Proton Saga – 6,442 units delivered in September 2022 is highest this year; year-to-date sales up by 49.3%

In September 2022, Proton managed to deliver 6,442 units of the Saga, which made up a good chunk of the 14,872 total cars delivered in said month. This is good to take second place in terms of volume in the A-segment sedan market.

The Saga has always been a strong contributor to the carmaker’s sales, and during the first nine months of this year, 40,603 units have been sold, which is 49.3% more than the same period in 2021.

However, it hasn’t been all rosy for the Saga this year, as the devastating floods that hit Selangor at the end of 2021 saw just 76 units being delivered in January 2022. Since then, deliveries of the A-segment sedan have picked up, with four-figure units consistently reaching the hands of customers from February until September.

The 6,442 units delivered in September is the highest sold in a single month so far this year, with Proton noting its evergreen model “scaled heights not reached since October 2013.” Last December, Proton announced that 100,999 units of the Saga have been sold since its 2019 launch, referring to the facelifted model that went on sale in August 2019. With the latest year-to-date (YTD) figure factored in, the overall total should be 141,602 units.

The first nine months of 2022 saw Proton deliver a total of 102,353 units, which is 40.2% more than it managed in the same period last year. As for other models, last month saw 4,157 units of the X50 1,730 units of the X70, 1,159 units of the Persona, 606 units of the Iriz and 418 units of the Exora delivered.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ground europe passenger on Oct 05, 2022 at 4:41 pm

Wise decisions to digged out the lousy punch cvt gearbox. Hopefully persona, iriz and exora will do the same. The biggest problem was not just unpleasant jerk/delay when driving slow, it’s the expensive cost to change cvt fluid + filter and then tend to fail when reaching certain milleages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Apahal laa ngan CVT. Korang xde complain pasal Myvi pon pakai CVT. Lagi le nak angkut naik sampai pi mampus. Pada aku CVT Proton xteruk bagaimana pon, it is how the user can manage to drive the car. Klau nak lanyak mcm giler babi pemandu myvi/axia, jangan harap le. Proton is a family car not a racerboy car. Paham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • yusrykru on Oct 05, 2022 at 5:37 pm

all it needs is just a regular 4 speed auto, that is all, that punch cvt has been its achilles heels since BLM days, took proton long enough to ditch it, imagine the volume of sales if they dithced it sooner

• Bossku yearning for Starbucks machiato on Oct 05, 2022 at 8:46 pm

The main reason Saga can sell is mainly pricing ,compared to competitor Bezza.
      Other than that,it cant compete with its ancient outdated engine.

• Ex perodua user on Oct 05, 2022 at 10:46 pm

Saga actually more solid stable drive than bezza. Only when 80k km be ready to being chopped rm700+ to change the ancient timing belt.

• Lets See on Oct 06, 2022 at 8:38 am

Hmm but most bezza sold are the cheaper variants whereas Saga buyers go for the higher end more expensive versions. So what you said does not make sense.

• Bossku in Kajang on Oct 06, 2022 at 1:20 pm

We compare basic versions of both cars.Bodo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Lets See on Oct 06, 2022 at 6:19 pm

We compare cars that actually arrives to customer hands. Bodo.

• Man Universal on Oct 05, 2022 at 8:43 pm

Hopefully the next generation of Saga will have more upmarket design to keep up with other car manufacturers.

• FrankC on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:12 pm

Am still happily driving 11yrs old saga flx.. Live on saga

• X50 owner on Oct 05, 2022 at 10:06 pm

If you buy x50, you need to register the car first and only get delivered to you after 3 – 4 weeks!!!!. Why customer has to lost 3-4 weeks of usage??, the main problem is the failure of proton to deliver the car to their dealer. Why dont x50 be registered normally??? when their dealers received the x50

• Lets See on Oct 06, 2022 at 6:20 pm

3-4 weeks considered ok man. You prefer 3-4 MONTHS with Alza? Kakaka

• Niamah on Oct 08, 2022 at 8:24 pm

Not happy? Buy other car lah. Who is forcing you?
      Delivery situation is well know bad for x50. You still book and wait? Why?
      Then complain for what you already know, why?
      People order Merc also wait long long, who are you x50 owner ah? Go order something else so that others get their car faster.

• Just want to say I appreciate topics like this alot , thanks

• FAISAL on Oct 13, 2022 at 3:22 pm

I must say I bought a 2021 Model in February last year, the car is very comfortable but sadly Proton Aftsales really needs to pull up their socks as for warranty claim we couldn’t use the car as the power steering was leaking badly after 1.5 yes and power steering hose was after 1 year. Buying a brand new car and it’s reliable as it can fill any time. Certainly won’t buy another Proton again.