PDRM Ops Halangan on Jalan Temiang-Pantai – up to RM2k fine, 6 months jail for blocking emergency lane

Following the motorcyclist incident on May 29, Seremban traffic police conducted an operation on the Temiang-Pantai road in Negeri Sembilan against illegal parkers. In the evening operation on May 31, 17 road users were summoned by the Seremban District police Traffic Enforcement and Investigation Division (JSPT) for stopping their vehicles on the road shoulder and obstructing traffic.

Action was taken against the road users under part 50 of the Road Traffic Rules 1959 regarding “obstructing traffic” and part 53 of the same act regrading “Emergency Lanes”. Action may also be taken against the offenders under Section 268 of the Penal Code for causing a public nuisance.

Offenders are subject to a fine not exceeding RM2,000 or not more than six months jail, or both, upon conviction. For second and repeat offences, the penalty is doubled.

In the May 29 incident, a rider standing on the Temiang-Pantai road, in traffic, reacted with an aggressive gesture when a car driver honked at him. The rider, along with a group of friends, was parked on the emergency lane of the road.

The Temiang-Pantai road has been popular with visitors stopping to take photos and video of the scenery. However, police take a dim view of the traffic congestion and operation have been conducted since February.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Environ on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:53 am

This Green Land need some preservation.
    Well done police.

Syukur belum ada warung gerai food truck buka sini..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • bosskuku on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:49 am

singgah tepi pakai lampu hazard baru tu “emergency” xkan dpt saman tau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • police state on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:17 pm

The first picture the bikes are on the grass, not emergency lane.

on the grass also kena saman eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • mana traffic jam??? on Jun 01, 2022 at 2:16 pm

Traffic congestion is the excuse???

Ada traffic jam ke masa polis buat operasi tu???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Dredd on Jun 01, 2022 at 4:18 pm

Should shoot at sight those konvoi ysuku stopa geng. Dredd agreed. Kecik2 takmau mat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • The pig seller was on the road. Too many pig sellers bike on they grass obstruction… Bikers have a CODE.. PIG SELLERS DONT

• Rossie on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:20 pm

It depends. Police will interview you and decide on the spot.

• Visit Thailand on Jun 01, 2022 at 2:13 pm

If in Thailand this spot has become a tourist attraction and promoted kaw2 long time ago.

Unfortunately this is Malaysia. Semua tak boleh.

Stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
      • G dduk Thailand..stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • AlWahab on Jun 01, 2022 at 5:16 pm

Seme mende XBOLEH..penguasa kene pikirlah mcm mana kwsn tu jd popular utk pelancung dan sediakan kwsn yg cukup selamat utk pengunjung kesitu…xkan nak tunggu PM bg cdgn baru nak pikir apa nak buat?
        Otak hang kat mana…adoiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • drMpower on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:01 am

it seems the prosecution team going to have hard time on the cases
    the line was painted white, so theres nothing to look at there
    then the cars parked well within the line, nothing also there
    the mat rempits there, probably nothing as well, they parked on the land!

what i am trying to tell here is, how to intelligently do things. for example, why not they paint the lines YELLOW. on a yellow lane, u cant park, right. so that could be the one maybe going to help prosecution teams

just go through the rules book man, next time, to INTELLIGENTLY do things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
    • dellen on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:16 am

hello its emergency lane, is that not enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Save you gas talking to people think that they are smnart!

• Lamb Mendi on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:30 am

If everybody parked there saying they in emergency situations? They can say anything the y want right?

• by law there is no such thing as emergency lane. it is a road shoulder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • dellen on Jun 01, 2022 at 2:18 pm

there is such a thing as emergency lane, by law in malaysia. please look at Rule 53(1) of the Road Traffic Rules 1959. driving in the emergency lane is an offence punishable under Section 119(2) of the Road Transport Act 1987 with a fine of up to RM2000 or up to 6 months in jail

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:30 am

Unbroken white line means you can park within the lane? Pandailah which driving school taught you that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • dong gor on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:32 am

Agree. That lane is emergency lane and cars can be parked there. Oppose to driving on it. One can always argue he felt something not right with their car and had to stop to inspect if it was a punctured and what not. How can law enforcement issue summon base on what they feel only…it has to be clear and transparent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • Hazardous parking at non-designated parking of the roadway.

Don’t park @ the shoulder line or emergency lane at the expressway.
      It’s dangerous for any motorist driving through the road.

If it’s emergency, there are plenty of safe grass land.
      Just go beyond the shoulder/emergency lane.
      Motorist to self regulated, civic minded for everybody safety and ease of traveling.

• "Smart" drMpower on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:44 am

WOW, you know something that all Malaysian doesn’t know.

Instead of learning colors, get yourself studied.

