaha Tenere 700?” The answer to that is, right now, very possibly, yes, and perhaps by the second quarter of 2022.

Purely speculation at this point, of course, as the Malaysian motorcycle market, whilst still robust in the small displacement arena, is somewhat feeling the doldrums when it comes to selling large capacity motorcycles especially those not from luxury brands like Ducati and Harley-Davidson (both of whom, the author hears, have done very well indeed in terms of sales numbers in 2021, pandemic and lockdowns notwithstanding.)

Malaysian importer and distributor for Yamaha motorcycles, Hong Leong Yamaha Motor (HLYM), has been notably tight lipped about the appearance of the Tenere 700 in the local market. The best the author could elicit across two years of the question being asked was a, “that I don’t know but not likely, we still have the MT-07.”

However, the Tenere 700 has been launched in Malaysia’s ASEAN neighbours Thailand and the Philippines with pricing set at RM58,394 and RM51,912, respectively. What this means is when the Tenere 700 is launched in Malaysia by the second half of the year, possibly, the domestic price will be at or around the RM50,000 mark.

The increase in price over what is ostensibly a 689 cc, Crossplane 2 powered dual-purpose motorcycle is justified by the upgraded suspension and brakes, both essential components for a serious, offroad capable machine. This is complemented by the 21-inch front and 18-inch rear wheels, essential for performance on truly rough surfaces.

Does this mean an expansion of HLYM’s range of Yamaha middleweights in Malaysia? Might we even dare hope the Yamaha R7 sportsbike will eventually make an appearance locally? Meanwhile, the Yamaha MT-07 was priced at RM38,288 while the bigger Yamaha Tracer 900 GT was tagged at RM58,888 the same year.

It should be noted the 2022 Yamaha Tracer 9 and Tracer 9 GT are scheduled to get an official Malaysian launch, and price, this month. Competition for the Tenere 700 would come from the likes of the Suzuki V-Strom 650XT and Kawasaki Versys 650, both those are biased more to the adventure-touring side of things.

Right now, your guess is is nowhere as good as mine, I have a dirty badger on my side, but suffice it to say, the appearance of the Tenere 700 will be welcomed by a reasonably strong segment of Malaysian riders who want a proper dual-purpose motorcycle, not a mere adventure-tourer only suitable for trips to Lemang Tok Ki and runs to the border using the toll highway.

What do you think? Will you buy the Yamaha Tenere 700 when it arrives in Malaysia? Are you willing to put your money where your mouth is? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• svherman on Nov 03, 2021 at 8:29 pm

Is Malaysia getting the MT-10?

• Biker 1 on Nov 09, 2021 at 7:31 am

Nope, because we have the worst importer for Yamaha bikes in malaysia. The MT-10 could be a good competitor price wise for Ducati and Bmw, still make alot of money/be successful here but they are big cowards.

• Kevin rather onHondaBigBike on Nov 28, 2021 at 3:08 pm

Yes, totally agreed. Big coward and no class. Even for middleweight class CC bike. Why waited so long? MT10, probably had to wait 20years! How the hell, they can get the Imported license of Yamaha. Disgrace..

• Treated as 3rd world country... on May 11, 2022 at 3:43 pm

Hong Leong >>> F…Y..!

• lolijean on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:21 am

Please…bring in R7…..Dont bring scooter that less people buy……

• lolijean on Nov 04, 2021 at 1:22 am

Please..Bring in R7…waiting it since it launch…Now thailand has it…dont let us dissapoint..

• the driver on Nov 04, 2021 at 3:14 pm

IMO adventure bikes are not sensible. You want to go from point A to point B with a small portion of light off road riding or crossing shallow water, realistically speaking it won’t happen. Roads are for travel at 110 km/h or higher (160km/h) so why choose an adventure bike because of its more upright riding (avoid a sore back over long distances). What is better is a sport tourer which corners better and with the wind pushing your shoulders back, is more comfortable and sportier to ride. And for shorter legged persons, safer to stop and make sharp turns

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • KYspeaks on Nov 05, 2021 at 8:50 am

I gotta need to be taller first. :/

• Fogarty916 on Nov 07, 2021 at 11:57 pm

Can always use lowering kit. Can also consider Suzuki V-Strom (which already has a low seat).

