Proton delivered 15,880 units in August 2022, highest monthly total in 9 years – year-to-date sales up 39.7%

Proton’s sales results for August 2022 are out, and with 15,880 units delivered, it’s the highest ever monthly return since July 2013. This comes as production volume continues to recover from a slow start to the year, and it puts the carmaker in a good position to end 2022 with a fourth consecutive year of growth.

For the first eight months of this year, Proton has sold 87,481 units, an increase of 39.7% over the 62,637 units achieved in the same period last year.

Proton typically lumps together domestic and export numbers, and exports totalled 938 units last month, so domestically, total sales should be 14,942 units. That’s good enough for second place in the table with an estimated market share of 23.7% for August and 19.5% year-to-date.

The company is very proud of the fact that its X50 has continued to lead its SUV segment “despite the recent launch of new direct rivals from other brands”. No prizes for guessing the identity of this rival, but production levels probably aren’t optimum over at Honda due to parts supply issues, and the new HR-V is a fresh model globally as well.

As such, for now, Proton’s “position at the top of the SUV segment remains unchallenged” and the X50 managed to cross the 4,000-unit mark for the third consecutive month with 4,329 units delivered in August. This is on the back of a record 4,763 units in July for the model. The bigger X70 contributed 1,555 units to Proton’s SUV cause – the total for SUVs in August is 5,884 units, and 37,489 units YTD.

Over in the bread-and-butter side of the business, the Saga did 6,156 units last month, making it the third most popular model in the country in August. Total sales for the 2022 model year car – launched in May – is now over 14k units. The Persona and Iriz did 2,612 (best since February 2020) and 962 units (best since April 2021) respectively. The Exora MPV chipped in with 266 units.

“With four months to go in 2022, Proton production operations have stabilised. Critically, our component supply is now more consistent and better managed to ensure we can produce as many cars as possible,” said Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah.

“With that in mind, we have undertaken an initiative to increase the number of delivery trucks by over 100% by the end of the year. This makes it easier to ensure our dealers receive their stock as quickly as possible and in turn, this benefits our customers who have been patiently waiting for their vehicles,” he added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• To those who harp on parts issues. Ha ha ha ha ha

• Rafizi n Co on Sep 02, 2022 at 1:20 pm

The only person who keep harping on parts issue is DRB’s Roslan.,when sales arent up to expectations.He used it as an excuse.
      Now sales are up,he disappeared.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • aumeow on Sep 02, 2022 at 2:44 pm

What are you talking about? Did you think honda trolls are the one who always complain

• Ajibkor from Kajang on Sep 02, 2022 at 4:52 pm

I m not Honda nor P1 fanboy.I own a Rolls Royce .
          Paultan is a free forum.Every one has freedom to express,except sensitive issues like race n religion,where we touch not.
          When people have different opinions,dont always stereotype by saying “complain”.
          Your wife,kids ,friends ..I m sure u stereotype them as “complainants”,which will make life very bitter for u.Grow up,dude.Be positive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • LOL. Rolls Royce owning Pizi would come here to comment? Puhlezz, he should just stay in the political wilderness if he wants to spend his time trolling subforums.

• Lampu on Sep 02, 2022 at 2:20 pm

Low spec proton, less impact from chips shortage global issue.

• aumeow on Sep 02, 2022 at 2:28 pm

Honda trolls always complain this and that

• Maverick Sri Ram n Co on Sep 02, 2022 at 1:28 pm

P1..there’s nothing to shout about.The figures are due to people wanting to escape SST.They dont want to be caught later when the cut off date is exceeded.
    Once u hit 22,000 units every month by overtaking P2,then start shouting.
    Some people start trumpeting when they reach Bukit Gasing,when their real target is Mount Kinabalu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Phaser on Sep 07, 2022 at 2:41 pm

So based on your thinking, all car brands in Malaysia should shut up about their sales achievement until they can match P2?

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 02, 2022 at 4:56 pm

“Our component supply is now more consistent and better managed…”

Somehow the experience on the ground isn’t quite the same. What they have done is they have made dealers hold stocks of say, engine oil. Even if the oil filter is still an issue. Also, the availability of non-regular parts are still an issue. If you need to change a door panel for example, good luck.

And let’s not mention service levels. Remains crap as ever.

• X70 Buyer on Sep 02, 2022 at 5:27 pm

Don’t know why you claim so. My personal experience had been spotless. Throughout the whole last year til now I did not get those part shortage issue that is flying in the net. Last year replace a damaged reverse sensor (my fault!) was done within a week. Neither are the people I talk to at my service center so I find that story strange.

But as we all know it is easy to make unverifiable claims on the net so how true is all that, personally I cannot vouch for that at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Same here. My ownership experience has been so smooth over the past 8 years. No hiccup at my side at least. People just exaggerate much when it comes to Proton. Idk why they’re so bitter

• Raja Kamarul on Sep 05, 2022 at 9:25 am

Ramai jugak cybertroopers si Proton ni. “X70 Buyer” and “Xdm”, cuba tengok socmed and even some mainstream news lah. Nak menipun kena ada akal sikit bro!

The reality is some wait 4 or even 9 months. Not all, but some. Me? When I got my Saga in 2020, to replace one silent recall item, I waited November 2020 until February 2021… the car was running of course, but the problem is real.

• Copy Paste on Sep 06, 2022 at 9:02 am

Copy paste: “But as we all know it is easy to make unverifiable claims on the net so how true is all that, personally I cannot vouch for that at all.”

• And my persona already 6 months in waiting. Already sign loan twice still…

• Tak payah tunggu,En Max.
      Just call abang Proton COE..book direct from your couch.. easy.. guaranteed stock arrive soon..

• Congratulations to Proton and Perodua.

Perodua growth – 28,036 @ August, 2022, YTD up 63.7%
    Proton growth – 15,880 @ August, 2022, YTD up 39.7%

• china no 1 on Sep 03, 2022 at 5:04 pm

tahniah geely proton x70 and x50 top sale chart month after month thank you china make proton great again