Food delivery riders list out their five demands to Grab

Last Friday, a number of food delivery – or p-hailing – riders in the Klang Valley were reported to have gone on a 24-hour nationwide strike to protest against what they claimed was unfair compensation paid to riders. Later that day, a team of riders representing the interests of the group delivered a memorandum to Grab Malaysia, in which five demands were listed.

As reported by the New Straits Times, the demands were for Grab to re-evaluate and increase the fare price paid to the riders according to the distance from the pickup place to the delivery address as well as for the ride-sharing company to reinstate the bonus system, which allowed riders to make more money according to trips and targets.

Additionally, riders were also asking for Grab to do away with a timetable or schedule system, which benefitted only full-time riders, and to abolish the rider account barring and cash system feaures in place currently

One of the riders representing the group, Mohd Firdaus Abdul Hamid, said the five demands were crucial for them to earn an income, given the high cost of living conditions. He said the first demand to increase fare prices according to the distance travelled would ensure fair compensation.

“For instance, we get the first order for RM5 and if suddenly a second order enters for the same area, we are only paid RM4 instead of RM5. This is not fair to us. Where is the original fare they promised us?”

As for the schedule system, he said it prioritises and benefits only full-time riders.”Some riders who are signed on for part-time will not receive many orders. They become sidelined and are less likely to get any order,” he said after handing over the memorandum.

Another rider, Zulkifli Abdullah, added that the group of p-hailing riders also want Grab to do away with the rider account barring system. He said when riders cancel an order or a few orders, the company does not allow them an opportunity to give their reasons for doing so. “Instead, they immediately bar us. This is not fair because once an account is barred it could last two days or even up to even two months,” he said.

He added that riders were also unhappy with the cash system introduced by the company. “We want them to discontinue the cash system, because many of us have had to wait for months for reimbursement. In some worst cases, we have gotten cheated, duped and scammed,” he said.

The group claimed that previous complaints to the respective delivery companies and the human resources ministry had seen no changes, and they were left with no choice but to go on strike to highlight their woes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Autodriver on Aug 08, 2022 at 10:38 am

I used to call grab food and always give 2 or 3 bucks as tip to rider as an appreciation despite the delivery fee already not cheap. A grab food rider easily earn RM 3-4k a month if they were working 8 hours a day. There are thousand of people who ordering grad food earn lesser than grad rider and yet grad riders are yelling for better pay? Some argue that food delivery is a dangerous job. I doubt that if you were riding safely without cutting here and there and withou ran a red light then you are pretty safe. But the truth is 90% of food delivery riders are like mat rempit.

Grab and Foodpanda company are not doing charity. They created a platform for rider to earn money meanwhile they are charging fees from consumer and restaurant to sustain their business. If riders are not satisfied with your job then quit and look for other job. Remember you are not underpaid even compare to fresh graduate salary. Start from last Friday I will ordering less food delivery and even if I order I will not give tip anymore as no appreciation from majority riders since complain they are underpaid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 30
    • Recalcitrant Pelosi on Aug 08, 2022 at 1:27 pm

Grab..know only how to grab $$$$
      Foodpanda…look at $$$$ with darkened eyes.
      Out of nowhere,due to convenience..a large pool of rider mat rempits have been created.
      If authorities target mat rempits,they should also target delivery riders..they r color blind as far as traffic lights r concerned.
      You cant give a green or pink bag and let these riders turn into monster killing machines.It is lawlessness when they rush to make multiple trips.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Nak marah tapi kena sabar... Sigh on Aug 08, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Before you say like mat rempit (ride like mad). Mind you that the rider behaving like that because of what? To deliver your food on time. If delay, cuba teka siapa will complain like no tomorrow? The intolerable customer right?

The rider are not an idiot to go fast like hell for a mere RM5 (if lah, sometimes the fare ‘glitch’ like a$$°).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
      • Dah Sabar, Jangan Terlebih on Aug 08, 2022 at 2:59 pm

They are not just rushing to send your food on time but rushing for more orders so earn max, bang. They need to make that 5-7k/month. Previously it was convienient that many were working from home, can’t cook, rented rooms, mco, most shops closed. Now already post mco, 99% companies dah work from office so less orders and our rempit geng nak buat hal? If Grab or Panda says ‘No’, apa depa nak buat? Rampage? Riot? Don’t forget there are still others quietly sending orders because they have to feed their families while some mini-umnos are causing problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • La Toya Jackson on Feb 18, 2023 at 12:17 pm

Stop blaming the customers. Where do you thing your salary came from.. You yourselves want to be a rider.. then follow THE RULES.. if you don’t like it, take it with the company..

