Barisan Nasional’s GE15 manifesto – approved permit (AP) requirement for EVs in Malaysia to be abolished

Barisan Nasional (BN) has pledged to abolish the approved permit (AP) requirement for all imported electric vehicles (EVs) should it win the 15th General Election, which is set to take place on November 19. The initiative was highlighted in the party’s manifesto for GE15 that it unveiled last night.

According to BN chairman Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, the move is aimed at making EVs more accessible to the rakyat, while also ensuring that the country’s future would be sustainable and safe. “To that end, we will abolish all import permits or APs for all types of electric cars to ensure wider access to affordable eco-friendly vehicles,” he said.

The plan to abolish APs for EVs is essentially a development from the AP fee exemption that was outlined during Budget 2023, in which it was stated that all imported EVs were set to be exempted from AP fees from January 1 to December 31, 2023. Should it be delivered, the new initiative would remove that timeframe completely and open up the market.

What this does is make it easier for EV makers to set up a sales channel in Malaysia, as there will no longer be a need to look for a local partner for franchise AP purposes. Car importers who are looking to bring in EVs will also be incentivised to do so with the removal of the AP fee.

The removal of the AP hurdle could result in a wider variety of EVs entering the market, and it would also potentially make them cheaper, provided companies pass the savings from not paying the AP fee on to customers. Regular internal combustion engined cars will however continue to be subject to AP requirements. What are your thoughts on this? Share them in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:49 am

Copy manifesto last minute?
    Abolish all recon cars AP laa

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:11 pm

BetterNation manifesto much more trustworthy than fake manifesto from PutusHarapan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
      • Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:31 pm

Copy paste: “agree bro”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Khalid on Nov 08, 2022 at 3:20 pm

enough of your self talking Rakyat. no need to make dupes here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Non-responsible voter on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:29 pm

Ahhh…spotted bro

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:32 pm

Copy paste: “Bro, bring your anger issues elsewhere. this is a car site, not a politics site. i’m not interested in your frustrations”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:44 pm

Reply to Copy Paste:

You too

• Don’t argue this and argue that. The problem is that by making worse for:

– Fuel prices afraid that will be higher
            – GST will be back
            – Food prices will be higher again
            – Our currency will be weaker

And there:
            – Can see why EV but for what? For rich is it? I agree with some said should continue to support hybrid cars. EV is also too expensive and also renewing roadtax.

All was done by BN and PN

#Enough of Corruption #Anti-Corruption

• Aura89 on Nov 09, 2022 at 12:52 am

PH want to take away our right to free speech. Get ready, the boogaloo starts now fudds.

• @Copy Paste

No one bothers about you bro. Oh and why your friend talk against PH

• Khalid on Nov 08, 2022 at 3:19 pm

bro…..jgn lupa lari bogel lepas GE15 ha ha ha

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:31 pm

Copy paste: “I used to support bn every election and also for previous election. But after realizing, I have to admit that ph is a failure. Sorry bro.”

• Enough of all your liars, Copy Paste. You are more behaving and good in lying like BN and PN

• Vidual on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:51 am

Benefit for rich only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:37 pm

BN is looking towards the future and the future is electrification. It will benefit everyone then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
      • Dee Eemm on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:04 pm

NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN! Agree from someone said

No health care reform pledges….no minimum wage…no price reduction for hybrid cars

Roadtax for EV also expensive how to afford

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:40 pm

Copy paste: “So you go ahead vote for PH, if you think BN and PN is not as good as PH. But PH will bring more corruption due to greed of PH. Everyday stress due to higher cost of living suffer from PH. Their feedback will also not going to vote those corruptions from PH”

Copy paste: “This is an automotive blog, this is not a [insert your choice of irrelevant diversion] blog. If you want to talk about [insert your choice of irrelevant diversion], leave and find those blogs”

Copy paste: “Bro, bring your anger issues elsewhere. this is a car site, not a politics site. i’m not interested in your frustrations”

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:26 am

So you go ahead vote for BN/PN, if you think PH is not as good as BN and PN. But BN/PN will bring more corruption due to greed of BN/PN. Everyday stress due to higher cost of living suffer from BN/PN. Their feedback will also not going to vote those corruptions from BN/PN”

NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN! Agree from someone said

So who cares about you then.

