Toll and Road Charge (RC) exemption for cars entering Johor from Singapore ends midnight today, April 7

The “welcome back” offer by Malaysia to vehicles coming in from Singapore is ending soon. Midnight today, in fact. Plus has posted a reminder that the seven-day toll exemption at the Causeway and Second Link will be ending today and regular toll collection will start on April 8.

This applies to all vehicles entering Johor from Singapore or heading to the island state via the Bangunan Sultan Iskandar (BSI) toll plaza at the Causeway, and Tanjung Kupang toll plaza at the Second Link.

The highway operator has reminded motorists to ensure that their Touch n Go cards have sufficient credit for a smooth journey. Those who have the RFID Vehicle Entry Pass (VEP) can start using the system at RFID lanes at BSI and Tanjung Kupang. Ensure that your Touch n Go eWallet is active and have sufficient balance.

Aside from toll exemption, Malaysia also announced a one-week Road Charge (RC) exemption for Singapore cars entering Johor. The RM20 waiver is also valid till April 7, which means that Singaporean vehicles coming in after midnight today will have to start paying both RC and toll.

The relaxations were given to prevent congestion due to expired TnG cards and insufficient credit following the reopening of the MY-SG land border, the world’s busiest pre-Covid, after over two years.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 07, 2022 at 1:34 pm

there should never have been a waiver anyway

• This was a right move as there is no other choice. There is absolutely no way for a person in Singapore to top up their Touch’n’go card. Maybank used to do it but have stopped it for the longest time. You can buy the physical card but it comes with no value.

Additionally the top up station at the 2nd link has been closed for a really long time even before covid. The number of top up station at the causeway is extremely limited. I believe less than a handful. Can you imagine the chaos that would ensue if they didn’t allow this.

These seven days allows Singaporeans to come over and top up for future trips. This was fair. Any longer and it would be too much.

Your comment shows your ignorance of the situation. Don’t comment unless you know the situation.

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 08, 2022 at 3:23 pm

dear jb fler

nobody cares about sinkies – the rest of malaysia

• Isaac on Apr 08, 2022 at 6:38 pm

Why so racist towards Singaporeans? Mad that you don’t make as much?

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 13, 2022 at 6:57 pm

totally mad i don have to live in a pigeon hole and not be able to own a car due to COE

• WB Chew on Apr 17, 2022 at 8:58 am

A noob question but I can’t seem to find relevant answers on any website.

Can we assume RFID VEP and RFID Touch n Go have interoperability capability? ie. If you are driving an SG vehicle into MY, you just need an RFID VEP to pay toll at highway operated by Plus with RFID lanes and charges can be auto debited from the eWallet. Thank you.