Toll-free for Raya, but PLUS highway users must tap Touch n Go card or use RFID lane for data recording

As most would know by now, the government has announced toll-free or discounted fares for the upcoming Hari Raya Aidilfitri travel period.

The North-South Expressway and East Coast Expressway are among the major highways that will be FOC from midnight on Saturday April 30 until 11:59 pm on Sunday May 1, applicable to all vehicle classes. The toll-free period for the return trip is from midnight Saturday May 7 till 11:59 pm Sunday May 8.

PLUS, which has of late been busy announcing its preparations to welcome two million vehicles per day on the North South Highway over the peak travel period, has reminded customers to tap their Touch n Go cards for entry and exit, as per normal. If you’re using SmartTag, drive through the lane as normal – the same goes for RFID users, use your dedicated lane.

The toll waiver will apply when the user exits the closed toll system, PLUS assured, adding that this is for traffic data recording purposes. The highway operator reminds customers to ensure that their TnG cards are valid before starting the journey. Dormant or expired cards will be declined by the system and this will add to congestion.

“PLUS also advises those who are planning to travel during peak days, especially during the four designated days to follow the travel time advisory (TTA) that was recently issued. We encourage them to carefully plan their journey to reduce congestion and provide more comfort for their families when travelling home. This includes identifying pit stops for food or drinks, to rejuvenate and refresh yourself,” said PLUS MD Datuk Azman Ismail.

“PLUS will take the necessary steps to manage the traffic onslaught and we have put in place various measures on the highway mainline, toll plazas and the rest areas,” he added.

The full list of highways in Malaysia with their respective discounted toll rates over the stipulated periods are as follows:

Toll-free:

1. Lebuhraya Utara Selatan (PLUS)
2. Lebuhraya Utara Selatan Hubungan Tengah (Elite)
3. Lebuhraya Seremban – Port Dickson (SPDH)
4. Lebuhraya Butterworth – Kulim (BKE)
5. Laluan Kedua Malaysia Singapura (Second Link) (Linkedua)
6. Jambatan Pulau Pinang (Penang Bridge) (JPP)
7. Lebuhraya Pantai Timur (LPT) 1
8. Lebuhraya Pantai Timur (LPT) 2
9. Lebuhraya KL – Karak (KLK)

50% toll rate discount:

10. Lebuhraya Shah Alam (Kesas)
11. Lebuhraya Damansara – Puchong (LDP)
12. Lebuhraya Cheras – Kajang (Grand Saga)
13. Lebuhraya Sungai Besi (Besraya)
14. Lebuhraya Baru Pantai (NPE)
15. Lebuhraya Bertingkat Ampang – KL (AKLEH)
16. Lebuhraya KL-Putrajaya (MEX)
17. Lebuhraya Duta – Ulu Kelang (DUKE)

30% toll rate discount:

18. Projek Pengurusan Air Banjir Dan Terowong (Smart Tunnel)
19. Lebuhraya Koridor Guthrie (Guthrie Corridor Expressway)
20. Lebuhraya KL- Kuala Selangor (Latar)
21. Lebuhraya Lingkaran Luar Butterworth (LLB)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:14 pm

Toll-free period, come on, just keep the barriers open and be done with it. These guys are just creating bottlenecks by making people use either RFID lanes (selalu sangkut) or TnG lanes (always slow). No SmartTAG lanes will be allowed? Even on normal days, the RFID and TnG lanes will be jam-packed with cars and greatly slowed down by failed transactions. And these geniuses still want to enforce this for the toll-free period.. What about people who wish to use the highways free-of-charge but typically only drive in the kampung and do not use TnG or RFID?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • KongkeyDong on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:47 pm

i think bcos someone is paying for it. data still needs to be recorded. it is just being sent as a bill to the govt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:11 pm

Toll-free follow touch-in OR touch-out timing?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 27, 2022 at 5:12 pm

They charge you only upon touching out so it is free even if you enter before midnight and exit the next morning.

• “ The toll waiver will apply when the user exits the closed toll system, PLUS assured, adding that this is for traffic data recording purposes”

does this mean if i come in 11PM while toll-free is in effect & out at 3am when toll-free expires, i still get the toll-free ride?

• It appears to be that way. Toll is only deducted upon point of exit after all.

• IGP mom on Apr 27, 2022 at 7:27 pm

And then the bill is bloated … who’s going to audit that?

