2022 Honda HR-V in Malaysia – more than 20,000 bookings received, waiting list now over 12 months

The new, third-generation Honda HR-V has just been launched in Malaysia, and demand for it has already been strong before its official market launch, with more than 20,000 bookings received to date.

As of earlier this month, the new HR-V has already accumulated a waiting list for orders that stretches to more than 12 months, and with the initial customer previews held last month, the response will have been from customers rushing to secure their bookings before the sales tax exemption deadline on June 30.

Details of the bookings have since emerged at the launch of the HR-V today, where the distribution of bookings between variants have been revealed; 20% of HR-V bookings are for the e:HEV, and 5% for the naturally aspirated powerplant in the base variant, while the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo in the E and V variants is expected to account for the majority that is the remaining 75% of the demand spread.

In terms of sales volume targets by variant, Honda expects the e:HEV to account for 15% of total HR-V sales and the naturally aspirated version to account for 10%. Overall, Honda Malaysia expects to sell 1,600 units of the new HR-V per month.

Malaysia is unique in offering the new HR-V with a choice of three engine options with naturally aspirated, turbocharged and hybrid types in its line-up, whereas Europe and Thailand get only the hybrid, while Indonesia gets the NA and turbo engines.

Prices for the new B-segment SUV start from RM114,800 for the 1.5L naturally aspirated base S variant, through RM129,800 for the Turbo E and RM134,800 for the Turbo V, while the top RS e:HEV hybrid goes for RM140,800. Read the full launch report and the spec-by-spec details, here.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Santai on Jul 14, 2022 at 1:15 pm

Compact SUV, but no more 1,8L,
    still no BSM, no 360cam, small center sit, smaller boot due to roof
    Low spec don’t even have BSM nor Lane Watch.

Low spec easy recognized by 17″ rim.
    No BSM
    No leather seats,
    No sequential signal,
    No Dual Zone A/C

Honda Vezel 1.5L is actually cheaper than Full Spec Toyota Raize at Japan.
    The HR-V/Vezel also has smaller boot volume, lower boot height than Raize. Cannot standing larger luggage Bags.

Now, X50 better value. Got sunroof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 19
    • Have a wonderful time with your X50 then; Bye2 !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 14, 2022 at 5:56 pm

U can say whatever but 20K bookings
      Dapao all the Cross X50 X70 etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • LotzR on Jul 14, 2022 at 7:14 pm

Order ≠ buying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Sohai on Jul 14, 2022 at 8:39 pm

Maybe… but no order definitely equals no buying.
          20k order for a non local brand is impressive. Even half cancellation, the waiting list is still 6 months.

Anyway, my friend waited 9 months for x50 and still waiting.

• “According to Roslan, 10,985 bookings for the X70 MC were received since the model’s launch…”

Meh

• Hamidikor on Jul 14, 2022 at 6:08 pm

But my Mak mertua more preferred Honda then p1. mak Mertua is always right,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • Celup King on Jul 15, 2022 at 12:12 pm

LOL all these Jepunis fanbois now have to swallow back their own spit plus those coming from infuriated bookers when told they need to wait 1 WHOLE F*CKING YEAR to get a car they not even seen in flesh yet. Epic fail by Jepunis.

• Jonhny on Jul 14, 2022 at 7:05 pm

Don’t care. As long as it is H brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
      • carloverfans on Jul 14, 2022 at 7:18 pm

With this price but stripping down specs – I better look for other car – Peugeot 2008, Corolla Cross, X70, XV etc.

Only those who still believe the ’H’ Logo got super value in their car!

Wake Up – Honda Car Buyer … Don’t get fool with such ‘H’ Logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • Xi Xin Ping Sr on Jul 14, 2022 at 8:09 pm

H stands for “HYPED”.
          Honda is an overhyped vehicle ,be it Accord or CRV or HRV.
          It looks very desirable,but after the 5th year..oh my gaud..when warranty is nil…the repairs make many poor mechanics richer.
          If u think long term,to get this overhyped depreciating asset,switch to Toyota.
          All cars depreciate,but the repairs r what concern most buyers.Be smart.Temporary syiook,will give your endless repairs nightmare.
          Remember,Toyota Japan has beaten Ford,Chevy,VW to be world No.1 in the automobile industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Everybody have their choices. Why hate those who prefer Honda? And you have the gall to call yourself a car lover? Everybody can see that you’re just another Honda hater. Part of the majority in this forum after all. As though Honda buyers used your money… pfft.

Please dislike my comment. It just proves that you’re another hater. Negative people attracts negativity. If only you can see why you’re not doing better in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
          • aumeow on Jul 15, 2022 at 8:52 am

The same question on why honda trolls have been complaining this or that and trolling too much for destroying many other brands until now.

They aren’t haters, it is just that honda malaysia still haven’t learn their lesson after honda owners have been complaining too much on aftersales and quality. No every honda model lineup come with lanewatch. Yet, honda malaysia are still very efficient for deleting on negative comments which people tells their truth.

