KL-Singapore HSR high-speed rail – Malaysia looking to revive project as soon as possible, says PM

Malaysia is looking to see if it can get the previously derailed Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High-Speed Rail (HSR) project back on track in the soonest time possible, according to prime minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

He said that transport minister Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong was currently in preliminary talks with his Singaporean counterpart S. Iswaran, and added that Malaysia was hoping to ramp up discussions to ascertain the probability of the project being revived, The Star reports.

“If possible, we want it to be sped up because Malaysia also has plans for a HSR between Kuala Lumpur and Bangkok. If possible, we want to link Bangkok-KL and KL-Singapore,” he said. The PM said there was a possibility that the HSR route could go up to China, as both China and Thailand are also in the process of constructing high-speed rail projects.

Ismail Sabri said that should it be revived, there would be some changes to the project, including with its terms and conditions. Given that the increasing cost of raw materials, he said Malaysia might consider reducing the size of the stations to keep the overall cost of the project in check.

Asked by reporters if resurrecting the HSR was a priority for his administration, Ismail Sabri said that it wasn’t exactly a priority, but given that the plans were already drawn up, it was simply a matter of establishing if it was still viable.

The plan for the KL-Singapore HSR began in December 2016, whe the two countries signed a bilateral agreement to facilitate the project, which was supposed to have begun construction in 2018 and completed in 2025, with operations slated to begin in 2026.

The project was planned as a 350 km-long double-track route (335 km of which was supposed to be in Malaysia, and 15 km in Singapore) with eight stops in total – Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur. A bridge over the Straits of Johor – with a height clearance of 25 metres – would have linked the line between both countries.

The service was projected to run 10 car-long trains – with the capacity for up to 100 passengers per car – at average speeds of 300 km/h, which would bring the rail travel time between KL and Singapore down to 90 minutes, excluding clearance at customs, immigration and quarantine.

In September 2018, at the request of Malaysia, both governments agreed to postpone the project until May 31, 2020 to allow for the identification of cost reduction options, including reviewing and optimising the alignment, station locations and the business model.

The deferment resulted in Malaysia paying S$15 million (around RM45.1 million at the time) as compensation for the abortive costs incurred by Singapore. The payment was made at the end of January 2019. In May 2020, the deferment was extended to December 31 that year.

The HSR project was finally terminated by both countries in January 2021, when it was announced that both parties could not come to an agreement on the proposed changes. It was reported last year that the total payment made eventually by Malaysia to Singapore was S$102.8 million (RM330.3mil).

In November last year, the KL-SG HSR popped up again when Ismail Sabri made an official visit to Singapore, where he suggested reviving discussions on the HSR to his Singaporean counterpart Lee Hsien Loong, who said he was open to any new proposal on the project.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anonymous on Aug 24, 2022 at 1:04 pm

S’pore will surely wait until new Federal Govt is installed before proceeding with any substantial talks.
    No use for S’pore confirming anything when new M’sian Fed Govt leadership might have different attitude towards HSR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Farewell Bossku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • Make Malaysia Great Again on Aug 24, 2022 at 5:11 pm

The Architect might have been unjustly jailed but his legacy will live on.
        #MakeMalaysiaGreatAgain,Again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 33
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 24, 2022 at 8:12 pm

Spirit to send more talents to SG continues

• Continue can get refund ah?

Then change gov, new gov will cancel and need to pay again.

Endless loop.

#i’mfromfuture

• Lolwhut? on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:10 am

The key point is don’t changelaaahhhh! It was foolish the first time change and even more foolish if change again. Fool us once shame on them, if fool us twice then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • School Teacher on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:21 am

Don’t need to talk common sense with them bro. They only know how to upvote themselves and downvote others. No brain to think but just follow what the Gov says. This is what the current education is about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • EDITOR on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:37 am

You complain here because you thought you could defeat BN followers that way, all so you PH could look good.

We’re so sorry that BN followers ended up curb stomping you.

You’re playing the victim card after your cowardice blew up in your face.

Too bad many had utterly despise you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • Fake Editor on Aug 25, 2022 at 1:11 pm

Lol. Just because you can push the like button multiple times and post fake news about PH you think you can influence the media and free Najib from serving his time?

Things don’t work this way my friend. No one is playing the victim card except your Boss who is in Kajang.

You can make the illusion of despise but you can’t change the truth.

• Amran on Aug 25, 2022 at 5:25 pm

Sendiri bodoh sendiri kalah sekarang sendiri nangis sini menyalak macem antu. Sape yg mau kesian PH bodoh trolling kat blog ni?