• You got that right. The problem is that by making worse for:

– GST will be back

• Copy Paste on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:20 am

Copy paste: “Because you are just low mentality. Yes, old BN rule wasn’t good but you don’t know that new BN rule if GE15 wins for BN will do better”

• Enough of all your liars, Copy Paste. You are more behaving and good in lying like BN and PN

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:08 pm

You aren’t wise people, don’t you

• Let him be. He is ph hater but he doesn’t know about corruption and sheraton move about

• Copy Paste on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:35 am

Copy paste: “Not very smart enough because you like orang pengrasuah and orang pengkhianat”

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:28 am

Reply to Copy and Paste

So go ahead then, if you think PH is not as good as BN and PN. But BN/PN will bring more corruption due to greed of BN/PN. Everyday stress due to higher cost of living suffer from BN/PN. Their feedback will also not going to vote those corruptions from BN/PN”

• Copy Paste on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:20 am

Copy paste: “Because you are just low mentality. Yes, old BN rule wasn’t good but you don’t know that new BN rule if GE15 wins for BN will do better”

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:27 am

So you go ahead vote for BN/PN, if you think PH is not as good as BN and PN. But BN/PN will bring more corruption due to greed of BN/PN. Everyday stress due to higher cost of living suffer from BN/PN. Their feedback will also not going to vote those corruptions from BN/PN”

• Talking is cheap. But after GE15, will make u-turn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:23 pm

Copy paste: “Honestly BN’s pledges had been more down to earth and frankly more believable compared to Pakatan’s manifesto which the last time was admitted to be promises meant to be a joke. We can trust BN’s one as it is stated in the Budget 2023 and they know they can be held responsible if not fulfilled. Can we say the same this time with Pakatan, who had lied before, in this GE?
      It reminded me of money game scams where the “victims” are forced to continue trusting the scam and sinking further deeper because they had invested too much into their belief and not wanting to look like a fool. Such examples never ends well for the “victims”.

And i wrote victim with ” ” as most go into these traps knowing it is likely a trap yet they still do it. Why Malaysians, why? Highly educated Malaysians cannot be that stupid right?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
      • Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:37 pm

No health care reform pledges….no minimum wage…no price reduction for hybrid cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 3:11 pm

Copy paste: “This is an automotive blog, this is not a [insert your choice of irrelevant diversion] blog. If you want to talk about [insert your choice of irrelevant diversion], leave and find those blogs”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:38 pm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:56 pm

Copy paste: “I can see ph as corrupt party, liking your comment on wrong people voices on either bn and pn.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • Calvin on Nov 08, 2022 at 3:14 pm

nothing you saying is true after looking at huge amount of corruption scandals and illgotten gains by PH in such a short time as Government. stop the nonsense. you are claiming prices going up but that is due to US inflation, under normal circumstances things would not change much. I personally think he is trolling here, as inflation back in 2019 was significant as US has done nothing to the effect, it was a lot of businesses and money leaving Malaysia under PH, many of the FDI went to more favorable Asean nations and yet he would claim that is due to BN lol then he pretends PH are the cleaner Government when Malaysia TI ranking went down under them obviously he has an agenda to propagandise PH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • Dee Eemm on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:04 pm

Roadtax for EV also expensive how to afford

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:06 pm

Complaining about PH is all excuses. How about solving problems on corruption, also for LCS scandal first. Promise doesn’t matter. All parties also have lack on some promises but to get rid more corruption is high priority

someone said

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:30 pm

Copy paste: “Helloooo undersea tunnel scandal? Rigging the judges selection? RM60 Billion sued by Sulu? Fire sale of Tabung Haji and other bumi assets for below market rates? Kajang Move & Sheraton Move by their own partners? Corruption Index the worst in history during PH? 60% of Selangor roads are expired and totally unusable? Malaysia 60 years were never as terrible as 22 months under PH.

Vote for them and we will suffer even more. Mark my words.”

Copy paste: “agreed”

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:51 pm

Copy paste: “I’ll NOT be voting for PH thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 22 months of PH is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO PH!”

• @Dee Eem

During BN rule, fuel prices are really more expensive, During BN rule, with 6% GST car prices already higher. After GE15, BN rule will protect EV but EV incentive isn’t enough and can’t agree with renewable energy timeline from gasoline to hybrid till fully electric as it is really too short. Should have follow on what Japan and China doing

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:28 am

Reply to Copy and Paste, repeated to you since you don’t know much

So go ahead then, if you think PH is not as good as BN and PN. But BN/PN will bring more corruption due to greed of BN/PN. Everyday stress due to higher cost of living suffer from BN/PN. Their feedback will also not going to vote those corruptions from BN/PN”

• newme on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:56 am

Guess the guys at PEKEMA must have stepped on the chairman’s tail.