• WR155 and YZ250X pls… sure sell models!

• reyhan on Nov 09, 2021 at 1:47 pm

thanks alot of information

• Importer yamaha big bike malaysia jumud

• feeqdee on Nov 10, 2021 at 10:24 am

No R7, No Tracer 07 and Tenere 700 coming late where the price is most likely would be same as Tracer 09. BUTTTTTT R15 okay MT15 okay Y16 okay R25 okay, MT25 okay. Mother father. Obviously, HLYM only goes for small cc bikes here.

• sairi on Nov 13, 2021 at 6:35 pm

hi, boleh tahu cara ker bagaimana nak order moto ni dari negara jiran bawa masuk malaysia

• Alex Yan on Nov 24, 2021 at 3:04 pm

I am waiting for order, when HLYM Bring in..

• Trek920 on Dec 07, 2021 at 4:49 pm

Yes please bring in the T700 for less than RM50k. And the lowering kit too.

• Albert Yap on Dec 27, 2021 at 4:26 pm

HLYM…Malaysia Tenere 700 group on Facebook is about a thousand strong now… I’m just waiting to buy!…It seems that the current trend is for anything adventure/off-road capable…so please bring it into Malaysia!

• mohamad arizam bin hj alias on Jan 12, 2022 at 8:51 am

Come on Yamaha, bila lagi mak membawa masuk T7. Cuba kau tengok di FB. Berapa ramai rakyat Malaysia yang mengeluh kerana T7 tidak masuk ke Malaysia, Mereka terliur melihat kehebatan T7 terutama T& Rally yang disiarkan fotonya di FB. So saya percaya ramai rakyat Malaysia dan anak muda Malaysia tidak mahu lagi motosikal yang bersifat super atau naked. Mereka lebih sukakan advanture. Sebagai contoh, Suzuki 650 XT V-Strom laris bak pisang panas dengan harga yang kompetitif. Kebanyakkan pembeli adalah dikalangan orang-orang muda yang sekarang mereka lebih menyukai advanture dan dirtbike. So Yamaha harus mengambil kesempatan dengan trend sekarang, supaya dapat bersaing dan memperbanyakkan promosikan motosikal adnvanture dan dirt bike dengan lebih banyak lagi.

• Imran Chong on Mar 05, 2022 at 3:44 pm

Bring it in!!!!! Been waiting for a long time!!!!

• Dual-Sport-Rider on Apr 13, 2022 at 9:23 pm

Why the T7 is not yet in Malaysia?? This bike would sell like hot-cakes! I’m waiting too! Fed-up with s#itty KTM Ready to fail!

Damn’it BRING’IN THAT BIKE!

• Yes, we need this machine in Sarawak! Africa twin n husquana 701 is too expensive for asian

• Treated as 3rd world country... on May 11, 2022 at 3:35 pm

Hong Leong s#cks. They don’t even have an email address for general inquiries. Where is the Tenere 700? 2 Naked bikes, a fat ar$e Touring & few mopeds, Yeah, thank you Hong Leong.

The Tenere 700 is already a legend worldwide, Europe and US will get the new T700 World Raid this year, yet this HONG LEONG YAMAHA MOTOR SDN BHD is unable to bring such a good selling bike to Malaysia? What is their problem exactly? This is ridiculous…

• Tenere 700 on May 20, 2022 at 12:01 am

Bawa marlly lar T7, penat tunggu, HLYM sucks…pandai kira duit juga

• Encik tiga on Jul 15, 2022 at 1:25 am

Amat mengharapkan HLYM bawa masuk T7,dh lama simpan plat ENE utk moto ini

• Mohd nasir ab kadir on Aug 12, 2022 at 8:46 am

Me as a big fans of yamaha for ages,really frustrated with hong leong yamaha marketing.Many model not bring in to malaysia ,I could says no ⚽️⚽️