HSR project to be reviewed for feasibility and costs following restart of Bandar Malaysia development – PM

The Malaysian government will review the construction of the KL-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) project following the restarting of the Bandar Malaysia development, said prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. The prime minister said that the government will study the feasibility and costs of the project before making a final decision, according to Malay Mail.

“We will go ahead but we will need to find what is the suitable speed that we should have. We would like to spend less money. For me, it can be scaled down or have the necessary adjustment in order to reduce the cost,” the prime minister said.

Previously put on hold due to its prohibitive RM110 billion cost, the review of the KL-Singapore HSR project was announced after the renewal of the Bandar Malaysia project yesterday at the signing ceremony between the ministry of finance-owned TRX City Sdn Bhd with lWH CREC Sdn Bhd, the consortium of Iskandar Waterfront Holdings Sdn Bhd (lWH) and China Railway Engineering Corporation (M) Sdn Bhd (CREC).

The 486-acre Bandar Malaysia project is set to consist of mixed developments for commercial, residential and cultural infrastructure, the report said.

First signed in December 2016, the HSR was initially planned as a 350 km route comprising 335 km in Malaysia and 15 km in Singapore. This was to have eight stops – Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur, and a bridge over the Straits of Johor would have linked the two countries.

Said at the time to be Southeast Asia’s largest-ever infrastructure project, the proposed railway system attracted interest from Japan, China, South Korea and several European countries, and was initially expected to commence operations in 2026.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Telan balik julat lepas tumbangkan pemangkin idea ini. PHui!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
    • UTurn M on Dec 18, 2019 at 2:16 pm

Yes. Watch me U Turn like a bawwsss!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Norlia on Dec 18, 2019 at 4:08 pm

Kaki2 khianat pembangkang smue ni. Tak boleh nak tengok negara sendiri, maju kedepan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
        • Anonymous on Dec 18, 2019 at 6:14 pm

CHUPPPP…. kenapa akak cakap macam tu..? Kita memang sokong sangat bangunkan HSR ini… ia adalah idea yang bernas dan baik dari DSNajib dan kerajaan BN dahulu kearah beri peluang pekerjaan, memajukan negara serta tingkatkan ekonomi negara.

Yang bangkang projek HSR ni dulu2 lagi datang dari puak penyokong PH. Malah TunM sendiri bangkang projek HSR ini. Tapi nak batalkan bakal bayar pampasan kepada S’pore. Tak tahulah sekarang mereka bangkang atau sokong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
          • Memang tepat cakap akak… tak kesah lembu atau sapi. Yang paling penting, negara kita Malaysia maju ke hadapan.

• Muzaffar Shah on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:07 am

Nasib baik China tolong Malaysia membangunkan ekonomi Malaysia.

Saya cadangkan Malaysia jadi sebuah negara bawahan China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Make Malaysia Great Again on Dec 18, 2019 at 8:22 pm

I don’t agree. Those who used to condemn this project are now turning around and supporting it? What kind of government is this?
          Those who used condemn it and now supporting it are an embarrassment to themselves, to their political party, to their constituents, to their leaders and to the nation. This is treason and a travesty of justice to the previous government who initiated this project. Those now in government are plain crooks & liars, and those who backed them up are sickos or crazies.

The people has had enough of this charades and as evidenced in the last few by-elections, the victories of the people are turning on the present government. They have lost any resemblance of support from the people and it is time they give the mandate back to the people. #GE15 2020 Now!

• Alan Fong on Dec 19, 2019 at 9:03 am

Tun wants to start this project because he wants Malaysians to be like Singapore and emulate their hard work more.

You see, Malaysia and Singapore Merdeka same time. But yet, Singapore is already first world country and has the third highest GDP per capita in the world.

Its currency is 3X more than Malaysia and the average Government Servant earns SGD$8000 per month (RM24,000)

Our average Putrajaya Government servant still earn RM1200 per month.

So Tun is trying to encourage us to work hard and be like Singapore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Ghani on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:20 pm

SG GDP was 5X more than Malaya during Merdeka, which is the reason why they chaffed at quickly breaking out from Malaysia at first chance, they didn’t want to share. So after only 1 generation we had reduced from 5X to 3X is a testament to the great effort in closing the gap so rapidly.

Whatmore compared to SG, we treat our elderly with respect and they can live their remainder lives at ease. In SG, people like Tun would still be cleaning plates in foodcourts because they have to work to survive until they die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Isobel Chin on Dec 18, 2019 at 4:47 pm

Pakatan Uturn once again. With so many of Najib’s ideas got revived, let’s just save us all the trouble and bring him back. Pakatan has absolutely no original idea that works and kept recycling old ideas. Time to kick Pakatan out!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • Ajibkor on Dec 18, 2019 at 5:21 pm

Thanks big sapot Mdm Chin. 1 Birkin4u …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 18, 2019 at 6:03 pm

We all support you bossku!!! Hope you come back as PM soon!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Alan Fong on Dec 19, 2019 at 9:05 am

If there is any Uturn means the Government has no money because most of their money is used to give the majority bantuan.

the problem with Malaysia is that, majority are asking bantuan kerajaan all the time. So, Government needs to prepare lots of money to keep as back up to give bantuan kerajaan.

So, how to have money to do HSR?

• Ahmad Hassan on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:09 am

We need more Mainland people into Malaysia, then, we can do very well

• Brian on Dec 19, 2019 at 12:44 pm

Spot on Ahmad. Only when we replace the 100 useless and corrupted PH ministers with real professionals can our 1.6million government servants perform to their abilities and shine. We need to replace the 100 ministers pronto!

