Proton sold 14,872 units in September 2022 – year-to-date sales now at 102,353 units, 40.2% up from 2021

Proton delivered a total of 14,872 units (domestic and exports) in September 2022, which is 1,008 units less than the highest ever monthly record it set in August (15,880 units). The carmaker ended the third quarter of this year with a cumulative year-to-date (YTD) total of 102,353 units, a 40.2% increase compared to the first nine months in 2021.

As a result, this is the fourth consecutive year Proton has breached the 100,000-unit barrier, and it did so two months earlier than it did in 2021. The company added that it remained in second place in the overall sales table with an estimated market share of 23.8% for the month of September, while its YTD market share has crossed the 20% mark for the first time at 20.1%.

In terms of individual models, the Saga continues to be a strong contributor with 6,442 units delivered in September (40,603 units YTD), followed by the X50 with 4,517 units (29,591 units YTD). The X70 continues to lead the C-segment SUV market with 1,730 units sold last month (14,145 units YTD).

Meanwhile, 1,159 units (10,787 units YTD) of the Persona and 606 units (4,119 units YTD) of the Iriz were delivered in September, and the Exora maintained its top spot in the C-segment MPV market with 418 units (3,108 units YTD).

“Proton’s Q3 performance was our best quarter of the year, coming in with 42,229 units for the previous three months. This was made possible by a combination of stability in our production numbers as well as the continued strong appeal of our models, especially for the 2022 Proton Saga and the Proton X50. Therefore, despite the poor start to the year, we are confident of achieving a fourth consecutive year of double-digit sales growth,” said Roslan Abdullah, deputy CEO of Proton.

“Aside from concentrating on sales growth, the last quarter also saw us laying the groundwork for our future growth. The general distributorship agreement with smart sets us up to sell EVs from the brand starting in 2023 while the formation of Pro-Net crystalises Proton’s commitment to developing and offering new energy vehicles in the future,” he added.

The company also touched upon its Proton Commerce subsidiary, which disbursed 2,872 loans in September, breaking its previous high set in March this year. As of last month, 15,504 loans have been secured in 2022, exceeding the 14,550 loans for the whole of 2021.

“With the OPR increasing by 75 basis points this year, customers are actively searching for the best packages available to finance their new car purchases. As the preferred financier for Proton vehicles, Proton Commerce offers a range of innovative deals including the lowest rates for Proton Saga buyers as well as low monthly income requirements. These moves have proven to be effective, so we are expecting more growth in Q4 this year,” said Roslan.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Is Proton suffering from shortages like Perodua? I’ve been waiting for Perodua to deliver since July 2022 and I’m still waiting.

• tyuris on Oct 05, 2022 at 3:25 pm

Same.. My parents also still waiting since March 2022 for their Aruz. Proton had the issue before and probably still have it but since it’s been a while, people may already accustomed to it. Now those who are waiting for their Perodua sounded like those who were waiting for their Proton before.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 05, 2022 at 4:12 pm

P1 depending on parts from China
        So 15K per month almost max-ed
        P2 is doing 25K per month

• Ab Shuib on Oct 05, 2022 at 5:54 pm

Just imagine the hundreds of billions $$$ wasted to bailout P1 & kroni vendors. Membazirr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Panjang on Oct 05, 2022 at 5:37 pm

You should feel proud of the long waiting time. Just pretend you are waiting for your bespoke Bentley, or RR, or some exotic Italian supercar.

On P2, my aunt has been waiting for her Axia since March 2022. My neighbour already got his Axia last month but only had to wait for slightly less than 2 month. Both are same spec. Only difference is my aunt is in KL while my my neighbour in Mlk.

• aumeow on Oct 05, 2022 at 6:27 pm

Lol, those complaining about lacking spare parts for proton and perodua. Honda spare part is getting lacking but worst than proton and perodua

• Tak mau pening, tak mau tunggu, beli P1

• 4000 unit of Iriz for 9 month? Aduhh…

• John Gagal on Oct 05, 2022 at 4:17 pm

Proton cars (Non-Geely) actually just around 58K units total ytd. Sepatutnya dah lama lingkup dah gulung tikar.

• TiadaGigi on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:39 pm

Like that ah.. so if a car brand only do rebadge, they should even lama already lingkup la coz they don’t really have their own model from the ground up.. right? Their ytd is zero vs Proton 58k. Simple logic.

• Meh! I know of a certain national car brand that shouted sales of 200,000 cars a year, that should be doing ZERO sales since all their cars are basically rebadges and should have long ago ‘lingkup dah gulung tikar’ if follow your GAGAL LOGIK.

• John Gagal on Oct 06, 2022 at 3:00 pm

Good car sells by itself.

Mediocre car need syok sendiri to sell but still tak laku.

• Lets See on Oct 06, 2022 at 6:22 pm

You referring all those trolling from P2 fanboys? Kakakaka

• Ok, tomorrow sure will be P2 news on the same.topic, as usual. Albeit Ativa figure wll not be known to public.

• Harry on Oct 06, 2022 at 2:47 pm

Impressive!!!