• Unknown on Apr 28, 2022 at 1:29 am

That is why they need the pass thru data record, so that during audit they have proof. KongkeyDong had hit the nail on Donkey head.

• Zahid on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:54 pm

This is just procedure to monitor traffic throughput which is important for them to plan & manage maintenance of the pavement later, it is still free anyways for those balik kampung and don’t affect people like you. So no need to get your panties in a twist. And mind you, if those people in kampung never had TNG or RFID, how on earth did they use the highway for every other time or are you just making sorry excuses to hentam senselessly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • Aharith on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:25 pm

Well said, sir

• kaizen on Apr 28, 2022 at 1:22 am

what do u mean by monitor the traffic? Don’t we have a better way of monitoring the traffic, without slowing down the traffic? or could it be monitoring the MONEY coming in!. DUDE.

• Copy Paste on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:16 pm

Copy paste: “Like some pointed out, thru put is pretty much the only accurate meaningful data, like how stadiums count attendance capacity based on turnstile action and not from tickets sold. Unnecessary congestion I don’t think so as the highways will be clogged anyway so if one is traveling stopping & moving at 5-15kmph, just tapping in and out doesn’t really add much more to a journey’s length.”

• Tom Cruise mauverick on Apr 27, 2022 at 5:01 pm

Enjoy the free toll,terima kasih Sabrikor.
      But come Ge 15..vote for Rafizi and Co.All toll totally abolished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Copy Paste on Apr 27, 2022 at 10:42 pm

Copy paste: “Good joke !”

• Angry Voters on Apr 28, 2022 at 1:31 am

That scam can’t work on us a second time, can it?
        I mean fool us once shame on you. Fool us twice?

• Eat My Smoke on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:41 am

I welcome many more iMDBs

• 1MDB management going to jail tho so ur logic doesn’t apply in upcoming GE. If you want to bring up scandals, then what is happening with undersea tunnel corruption case?

• Moots on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:16 pm

PLUS should reconsider this decision and think of another way if purely for data recording. You are adding unnecessary congestion when users are not going to be charged.

• Like some pointed out, thru put is pretty much the only accurate meaningful data, like how stadiums count attendance capacity based on turnstile action and not from tickets sold. Unnecessary congestion I don’t think so as the highways will be clogged anyway so if one is traveling stopping & moving at 5-15kmph, just tapping in and out doesn’t really add much more to a journey’s length.

• Dong Gor on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:40 pm

Already toll free still want to take data for collection ar? use last 5 yrs avg number will be pretty good d lar…knn, still want to cause extra jam on top of the foreseeable very terrible jam already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Zahid on Apr 27, 2022 at 3:57 pm

You mean including where the last 2 years there was virtually no traffic since no balik kampung allowed due to MCO? Very smart ur data to include no traffic on a period when it is peak in the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Good joke !

• bieight8 on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:00 pm

Better pack some empty bottles inside the car before traveling… going to need it

• ROTI CANAI on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:27 pm

imagine if someone still gets stuck becos of baki kurang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Why So Serious on Apr 27, 2022 at 4:53 pm

It won’t matter coz nothing will be deducted on the way out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • tarjit singh on Apr 27, 2022 at 9:26 pm

even during normal there is so much …by announcing toll free the traffic may be worst …..
    why does Plus need account the vehicles you already know 2mil plus vehicles going to be on the road ….JUST hanger the barriers UP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • How do you know there will be EXACTLY 2,000,000 cars before the event. Do you have a crystal ball to you so? What happens if the real count is 2,999,999? You would be off by 50% isnt it? An estimate is just an estimate, one does not run his business based on estimated income but real facts & figures. Thru put count, like in a stadium gives the most accurate user data.

• Andrekua on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:36 am

I think government should include toll free days clause when renewing or awarding new tolls in the future. Events such as major public holidays like CNY, Hari Raya, Deepavali, general election, Independence Day shall be granted free toll for all types of vehicles. Government should just pay them a reasonable compensation based on per day rental for entire highway. There shouldn’t be need to record the traffic volume to ease the sudden increase in traffic.

• Western Star on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:39 am

I think Govt should not have any tolls but to do that, the only fast way to abolish would be to charge users as necessary until the end of payment. So giving such toll free days might be good in short term for for longterm in abolishing tolls it would be a huge setback. Malaysians will have to choose whether they want a shortterm or longterm solution.

• If you open barriers in Malaysia you then sit back and watch the clown show take place. The amount of cars hitting the walls, kerbs, safety bars will be insane as they try and steer through at 100kph+