• Johan on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:10 am

A more thorough article would’ve included: How much an AP fee for each car is currently, so we know roughly how much should be saved.

• Where is the part for Hybrid/plug in hybrid cars? Is hybrid/plug in hybrid cars also part to save environment, should give reduce more tax for hybrid/plug in hybrid cars.

• EVcars on Nov 08, 2022 at 3:31 pm

Wake Up… Hybrids still have a Petrol Engine. Will Pollute and have HIGH maintenance cost including polluting with waste Oil filters, etc. GO …DIRECT to BEV. Chian and Europe are moving to Pure EV.

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:06 pm

Roadtax already expensive for EV. How to afford?

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:09 pm

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:31 pm

Copy paste: “Low mentality guy”

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:29 am

Reply to Copy and Paste, repeated to you since you don’t know much

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:32 am

You also low mentality guy

• Wake up bro. Renewable energy needs more timeline on when to change from petrol till hybrid till fully electric. If timeline is too short, will have more problems and not as cheap as petrol and hybrid and needed more time like China and Japan doing

• accessibility is the future of living on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:15 am

Since rapidkl service is getting worst lately. I think more funding on public transport is a better solution. Also, instead of spending billions on MRT3 why not introduce multiple BRTs instead. It can be deployed anywhere and within a short period (comapre with MRT) with the existing roads system.

• Supporter on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:20 am

is a good move no doubt, but feel like more towards to scam for votes and later on can introduce other kind of taxes to gain back the easy $$$.

• Contradiction on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:34 pm

No fake promises here unlike Pakatan Manifesto xblh pakai wan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • And what happen in last last manifesto on what BN did in 2013??

• During BN rule, our currency already weaken. During BN rule, fuel prices are really more expensive, During BN rule, with 6% GST car prices already higher. But after GE15, BN rule is protecting EV but not much EV incentives. Renewable energy timeline is not enough and should have follow Japan and China.

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:07 pm

Complaining about PH is all excuses. How about solving problems on corruption, also for LCS scandal first. Promise doesn’t matter. All parties also have lack on some promises but to get rid more corruption is high priority

Someone said

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:08 pm

Someone said

• Copy Paste on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:15 am

Copy paste: “You aren’t wise people, don’t you”

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:33 am

Only you aren’t wiser people but not for us.

• Squid on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:29 am

What’s the point? Abolish all AP’s la!

• Celup King on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:30 pm

We still need AP to control influx of cars otherwise it will be nightmare jam every hour of the day. See how bad is Bangkok and Jakarta jams caused by too many cars.

• Squid on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:59 pm

There are other ways to do that without making ‘certain’ parties profit from it.

• Don’t bother about him. He loves bn but making sure that all items must be expensive which items already expensive enough and trying to fool you and people after election.

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:34 pm

Copy paste: “So you go ahead vote for PH, if you think BN and PN is not as good as PH. But PH will bring more corruption due to greed of PH. Everyday stress due to higher cost of living suffer from PH. Their feedback will also not going to vote those corruptions from PH”

• yea well on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:41 am

Are EVs reaallllly that more important right now?

• Nothing on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:54 am

Another something for the rich and wealthy to get their toys cheaper faster and easier.

Come on lah…

• This might cause the local car manufacturers a drop in sales.

• Where the electricity for EV’s will come from? Are new power plants planed yet? It doesn’t help that EV’s can be imported easily now, but there’s no electric to actually drive them.

• Evdrives on Nov 08, 2022 at 3:35 pm

There are “wasted” electricity at night when consumption is low. Plus …Generation of Electricity by Power Plants (Coal ,Gas, etc ) is MUCH cleaner and Effecient than our “DAM#” ICE vehicles. Note we NOW have WIND turbines, Solar panels, Hydro, Etc …. which does NOT pollute the enviroment and GETTING cheaper than Oil, Gas and Coal.

• Mohawk on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:49 am

I think you need to read more. Manufacturing car battery and related process and scrapping old batteries produce the same/more pollutions on earth. Check how many percent contributed by solar, hydro, wind turbines etc VS the total electric demand.

• longjaafar on Nov 08, 2022 at 11:24 am

If it is such a good thing, why make it conditionally upon BN winning the elections?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Remove it now. Why have to wait till win? Talk is cheap. Action speak louder than words. Trusting their words is an insult to everyone with knowledge

• Banduan Nagara on Nov 08, 2022 at 12:28 pm

why breaking ownself quinoa rice bowl?

