Tilting or shaking your car to fill in as much fuel as possible? This may cost you more than you “save”

Recently, a photo posted on the SG Road Vigilante Facebook group went viral as it showed a Singapore-registered vehicle being refuelled at a Malaysian petrol station while one of its back wheels was raised on a wooden ramp.

Peculiar as it may look, this practice is not uncommon as there have been past sightings of other motorists doing the same following the reopening of the land borders between Malaysia and Singapore from April 1 this year. Even before the pandemic hit and borders were open, there was no shortage of posts on social media calling out these so-called kiasu motorists.

Besides using a ramp, some motorists have also been known to use a car jack to raise the rear of the vehicles or literally “shaking” their car at the pumps. The reason for these actions is to get in as much fuel into the tank as possible, so much so to that overfilling is the goal.

Considering the price of petrol in Malaysia is significantly cheaper than in Singapore – RON 97 (the minimum fuel grade Singaporeans must pump in Malaysia) here is RM3.94 a litre while it’s around SGD3.13 (RM9.86) for RON 95 over there (RON 98 is more expensive) – squeezing every last drop of the affordable stuff into the tank may appear to be a “clever hack.”

It isn’t. The reality is the negative effects of overfilling your vehicle’s fuel tank outweigh the perceived benefits of getting just that tad bit more range. Firstly, overfilling can damage your car as it can overwhelm the Evaporative Emission System (EVAP) that is designed to store and dispose of fuel vapours before they are released into the atmosphere.

Overfilling can cause liquid fuel to enter the charcoal canister (or carbon filter) of the EVAP, which is designed only for vapour, damaging it and potentially other parts of the system, resulting in quite a costly repair bill.

So, the next time you hear the click from the fuel nozzle, it’s probably a good indication that your tank is full and there’s no need to force feed your car. If your car’s fuel tank can only hold 40 litres, you can’t expect to shove in an extra 10 litres by being crafty with your vehicle’s pitch, roll and yaw, right?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kiasi-kiasu mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 10, 2022 at 1:43 pm

OMG those singaporeans…so cheapskate…and yet some people here always look up at them and adore them like some kind of shrine or something…what a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • Ghani on May 11, 2022 at 12:04 pm

The problem is their education system. Talking like worldclass standard but learning NO MORALS. Only know to follow rules like prisoners, when come here straight behave like monkeys in a banana buffet. What kind of worldclass education are they so proud about when they have no manners or conscious? They are just acting like worldclass monkeys with money, that’s all.

• CarBuyer on May 17, 2022 at 11:53 pm

I think many are too quick to put the blame solely on the “ugly” Singaporean mentality of kiasu-ness. Malaysian’s are not blameless in many of these cases. I live in JB and see that the ramps are provided by the petrol station owners, to attract more customers and sell more fuel. That’s kiasu too.

• Wow. Their kiasuness knows no bound.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
    • singaporean kiasu dude on May 10, 2022 at 1:41 pm

hey bro. if you want to know where our kiasuness has taken us. just look at the SGD-MYR exchange ratd bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 52
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 10, 2022 at 1:47 pm

But the value of their $$ doesnt make them classy…in fact they look and behave like cheapskate…money cannot buy you class…just look at them…kiasu and no class…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
      • Anti kiasu on May 10, 2022 at 8:41 pm

Higher exchange doesn’t make cheapskates any better.. cheapskates overloaded

• Baru keluar GUA lah tu on May 14, 2022 at 12:41 am

Lol s’porean dude. SGD MYR so f yesterday. How about BTC SGD? Lemmmaaahhhh… My humble BTC can clean cut your so-called ‘strong’ SGD.

Warmest regards,
        Malaysian

• Ben Yap on May 10, 2022 at 1:32 pm

i always laughed at how singaporeans come up with various ways to get the maximum fuel in their fuel tank. they are more hilarious than phua chu kang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Agnes chin on Jun 03, 2022 at 8:19 pm

No need to be mean. The border between canada and the US, ppl
      dont get to be jealous

• DonkeyKong on May 10, 2022 at 2:05 pm

Not just Singaporeans but also the ultra-kiasus in Malaysia. It’s safe to say that these jokers did not study in the science stream back in school. It’s the same as thinking that if you tilt your water bottle here and there you’ll be able to fill it with more water magically.

Malaysian ultra-kiasus came out in full-force previously when we had a floating fuel price mechanism. Who could forget the legendary ultra-kiasu who was photographed filling up a 1.5-liter water bottle with petrol while grimacing, as if we’re living in a Mad Max world and the petrol is worth more than its weight in gold..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Kokonut on May 10, 2022 at 2:30 pm

Man I remember some people doing all kinds of tricks squeezing every single drop of fuel and that periodic price adjustment rush.. If you did simple calculations on the price difference, it never amounts to more than RM2-3 each full tank.. I cannot fathom that willingness to spend 1 hour in the car, with the engine running guzzling up fuel to refuel to “save” RM3.

• Ghani on May 10, 2022 at 5:56 pm

Their ridiculous antics are such a laugh can almost rival those of their northern island brethren MPs.

• Putting non stationary metal ramps or jacking up your vehicle at the pump should be made illegal, they pose a hazard.

• Nope. Let them entertain us with this. Kinda funny tho seeing ‘world class minded’ acting like that. Don’t you?

They thought SGD strong.
      They boasted about that.
      They underestimate us.

Actually deep in their heart, they envy us. Hahahaha…. Lemmmaaahhhh

• ROTI CANAI on May 10, 2022 at 8:37 pm

sinkie rich what, can afford to pay for the damaged car

• only smart Sngaporean will do this.