Perodua Myvi G4 concept – racey hatchback with full-width exterior LEDs; rendering by Saharudin Design

Remember last year’s Proton Saga Knight concept by MIMOS design head Saharudin Busri? Well, he’s back at it again, this time with a brand new three-dimensional rendering of the next-generation Perodua Myvi.

Like many of his creations, Saharudin prefers a more streamlined exterior design with as few sharp lines as possible, taking inspiration from some of Volvo’s latest models as well as the Mk8 Volkswagen Golf GTI.

The latter is clearly evident in the styling of the full-width LED DRLs, something Volkswagen is beginning to incorporate across its model range. This creates a strong fascia and an imposing presence, which is further accentuated with huge twin-five spoke tri-coloured wheels and the flared rear arches.

Other distinctive features include slim side mirrors with integrated LED indicator strips (with chrome accents!), flush door handles, fast-raked A-pillars, a near-flat roofline, and a pretty taut rump.

Take a closer look at the rear glass – it actually curves towards the C-pillars, creating a sleek wraparound effect that is hardly seen on production vehicles. This is impractical and costly to manufacture and/or replace, but cool to see nonetheless.

The styling of the LED taillights also appear to be inspired by cars from the Volkswagen Group, with a bit of Renault, even. There are no exhaust tips here, not even embellishers. Finishing touches include the Perodua script and “Myvi 2022” badge on the tailgate.

If you’re keen to see what the interior looks like, fret not, that will come at a later stage. For now, all we can see from the video are things like three-tone leather seat upholstery, a fully red dashboard with twin centre air vents, red steering wheel, ambient lighting, an integrated infotainment display, and full digital instrumentation. Now, what do you think? Tell us, below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Rak Kapoor on Apr 29, 2022 at 8:57 pm

A Brilliant Design. Hope this comes true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • Celup King on Apr 30, 2022 at 1:01 pm

Perodua now can compete globally so let’s remove the car tax excise duties.

• Amran on May 01, 2022 at 11:03 am

another kerja Syok Sendiri from brudder saharudin , LOL

• Mimpi mimong on May 01, 2022 at 12:54 pm

Nothing come into reality. Talk and draw is good. Practical or not? Waster money only la

• Mimok or Nyamuk on May 01, 2022 at 4:58 pm

Why government want to waste all money for this type of company to do some useless sketch that contributes nothing to economy. Go get a freelance to draw lagi cantik.

• Arnie on May 02, 2022 at 2:10 pm

Which Government are you referring to?

• Smoke Gets in Your Eyes on May 02, 2022 at 4:40 pm

I think he meant the faltering BN-PN gahmen. this Mimos been around for more then 40 years.

• Menang PRU, xdpt jwtn menteri. Jdlah BOD GLC perah money. on May 05, 2022 at 7:48 pm

Lol, that ‘thing’ at TPM (Technology Park) just for cuci one. All the so-called ‘grant’ for R&D only for cuci-ing money. You guys can google what is their greatest achievement other than blanket contract from gov? What to expect from those GLC/GOC.

• Haih, sorry but for me this design is buruk. A downgrade from the current myvi. Malaysian designer should take inspiration from kia and Hyundai current design. This looks like a kids drawing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 37
    • Manoi on May 01, 2022 at 10:53 am

Nah, only u not upgrading ur mindset yet..

This design known as Modern look (Simple and Elegent)
      Did u want A ROBOT DESIGN? Just buy hyundai / honda car,

That’s mean.. perodua not targetting people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Looks like His Iriz /Saga Knight

• Justice on Apr 30, 2022 at 11:20 am

ugly like all burukdua cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Such design can be costly for any maintenance and repair. Consumers of Perodua are not affluent as Volvo’s, so don’t think practical. Hence, it’s a bad design.

• smartbetul on Apr 30, 2022 at 4:52 pm

Love the design. Guarantee sell well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • MarkX on Apr 30, 2022 at 7:01 pm

Remove car tax, remove fuel subsidy. We need more efficient cars

• Mat Moto on Apr 30, 2022 at 7:11 pm

macam proton sawi 2005..
    proton dah buat lama dulu

• Frank Cracknell on Apr 30, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Brilliant design. Finally Malaysia car design can be independant. This would sell out in no time. Perodua should implement this immediately

• Ya, i agree that mr saharudin has some experience in designing cars before but personally i dont fancy with his design direction and concept,
    From my personal view, initially they usually looks ok but when it comes to detailing, there are many awkward, unusual sides and improper ratio to my layman eyes, always feel weird, unpleasing.

• Jebon on May 01, 2022 at 7:16 am

Lol. U say it right.. take inspiration langsung. Ini editor also kaki ampu.

• Last kenot design like this on May 01, 2022 at 12:05 pm

Look like someone is pushing his portfolio or design so hard to get notice by other design house.

• Joe Damwijk on May 01, 2022 at 12:12 pm

I don’t like it.
    Too much German design.
    It’s terrible.

• Nice concept, but Perodua cars are all Daihatsu/Toyota so it’ll be look like this. Look at the Yaris or Corolla GR

• tan Young chuan on May 02, 2022 at 12:13 am

Good national car. Support Belilah barang buatan Malaysia. Jom!

• Nalin Lim on May 02, 2022 at 2:51 pm

Loving it , next high value brand….proud to be the brand owner

• watcher on May 06, 2022 at 6:03 pm

why those people talk ‘bad’ only. everything other people do, they say bad, they say no good!.
    They only good at saying bad bad comments…. about good works of other people .

• Ismail on Jun 04, 2022 at 9:58 pm

Marvelous

• Ikram on Jun 24, 2022 at 10:40 am

Myvi gen 4 already out or not