Like other carmakers, Perodua hasn’t been immune to the effects of Covid-19, which has disrupted component supplies as well as production, but while these issues are still present, the national automaker said it was able to work with its suppliers and dealers to lessen their impact.
This is reflected by the improved sales numbers for the first quarter of 2022, in which it sold 61,624 vehicles, an increase of 6.4% from 57,909 registrations it recorded in the same period last year. It registered 26,759 vehicles in March, a 9.5% increase from the 24,433 units sold in the same month last year, and a 53.2% jump from the 17,421 units it accomplished in February.
While the company is continuing its efforts to expedite delivery of vehicles to its customers before the sales tax exemption deadline ends on June 30, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad is hoping that the government will consider extending the sales tax exemption beyond the period, as requested by the Malaysia Automotive Association (MAA).
“Perodua echoes the MAA’s request to further extend the sales tax exemption as factors such as the global semiconductor supply disruption and Covid-19 cases are still impacting the industry,” he said, adding that such a move would go a long way in aiding the industry.
“Right now, the local automotive ecosystem is starting to recover and an extension in the sales tax exemption is what the industry needs for sustained growth during this recovery period,” he explained. He said that the automotive industry, including its local ecosystem, was able to keep demand high and sustain the industry throughout the worst of the pandemic thanks to the sales tax initiative by the government.
The SST exemption has been extended three times since then-prime minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced it back in June 2020. Originally slated to end on December 31 that year, the deadline was then pushed back at the last moment to June 30, 2021. Another six-month extension was given in May 2021, followed by the latest, which was confirmed during the tabling of Budget 2022 in October last year. Will there be a fourth extension?
Agree, on cars that is price below 130k for a sedan. And up to below 150k for an SUV and MPV below 200k. These are normal people car, it is not a rich people car who can afford to pay more. The normal people buy because they NEED it rather than WANT it.
If perodua confident enough as the top car maker in malaysia, let’s open the market and not subject new car prices to unequal tax applications
Quote from the web:
MYVI… some shitty paper box with wheels.
Perodua, pls focus on my car first, sent in December last year and until now still not been repaired. So sad, schools are open now and need it urgently to send/fetch kids.
Mangsa banjir,as much as I pity you for the disaster,you should have sent to Ah beng or Faisal mechanic outside.They can do faster.
Perodua has so many protocols to follow…all the red tape is torturing.
What kind of irresponsible salesman are you? Know how to promote your P2 cars, whack the other brand for service delays, but when your P2 fails as well you just told your customers to void their warranty by servicing it outside? Eh, have some balls and take responsibilitylah!
Should extend to year 2099…
What shit growth u want weh? Roads so congested everyday
It is best to solve issues for spare part and services first rather than asking for SST tax extension. Follow what proton did!
Perodua,just maintain the blardy price come July 1.In other words,absorb it wholeheartedly as an appreciation for the Perodua fanboys.
Time to stop asking tongkat from SABRIKOR who needs the taxes to fund MRT3 plus subsidise fuel.
In retrospect,Sabrikor is doing a better job than Abahkor.
Things are moving,rather than Abahkor’s lockdowns.
We want to know what is Perodua doing to help long suffering customers with sparepart shortages. Proton have been very honest and open with their efforts but why Perodua is keeping mum and playing dumb to customers that are complaining everywhere? Where are all those Perodua fanboys making noise in Proton tered? Why so quiet here?
Which is most important. Spare parts & services or asking for tax extension
Aiyah..what a dumb question.
Both are important.
I agree with you that both are important. But service and spare parts must come first than sales. Been waiting for three weeks to fix spare parts for my Myvi until now, no news yet.
Spart parts problem..lets give them time..to prove Proton fanboys wrong.
If by next month ,we still read of bumper shortage,then buyers should know what to do.
If by then some people still syiok impian Myvi but their cars spend more time in workshop than being used due to spare parts shortage,then its like them trapped in Hell hole Ukraine .
Services are always top priority but not tax extension
last time no tax exemption also got growth….duh…
Durh your cars are already been selling on itself due to lack of competition causes and fkup fax structure, why bother even asking?
Should be zero tax for cars below 100k, some percent for above 100k, AND
no more fuel subsidy.
This will push growth for low cost & better fuel efficient cars, in line with UNSDG push.
Otherwise it’s just another cash grab for the T20