Malaysian rider with a loud or modified motorcycle exhaust? You face six months jail and RM2,000 fine

Photo from JSPT Sepang IPD social media

Acting on public complaints, police from the Sepang district headquarters cracked down on motorcycles with noisy exhausts. Personnel from the Traffic Investigation and Enforcement department (JSPT), Sepang, took action in the areas of Taman Bukit Anggerik and Taman Selasih in Bandar Baru Salak Tinggi.

As a result of the operation, two motorcycles were seized under Section 64(1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 to prevent future recurrence of the offence. Operations against motorcycles and other vehicles with noisy exhausts will continue in the area to preserve public peace.

The public are reminded it is an offence to modify a vehicle’s exhaust to the extent of disturbing public peace and causing a nuisance. The offence attracts a penalty of RM2,000 fine or not more than six months in jail under Section 103 under the Vehicle Regulation Act (Manufacture and Use) 1959 LN 170/1959.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• newme on Sep 28, 2022 at 9:40 am

Need public complaints? Go to any low cost flats, you will need train to move the seized the bikes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 2
    • Fakeeee on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:37 am

Talk cock only!
      Been reading same news since over 10 years ago what have change? NOTHING!
      Still many loud exhaust bike out there.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 8
      • Bossku in Kajang on Sep 28, 2022 at 1:32 pm

If modified exhaust is illegal..how come garmen allow these kits on sale at local workshops ?
        It is like saying gun ownership(without proper permit)is illegal but let shops sell without restrictions.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 8
        • Noble on Oct 13, 2022 at 10:25 pm

Using these exhaust for safety purposes… Those who used it for making a noise, illegal racing or reckless should be punished, by the way the performance exhaust pipe system is legal from the factory with registered number so not considered modified.

• Amran on Sep 28, 2022 at 12:00 pm

These stubborn recalcitrant local brownturd Mat rempit jz nvr change. When got lenyek to pieces under 16tan truck. Arwah Dulu diam org nya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
    • Norlia on Sep 28, 2022 at 5:17 pm

Rather I prefer loud and noisy exhaust. At least we know they are coming from far away and we not need to worry about snatch thieves. It is those silent bikes creeping up that should be a cause for concern to us womenfolk.
      These men has no clue about our wellbeing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 55
      • Kin Hwa Khoo on Sep 29, 2022 at 7:23 am

I suggest you keep the noise within your house compound 24 hrs X 7 days to understand why silence is golden

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Ailron on Sep 29, 2022 at 8:37 am

Kalau betul-betul takut kena rompak ke, rogol ke….

Janganlah berpakaian tak senonoh dan bawa beg besar2, lawa2, mahal2 dan barangan kemas berat sekilo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
        • BODOHailron on Sep 29, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Bodoh tu simpan kat rumah, takyah bagi orang ramai tahu, Ailron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • mae mae on Sep 29, 2022 at 3:44 pm

Only good in English but fail in Civic.

• confuse on Sep 28, 2022 at 9:40 am

not only summon motorcycle rider, those motorcycle shops that help to modified those exhaust also need to pay a hefty penalty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 2
  • Plus confiscate their motorcycle please. Some crazy deafening exhaust.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
  • stranger on Sep 28, 2022 at 9:53 am

Modify exhaust 24 times, same jail time as committing billions ringgit of fraud from rakyat’s money. Justice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Bossku in Kajang on Sep 28, 2022 at 1:26 pm

Bradder,dont talk like this.Nanti bossku marah.He already waiting for his Starbucks,to cool down his anger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Finally take action against these, how about cars with super loud exhaust ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 0
  • Patrick on Sep 28, 2022 at 10:02 am

What’s the point of fining? should just confiscate their bike… once u fine them they are free to roam the road again with that lousy bike sound…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • MalaysiaBoleh on Sep 28, 2022 at 10:27 am

One of the clear cut, visible & loudable violation on the road. Question remains the same. Why this menace still roaming on the road. Not enough enforcement again & again is the standard answer. Same category with heavy tinted car, fancy plate number & list go on. Change Menteri pun tak jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Jack Mun on Sep 28, 2022 at 10:34 am

How to report?

• Mat Rempits are nuisance on Sep 28, 2022 at 10:46 am

If you look closely, their bikes is also illegal in other ways besides the exhaust. Typical Mat Rempit. Not surprising since the guy wear the ‘bossku’ shirt.

Also, no need to censor their face since they’re clearly guilty of the act. Spread their faces far & wide to serve as an extra deterrence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • Lack of enforcement from relevant authorities, no pro-active action taken, only wait after public complaint and situation become worst, then only take some actions to show the authority is working…too bad!Same case go to heavy tinted vehicle and glaring low quality HID or LED headlight, no action taken pun….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:59 am

Loud barking dog with no teeth.

