Proton X50 now available with ATLAS OS by ACO Tech

The Proton X50 can now receive ATLAS (ACO Tech Local Automotive Services) through an over-the-air update, ACO Tech has announced. The update may take up to 14 days to be received by all applicable vehicles, the firm has also noted.

First announced in September last year, the Malaysian-developed infotainment operating system was launched early June, offering significant improvements over the previous Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI).

We’ve also taken a look at the new infotainment operating system; our man Hafriz Shah has highlighted some of ATLAS’ key features such as its user interface, improvements to its voice recognition as well as navigation and other aspects. The digital voice assistant is also now better equipped to handle natural speech.

Other streaming services – such as Joox and Syok by Astro – will also be available to users of ATLAS, whilst enabling the personalisation of the system to its user’s preference. Phone mirroring is also supported on ATLAS OS, with deep integration into the vehicle that enables the control of functions such as climate control, safety features and to check on the vehicle’s status.

GALLERY: Proton X50 with ACO Tech Atlas OS

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Spin Too Much on Jul 18, 2022 at 6:01 pm

Hafriz: “You’d just get in the car and it’s better”

Hafriz: “This is a definite step forward for X50.. and it is an exciting one”

Hafriz: “To me it’s another step forward towards an intelligent and connected experience with our cars and that can only be a good thing”

Hafriz: “It has a significant effect on your whole experience of interactin with this car”

Hafriz: “Now properly optimised for right hand drive use. Local input and optimisation is always a good thing in my books”

Hafriz: “You can now customise what he/she calls you or whatever you want”

Hafriz: “The very thing that makes AtlasOS unique is that you don’t need to have a phone to have a connected experience with this car (*shakes head on waiting to pair a phone via CP/AA*). You don’t need to have phone plugged up or a dock or phoneholder taking up space and blocking the screen.”

Hafriz: “Check it out for yourselves you will be surprised. That is the beauty of a connected OS with OTA updates. It will be improved thru your ownership experience”

Hafriz: “The possibility of this is super exciting to the next level”

Hafriz: “Driven thru kampung roads without data, this can still work there. Directions are even displayed on your main instrument cluster. Folks do give it a try, you will be pleasently surprised”

Hafriz: “I don’t even have to take my phone out of my pocket”

Hafriz: “How cool is that. Pretty damn cool”

Good job Hafriz! Good job Proton! Good job ACOTECH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Cindy on Jul 18, 2022 at 6:26 pm

Nicer, better than low resolution
    7″-8″ display from HR-V 1.5L and
    7″ display from CX-5 2.oL high spec

• Celup King on Jul 19, 2022 at 10:22 am

X50 widescreen LCD monitor is 20-30 years ahead of Corolla Cross or new HRV using CRT TV monitor at far cheaper price.

• Will units delivered to customers be installed with ATLAS OS?

• Elon Fanboi on Jul 18, 2022 at 7:03 pm

Well done Proton. We want AA & Apple Carplay but u gave us this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • Celup King on Jul 19, 2022 at 10:24 am

Go read up on Hafriz review of Atlas OS, unlike AA & Apple Carplay that fails in rural areas, this system works perfectly even if you get lost in the jungle. Like a certain brand unrelated to cars: It just works.

• Kea Was on Jul 21, 2022 at 8:09 am

Problem is that I don’t take my car to the jungle don’t think it has the capability of a 4WD anyway but this maps definitely fails in normal POI for eg. anyone tried to search for ClubMed Cherating yeah it will bring you to lala ground.

• We WANT Android Auto/Apple Carplay, just unlock it and settle all problems!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • Ali GT on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:13 am

How about the 2019 Persona and Iriz Premium? Are they will receive Atlas OS updates from their head unit. Really unfair, all Proton GKUI head unit have received the update, 2019 Persona and Iriz are still using the old system.

• Calvin on Jul 20, 2022 at 11:34 am

It might but it will take time as Atlas OS is made for UXGA super widescreen design, so to adapt onto standard HU screens as on Persona/Iriz/Saga/X70 will need a revamp on the interface.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 19, 2022 at 9:55 am

X70 totally ignored, no love from ACO Tech.

• Celup King on Jul 19, 2022 at 10:52 am

No it creates more problems. Go read up on Hafriz review of Atlas OS, unlike AA & Apple Carplay that fails in rural areas, this system works perfectly even if you get lost in the jungle. Like a certain brand unrelated to cars: It just works.

• Jamesir on Jul 19, 2022 at 1:27 pm

Sure release more nonsense instead of Apple CarPlay and Android Auto. The one thing that will negate all those multiple nonsense features. IDK if AcoTech is living in 2022 or 2010 or 2050.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Timing belt EV on Jul 19, 2022 at 2:48 pm

Proton stock tayar also Atlas brand, last time jenama batu perak.