Malaysian government to pay TNB RM5.8 billion to maintain current rates; home EV charging unchanged

The ministry of finance of Malaysia has announced that it will be paying national utlities company Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB) RM5.8 billion for it to maintain the current electricity tariffs for the second half of 2022 in order to not further burden Malaysian users, despite the steep increase in the costs of electricity generation.

“The government will pay the RM5.8 billion sum to TNB to ensure that TNB is not adversely affected by the sharp increase in fuel prices for electricity generation in line with the incentive-based regulation. Therefore, the government will bear the RM5.8 billion subsidy to benefit all members of Keluarga Malaysia,” the ministry of finance said in its statement.

A payment of up to RM6 billion has been guaranteed to TNB by the Malaysian government to ensure that the company’s electricity generating operations will not be disrupted, alongside ensuring the sustainability of the country’s energy industry, according to the ministry of finance.

The ministry of finance stated that the coal was priced at US$80 (RM359) per metric tonne at the beginning of 2021, and this had increased to (RM1,796) per metric tonne by the middle of this year.

This latest development follows last month’s report that the Malaysian government would continue offering domestic users a rebate of two sen per kWh until the end of this year.

For motorists, in the context of electric vehicles, the maintaining of electricity rates for domestic users means that users of EVs who recharge their vehicles at home will continue to replenish their EVs without a change in rates for the time being.

Meanwhile, natural resources minister Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan said last month in the Dewan Rakyat that the surcharge for non-domestic users will remain at 3.70 sen/kWh, which is lower than the actual of rate of Imbalance Cost Pass-Through (ICPT) of 11.81 sen/kWh.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 29, 2022 at 4:34 pm

Bayar je la.. Kalau rakyat tak ambik nanti Najib ambik..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 15
    • Resurgent Rafizi n Co on Aug 29, 2022 at 5:36 pm

Immediately,after GE15 results announced,the next day …NO MORE Subsidies.Be prepared.The honeymoon will be over soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Angry Voters on Aug 30, 2022 at 11:15 am

So better pray PH 2.0 never gets voted into power. BN 2.0 will still protect the downtrodden rakyat. PH 2.0 Govt are just for their rich members, cronies and T20.

SAY NO TO PH!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 26
        • Angry BN Supporters on Aug 30, 2022 at 12:42 pm

Yes sure, they also protect TnB GLC Boss, Boss in Kajang as well as UMNO minister’s wife and mistress. So gud lah wei UMNO, who would not want to vote for them eh?

SAY YES TO CORRUPTED BN?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
          • Lolwhut? on Aug 30, 2022 at 5:54 pm

LOL BN berani to jail their own leaders that broken the law. Pakatan ada berani tak jail their own leaders? Instead they freed their jailed leaders from prison. That is the true kleptocratic rule.

• Nonut on Aug 30, 2022 at 7:33 pm

Which jailed leaders did they freed? Name one.

• Geng Bang Non on Aug 31, 2022 at 5:00 pm

Boss kami

• Me. Oh wait my case is back on again. Curse you Perikatan!

• Lets See on Aug 30, 2022 at 11:43 am

You mean same as Jokowiland that you’ve been singing praises?
        https://paultan.org/2022/08/29/indonesia-may-raise-its-fuel-prices-by-30-trim-subsidy

• Contradiction on Aug 30, 2022 at 9:30 am

Better Najib than PH.
      Najib takes but he gives us public transport.
      PH takes and they still want to take away our human rights for car ownership.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
      • Najib on Aug 30, 2022 at 12:51 pm

That’s right, I given out so much to my UMNO men. Now they are almost as rich as i am. PH kedekut don’t even give their people as much as i do. I even spent RM4663300 to buy a watch as birthday gift to Rosmah. Who does that?

• Geng Abang Non on Aug 30, 2022 at 4:20 pm

Bang Non msg to us: Tengkiu for ur support, my money well spent on hiring you guys. Yes, continue to downvote the Government and upvote ourself, people will believe if we continue to do this.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 30, 2022 at 10:04 am

BN take, gives back 60%
      PH take, gives back 10%
      Rakyat Malaysia should choose wisely mana mau pilih.
      #BetterBetterNation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 22
      • Cukai Rakyat on Aug 30, 2022 at 12:16 pm

BN take, never give back
        PH take, give back RM30.
        PN take, give back Covid
        Tak boleh pencen lagi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
        • Manifesto Dicapati on Aug 31, 2022 at 5:14 pm

BN take, gave us development.
          PH take, gave us RM 60 Billion debt to Sulu.
          PN take, gave us 2 lockdowns.

Mana lebih bagus, pikirkanlah.

• Pencuri Negara on Aug 30, 2022 at 1:05 pm

BN took RM6 Billion for LCS, gives back RM243 Million to minister’s wife

PH never gives back like current government

Ofcoz wife of ministers know who to choose lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Make Malaysia Great Again on Aug 31, 2022 at 5:02 pm

This merdeka, the rakyat has to be reminded once again on the grave danger to our nation sovereignty imposed onto us by the failure PH Gomen that caused us to be indebted to huge sum of RM 60BILLION(!) owing to Pinoy Sulus. Easily that chunk could determine if we are going to be positive or in recession, which will further increase the cost to be paid for these foreign faceless entities.

Our great nation is in danger not so much from external antagonists but from traitorous elements within whom were given power. Just a short stay of 22months have gravely damaged us for the next 22 years(!) or more(!).

We must demand answers and transparency on this matter as well PM Sabri! No stones left unturned!
          #PHForBambooRiver2023

• I have got many Indon friends who told me they would prefer to trade their Jokowi for our Ismail Sabri. Jokowi knows he cannot stay much longer so he don’t give a flying fck about Indon’s opinion to his rule and I heard he got a directorship with an oil company so their recent price increase will serve him well in his next role post presidency to the expense and anger of their population.

Well I told them we’re keeping him for a looonnggg time as he knows what needs to be done to steer our country. You should look how jealous they are in response!

• Copy Paste on Aug 30, 2022 at 5:52 pm

Copy paste edited: “Lol. Just because you can push the like button multiple times and post fake news about BN you think you can influence the media and win GE this time?

Things don’t work this way my friend.

You can make the illusion of success but you can’t change the truth.”

• astar on Aug 29, 2022 at 8:33 pm

just curious, tiap2 bulan kita bayar 1.6% to tnb for Kumpulan wang tenaga boleh baharu. where does that money go ya? sbb Malaysia renewable energy only 6% saja dari total source

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 30, 2022 at 11:27 am

Trims kaseh pjaan penyayang Keluarga Malaysia! PM Sabrikor is so much better and caring for rakyat compared to Jokowikor who will hike their petrol prices up 30% and make Indo rakyat life more sufferings. Trims kaseh! Xie xie! Rumba nandri! Tenkiu very much! PM Sabrikor.
    #KeluargaMalaysia #BetterNationGE15FTW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 17