Police crackdown on illegal and fancy number plates – 24,909 fined for related offences throughout November

Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) has announced that police issued a total of 74,437 summonses during its month-long Op Khas (Nombor Pendaftaran) exercise that ran in November. Of these, 24,909 were for number plate offences.

According to JSPT director Datuk Mat Kasim Karim, the special operation, aimed at curbing the use of illegal vehicle registration plates, saw 7,874 summonses issued to motorists for having fancy plates, while 14,923 summonses were given for licence plates not conforming to specifications. Another 2,112 summonses were issued to individuals for vehicles not having or displaying a licence plate.

In a statement, he said that out of the 24,909 summonses issued for number plate offences, motorcycles accounted for 49.45% (12,318 summonses), while cars made up 42.35% of the total (10,549 summonses), with the rest involving 4WD vehicles, lorries and other vehicles. The remaining 49,528 summonses were for other traffic offences.

He reminded all vehicle owners to comply with rules outlined in specifications set under the Road Transport Act (APJ) 1987 when installing vehicle registration numbers on their vehicles. It is an offence to put number plates that do not conform to specifications on vehicles – these include illegal stylised fonts and surfaces (such as carbon print) and fancy plates, with merged or modified letters/numbers to read a phrase, name or other meaning.

During the operation, 11 individuals were also detained under the APJ 1987, three people under the penal code, 20 under the Dangerous Drugs Act and one for an unspecified offence. The police also seized 111 vehicles under Section 64 (1) of the APJ 1987.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bob the builder on Dec 07, 2021 at 6:36 pm

Very easy. Jpj should follow certain Instagram & facebook accounts i.e car spotters to catch fancy number plates.

• Huck Phin on Dec 07, 2021 at 6:44 pm

Why not authorities crackdown on the source instead?

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 07, 2021 at 8:21 pm

How many times has this been announced?

Yet rempit run red lights with impunity…even in front of police.

• never ending issue but instead of finding a long term solution(such as stamped number plates), it always going on and on.

• t333son on Dec 07, 2021 at 9:09 pm

got 80% discount, Malaysia is unique in the world. Break the law, don’t pay on time and will get VIP treatment. Stupid ones pay early full whack ie 5 X more expensive…

• Ghani on Dec 08, 2021 at 1:39 am

Better Nation, making things affordable to everyone in this unpredictable & worrisome Covid times.

• Spin Too Much on Dec 09, 2021 at 3:28 pm

While this Covid times can be unpredictably worrisome, allowing penalties or fines to be ‘affordable’ to those who break the traffic laws, does not make this country a better nation.

• YB Albert on Dec 07, 2021 at 9:28 pm

I fully thank PDRM for taking the trouble to summon these
    “eyesore and distracting” fanciful plates inspite of the dangers of covid.
    However,to be fair to those who pay their fines promptly,a “NO DISCOUNT RULING” should be enforced.
    If you give 80% rebates,those offenders wouldnt give a damn ,to obey the law in future .
    This discount culture is a never a deterrent to offenders.Is Boris Johnson or Joe Biden giving such discounts?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 07, 2021 at 9:29 pm

all can settle one.

• Keadilan on Dec 08, 2021 at 12:22 am

Come, I clap for you.

But for real, when can we step away from patting ourselves on the back for just giving out saman or at most, arrest a few “dangerous” individuals, and move towards doing real work – curbing hazardous acts such as red light running or driving opposing to traffic (I’m looking at you, kapchai)? C’mon la…

• Danny Chan on Dec 08, 2021 at 9:07 am

Every year same thing. Do OPS then give 80% discount. What you expect to change if dont change your approach. Doing same thing and expect a different outcome.

• tatu880 on Dec 08, 2021 at 5:08 pm

Maybe we need Khaby Lake to tell JPJ that perhaps we need standardised number plates? Simple? No?

• Kenny Lim on Dec 08, 2021 at 6:15 pm

but still, i’m seeing a lot on the road. 1 step forward, 2 steps backward

• mallsa on Dec 09, 2021 at 9:11 am

this is what our gov is doing, keep doing the same thing but expect different result, if u are serious about enforcing a law then do it properly lar, keep do movie to show who? the street is full with unlawful numbeer plate, super loud exhaust, ridicolous revving sound. and yet, u all making movie everyday.

maybe part of the reason they dont find a long term solution bcz if no offences, no kopi

• Why don’t you start catching people who don’t signal upon turning.