• ChuaTC on Jun 01, 2022 at 12:58 pm

Correct. Double lines, yellow lines, whatever. Any saman issued for parking can stand in court if challenged. Why make it difficult when it is easy? If not done, some smart aleck politician will propose a R&R to enjoy the scenic view and have legal parking away from the road. The place will be marred and dirty.

• Uncle Joe Lho on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:29 pm

Hello,if u think prosecution got no case,you n family go n park there lor..See you in Kajang prison.

• drMpower on Jun 02, 2022 at 1:55 pm

hey fellas aloha

heres the closest rule we got

Sek 48. APJ 1987 : Jika mana-mana pemandu sesuatu kenderaan motor menyebabkan atau membenarkan kenderaan motor itu dihentikan di mana-mana jalan dalam apa-apa kedudukan atau apa-apa keadaan atau apa-apa hal keadaan yang mungkin menyebabkan bahaya, galangan atau kesusahan tidak berpatutan kepada pengguna jalan yang lain atau kepada lalu lintas, dia melakukan suatu kesalahan.

for those malay speaking people, the key words u gonna notice are : …mungkin menyebabkan bahaya, galangan, atau kesusahan yang tidak berpatutan…

those non malay speaking ones, go copy and paste these and got yourself sorted out. u would be getting the key words like ‘… may cause danger, …etc’

rilex nutjobs, i am with u all. i dont want people to do crazy stuffs on the roads. not only on this road. but everywhere road

so what if we get one or two rules that clearly say u cant park there? but the tricky part is, if they know how to do this, then u all are liable to summonses, should they do it inside KL or where-ever you all lived.

so lets not go there. because its two sword thing. it may stab u/

so thats why i said, just paint the lines yellow. its clear shouting NO PARKING.

jezzzz nutjobs

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:21 am

Tu haah! When video not taken by potato phone camera, our super efficient abam polis will swiftly take action against them.
    Moral of the story: take video with 4K and clearly see number plate. Better if can see face. Dun be like DAP MP son go blur face when posting with his polis outriders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 39
    • dei, here oso want to bring politics kah? and that MP son was from UMNO. dun be a batu api. if u have nothing nice to say, diam diam je lo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • Genuine question on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:12 am

Genuine question, what if you drove all the way over the grass, leaving more than sufficient space. Is that OK?

• Dorry on Jun 01, 2022 at 11:39 am

1. Safe for motorist.
      2. No damage to the lands.

Then all ok. Don’t need overthinking.

• Problematic on Jun 01, 2022 at 12:09 pm

Typical Malaysians, everyday want to find grey area of law, can I this, can I that.

Hello, cannot means cannot, that’s not a place for you to take photos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • Really. Then all those congestion on Friday prayer sessions, until triple parking. How? Or, dare you to change the law to allow this triple parking.

• If you cross over line you are obstructing traffic.
      If you cross over grass you are trespassing Govt land.

• Genuine Answer on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:44 pm

Risk for terrain, traffic and off-road hazard.

Malaysia standard mentality; if someone park there, others will follow. When there’s a crowd, mula macam² berlaku. You can imagine for yourself.

Or it can be a terrain hazard (underground river/flowing water/tanah lembut etc.). Maybe that’s why its not a designated tourist attraction area.

• The majlis should create a proper hentian sebelah. The scene is a photo worthy (although I have not been there yet) because it is some sort of a tourist attraction. Just my 2 cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Baguz!

• 7yearsfd1 on Jun 01, 2022 at 1:10 pm

Built somekinda small area for parking laa , usually people just take some pic and go also

• As always, a knee-jerk reaction to recent events. However, I do sincerely hope this operation will remain consistent. Conduct regular checks and what not.

• Why Jalan Temiang-Pantai is popular and carries high number of sefies and tik toks? Because the road is nice and not much rubbish (for now). Can’t the ppl in the dewan bandaran take that hint? Keep your township’s road flawless and keep clean is all that it takes.

• Bieight8 on Jun 01, 2022 at 6:54 pm

Only 2k?

• Pig sellers should not Ride.. They have NO CODE

• Hahaktui on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:18 pm

Hahaha kena saman dan ke.

• Hahaktui on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:19 pm

Ha tulah dan ke.

• Angry man on Jun 01, 2022 at 10:43 pm

Pukimak punya rider nak baling helmet..aku punya pasal..org lain x sempat merasa..cibai ma puki lu

• Rider bodoh on Jun 03, 2022 at 5:08 am

Rider yang nak baling helmet tu terencat akal serta bodoh. Sekarang nie dah tak boleh berhenti. Celaka, sial, haram jadah punya rider. Harap kau cepat kena gilis dengan treler!

• Low_self_esteem on Jun 03, 2022 at 8:14 am

Nobody care your post on on media sosial..really..you not that cool..what we really care was you being dangerous to others..everykne need validation now..

• Please come to Bukit Kukus Flyover in Penang. Every night all illegal cars stop there. Never see a single police there, I guess they must be sleeping or just don’t care.