• Bangsa Bd on Aug 26, 2022 at 3:42 pm

If you can’t win in English, gotta use Malay?
            It shows who you really are. Haha

• Syabas BN on Aug 24, 2022 at 11:55 pm

Yes, his legacy will live on. The first Ex-PM to get jailed for corruption in Malaysia. Well done BN, your ex-leader is jailed under your own Government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
          • Irony on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:15 pm

Ironic isn’t it?

• Lolwhut? on Aug 25, 2022 at 5:22 pm

LOL BN berani to jail their own leaders that broken the law. Pakatan ada berani tak jail their own leaders? Instead they freed their jailed leaders from prison. That is the true kleptocratic rule.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Lol. Kenapa Pakatan mau jail their own leaders when they did nothing wrong? Tak masuk akal. Jailing own leader is kleptocratic? Don’t make PT readers here laugh. You know what is the true meaning of the kleptocratic tak?

• Gabriel on Aug 24, 2022 at 4:54 pm

None of this will be an issue if not for DAP led PH cancelling the HSR project and willingly give RM330 millions of the Malaysian’s rakyat money to PAP led Singapore as compensation.
      Malaysian should open our eyes on this dodgy compensation, since both parties are of the same root.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 46
      • Copy Paste on Aug 24, 2022 at 6:21 pm

Copy paste: “We need a PAC & RCI reports into how PH Gomen freely cancelled the contract forcing us to pay Singkie free money.
        #PHForBambooRiver2023”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 27
      • Angry Voters on Aug 24, 2022 at 6:39 pm

We regret what we did unfortunately nasi sudah jadi bubur, what else can we do but the best in giving BN the strongest supermajority to push this thru ASAP. And we cannot get the monies back from Singapore we should it from PH as they are solely responsible for this loss. What they could never return back is our Pulau Batu Puteh.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 15
      • EDITOR on Aug 24, 2022 at 7:01 pm

Easy fellas or I’m reporting this to the Pakatan fanboy & troll division of the forum.

• Truth Seeker on Aug 26, 2022 at 8:05 am

You are right. I have a feeling that DAP and PH are funded by the US to disrupt any project that will unite South East Asia. The USA never likes other countries to unite and be friendly with each other. Divide and Conquer.

• Bring your Proof on Aug 26, 2022 at 4:01 pm

Proof? If not this is sedition. I can also say UMNO is funded by the kleptocrats to suck funds from Malaysia and the world. 1MDB is part of the project.

• Mr Fakta on Aug 24, 2022 at 1:11 pm

It’s a good idea, they just need to cut all those useless station in between KL and SG. The money maker is KL-SG route.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • thestatesinbetween on Aug 25, 2022 at 3:54 pm

then change the alignment to 20km off straits of melaka then. no station in any of the 3 southern states, no land for you!

• Truth Seeker on Aug 26, 2022 at 8:06 am

U are wrong. The money making route is up north to Thailand and china.

• Kea Was on Aug 24, 2022 at 1:56 pm

Oh right> But please do recoup all the RM330.3 million tax payers money given free to Singapore from one of your DPM who canceled the project which you were part of back then.

• Tax Payer on Aug 24, 2022 at 2:33 pm

They need to recoup the millions siphoned by the wifes of our BN Ministers in LCS first. How many millions eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 82
      • Make Malaysia Great Again on Aug 24, 2022 at 5:20 pm

That is a tinniest of drop compared to RM 60BILLION(!) we will need to pay Sulus thanks to utter inept incompetent downright traitorous PH Gomen that had legitimise their claims on Sabah!

The must be a PAC & RCI reports on how badly PH had sabotaged our beloved country and jail all of them!
        #PHForBambooRiver2023

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 31
        • Syabas Bossku on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:07 am

Thanks for bringing this up. You have to first thank Najib for not paying RM5300 to the heirs of Sulu sultanate in 2013 though.

Your government is so incompetent that it can only jail its own leaders. Ohwai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
          • Ohh waiiiii on Aug 25, 2022 at 6:36 pm

You don’t pay an intruder to come and rob your house right? So why you expect najib to continue paying them after Lahad Datu invasion? Unless PH paid Sulus to come oh wai…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
          • Ted Azlan on Aug 26, 2022 at 3:50 pm

Oleh kerana Najib yang hentikan bayaran kepada Sultan Sulu, dialah yang bertanggungjawab keatas kejadian serangan di Lahad Datu dan kematian para anggota2 keselamatan negara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • History Bender on Aug 27, 2022 at 2:35 am

PH troopers still vainly trying to change history eh.
            Najib stop payments AFTER Lahad Datu and NOT BEFORE it. Try again.
            If we are going to be forced to pay that rm 60billion we must get it from PH. I mean why rakyat must suffer their idiocy and that just from 22 months of blunder.

