Food delivery p-hailing riders to get ‘special vocational licence’ and not GDL – no Puspakom, fee below RM10

It was previously reported that food delivery riders, officially known as p-hailing riders, will need a Goods Driving Licence (GDL) moving forward, but transport minister Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong has clarified that the ‘special vocational licence’ for riders is not the same as GDL, which are compulsory for heavy vehicle drivers.

“I watched a few videos claiming that we are compelling all p-hailing riders to have a GDL and (take their vehicles for) compulsory Puspakom checks. This is all untrue. We want a special vocational licence for p-hailing riders. I guarantee that this will not be the same as GDLs that are compulsory for heavy vehicles,” Wee said yesterday, reported by The Star.

He added that the special license will not cost more than RM10, and that there are proposals for p-hailing riders to undergo a short induction course for the licence. “It might be just three hours. The method will be finalised and it will not be a burden,” he said, adding that the course could also be done online.

The government is now looking to regulate the p-hailing industry following a dialogue session between Wee and representatives of delivery riders, which happened after a 24-hour nationwide strike last week. The Ayer Hitam MP said that the the plan is to amend the Road Transport Act 1987 to regulate the industry, where riders will be registered under a system and given a licence.

“It is the government’s wish to assist p-hailing groups, not make their lives harder. If we want to give aid, where can we obtain data on p-hailing drivers? Even e-hailing operators do not have a full list. With this system, we will know with just one click,” he said.

How did all this come about? Here are some of the grouses of the Grab and Foodpanda riders.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mr. Sotong on Aug 11, 2022 at 10:40 am

Haha kena bash kaw2 now change the story…Typical

• Chris on Aug 11, 2022 at 2:39 pm

wee wee

funny joker

• DPM Assmin on Aug 11, 2022 at 3:18 pm

Siong Siong Taukeh
      No need tokok.
      GO straight to whats needed.
      1.Look into their needs,not wants
      2.Start nabbing the bad recalcitrant riders.,3 traffic offenses..like running red lights..BATAL their e riding profession.
      3.Launch besar besaran campaign to enforce road safety laws regularly unannounced.

• Sigh... on Aug 11, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Makin complicated jadinya.

• Shamshir Hassan on Aug 11, 2022 at 8:21 pm

What about you just leave us be, Ah Wee? Just because you’re a Malaysian minister, you are not obliged to cash into every single one of the people’s problems.

• Ben Yap on Aug 12, 2022 at 9:45 am

the rider’s grouses are the low incentives. this minister pulak ask them to get a license. problems still not solved and his idea is not even addressing the grouses.

• Weewee on Aug 12, 2022 at 10:10 pm

Riders existed for so long only now you come and talk this ya?? Wee wee ah wee wee..

I really don’t know how a license is helping with the demands of the riders?
    A register to keep track? Can you even maintain that? This riders come and go. Ride one month then stop , qualify for your aid? Your register still have the name wor? Don’t tokok lah.