• @Snakebabu on Nov 08, 2022 at 1:38 pm

Penipu rantau Asia tenggara terbesaq weii.
    Dear BeEnd, we know how you operate, pi main jauh2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:24 pm

Copy paste: “You won’t know that BN 2.0 might change to be better than PH 1.0 that elected in 2018, if BN wins in GE15”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
      • Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:38 pm

“Talking is cheap but GE15, BN will make u-turn” Agree from someone said

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:59 pm

Copy paste: ““But after GE15, will make u-turn. Mark my words that also happened before GE14”
          Are you talking PH? I can tell you that BN is totally different. Rest assured.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Low mentality guy from you

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:34 pm

Copy paste: “Another PH lapdog..how pathetic.”

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:10 pm

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:46 pm

Reply to Copy Paste

You are BN/PN lapdog….how pathetic

• Copy Paste on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:21 am

• EVact44 on Nov 08, 2022 at 1:55 pm

Good Move … BN . You have my Vote. If others Pledge to same …More Votes are coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:35 pm

Agree

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:39 pm

I’ll NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN! Agreed from someone said

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:40 pm

No health reform care pledges…no minumum wages…no price reduction for hybrid cars

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 3:06 pm

• BN Supporter on Nov 08, 2022 at 4:38 pm

Thanks to Copy paste for getting angry and scold those brianless ph supporter here. kalau tak suka, keluar dari paultan.
          Bear in mind, manifesto is not equal to promise. we are not wrong if we not execute align with manifesto. We don’t have baseline, we can twist and change anything we promise anytime, thanks for supporters give us power to do so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • “Bear in mind, manifesto is not equal to promise.”
            Indeed. Pakatan thought us this very important lesson. If they can lie to all then, they certainly will lie to all now. How many times they need to cry wolf b4 the rakyat stops believing them and would it be too late by then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
          • Okay whatever. But believe yourself and your dupes for abusing peoples right who have been saying about corruption and traitors

• Non-responsible voter on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:28 pm

Funny that you two are talking to yourself but sorry not gonna vote for bn

• Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:11 pm

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:42 pm

• Hahaha use your brain la. During BN rule, our currency already weaken. During BN rule, fuel prices are really more expensive, During BN rule, with 6% GST car prices already higher. After GE15, BN rule is protecting EV but EV incentive not much enough. Can’t agree with this BN manifesto on short timeline for renewable energy timeline from gasoline till hybrid till fully electric. Should have follow Japan and China. Stop defending as if BN are doing better than PH.

• Copy Paste on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:33 am

• Agree. Don’t believe sort of lies from those bn people who try to fool people as bn are doing good than ph

• Copy Paste on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:36 pm

Copy paste: “enough of your self talking Rakyat. no need to make dupes here”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • Dee Eem on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:47 pm

“Okay whatever. But believe yourself and your dupes for abusing peoples right who have been saying about corruption and traitors” Someone said

• Enough la for defending bn fanboy

• Hahaha…nice simply calling me as Rakyat Malaysia…shame of you…shame of you when my name is GTX, not Rakyat Malaysia above

• Copy Paste on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:22 am

• Manifesto Dicapati on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:38 am

@GTX so if your not a rakyat Malaysia you really have no rights to be talking about Malaysian politics here. Go back to whereever you crawled from. Brambuslah!

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:31 am

Reply to Manifesto Dicapati and Copy and Paste:

But who cares about you. Only you have no rights to be talking about Malaysian politics, same for Copy and Paste if you are not rakyat Malaysia. Go back to wherever you crawled from.

• Dee Eem on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:36 am

@GTX

That’s right. This copy and paste and manifesto dicapati also don’t know much on Malaysia politics

• Don’t argue this and argue that. The problem is that by making worse for:

– GST will be back

And there:
    – Can see why EV but for what? For rich is it? I agree with some said should continue to support hybrid cars. EV is also too expensive and also renewing roadtax.

• The problem is that by making worse for:

– GST will be back

And there:

• Dugong on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:37 am

They are the one who created AP for their cronies to get filthy rich. Rakyat who wants to enjoy a car with better build quality need to fill cronies pocket with their hard earned money. Now they’re saying if they win GE they’ll do you a favor by abolishing AP for EV which they created in the first place. KNN, tokok sing song.

• Sohai on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:10 am

EV will not prosper without proper development of charging infra. You will face congestion at the station. Much like once taxi queing for natural gas.
    And this wont spur the economy. And from a transport perspective, i would ike plans to curb traffic congestion.