• La Toya Jackson on Feb 18, 2023 at 12:17 pm

Stop blaming the customers. Where do you thing your salary came from.. You yourselves want to be a rider.. then follow THE RULES.. if you don’t like it, take it with the company…

• Truth Seeker on Aug 08, 2022 at 3:19 pm

Grab drivers earn more than most office workers i think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • It’s depend how many hours they work. They risk their life riding over traffic,uneven road n rain. Office staff sitting inside air conditioner room comfortable environment. Not getting wet from rain n sun burn from the Sun. Noise from the traffic n risk from accident. How to compare?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • You ignore traffic lights to your convenience, speed in and out of lanes at will, eyes half on phone instead of all on road… Our fault you put yourself at high risk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • To all those who argue about grab riders being mat rempits and all, I see you are just arguing based only from your perspective and you talk with zero experience as a rider. If you say only bikes jump red lights, please open your eyes and look at all the cars that do the same. So many times I see the lights turning yellow getting ready to stop then there is a car speeding right behind me. Also most riders do not like to be in a rush either. The problem is, the restaurants take their own sweet time to prepare the food and the riders have to wait an hour during peak (lunch & dinner) hours for the food to be prepared. End up the rider only get to deliver 1 job during that hour and earn Rm5-8. When it should’ve been 2-3 jobs. Usually after peak hours, there isn’t much orders left to deliver so riders have to maximize their peak hours. That is why they have to rush during these times. Did you know that when Grab assigns double order, you as the customer pays full price, but the Rider does not get the full amount despite having to waste more time waiting for food preparation at the restaurant? In the end Grab profits from in, while customer pays full price, but have their food delivered slower, the riders also don’t get paid the full price you pay despite wasting extra time waiting for order preparation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Autodriver on Aug 09, 2022 at 11:03 am

You were saying many cars ran a red light is so blind and brainless talk. Look at KL almost none of motorist is patiently waiting the traffic light turn green. How car ran a red light like motorist when there are many big vehicle cross from other direction. And nowadays many cars got dashcam it is so easy to catch a car who ran a red light. It is hard to capture the motorist because most of the not following rule. I am doing outdoor sales and spent 2 or 3 hours on the road. I hardly seen a car ran a red light sometimes I hardly seen a motorist waiting the traffic light turn green.

Since the food delivery rider got so many complaints my advice is quit and look for another job. Maybe you can be the restaurant workers and prepare food as fast as possible to allow food delivery riders took their order earlier.

• "humans" on Aug 10, 2022 at 1:36 am

Which restaurant created problems by taking their own sweet time to prepare orders is none of my concern. But, many restaurants too work hard during peak hours to rush orders for riders to pickup, for dine-in customers to eat and drink (and to rush cleaning up tables for next customers), for customers to takeaway etc. Full stop. Okay, bye.

• Autodriver on Aug 10, 2022 at 9:49 am

True. I wondering which restaurant taking their own sweet time to prepare order. I was in 1 cafe and this cafe always good business whether dine in or Grab order. The workers were busy running here and there to prepare food for dine in customer meanwhile taking Grab order. The worker has no free time at all during peak hour. I pity the worker rushing here and there and they are not as good paid as Grab rider. Yet the above Grab rider complain the restaurant worker taking their own sweet time. So I suggest him to quit Grab food and work as restaurant worker to expedite the food preparation.

• seancorr on Aug 08, 2022 at 12:53 pm

Have these both sides of the story but it what these riders saying are true then the part time riders are at the short end of the stick.

• what to do then do, do not want to do, get lose. And pls do not stop others who want to do.
    go n think of a business model that can give what u want. Be the boss yourself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • sahak on Aug 08, 2022 at 3:40 pm

Make your own new app then, you can name it ‘Rampas’.

• noname_commenter on Aug 08, 2022 at 5:18 pm

When we see riders are earning 3-5k per month it’s easy to think that they are earning more than enough and should feel grateful. Or if they are earning more than us (office worker) then we say: what else more are they asking (i’m not asking)? when we see riders zip-zap here and there we thinks that all riders are like this. We are ignorant of the fact that those earning might belong to the minority which work really hard almost nonstop, in the rain, under hot sun, day and night. Yes sometime good rider might also zip here and zap there. Some good ppl drive in comfort of car might also break a law or two beating traffic lights or speeding while endangering the other drivers on the road. Ppl who works in office or not working in office who orders from food delivery rider might think they are better and naturally should earn a higher salary than food rider? think again. Think u can live conveniently without food delivery rider? think u can live in clean environment without rubbish collector or floor cleaner. Think about what u do whether it benefits any ppl directly in positive way in daily life.

• Sohai on Aug 08, 2022 at 8:51 pm

Looking at the complains of the riders, I think some are unreasonable.

1. Order of the same area get paid less. That’s normal everywhere isn’t it? Is like my bundled order from Lazada is charged lower for delivery. The riders do save time and Grab pays less.. fair deal.

2. Full time riders get priorities. Hello? What’s wrong with that? This is to encourage riders to have more commitment to the job. You expect a company to treat their temp staff better then permanent staff?

3. Riders account get barred due to rider cancel order. Why not? The platform need to maintain it customer experience in the platform and riders need to coorporate. The only thing I can see is maybe incorporate an appeal process for the cancellation, such as due to unforeseen circumstances.

Overall, I think the complains are not very solid. Please go and find another job that can meet your expectations.

• Daisine on May 01, 2023 at 10:40 am

Try la go out do food delivery, then you will understand. If not, you won’t be able to understand what they go thru.

