Proton says it will continue to absorb the rising cost of raw materials in order to maintain its vehicle pricing

Earlier today, it was reported that manufacturers are eventually expected to increase new car prices due to the higher cost of raw materials and logistics brought about by the weakening of the ringgit. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) said that as things stand, a price hike would be unavoidable.

However, MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad said car companies have not yet decided to increase car prices, and are continuing to absorb the extra costs. Proton is one of these automakers, as Berita Harian reports.

According to its deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah, the national carmaker is continuing to absorb the rising cost of raw materials so that the price of its vehicles can be maintained, and had not yet decided on anything related to that front.

“Proton has not decided anything yet for now. If there is (an increase or otherwise), we will announce in the near future. For now, we are still trying to absorb the increase in costs,” he told the publication. However, he added added that should costs continue to rise and further impact its vendors, then it was likely that the company would have to pass some of the increase on to its customers.

The carmaker is already set to revise prices of its models with the re-implementation of the sales and service tax (SST) into their selling price. On May 1, it said that any vehicle orders placed from that date would see these only being delivered after the SST exemption period ends on June 30.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nobody will thank you because they want you to solve spare part problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 83
    • Jeremy on May 11, 2022 at 10:49 pm

Tengkiu Geely chinas. prihatin rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 11, 2022 at 11:17 pm

We rakyat Malaysia are known to be very patient cultured people. No problem for us to wait whenever our cars get delivered asal harga murah dan berpatutan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Celup King on May 11, 2022 at 11:37 pm

Nothing wrong with that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Celup Sangat on May 19, 2022 at 1:07 am

They said will absorb.
        They said will maintain.

But reality the price increase.

If your brain cannot digest it properly, is it your eyes also cannot see? 2+2=2 (Kekal)?

• Stupid comment. While everyone are worried about MAA sounding the bell for price increase incoming, Proton has came out to reassure their customers their will not be pricier. The hundreds of thousands of Proton buyers will gladly thank Proton for this kind gesture.

https://paultan.org/2022/05/11/weakening-ringgit-could-see-increase-in-new-car-prices-as-costs-of-raw-materials-go-up-maa/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Yea, you mean no one is also buying honda because of spare part problem and quality and aftersales also fail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • We get it already, Mr Toyota salesman and your horde of supporters. I no longer own any Honda or Toyota now but because of people like you, I won’t put my money on any Toyota. Can even blame Honda fans for bad mouthing all other articles but I can always see Honda bashing instead. Don’t like Honda, don’t buy. Simple.

Article talks about Proton but you just have to add your crap comment. Get a life. Take a drive instead of spending so much time on the keyboard. Sheesh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
        • Interesting for simply calling me as Toyota salesman. Well done! But fyi, before you call me as Toyota salesman, I owned X50, Mazda CX-8 and Myvi only. I don’t owned Toyota and Honda. No anyone of fans from any brands are talking badmouthing to Honda including myself, except to those toxic and fanboyism from Honda have their own free time for always making bad image to so many other brands until now. Because of those attitudes about honda fanboys that are always badmouthing to other brands, also aftersales and quality also fail, spare parts also failure which can see people complain. People won’t buy honda again. If you think always blaming honda for badmouthing to other brands, then why he is talking good about Honda while talking crap about Proton. Just think about it. Also, there is nothing to blame about other people when they didn’t talk crap.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 11, 2022 at 11:15 pm

Syukur to our kereta kegemaran rakyat Malaysia for thinking about us and keeping prices low. P2 anda bila lagi? Belum cukup makan rakyat lagi dengan harga topkek?
    #BetterProton
    #BetterNation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Malaysian C on May 12, 2022 at 8:34 am

Jangan tunjuk sangat awak tu Salesmen Proton.

• Troll Hunter on May 12, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Is what said not truthful? Where does it indicate it is a Proton Salesman? Saga since over 20 years ago til now have constantly remain as a car under the RM 40k pricetag but for Perodua their price creep had been constant, a Kancil used to be below RM10k but today’s Axia is nearly RM30k a 3X fold increase in prices. Is that not massively overcharging us, the buyers?

• Malaysian C on May 12, 2022 at 8:34 am

Jangan tunjuk sangat awak tu Salesman Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Aeroheads on May 12, 2022 at 9:28 am

Proton cars already overpriced compared to the material and parts used, so material price increase no impact at all to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Troll Hunter on May 12, 2022 at 12:35 pm

Overpriced your head. Where can you get so many features in a car under Rm40,000? Just name me one.

• Kekwa on May 12, 2022 at 2:44 pm

Anything is overpriced when we cant afford it.
      OMG, u cant even afford a lousy Proton. I am sorry that live has been hard on you. Dont worry, there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

Also, i heard a rumors that Proton have unlimited supply of raw material as they are using game shark. Other manufacturers are not so lucky as they dont use the cheat device.

• Follow to jamban? on May 19, 2022 at 1:01 am

It’s not about can or can’t afford. Don’t let your ‘bijak’ overwhelm you. That’s why they can take advantage of you because you ‘merelakannya’. Behind you, they are just laughing at you.

• MechWarrior4 on May 12, 2022 at 12:49 pm

Rise of the Protons!!! I love you Proton!!! If no Proton, my Papa will send me to school with bicycle!!!

• You’re wrong. If no proton, your papa will send you with others brand at a fraction of price. You don’t know the price before P1 born?

Lickin’ good nampak.

• Saga baru pun naik hrga,maintain apanye.haha..sembang

• Tu lah pasal. Baru keluar gua ke yang 2+2=2 (Kekal sgt). Sapa jwb 4 itu salah. Hehehe…

• Dong Gor on May 12, 2022 at 2:33 pm

why is this picture so weird, making the x70 super boxy!

• Bamkai on May 12, 2022 at 6:27 pm

Give chinaman the company . They will make magic. 51% ftw

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 13, 2022 at 9:25 am

A Chinaman ran 1MDB to the ground and made us rakyat pay for it, you say leh.