42% wants ICE cars to be banned in Singapore by 2030

While mainstream adoption of electric vehicles may still seem like a distant future in Malaysia, it’s a different situation for our neighbours south of the border. It seems Singaporeans are more eager for new legislation to switch to electric cars according to a research by Polestar, with 42% of respondents in favour of banning ICE cars by 2030 or earlier.

The Swedish premium electric performance car brand has revealed its findings indicating strong consumer demand for legislation towards switching to electric cars. Polestar’s global study involved 18,000 participants from 19 markets across North America, Asia Pacific and Europe.

The study showed 34% of consumers are in favour of banning internal combustion engine (ICE) cars by 2030. The figure increased to 47% for ICE cars to be banned by 2035. Of those surveyed, three-quarter of which believe that society needs to consume differently to preserve the climate and environment for future generations.

Among the countries surveyed in the region, South Korea ranked the highest with 48% welcoming new legislation to ban ICE cars by 2030 or earlier, closely followed by the UK (44%) and Singapore (42%). Various European countries followed (Germany with 37%), while China stood at 35%.

Other notable entries include Australia (34%) and the US (33%), with New Zealand (28%), Norway (27%) and Finland (20%) rounding off the list.

“With just 1.5% of today’s vehicles on the road being electric, it is clear we are living in an EV bubble, not an EV boom,” said Thomas Ingenlath, ceo of Polestar. “We need governments to lead the charge with robust policies, both on infrastructure and addressing electricity prices so that drivers can confidently go electric, but more importantly, car makers must act now and not wait for policy changes,” he added.

In June 2022, the European Council of Environmental Ministers agreed that by 2035, new cars placed on the EU’s market must be zero-emission vehicles. Countries like Thailand, Japan, UK and Canada have announced that ICE cars will be banned by 2035. Audi and Volkswagen said it would phase out ICE cars by 2035 while Subaru and Mazda announced that its vehicles will be electrified by the same year.

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• Kiasso on Sep 21, 2022 at 7:22 pm

Good for rich Singaporean,
    the B40 Singaporean want the rich to pay even more for owning Vehicle,
    To suffer from a slower refuel time too.
    Otherwise, you should just take the Electric Bus/Electric Train ready available.

For Singapore Cleaner Air.
    Bow most of the dirty air easily trapped within building,
    Causing Lung Cancer to be No.2 Cancer @ Singaporean Men, No.3 Cancer among Singapore Women.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Donkey Kong on Sep 21, 2022 at 7:57 pm

If our local clan were more humble n not so syok sendiri during the nation formation years in the 50s… Msians wud get to enjoy EVs much sooner too, and super duper stronkk currency $$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
      • sohai on Sep 21, 2022 at 11:10 pm

Those busses & lorry aged 20yrs 30yrs 40yrs 50yrs or older ; like octopus vomit out darkest smoke and suprisely its a JPJ approved on the road vehicle … if current diesel issues not able to settle, then green energy is hopeless…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 22, 2022 at 12:04 pm

Oso 42% Rakyat Malaysia wants SG cars to be banned from coming here too by 2023. We got fedup with the monkey antics of these jokers supported by fellow talibaruters who helping them steal our RON95.

Coincidentally, 42% oso want talibaruters GTFO Malaysia.

#RON95ForRakyatMalaysia
        #MalaysiaForPatrioticRakyatMalaysia
        #KeluargaMalaysiaKitaJagaKita
        #TalibarutSupportersGTFOMalaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • Asrul Felda Sg iboi on Sep 22, 2022 at 1:23 pm

Agree. Najip n jahid the real talibaruters embezzled public ppl money 1mdb. GTFO those blind BN buttlickers, dedak suit haramm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
          • Maverick on Sep 22, 2022 at 1:45 pm

Nothing to do with politics here, this is an automotive blog. Get lost PH bootlicker!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
          • Logical Deduction on Sep 22, 2022 at 3:48 pm

If you agree that means 68% want them back up lahh. Kakakakaka

• Calvin on Sep 22, 2022 at 5:25 pm

Question: Who are this “Najip” and this “Jahid” and what’s they gotta do with 1mdb? I’ve been following that case closely and I’ve never seen those names pop out.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 22, 2022 at 5:45 pm

100 – 42 = 58%. Common , all these jibby Umno goondoo trolls can’t even get their maths …LOL. pemuja BN Bangang Neraka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Casual reader on Sep 23, 2022 at 7:02 am

You forget to count in new voters did you? Does PH goons think we’re that stupid to continue believing their misinformations again?

