BYD Atto 4 – will the RHD BYD Seal be launched in Malaysia to fight the BMW i4 and Tesla Model 3?

We know that BYD electric cars are coming to Malaysia under the distributorship of Sime Darby Motors, and we know that the BYD e6 5-seater MPV and the BYD Atto 3 SUV will be the first two models that BYD Malaysia plans to sell. But what else is coming after that?

If we look at the product roadmap of BYD cars in other right hand drive countries, the answer is clearly this car right here, the BYD Atto 4. The Atto 4 is called the BYD Seal in China, and it’s a completely different animal compared to the Atto 3 and the e6.

You see, while the Atto 3 and e6 are expected to play in the RM200k and below market segment competing with cars like the Hyundai Kona Electric, BYD designed the Seal/Atto 4 to be a premium segment competitor that will take the fight to cars like the BMW i4 and the Tesla Model 3.

Unlike the Atto 3 and e6’s 400V electrical architecture, the Atto 4 uses a 800V electrical platform like higher end cars such as the Porsche Taycan and Audi e-tron GT. 800V is seen as the ‘newer’ way to build electric cars, and it will allow the Seal to achieve high charging speeds at high performance DC chargers.

We’re probably looking at RM250k-RM300k and above for an Atto 4 in Malaysia. As a comparison, brand new grey import Tesla Model 3 can usually start from RM289k, while the BMW i4 is priced from RM374k for the eDrive40 and RM415k for the high performance M50 version.

The BYD Seal/Atto 4 measures 4,800 mm long x 1,875 mm wide x 1,460 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,920 mm. As you can see in the spec sheet below, in its most powerful dual motor AWD version, it is claimed to achieve a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 3.8 seconds with a maximum range of 650 km from its 82.5 kWh battery.

There is also a 700 km range model with a single 308 hp motor powered by the same 82.5 kWh battery. With one less motor than the AWD version, it hits 100 km/h in a slower, but still pretty quick 5.9 seconds.

An entry level model features a smaller 61.4 kWh battery allowing up to 550 km of range, and can accelerate to 100 km/h in 7.5 seconds.

The BYD Seal/Atto 4 has been well-received in China, selling out 4 months of inventory in the first six hours of being opened for bookings back in May 2022. A launch in its first RHD market Australia is supposed to happen very soon.

Would you go for a BYD Seal in Malaysia instead of the usual premium brands such as BMW or Mercedes-Benz models in its price range?

VIDEO: BYD Seal/Atto 4 Interior

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• James KWON on Oct 18, 2022 at 2:37 pm

its not to fight as this car has no chance to beat them in tech or quality and brand value. its only to complement the EV brands further.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
    • wow, mind giving us a review of the car?

• Warren Buffett himself owned this BYD car company. so he could nvr go wrong..

• sohai on Oct 18, 2022 at 6:57 pm

Never up-to-date, Beeden chip-export-control effective 13oct… will run out of spares, goods become junk … sohai betoi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
    • Do you know that electric battery tech are made by japanese toyota while technology inside is more advanced as bmw, mercedes, volvo, audi?? You will realize soon or once you get in BYD taxi in malaysia, though not as advanced as this car interior tech

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Dah Menang Semua on Oct 18, 2022 at 4:21 pm

The battery is made by Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • IDIOTSkING on Oct 18, 2022 at 4:31 pm

lOl…. pROTON THEN also makes LOTS OF ev BATTERIES !!!! Especailly from Kepong Industrial Park !!!!!

• Axepro on Oct 18, 2022 at 9:38 pm

Lol how stupid can u be like a frog under the well

• J8899 on Oct 19, 2022 at 2:47 pm

BYD will dominate the EV space soon, if jot already.
      did you know most of the most advanced EV tech and patterns are owned and developed by BYD?
      obviously you don’t know. you wouldn’t utter such ignorance if you do.

• is there any evidence that support your word”no chance to bet them”?

• tricycle on Oct 18, 2022 at 3:32 pm

Everything else about this car is marvelous.

Except ugly looking steering wheel. WT paying 300k to get that steering wheel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Steering Wheel on Oct 18, 2022 at 3:45 pm

Every designers have come with different steering wheel

• I would anytime prefer AVATR 11 than BYD or any mediocre but premium priced German marque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • I will wait for another 3 yrs before I dare to buy one

• bieight8 on Oct 18, 2022 at 5:10 pm

Better than those German

• This more like it, much better than that two rubbish atto3 and e6. Totally no respect to malaysian consumer.

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 19, 2022 at 10:36 am

Seal/Atto4 will be a hard sell. Remember the Hyundai Coupe? Didn’t do too well, did it? BYD doesn’t have historical brand presence nor has build a solid reputation yet, same position when Hyundai brought in the Coupe back then.

At same time, Msians are such brand snobs when it comes to premium things, eg. iPhone vs Chinese premium models. Thus, majority will buy the BMW than this BYD, simply because of perceived prestige & face. Lose face if buy Chinese premium car rather than a German conti.

BYD should build their brand reputation, reliability & service first. Sure can bring in high end models as flagship but don’t expect big sales. It will be a long hard slog but Chinese companies have reputation for going for long term growth.

• Paul Tan on Oct 19, 2022 at 10:42 am

Will it being an EV change the ballgame? Hyundai ioniq 5 Max at over RM250k is sold out…

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 20, 2022 at 12:35 am

Nope, nothing to do with EV.

It will sell out due to limited numbers imported & will be bought by those who value Chinese tech cars, but they’ll be the minority.

As for price, the usual “top up a bit can get …” mantra will forever be sung by the brand snobs.

Perhaps in 10 years these brand snobs, being the lemmings (ie followers) that they are, will buy BYD or Nio & not lose their precious face. But not today.

• how do we read this brand name?..Be whY Dee, Bye D, ?..

• Matthew Ong on Dec 13, 2022 at 6:10 pm

Will buy Atto 4 if it is available in Malaysia. Atto 3 range too small for outstation used