Proton hopes the government will extend incentives for CBU EVs beyond Dec 31, 2023 – no CKD plans yet

Earlier today, Proton and electric carmaker smart Automobile Company signed a general distributorship agreement (GDA) which will see Proton sell and service smart vehicles in Malaysia and Thailand.

The smart #1 will be the first smart model to be sold by Proton and we were told that a local launch will take place early in Q4 2023. The electric SUV was first revealed globally in April, built on Geely’s Sustainable Electric Architecture (SEA) and styled by Mercedes-Benz.

The Q4 2023 launch time frame does raise some concerns, as it’s relatively close to the cutoff date for EV incentives announced by the government during the tabling of Budget 2022 (Bajet 2022) last October.

For a brief recap, fully-imported (CBU) EVs are currently exempt from import and excise duties from January 1, 2022 to December 31, 2023, while it’s until December 31, 2025 for locally-assembled (CKD) EVs. Both CBU and CKD EVs are also exempt from road tax until December 31, 2025.

The #1 will arrive as a CBU model and given its planned arrival in early Q4 2023, it will only benefit from EV incentives for a limited amount of time. As such, Proton chairman Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar said in his opening speech that he hopes the government will extend the incentive period for CBU EVs beyond the original end date.

“Proton will play a role in Malaysia’s EV industry as well as help the country achieve carbon neutrality target by 2050; together with our other initiatives such as a double-sided solar panel farm at Tanjung Malim. We will however need help to do so, and the government as always, have been proactive in promoting these generation of vehicles,” he said.

“In place now is the policy of 100% duty exemption for CBU electric cars up to December 31, 2023, and until the end of 2025 for CKD electric cars. It is an excellent way to spur investment in the sector, and we thank the government for their generosity. However, for the benefit of building a robust EV industry, we humbly request that these exemptions be extended. This is because in Malaysia, the new energy vehicles industry is still in its infancy and as it is a capital-intensive sector,” he added.

The obvious way to continue enjoying EV incentives beyond 2023 is to assemble the #1 in Malaysia, but Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah explained in a press conference following the signing ceremony that it was still too early to consider local assembly. This is because the #1 has yet to go on sale here, making it difficult to gauge demand, which is very important when it comes to setting up CKD operations.

“Something we look at is volume because when you talk about CKD operations, it’s always a volume game business to justify in terms of the investment that we have to put up in Malaysia and on how that we should focus on the right-hand drive market. It’s too early for us to talk [about CKD] because what we want is to bring the smart #1 and launch it in Malaysia first then we can talk when the time comes [to consider CKD operations],” Roslan said in response to a question from the media.

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• Bieight8 on Aug 18, 2022 at 4:59 pm

Government should allow LHD EV to be driven on the road so that Chinese cars could sell here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • newme on Aug 18, 2022 at 5:04 pm

Haiya .. Proton always on incentive life support, whether they manufacture or trading. Anything they touch, it must comes with government incentive.

• Maximum Security Penintentionary ..Alcatraz on Aug 18, 2022 at 9:23 pm

The problem with Protong is : I deserve tongkat,I need tongkat,if not I cannot compete”.
      Without Geely’s tongkat,DRB already insolvent,bankrupt.

• Aura89 on Aug 19, 2022 at 1:46 am

are you stupid or sumthin. What Proton is asking for will benefit every other EV brandholders in the market as such extension will apply to them too.

• newme on Aug 20, 2022 at 10:43 am

Did I say the incentive is only for Proton? Whatever field they embarked on, they would expect subsidy on that field. Why didn’t they lobby subsidy for truck manufacturing?

• Copy Paste on Aug 22, 2022 at 9:07 am

Copy paste: “Proton always on incentive life support”

Copy paste: “You know that if the tax free incentives are extended it would be for the industry as a whole and not just PROTON right?”

Copy paste: “are you stupid or sumthin.”

Copy paste: “Work harder then.”

• Phaser on Aug 19, 2022 at 2:23 pm

You know that if the tax free incentives are extended it would be for the industry as a whole and not just PROTON right?

• EV subsidy Konon on Aug 18, 2022 at 7:29 pm

Already EV’s so expensive. Not interested to buy any. Nowadays, imbeciles car makers only target vehicles for rich customers category.

• Lilytan on Aug 18, 2022 at 10:15 pm

Wow. This national automaker sounds more like the AP kings. Why not start CKD since it is until the end of 2025?

• Mee USR on Aug 18, 2022 at 11:11 pm

Release EQ Fortwo and EQ Forfour after #1

• Proton stil wants government to help? Proton is no more owned by govenment. It is just a private company. AND, pls grow up!