Noisy exhaust eradication a joint effort, says Wee

Illegally modified motorcycle exhausts, or the eradication thereof, should be a collective effort by all relevant Malaysian agencies, says Transport Minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong. Speaking during the launch of the Diesel Multiple Unit train at Pasir Was, Kelantan, Wee said the import and sale of illegally modified motorcycles and components needed to be addressed, as reported in The Star.

“Some say loud exhausts should be banned but it may not come under the Transport Ministry’s jurisdiction as it could involve the Customs Department and such,” said Wee, responding to social media posts accusing several ministries of allowing the sale of modified motorcycle parts. “Some people questioned how these exhausts entered the market and accused the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry of not stopping the sale of such prohibited items,” he said.

Saying that the sale of modified parts for vehicle use does not fall under the jurisdiction of the Transport Ministry, Wee suggested the relevant ministries collaborate on finding a solution. “We don’t want to trouble the people but there are complaints that the loud sound from these exhausts is causing some to lose sleep,” said Wee.

Wee emphasised the Ministry of Transport is taking an advocacy approach to the issue of noisy motorcycles, with offenders being called up for interviews by JPJ under Article 114 of the Road Transport Act, instead of being issued a summons. Those found guilty of modifying their motorcycle exhaust face a maximum fine of RM2,000 or six months’ jail, with seizure of the non-compliant motorcycle an option under Section 64 of the Road Transport Act 1987.

The issue of motorcycle exhaust noise came to the fore around mid-February this year, after police and JPJ took what was felt by some in the riding community to be excessive action. Riders were subject to roadblocks and checks, leading to allegations from the public a minority segment of the vehicle population in Malaysia was being unfairly targeted and persecuted.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Dredd on Apr 12, 2021 at 3:51 pm

As mentioned before, the sale of such modded parts are not illegal despite the usage is, so Dr Wee is correct in his assertion that it take multiple parties working in co-op to break this chain from all sides. I wondered why the Anthony Loke did not figured this out after nearly 2 years but which took Dr Wee only a year. Dredd is angry.

• Danny Chan on Apr 12, 2021 at 4:31 pm

When was this law last reviewed? Other countries are allowing customization of motorcycles which can be a booming business and a hobby for Malaysians. If the noise if below the set target what harm will it cause?

• Donno on Apr 12, 2021 at 4:37 pm

Any exhaust replacement parts should be completely legal if it performs and functions similarly to original parts.

there is nothing written in malaysian law that requires the exhaust to be only maintained and replaced with manufacturer original parts (which is totally different to UNECE requirements which is to be complied by vehicle manufacturers)

Clear explanation and understanding of the law by both the enforcing agencies and the public should be done before summons taken using some ambiguous lines in laws.

• v-tec fan on Apr 12, 2021 at 5:19 pm

i not against the loud exhaust operation, but 2 thing in my mind. 1, make it fair to all, mean not only motor but car, lori, bus or even van. 2, wrong timing lah… now rakyat tgh susah u want more money from them, if want to do also wait lah when everything settle down a bit.

• YB Albert on Apr 12, 2021 at 6:28 pm

What kind of crap is this?
    You need to call the offending dudes for an “interview”?
    Small babies and datuk and nenek cannot sleep,why dont you interview these disturbed souls?
    It is getting disgusting,we are “minimising” the offenses.
    Some countries,seize the bikes for a long time before all the fines have been paid.
    Next time,the thief/robber dropped his ic at the crime site,are you going to call him for teh tarik,interview?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Bieight on Apr 12, 2021 at 7:42 pm

Government should mandate by 2025 only electric motorcycle with speed limit of 80kmh are on sale and by 2030 all non electric motorcycle should be scrapped

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • And then we let car overtake dangerously in front of them. Then we banned the electric bike because “it’s too slow, not enough power for the public road”. A 1.0, 3 silinder hatchback can go over 120kmh, what make you think making bike slower a good idea?

• Faizal on Apr 12, 2021 at 8:56 pm

Use sound checking device check the exhaust sound dB, minor loud sound issue them puspakom inspection summon, unforgivable loud sound, straight slam them big compound and send them to jail, publicly the action and warn everyone change back to stock exhaust in one week time. Don’t keep u turn here and there. The loud noise is really irritating and make me heart attack.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5