• Angry Voters on Aug 24, 2022 at 6:42 pm

Millions is nothing, can you tell us how are we to explain to our 7 generations why we became an economic pariah having lifelong servitudes in paying back billions to a foreign party which is not even recognised by their own country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 12
        • Kahwin Empat on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:42 am

Millions is nothing? If 1 wife of BN minister can songlap RM243 Milllion, imagine how much can all the wifes of BN songlap? Much more than we have to pay 1 kingdom! You gotta remember UMNO BN ministers can kahwin empat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Aug 24, 2022 at 5:13 pm

We need a PAC & RCI reports into how PH Gomen freely cancelled the contract forcing us to pay Singkie free money.
      #PHForBambooRiver2023

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 32
  • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 24, 2022 at 2:28 pm

Flip flop policy as usual by our useless Government. Even Singapore is fed up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Aug 24, 2022 at 5:16 pm

If it wasn’t for utter useless incompetent and corupt PH Gomen unilaterally cancel the deal, we would not need to pay Singkie free RM 330mil instead would have a shiny brand new HSR rail today.

The must be a PAC & RCI reports on how badly PH had sabotaged our beloved country and jail all of them!
      #PHForBambooRiver2023

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 33
    • Sick & Tired on Aug 24, 2022 at 6:50 pm

Flip flop due to our wrong emotional decision in GE14. BN was flipped and Pakatan flopped.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
      • Sick & Tired of BN's Corruption on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:30 am

Now BN is back being flipped and Bossku in Kajang. UMNO open emergency meeting now on how to free Bossku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • History Bender on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:28 am

And PH flopped trying to politicise this issue.
          They thought BN would never free and fair let go of Gahmen, but they did in GE14.
          They thought BN would stop the trials, but they let justice run its course.
          They thought BN would free him, but they let the judges freely decide.
          They thought BN would not allow him go jail, but he willingly go without drama.

In contrast;
          Did PH parties have free and fair polls, members say HELL NO.
          Did PH allow justice to run for their FinMin trial, justice say it was denied when their AG drop case.
          Did PH bravely jail any of their leaders, news says they promised to jail an old exPM but instead they made him THEIR PM.
          Did any of their leaders accepted justice and go to jail willingly, history says they made many Kdramas including protests all the way to prison unlike Najib went in quietly.

One has allowed justice to take its course the other perverted justice so much it became perverse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Yes please. Better connectivity attracts more investors n development opportunities

• Jason on Aug 24, 2022 at 7:32 pm

Is not DAP or PH fault. Singapore can not accept Mahaiddin’s STUPID new terms and conditions which results in cancellation. If only DAP is in Control, 50/50 chances Malaysia will be wealthier than Singapore. Looking at Penang is a good example. Unless everyone here thinks states like Kelantan is better off, I rest my case. 65 years of BN ruling…where are we now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 68
    • Western Star on Aug 25, 2022 at 2:07 am

If DAP were in control, guarantee 50/50 of the people might not survive their term as the rich gets richer and the poor gets discriminated with their policies making life a living hell, one such example is cars only for the rich:
      https://paultan.org/2022/05/31/driving-a-car-in-malaysia-should-be-made-a-luxury-not-a-necessity-says-dap-assemblyman-liew-chin-tong/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Polestar on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:33 am

But… but your colleague said is to reduce traffic jams woh. So how eh?

mds on Jun 23, 2022 at 12:08 pm

“Cars are not essential and will add burden to people by resuming SST exemption that will create more traffic jam. Now, please support how to resolve food prices including chicken”

• Gabriel on Aug 25, 2022 at 9:50 am

Here is the fact. DAP led PH government who was the one cancelled the project and they knew about the high compensation to PAP led Singapore.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018/06/02/guan-eng-on-hsr-you-can-get-something-for-half-the-price/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Gabriel Mom on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:21 pm

Nope, they are not the one who cancelled the project. The project was cancelled in 2021. Who is the government then? Stop spreading fake news to mislead the readers here.

https://paultan.org/2021/01/04/kl-singapore-hsr-high-speed-rail-project-terminated/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Gabriel on Aug 25, 2022 at 11:41 pm

Mom, please read the link to the Star newspaper that I attached earlier. It clearly stated there that the DAP led PH government decided to scrap the HSR project on that week of 2nd June 2018.

Quote: “Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng (pic) has said the government’s decision this week to scrap the high-speed rail (HSR) project”

• Gabriel Mom on Aug 26, 2022 at 3:39 pm

Son, pls read the link of PT that I attached earlier. It clearly states that the project is scrapped on January 1 2021.

Quote:”The announcement of the project’s termination was made on January 1 by both Malaysia and Singapore”

• History Bender on Aug 27, 2022 at 2:27 am

Lets follow historical evidence, which comes first? 2018 or 2021?