No enforcement pun. Just camp at any low cost flat and housing estate or bike hotspot and see how many you can rake in. I bet you will get bikes with no license and roadtax/insurance also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • AP Putra on Sep 30, 2022 at 10:43 am

better avoid enforcement at flats and housing estate these species easily triggered starts mass riots unless you have backup from FRU

• Raymond on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:36 am

Just camp at KL East mall which is beside MRR2, every half hour at least 1 loud motor with modified exhaust will pass by. You can collect so much summons in a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Sabahan on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:37 am

Paling banyak ekzos bising time sabah motor day

• Bieight8 on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:44 am

Then all the jail will be full house…

• pomen on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:48 am

how about lorry with the whistle sound at exhaust?
    any plan to take action on them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Haakesh Kumar on Sep 29, 2022 at 11:51 am

I don’t understand why action need to be taken for this kind of thing. Just accept the reality and live the life. Why is it so difficult? There’s many more problems happening in our country which is way more bigger issue compare to loud exhaust and etc. I’m just telling my point no offence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
  • Workshop that did this mod must also kena denda maaaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 28, 2022 at 4:51 pm

What’s all this rhetoric about banning shop?

Not like the shop or importer paksa u to install also. You no buy, shop no sell. Installing loud exhaust isn’t illegal. Using said loud exhaust on the street is. If your exhaust is loud, put in your dB killer while on the road.

I run my bike without a muffler also quieter than these kapchai. My bike’s centre box and catcon makes the end can completely superfluous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
      • ur comment is purely stupid, did u see any drugs store? Did they open in public and say “oh there’s demand so we supply” ?

Illegal means it should not be selling at the first place. People who install are getting penalty but the shop who install those illegal exhaust (which they already know is illegal) should get the same penalty too

People like you are just a stupid human being in Malaysia, this is why u can see so many idiots modifying the exhaust because “oh u no buy shop no sell, if sell means partly legal”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Sports toto jem jalan raya on Sep 28, 2022 at 2:43 pm

Kedai motor jual ekzos & pengimport patut kena juga disamping pembeli.

Pemandu mabuk kebal sampai bila2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Khairil Ismail on Sep 28, 2022 at 5:08 pm

Shoot to kill is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Annuar on Sep 28, 2022 at 5:10 pm

Mnta phk berwajib dtg ke Kajang Mewah. Banyak motosikal yg mnggunakn exhaust yg mngeluarkn bunyi yg sgt bising.

• Azmaizam Bin Mohd Zain on Sep 28, 2022 at 5:32 pm

#pdrm Batang Kali this is the mandate. Please take action on those uncivilized motorists. Please do not wait for public to make a report.

• Ambulance on Sep 28, 2022 at 6:19 pm

In Wangsa Maju area, those fking motor like to wroom between 12 to 3am. If I have a heat seeking rocket i ll shoot them to the moon. And those fking empty ambulance always turn on siren to avoid traffic jam during 730am to 9am too. How I knw? Because this happen everyday at 730am to 9am, so one day i follow those ambulance to their hospital and walla, empty car! Just to avoid traffic jam and we move so dangerously to give way to them. Fk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Rahim Suit on Sep 28, 2022 at 9:44 pm

Report police also action take time. One time I saw the police call lost finding area where I reported. Stupid police I have to guide to the area

• Mohd Sauti on Sep 28, 2022 at 6:44 pm

Bahagian sembang… sedangkan byk alat2 ganti utk modified kt kedai.

• Junkies otr on Sep 28, 2022 at 7:37 pm

Actually most of the loud n irritating exhaust r cheap cap ayam. Those genuine branded exhaust will only sound solid.

• Why allow to sold

• Dindong on Sep 28, 2022 at 8:23 pm

Sepatu kena bagi tahu dalam warta berita.. berkali..baru ok..

• You’re only guilty if u get caught anyway.. still many what people got accident because they’re drunks. It’s wrong too but still many died because of that..

• Yes!! pl pl pl can somebody check these motorists in Sitiawan. Gives shocks to babies & the elderlies.
    Tqvm if the authorities can stop them using these
    Noisy exhaust. Inconsiderates. Must do like d Indonesian Police. They stop them, and they make hear the noise themselves. Its deafening

• Semmozhiyan on Sep 28, 2022 at 9:40 pm

Sieze all the exhaust. Give back bike after install standard exhaust.

• How about those cars with loud noisy exhaust pipes? They should be fine 10 times more.

• EgorRaj on Sep 28, 2022 at 9:59 pm

Why go after the motorcyclist…..both the user and the seller should be given the maximum fine and jail

• Azhar on Sep 28, 2022 at 10:03 pm

Why allow shops to install or sell something illegal? It’s like allowing drug dealers to sell drugs and only catch those who take drugs.

• CSChan on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:11 pm

Do not just punish the rider. Sentence the machine to be punished with 50 blows of a 18 pounder sledgehammer.

