Police seize three cars with fancy plates ‘MIRA’, ‘DINA’ and ‘J3HE’ – owners could face fines, imprisonment

Three motorists recently had their vehicles seized by Squad 42 of the Terengganu police’s traffic investigation and enforcement department (JSPT) for using number plates that did not follow specifications – commonly referred to as fancy plates.

According to the department, two of the vehicles seized were MPVs, with one having the registration plate ‘MIRA’ – and driven by a 36-year-old from Kuala Terengganu. Meanwhile, one MPV driven by a 34-year-old from the same district had the registration plate ‘DINA’. Both were caught by Terengganu police personnel who were monitoring traffic flow near Padang Midin, Kuala Terengganu.

“Asked why they were using the registration numbers ‘MIRA’ and ‘DINA’, the two MPV owners reasoned they were excited to get the new vehicles to celebrate Syawal, so they dedicated the last five letters/numbers of their respective MPV’s registration plate to the name of their wife or someone,” the department wrote in a statement its official Facebook page.

Naturally, the department rejected this excuse and said both cases will be investigated under Section 108 (3) (b) of the Road Transport Act 1987 for displaying a registration number that closely resembles any symbol/sign/mark for the purpose of deceiving the authorities.

In another incident, a Volkswagen Golf with the registration plate ‘J3H3’ was seized in Bandar Baru Kuala Nerus. The excuse given by the 24-year-old from Setiu was that the car was purchased on the night of Aidilfitri and he could not change the registration number to meet specifications.

All three owners of the fancy plates ‘MIRA’, ‘DINA’ and ‘J3H3’, if convicted, can be fined not less than RM5,000 and not more than RM20,000 or imprisoned for a period of not less than one year and not more than five years, or both.

The issue of fancy plates isn’t new and both the police as well as the road transport department (JPJ) have issued reminders to the public not to fit plates that feature illegal stylised fonts and surfaces (such as carbon print) or merging and modifying letters/numbers to read a phrase, name or other meaning.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Must can!!!! Fine alone is not effective. Really can not understand what is in these idiot mind!

• Toyota aka Perodua’s owner?

• X y F on May 05, 2022 at 11:59 am

all these pretend wannabe idiots…the law and regulations have clearly stated and forbid these kinda bullshit…and i bet all the 3 owners are WELL AWARE of it yet they choose to be ignorant and do otherwise. never understand why is it so hard to follow such a simple law. Authorities should take a harsh stance towards these idiots by suspending their license for 3 years deliver a strong message to other idiots or alikes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Rohana IMDB on May 05, 2022 at 12:00 pm

Copycats who do not want to pay for JPJ fancy plates,take the easy way out,by doing their own fancy plates.
    But in the first place,why do we need special number plates ?
    Is it to raise funds?
    The culture of running after ‘special number plates” has become very unhealthy.
    We need to focus on road safety.Not all these distracting eye sore number plates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • Brian on May 05, 2022 at 3:43 pm

These are not special plates, these are fancy plates which are against the law. Stop telling the police how to enforce the law, they are doing a good job so leave them be. Stop this idiocy.

• This relates to safety, as these stylised plates make it harder to police to catch traffic offenders

• And some people are questioning why polis still do roadblock. LOL!
    If you aren’t break the law, you have nothing to despise roadblocks. Only those who are shifty will hate it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Isaac on May 06, 2022 at 10:45 am

People hate roadblocks cause it waste everyone’s time. We all have better things to do than to wait 30mins-1hour at a roadblock. What are the police doing when these cars with fancy plates pass them on motorways? Police always want to rile up the public and create sensational news but when you see the convoys with police escort more than half the cars break several rules(e.g.) loud exhaust, fully tinted windscreens, and fancy plates. This is not an issue of people using fancy plates it’s an issue of double standard by the police themselves. If they really wanted to crack down on the fancy plate issue they would follow Singapore and make everyone use the same fonts and plate style. Please stop down voting people who speak the truth if you love traffic jams so much then you can wait. I have better things to do than to roll my windows down and say “Terima Kasih abang”.

• Ben Yap on May 05, 2022 at 5:03 pm

they can say they just took their cars and no time to change the number plate. imagine if they took their cars and it comes with the number plate “BODOH”, i bet they have time to change it.

• ROTI CANAI on May 05, 2022 at 8:41 pm

car was purchased on the night of Aidilfitri and he could not change the registration number to meet specifications, apa lame excuse ini

• Curlydog on May 06, 2022 at 9:46 am

This fancy car plate issue had been so long but until today, JPJ or PDRM still unable resolved this issue. In my opinion, government should start go for those shop that help car owner make fancy car plate. They should know car plate standard. Any car owner that caught with fancy car plate shall impose max fine. Anyway, if they have proof to shown name of the shop that help them create these fancy plate than make the fine as 30% to car owner than 70% to shop owner. This shall make those shop owner knows their responsibility. We have to stop the supply those fancy car plate.

• Sohai on May 07, 2022 at 3:47 pm

Wee Wee ah Wee Wee, all this trivia problems have been bugging the Malaysia road for donkeys years now… if you cant make improvements to our Malaysian road, please let someone else try instead.
    If you really can’t solve the fancy number plate problem, I have a suggestion… why don’t you legalize it instead? Then the problem will go away.. duh. At least I have a solution. What about you?