• Grab continues to lose money. Instead of cutting riders perks, they should cut the pay of their highly paid managers,

• so the part time riders are the one complaining they earn less than full time riders?
    next thing the full time riders will complain why the part timer are earning same as them working full time ^^
    if they earn as good as full timer then what is the point of having full timer ^^

• Earning does not equal income on Aug 08, 2022 at 10:47 pm

Earning 3k in your grab account monthly is before you deduct all operating costs (petrol, motorcycle loan instalments plus interests, insurance, maintenance service, wear and tear parts – tyres, chains, sprockets, spark plugs, brake pads, fluids, and eventually after super high mileage your engine will need an overhaul).

Plus, there are no EPF savings, SOCSO or EIS insurance compared to formal employment.

Once you consider all the above, grab delivery riders are not really earning much more than formal entry level jobs out there.

• Sohai on Aug 09, 2022 at 11:30 am

You want EPF and SOCSO and medical? Can you then commit to certain working hours and performance expectations like any other employee that have those? Now the rider suka suka turn on their phone.
      Typical contract resource also don’t have those.

What is fair is that all this is known before a rider signup. You knew that you will be using your own bike and the expense you have to take care. Why complain? Just don’t do it at the first place. You have to weight the pros and cons yourself. You want freedom, that’s the deal. Would you want to work in P2 assembly line or a construction site instead? Or just start your own business.

• Grab’s bos n FP’s bos mau gaji naik maaaa.

• Our mindset our destiny on Aug 09, 2022 at 11:26 am

The worker is demanding more as the pay barely sustain their life style. The company is tightening their belt to maintain their shareholder interest. Worker-Would u be able to return to basic as the cost of life keep increasing and squeezing you breathless. Employer-Would you be able to increase a bit of worker benefits if it cuts into your company bottomline and earn a lesser profit just to do some good. The worker is relying on the employer and the employer cannot exist without the worker. Let them quit! most voices might say – “there are ppl willing to work for the same pay”, most might say. New blood will replace the old blood. But eventually exhausted and quit. Why doesn’t most of us say – let the company innovate, make more money and share the benefit with its worker and as the company grow thus further improve the nations welfare? Unfortunately we are the people and mindset of the former, thus it could be destiny that we are behind.

• LanceChau on Aug 09, 2022 at 2:35 pm

First of all, one has to accept that life is never fair and have to learn to live with it. Speaking from a perspective of a former uber and grab driver. Really two different world although they work similarly.

Don’t like the job, look for another one. Learn to obey the traffic rules first and earn the respect from road users, then only demand.

About time that they are regulated. Some even ride without license causing trouble when met in an accident and most likely to claim the insurance from a private car. Hello, this is fair?

Enough said.

• Autodriver on Aug 10, 2022 at 9:58 am

It is true. If one not happy with the job then quit and look for another job which make him happy. If they find this job give them better pay then hold the bxlls to continue work. Life is never fair and we should find our way to balance up and live happily. If they thought Grab or Foodpanda were slashing their pay then they should form their own new apps and platform give themselves higher pay.

• Rempiteatshit on Aug 09, 2022 at 9:36 pm

These lj rider think they can riot and get their demands. Why not the consumer stop ordering and see what these rider do? Before grab and foodpanda came, we can eat normally outside or cook at home, why not now? It’s just a convenient, not a necessity.

If they think their job is so dangerous and underpaid, why they do it? You never think how much it cost to be a rider and how much you are getting? Cannot do math? Why sign on when you think you are underpaid?
    What do you do when you think you are underpaid? Scream like rempit in a rempit union? No, you upgrade yourself to learn better skills. You think you can do rider till you are 60? If you think you can be a rider for life, then good luck to you and your family.

Stop doing the job if you are so unhappy with it.
    Get a real life, don’t be lazy and be a complaining rider.

Feeling your job too hard? Suck it up and do your fucking job like everyone else. You think office worker had it easy, think who enable you to buy the motor you ride, who make the handphone you use, who make the clothes you wear, who get the petrol for you to earn money? It is all the collective effort of proper office worker.

• Autodriver on Aug 10, 2022 at 11:41 am

Since the day they protest I have stopped ordering Grab or Foodpanda and I plan not to use the app to order food anymore (still use it to call grab car if necessary). There are thousands of people who order food are earn lesser than rider and yet these riders yelling “underpaid”. These riders easily earn RM 3-4k a month with 6-8 hours work a day. Those office workers who work from 9am till 9pm may not get RM 3k and yet they are ordering food delivery giving these riders income. Why should we sympathy to them when office workers suffering too but they no protest like these riders. If one not happy with their job they should quit and look for new job.

• Almighty Snack Bar on Aug 09, 2022 at 11:08 pm

90% of these riders don’t deserve anything. Riding their bikes like legal mat rempits. Thank God for dashcam if not all of us are at mercy to these rempits. Illegally riding against traffic, cutting dangerously, etc. to name a few. These 90% of riders should fly kite. Rubbish of our country.