• jasoho on Aug 24, 2022 at 7:36 pm

Malaysia is becoming an international laughing stock for proposing to revive the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) after paying RM320 million in compensation to Singapore for terminating the project earlier this year.

This flip-flop is symbolic of both the Perikatan Nasional (PN) and BN governments’ incompetence and indecisiveness, costing taxpayers unnecessarily RM320 million for a start-stop-start project.

The Pakatan Harapan government had delayed the project in 2018 to allow for a review of the exorbitant pricing and the cost structure agreed to by the previous BN government.

However, the (former prime minister) Muhyiddin Yassin’s government was willing to pay RM320 million to break its public promise to continue with the KL-Singapore HSR and instead replace it with KL-Johor Bahru HSR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 65
    • Gabriel Mom on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:57 am

Agreed with what you said, both BN and PN are incompetence and corrupted, costing taxpayers millions of dollars.

So we must have a PAC & RCI reports like someone suggested on how badly BN had sabotaged our beloved country and jail all of them!

#FarewellBossku #BNBambooRiver

• Western Star on Aug 25, 2022 at 2:11 am

Malaysia became a laughing stock way before when DAP & PH reverted back from GST, being the only country in the world that done so, and what did we get from it; the rich gets richer as taxes are hidden now while the working class gets poorer. Despite of the same origin, DAP & PAP cannot be any more different.

In Singapore, the PAP fights for the working class.
      In Malaysia, the DAP fights for the rich upperclass.

We’re f&cked if they ever came back. Pray it never do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 25, 2022 at 12:12 pm

And yet, many Malaysians are going to Singapore to work everyday. Why? Malaysia’s currency value has been down since the takeover by the backdoor government. Investors are leaving and food prices getting more expensive under BN. Even essentials like cooking oil and chicken rice is becoming expensive to the working class. Despite having SPRM, Malaysia’s has one of the world’s highest corruption index, UMNO is corrupted to the core and Najib is leading their way. Both cannot be anymore different in terms of corruption.

In Malaysia, UMNO fight for its cronies by asking the king to pardon a convicted criminal. At least in Singapore, the government cares for its citizen by providing healthcare and support.

We’re alraedy f*cked by the UMNO government. Husband stealing billions from the treasuries and wife stealing millions from the navies. It’s time for a change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Jarren on Aug 25, 2022 at 2:12 pm

KL to Bangkok is a massively expensive and long track and I do not foresee that will happen in the next 5 to 10 years. Hence please just focus on restarting the KL Singapore HSR instead of dreaming about connecting to China.

• Truth Seeker on Aug 26, 2022 at 8:08 am

Clearly you are penny wise pound foolish. The northern route to Thailand and China is where the big profits be. Singapore is so small country. The northern route will boost Malaysian economy like crazy

• Jarren on Aug 30, 2022 at 7:23 am

Rail infrastructure projects such as HSR are very costly and often operating under heavy government subsidies which can cost many billions to build and maintain. if you study the high-speed rail project around the world, most of the tracks are actually losing money except for a few which are operating under very ideal environments such as high population density, close distances etc. beyong 800km, it may be faster and cheaper to take plane. An HSR is also a double edges sword, connecting to Thailand could possibly also mean that more Malaysians will travel to Thailand for a better and cheaper holiday which means an outflow of money. While at the same time, Thais may seek job in Malaysia, which mean an inflow of cheaper labour. Don’t simply paint just a bright future on HSR linking to China. IMO, better to have 1 good and profitable project than to have many mega project that cannot make money.

• They should follow indonesia’s high speed rail between jakarta and bandung.no gomen money was involved.
    China rail will build and operate and if it losses money, its its own bad business decision.

• Angry Voters on Aug 26, 2022 at 2:46 am

HAH! You think we had not tried that. ECRL was supposed to be China funded, no Gahmen money but they got accused of selling out to China. You want the same spiel repeated by these circlejerks again. These Pakatan goons are only good at taking us backwards while others are moving forwards.

• Jarren on Sep 08, 2022 at 11:31 am

There is no free lunch in this world. Under the Jakarta Bandung project, China will have complete control on the entire HSR line without taking any financial risk. 1) They are the developer of land around HSR station. 2) they are the supplier of rolling stock, spare parts, 3) they are the banker who will finance the rail project. 4) they own the rights to operate the HSR line. Recently, the Chinese have refused to finance the project due to cost overrun and the Indonesian government have to step in toe finance the project. Under stuch arrangement, Indonesia will have no control of the line. And I think this is what Muhyddin governemtn was thinking. In my opinion that is penny smart pound foolish. not surprising, no one is questioning about the sovereignty of Malaysia when the entire HSR line will be controlled by China.