• Amran on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:26 pm

@Alan Fong. Stupid and baseless reasons. You say there is no money, then where the money go? How come during BN’s time, we have money to build MRT1 & MRT2, Bandar Malaysia, 2 highest towers in ASEAN, and abolish tolls for 5 highways, and STILL our ASB can give record payouts? This forebodes that EPF and BURSA will not do well either, is this what we voted for ah Pakatan? Dielah our economy and country under you!

• msia driver on Dec 18, 2019 at 2:00 pm

problem is how much the ticket price that time they set?
    rm300 one way trip from SG to KL ?? i rather take flight with just half price cheaper..

just upgrade the current rail system with minimum cost spend, that all. No need high speed rail for just few hundred KM range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • Well done Tun.. Gamechanger for Msia & JDT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • BeemerFreak on Dec 18, 2019 at 2:19 pm

It’s because of people like you Malaysia kurang maju. The government save the money also never give back to you, ticket mahal pun bukan you yang bayar since you are flying.

It’s because of this project’s suspension airlines are really taking advantage of the situation. Trying finding a return ticket and see if there are any below RM450 return.

This project will squeeze the airlines to give us better ticket prices with competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • msia driver on Dec 18, 2019 at 2:56 pm

opsss , i just buy flight ticket from KL to SG just rm120…hahaha

because of you let MY spend like no tomorrow, we r still stuck in 60 century…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Oppo Komplen on Dec 18, 2019 at 3:47 pm

from KL to SG just rm120…
          from SG to KL mahall sgd120…hahahah

• msia driver on Dec 19, 2019 at 11:26 am

look like u never take flight before….are you still below 12 years old…
            be hardworking & go check the various flight prices, don’t just only make own assumption…

• BeemerFreak LMAO on Dec 18, 2019 at 4:19 pm

if you ever know about the train JB-SG … i bet you wont even got the chance to get the nice time train… and many off market ticket will be sell with higher price…. stupid

• Anonymous on Dec 18, 2019 at 3:03 pm

The HSR trip SG-KL would take 90minutes (if we stick to the proposed 300kmh speed)… your actual time spent and cost of going to KLIA, having arrive one hour earlier to check in and wait for the flight… then arrive in Changi.. and take an MRT or taxi cab to your destinantion would cost you about the same.

HSR was never meant as public transportation. It is an alternative to the KL-SG flight route. Over 4 million people fly this route anually… and grows every year. Main users would be business people… that is why both stations at either side are situated in new CBDs… Bandar M’sia and EastJurong.

ETS will operate once double tracking Gemas-JB line is completed in 2022. The trip would take 3 hours. NOW this has public transportation in mind. It would connect with the RTS JB-SG line.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
      • Great input bro. Need comment like this.

• But new malaysia LGE cancelled mrt station supposed to be built at bsndar malaysia hsr station.
        I hope hsr passes by klia and onwards to malacca city do that malacca have access to internationsl airport. No need to go to seremban.
        Plus they should accomodate commuter rail track alongside high speed rail on batu pahat to jurong section.

• But new malaysia LGE cancelled mrt station supposed to be built at bsndar malaysia hsr station.
        I hope hsr passes by klia and onwards to malacca city do that malacca have access to internationsl airport. No need to go to seremban.
        Plus they should accomodate commuter rail track alongside high speed rail on batu pahat to jurong section.
        Plus hsr tickets won’t be cheap.

• msia driver on Dec 19, 2019 at 11:34 am

if you talk about the station location it is same condition unless HSR station is build beside yr home.
        imagine HSR station at Jurong, howabout ppl live in Pasir Ris, same what…

about the time, do you think you can onboard HSR last minute? you still need go there waiting in advance.

don’t forget HSR has few stops, this will add the plus time as well.

• lilytan on Dec 18, 2019 at 2:16 pm

Imagine the delay and u-turn cost. Further more RM is now significantly weaker. Genius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • pomen on Dec 18, 2019 at 2:47 pm

haha…if the project successful, they claim their project.if fail cannot fulfill, they blame najib..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Bugatti Veyron Owner on Dec 18, 2019 at 4:18 pm

Every decision by Tun is the best. That’s why we voted for Tun. Hope Tun can live till 150 to bring this country forward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • Wassup on Dec 18, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Hahaha cause ‘deal’ already with everyone

• Ahmadjr on Dec 18, 2019 at 11:31 pm

Mana cybertrooper nama melayu pergi?? Gaji 5000 tapi kerja tak jalan

• Apa nih? on Dec 18, 2019 at 11:59 pm

RM110billion is nearly 50% of annual government revenue. Said the interest is 7% flat rate, we need to dig RM10billion/year for 15years to finance it. These loan for mega project would just weekend our currency.

• vivizurianti on Dec 19, 2019 at 9:53 am

HSR should extend towards the sea…cross the sea, and go to other countries…

Then Tun can one-up Najib. I bet all ministers will bulat bulat sokong Tun with their hands and legs and anything upright ….

• Brian on Dec 19, 2019 at 12:47 pm

Tun will surely want to one-up Najib’s Pan Borneo Highway by proposing Pan Malaysia HSR with flying bridge to Sabah & Sarawak. Our PH troopers will gladly lap up this idea and go ga-ga over it telling us how great is PH.
      Syukur PH!
      Syukur for New Malaysia!
      Syukur for brainless troopers!

• jibby on Dec 19, 2019 at 10:51 am

HABISPLAH PERODUA, GAME OVER

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 19, 2019 at 11:03 am

Economically, this KL-SG HSR will generate more income than the ECRL. More passengers and good travel this route than ECRL. But don’t lah make it a SLOW speed rail. As it is, it takes an overnight journey by rail to reach SG.

IMHO, if want ECRL, then stop at Kuantan as there’s a port there but anything beyond isn’t economically feasible. Building a new rail for other East Coast states just for the twice a year peak period isn’t logical nor prudent. This amount an be used for other more fulfilling purpose.