If you can’t believe what you said, means you are just ignore our peoples and my truth here.

• Einstein E=Mc2 on Jul 15, 2022 at 1:20 pm

KNS
            When people disagree with Honda,u stereotype people as Honda haters.
            Grow up..dude..I m Rolls Royce hardcore lover.But for comparison,for the HRV,many smart people would rather scout for a Toyota.
            Dont go thro life,branding people haters etc.One day,u will even brand your wife haters.She shall see u in court.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • U want roof for what?.malaysia not hot enough kah? Dont pretend to be like mat salleh do sun bathing lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • LotzR on Jul 14, 2022 at 1:22 pm

Order ≠ buying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • i’ll wait 5 years for them to offer more stuff with cheaper price. learnt my lesson from buying first batch cars that used to subsidise the latter batch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Continue to wait forever then. Cheaper… Dream on. Inflation.

• Ben Yap on Jul 14, 2022 at 2:36 pm

by the time the buyers get their cars, it is almost time for mid life facelifted version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Maverick Tajuddin ( in distress) on Jul 14, 2022 at 7:58 pm

One day after getting their IMPIAN car,they get retrenched..full blown recession in USA and across the globe.
      Bankruptcy proceedings ever ready for 100 grand loan.

• Celup King on Jul 15, 2022 at 12:09 pm

Aik what happen to all those Jepunis fanbois that laff at Proton slow deliveries due to parts shortages, now HRV got even worse waiting times compare to X50, why? Parts shortage worse than Proton? Kekeke

• I do not know I should feel happy or sad for this booking condition. Happy because of high booking number to show that our econony is good? Sad because of we are rush to buy this over priced low budget SUV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Kea Was on Jul 14, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Then why not buy the previous HR-V? IT was launched back in 2013 and it should have all the stuffs since out for 9 years? And in 5 years time won’t another model comes out and probably with better specs?

• meladam on Jul 14, 2022 at 3:04 pm

CKD quality, yet that price was introduced. Good luck :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • No need your luck…already plenty of booking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • aumeow on Jul 15, 2022 at 9:01 am

Means to say no need your luck equals to not concern on honda CKD quality. Use your brain

• Malaysian in a nutshell whenever a new honda arrives.

• Very clever (cunning) for HM to keep the prices classified and rake in as many bookings as possible, and then use the booking figures as a selling point creating an illusion that this HRV is going to be such a runaway success. Let’s see how many of those bookings will eventually translate into real sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Looks to be a terrible value, but still so many people flocked to fill the order books, likely due to FOMO of the SST exemption. With this kind of support, it’s no wonder Honda Malaysia keeps getting away with sticking with LaneWatch. Everyone’s voting with their wallets that this is “good”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Honda CKD Malaysia quality – kereta lembut. Parts easily get damaged and not durable. Would get worst as more parts are made in Thailand and China. Speaking as a HRV owner.

• Robinhood on Jul 15, 2022 at 9:07 am

Then, you should get a conti lah….But don’t complain no used value. Reality of life. Nothing is perfect!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Fanta on Jul 15, 2022 at 9:54 am

Continental cars used value are like that, but hearing not complaining much on continental cars

• you got played on Jul 15, 2022 at 8:42 am

1 year waiting list, when your car arrive Japan introduce facelift. Do not forget this car was launched last year in Japan.

• Mathi on Jul 15, 2022 at 9:42 am

Well I read you guys comments from negativity,positivity etc etc, I totally agrees with some of you guys that toyota are reliable car since I owned 2 toyota prius hybrid 1.8 till today since 2013, however I also observed this Honda HRV are pretty good car too, just sold my 2020 1.8V variant recently, planning to get Honda HRV Hybrid i-MMD, totally agrees with some of you guys about the pricing, but what HM can do if our Custom Excise Duty sucks.

• john is otak batu on Jul 15, 2022 at 3:24 pm

Excise Duty were created by Dr.M to protect local cars which were long gone

• Kunaseelan Packianathan on Jul 15, 2022 at 11:13 am

This is a new Business Model. Wait 1 year and your model is 1 Year Late or Out Of Date

• out-of-the-box on Jul 15, 2022 at 2:42 pm

my thoughts on recent/current honda line-up:

crv – some say they copy here & there to assemble it but i find it quite attractive
    accord – unattractive & pricy (cbu)
    civic – wait next gen
    city (sedan/hatch) – ran out of idea n copy rear end of a continental design? i thought jap have integrity to never copy other brand’s design? looks good though…
    hrv – 1.5na too expensive (owner of hrv 1.8) , rear design copy cayenne/harrier?

with a few contenders coming in b segment suv with turbo engines at competitive price, i think this hrv might struggle to meet its registration target

• X50 specs are way better so far no close rival yet that can beat them. Haiiyaaaaa Honta aso no spare parts kaaaa =)) =))