• Azman on Sep 29, 2022 at 1:29 am

Ipoh taman perumahan are experiencing these loud noises for ages now. Please do something!

• Come to housing estates

• David cho on Sep 29, 2022 at 8:12 am

There was plenty in kepong and jinjang area also lar.. especially the housing area ..always reaving the engine noisily when passing people house on purpose.. just set up a roadblock on every major road and catch whoever modified thier bike to become noisy larok.. car also same .. just catch and jail those fella .. destroy thier car or bike ok

• Mat Sakau on Sep 29, 2022 at 9:00 am

My question, why police only take action on public complaint? Dah mcm “paku dengan penukul” so kalau xde komplain depa tidoq aje la or buat pekak dan buta aje bila meronda? Apa punya otak buat kerja mcm ni, sepatutnya x payah tunggu komplain. Itu tugas hampa xkan hampa x dengaq or x nampak kot Mat rempet ni waktu meronda kot. Klu sikap mcm nilah, rosak negara, so klu mcm tu bank kena rompak or org kena bunuh depan mata polis buat x tau aje la.. nak tunggu ada publik report baru nak bertindak. Ingatkan moto polis adalah menjadi menjadi keselamatan dan ketenteraman rakyat.

• malaysia car tax must go on Sep 29, 2022 at 10:15 am

Best way to enforce this is to
    1. Catch the offender
    2. Fine $2000 or provide receipt of shop then pay $200 fine.
    3. Fine motor shop the max amount you can fine.
    4. Profit and one less motor shop modifying these shit.

• The best part is not at the false of motor shop, these group of genius know very well how to dismantle the exhaust pipe silencer with their own gang sharing info….

• SURJIT SINGH A/ J HARNAM SINGH on Sep 29, 2022 at 11:36 am

Some of them really loud , it’s those we
    attack

• Kajang Semenyih on Sep 29, 2022 at 12:18 pm

My dear Police DRM, please look at Kajang and Semenyih too. There’re too many of these barbaric motorcycles.

• Ahmad ABU BAKAR on Sep 29, 2022 at 1:18 pm

Please extend this to Johor Bahru too

• Mula motor bising..lepas tu kereta..lepas tu lori..bas…jet pejuang..kapal terbang.. helikopter..kapal laut feri…Semua bising juga tu ..tangkap masuk jail duduk bersama dgn Boss ku… Penjara Kajang kan!!
    Last tak da nak cari dah …tangkap Baby pulak …nangis bising jiran tak boleh tidur nyenyak..
    Kadang guruh kilat pon bunyi kuat tu….
    Pon ganggu

• Ferrari/Harley Davidson/Superbike modification laws for legal /act/regulation

• Diewi on Sep 29, 2022 at 9:51 pm

Take action to the shops that sell the noisy exhaust.

• Gizmo on Sep 30, 2022 at 12:03 pm

With this loud exhaust… Kapcai riders thought thy ride super bike hahaha kesiannnn … Question – Wht about Harley Davidson bike and the loud sound exhaust ???

• Ben Yap on Sep 30, 2022 at 3:27 pm

these are poor fags that cannot afford big cc bikes and modify their bikes in dream of riding a big bike.

• tapsoba on Sep 30, 2022 at 6:48 pm

I want to report about this one motorcycle:

1. The exhaust modified same as in photo and it is loud.
    2. Dahla loud, ride very slow.
    3. Rider don’t wear helmet lagitu.
    4. And plate number is veery small.. I think it’s made out of white stickers and using Comic Sans font. Seriously small, the motorcycle brand wording is slightly bigger.

#pdrm #jpj please take action!

• Ciaos66 on Oct 01, 2022 at 11:07 pm

small town like Bagan Serai mat rempit all the day really annoying even at late night after 12am , did not saw any abang biru patrolling or may not patrolling at all , I think trying report this to DOE … will updated later …

• nivlekpay on Oct 04, 2022 at 11:04 pm

harleys how?

• Batman on Jan 12, 2023 at 2:56 am

Drivers of loud exhaust vehicles should be executed on site. Gov. should put a dead or alive bounty on their heads

• Hello everyone.

I have lived in many countries (Spain, The Netherlands, Italy, China and Malaysia).

Never I had face such a worrysome and extremely annoying situation as what I’m experiencing in Kuala Lumpur. I live close to 2 big streets in the center and it is impossible to sleep.

I’m very surprised on why is this even allowed. They meet in the same place, every day with no exception and turn sleep time into a living hell for everyone around.

If the police did not stop them, the reason is obvious: they have no interest on it.

I will lose money because I’ll break the rent contract just to escape from this environment. I feel pity for Malaysia citizens who, despite being law-abiding people, will have to enjoy low life quality because the government wants to turn a blind eye and cares more about mat rempit rights than their working citizens’.