• HumansR$tupid on Sep 23, 2022 at 12:13 pm

My best bet is to stop breathing. You can’t catch a disease or get cancer from the air you breathe.

• Darin young on Sep 23, 2022 at 1:40 pm

U ask your GOV shutdown all the factory will be must effective then u banned the petrol car.

• preserve the climate and environment for future generations = ban rokok dulu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
    • SheikhAY on Sep 23, 2022 at 9:23 am

ban pelbagai rokoks, e-cigg, shisha, pelbagai dadah, daun ketum dll…dan ban all ex-ministers & ministers/pegawai² tinggi swasta/awam yg amalkan corruptions/penyelewengan wang & hartabenda awam rakyat MY…itu lebih penting! setan…

• research by Polestar…….

trust it with a mountain of salt.

• FahmiRBLX on Sep 22, 2022 at 8:19 am

Fed up with too much greta agenda even back in SMK (Geografi & Hari Bumi) & my only reason to get a Tesla would be to be cool.. even then I buy mitsubishi outlander phev as well. Even aviation geeks passed off when greenpeace trespasses Paris CDG Airport just to vandalise a grounded 777.. greenpeace ka tu?

EV mahal nak mampos, charge macam siput, Tesla punya benda alah wall charger besar gedabak boleh mintak pasang kat rumah tu mcm ntah charge laju ntah tak, charger ev awam boleh pakai pun jauh daru 1 sama lain, kita pakai gak lagi arang nak buat letrik. function.. function..

A friend on discord (who seem to be rather nihilistic tbh) hated evs mainly for reasons we kinda dont rlly have much here but provided more activists who berhenti sekolah awal nak mampos (e.g greta) lps tu dok push gomen nk letak ev padahal xde pun buat research dulu, we might have one eventually.

Nak senang dont force ppl to use ev edi.. carbon neutrality my bontot, we breathe out CO², have carbon as well. At school still use 2b pencil, have carbon.. kita yg nk kawin brape thn lg bkn nk buat anak sgt pun.. gen lps kita boleh gi mampos ah kalau phone tarik dari dorg pun dorg dok ngamuk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • 4G63T DSM on Sep 22, 2022 at 9:50 am

Its a good move for Singapore to reduce dependence on petrol.

The question is, how do they plan to be self sufficient in sustainable clean energy generation. Otherwise its just going to move the emissions/pollution somewhere else. Most of the power plants in singapore still burns natural gas.

• Brandon on Sep 22, 2022 at 10:07 am

Cleaner air for Singapore due to EV, only to get polluted back due to ICE usage in JB haha

• tricycle on Sep 22, 2022 at 12:39 pm

What about another 58%? What does the survey say?

• Why spend money to buy new EV. Government just encourage people to change ICE engine to Electric. Would be faster to achieve zero emission

• Good good. So they won’t pump our subsidized RON95 anymore. The faster it’s implemented the better

• AppleTree on Sep 22, 2022 at 3:06 pm

this is done by industry leader. A survey design can lead people to answer a certain way. So this survey result is not trustworthy at all. Not independent survey.

EV is good for the environment. But the production of electric is more damaging to the earth than ICE cars. Unless we are talking about green energy and very obvious, Singapore is not even near there.

This is purely showing off the whole world one side of the story, and at the backyard, another story.

• Kurayami on Sep 23, 2022 at 8:07 am

Does the EV really reduce the carbon footprint Alot as compare to ICE? Is the below consideration being a heavier vehicle as compare to ICE
    1)you are require to change your car tyres more frequent ( more rubber being burn and consume)
    2)more roadworks require as heavier vehicle cause more damage to the road just like heavy trucks so those material and emission arise from road repair will increase.
    3)lithium just like oil is not forever and resource is also limited. With the increase demand mean an increase in mining for lithium mean accerate greenhouse emission for mining.
    Unless the issue for battery has improve or resolve to my personal option EV does improve the air quality but the overall carbon footprint is not reduce just that the air pollution is being transfer to others pollution. Only reduce the number of cars can reduce the carbon footprint.

• Hdimmp299 on Sep 23, 2022 at 11:33 am

Funny how singaporean say malaysia is syok sendiri . Atleast our car price are very2 cheap and we don’t refill our gas inside other countries like you singaporean dogs do your country might be rich , but your country people 90% are racist mostly chinese .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Richard Gill on Sep 24, 2022 at 12:23 pm

The headline should read ‘58% don’t want ICE cars’.

• Muhammad Azizi bin Mohd Azman on Sep 24, 2022 at 7:33 pm

Im regret to heard that for b40 alumni