April 2022 Malaysian vehicle sales down 23% to 56k units despite Raya season – chip shortage to blame

April hasn’t exactly been a good month for the automotive industry, if the Malaysian Automotive Association’s (MAA) recently-released vehicle sales data is to be believed. Despite consumer sentiment continuing to return in a big way since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, supply bottlenecks mean that carmakers are still unable to fulfil the potential evident in their backlogs of orders.

The upshot is that sales fell 23% over the previous month to 56,213 units, despite the weeks leading up to the Hari Raya Aidilfitri holidays generally being a fruitful period for car companies. Tellingly, this figure also represents a decrease of 3.6% compared to April 2021, although year-to-date sales thankfully remain ahead by eight per cent or around 16,000 units over last year at 215,965 units.

The poor performance was attributed to continued global semiconductor shortage that severely affected several firms – including the top two, Perodua and Proton – as well as other component shortages and shipment delays. Many companies have also already fulfilled their sales in the previous month in time for the end of their financial year on March 31, contributing to the shortfall.

Worryingly, MAA expects May sales to be maintained at the current level as the chip shortage and shipment delays continue, with the shorter working month as a result of the Raya festive season also having a knock-on effect.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Celup King on May 23, 2022 at 11:21 am

Someone claim this:

Lets check it out..other brands..whether they drop 20-30% in terms of sales.
    When sales are down..floods…chip shortage…the Ukraine war, Shanghai lockdown..macam macam ada excuse.
    Could it be a problematic workforce,infighting amongst managers,lack of followup etc ?

Must be virtually every brand are faking chip shortages and really have problematic workdorce, infighting amongst their managers, lack of follow up, & etc….

• Celup King on May 23, 2022 at 11:27 am

Someone also said:

Ada pun sikit sikit je… takde lah sampai 30-40%. Takkan semua chip kena ambik brand lain sampai sales drop 30-40%.

So meaning all other brands also kena sapued all their chips until sales drop 23%. So all brands are affected lorr not just that particular brand bashers are bashing. At least we don’t get shortchanged in specs that some luxury brands are doing.

• newme on May 23, 2022 at 2:10 pm

Guess my post really making them makan tak kenyang, tidur tak lena… until they have personal vendetta against me.

Anyway. The industry down only 23% but how come Proton down 32.2%? It’s bringing down the volume of the entire vehicle sales. Does that mean that other brands sales drop are not as high as 23%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Troll Hunter on May 23, 2022 at 3:17 pm

People are just fed up of trolls like you and simply want to throw back your hogwashing. Why so sensitive? Siapa makan cili dia terasa pedaslah!

• newme on May 23, 2022 at 4:40 pm

Troll? Prove any of my comment incorrect.

• If your original comments were correct in the first place why are you so triggered when people throw it back at you?

• Aura89 on May 23, 2022 at 4:01 pm

Yea totally gonna take you seriously after this kinda post. *rolleyes*

• General Gerasimov on May 23, 2022 at 4:48 pm

The Roslan dude from DRB is the only one exaggerating the chip shortage issue, 32% sales drop.
      P2 and bradder UMW acknowledged their sales also dropped,but didnt use it as excuse.Bear in mind,inflation is shooting up due to Putin’s war.People may be holding on to big item purchases like cars and real estate.
      So,P1 own up to your shortcomings.
      The chip shortage will continue till 2024.
      The real losers are those like the Roslan dude who like to find excuses.Only mavericks will be Top Guns.
      Not excuse champions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Are you sleeping when you typed that long pointless drivel? The entire industry just dropped 23% so it is inline with Proton’s own dropping 30% as their access to chips are far weaker compared to global big brands that could promise high volumes. Mr Roslan is telling the truth as it is, not sugar coating the issue so what is there to exaggerate about.

• From the web on May 24, 2022 at 8:48 am

Orealy?
        https://paultan.org/2022/01/04/perodua-2021-sales-at-190291-units-short-of-200k-target-covid-19-chip-shortage-flood-impact-cited/

• Copy Paste on May 24, 2022 at 11:34 am

Copy paste: “Jokers here commenting like they know the industry inside out haha..

If u so terror why u never become CEO? Instead just keyboard warriors cakap banyak je”

• You should go back and learn your fractions mathematics. Proton only has 15% market share but dropped 32%, that has little effect to the remainder 85% market so if the entire industry dropped 23% that shows the others (85%) are also dropping in parity with Proton or worse.

• newme on May 24, 2022 at 10:49 am

It dropped to 15% from 18%.
        You should ask why Proton share is only 15% from 27% a year ago. If Proton sales drops so much, that means other brands has increased despite the chips shortage. Tak payahlah nak tegakkan benang basah. Takkan ni pun nak diajar?

• Copy Paste on May 24, 2022 at 11:34 am

Copy paste: “Jokers here commenting like they know the industry inside out haha..

If u so terror why u never become CEO? Instead just keyboard warriors cakap banyak je”

• newme on May 24, 2022 at 11:56 am

Tah payahh marah-marah. If you think what I have said is incorrect, correct it with data.

• Copy Paste on May 24, 2022 at 3:33 pm

Copy paste: “If your original comments were correct in the first place why are you so triggered when people throw it back at you?”

• Do you really want to know the fact that people have to tell you your maths suck and you should go back and relearn? You really that thick huh?

• Anonymous on May 24, 2022 at 3:39 pm

Your maths is absurd in the original post. You forgot to account for market share, but I don’t think you know what market share actually means. Market share is simply how many of your product is sold as a fraction of the total sales in the industry.

All car makers can lose their sales, yet some may gain market share because they make up more of the percentage in that total sale. Not that they actually gain any sales. Let’s use simplified figures to demonstrate. Carmaker A sold 1000 units at the previous month, and carmaker B sold 3000. That means Carmaker B holds 75% market share (3000 of the 4000 total sold in the industry). Now, let’s say that Carmaker B had dropped their sales by 40% to just 1800 units the next month, and Carmaker A lost 15% to 850 units. Now the total in the industry has experienced a total drop of 34% (2650 units, from 4000). Now the market share for A dropped to 32%, and B gained to 68% despite losing a lot more in sales (40% drop vs only 15% drop of Carmaker A).

And you see how the entire industry in the above example has dropped less than what Carmaker B had lost in terms of percentage? This is the same case as Proton.

• It is hard to put maths into words, but you nailed it brother. And with that you nailed newme buttsacks so high the whole country can see it.

• Anonymous on May 24, 2022 at 6:11 pm

I made a slight grammatical error in my post. I said Carmaker A’s market share ‘dropped’, but it actually gained in that example (25% to 32%). Which actually further highlights the fact that you can gain market share yet still lose sales. You can have the biggest market share in the industry, or even be the ONLY one in the industry and still go bankrupt.

• newme on May 26, 2022 at 9:53 am

Don’t talk crap. There’s not much different in the TIV for the same period. Don’t blindside by giving impression that TIV has dropped so much or the total unit sold. We are talking about percentage. It’s 15% vs 32%. Proton still drop so much.

• Celup King on May 24, 2022 at 8:52 am

Aik, Didnt some said others are not affected by chip shortages, only proton? Tu dah telan ludah sendiri.

• Anonymous on May 26, 2022 at 6:51 pm

You’re the one talking crap. I gave that example with simplified numbers to demonstrate how flawed your thinking was. Feel free to look at the sales figures of all 48 car brands in Malaysia for May 2020-May 2021 May 2021 – May 2022, add each of the years up separately, then compare the market share for whatever car brand you’re interested in for those 2 years. You’ll see a similar scenario to what I demonstrated. The numbers will be smaller, but you will see a real world example with more realistic numbers, but the main point about market share and how they do not reflect individual sales values directly will be evident.