Perodua sails past 200k units mark – 222,203 year-to-date sales is 51.2% higher, on track to hit 247k target

Perodua has sailed past the 200,000 units sales mark after registering 25,849 units in October 2022. The market leader’s year-to-date sales is 222,203 units, which is 51.2% higher than the 146,951 units sold in Jan-Oct 2021. That sounds like a massive jump, but it’s from a low base – there was a lockdown (remember those things?) between June and August last year.

P2’s 25,849 units recorded last month is a 5% improvement against the 24,626 units registered in September. The Bezza sedan led with 6,768 units, followed by the Myvi with 6,130 units and the Axia with 4,989 units.

As for production, Perodua rolled out 22,974 units last month, bringing the total number of vehicles produced to 229,811 units year-to-date.

“Moving forward, we expect the registration momentum to continue upwards until the end of the year. Looking ahead, we plan to further increase our production and sales volume as we try to go beyond our earlier set sales target for 2022 and by doing so will reduce the waiting period for our customers,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad said.

He added that the higher than expected production and sales performance has impacted the local automotive ecosystem positively, given that on average 95% of Perodua parts are sourced locally.

“In fact, the high localisation rate has also help shield Perodua from the volatility in the foreign exchange market at the moment. It is our intention to further improve the local automotive supply chain as having such an industry have proven a benefit to both Perodua and consumers,” the P2 chief added.

At 222k and with two months to go, Perodua is well on track to achieve its 2022 sales target of 247,800 units. This year’s target is 30.2% higher than the 190,291 vehicles sold in 2021, and 12.6% more than the 220,163 vehicles registered in 2020. If the target is achieved, it would be an all-time record for Perodua, beating 2019’s record of 240,341 units.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Nov 10, 2022 at 5:37 pm

This shows that rakyat Malaysia have full confidence on how gomen is run under BetterNation caring gomen. Kudos to PM Sabrikor!

#KeluargaMalaysia #4BetterNation #NoMorePutusHarapan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 43
    • newme on Nov 11, 2022 at 8:49 am

This shows that the public transport in the country has gone down that the rakyat have to take up loan to buy private vehicles.

• Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:28 am

So you go ahead vote for BN/PN, if you think PH is not as good as BN and PN. But BN/PN will bring more corruption due to greed of BN/PN. Everyday stress due to higher cost of living suffer from BN/PN. Their feedback will also not going to vote those corruptions from BN/PN” Someone said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Lets See on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:01 pm

Enough of your monkey behaviour. You are just confirming what we just seen in the monkey video. You PH troopers are all the same on the road and on the web.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
        • Enough of nonsense, low mentality guy.

• Dah Menang Semua on Nov 11, 2022 at 5:04 pm

NOT STEALING is the least Poli-tikus can do

• Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:53 pm

NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN! Agree from someone said

• Non responsible voter on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:57 pm

Disagree with you. Used to vote for BN but already responsible that shouldn’t have vote for BN. But PN new party, not going to vote too. And not gonna listen to you also

• Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:29 am

NOT be voting for BN/PN thanks to their high prices, weaker malaysia currency than other countries, RM to USD conversion is really worst now, food prices really high, high corruptions and traitors, meritocracy only for the rich benefit, already hurting enough to all Malaysians. 60 over years for BN and 17 months for PN is enough of damage they had wrought to Malaysia and our people. Enough is enough. Say NO TO BN/PN! Agree from someone said

• Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:29 am

Complaining about PH is all excuses. How about solving problems on corruption, also for LCS scandal first. Promise doesn’t matter. All parties also have lack on some promises but to get rid more corruption is high priority

• Copy Paste on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:25 pm

Copy paste: “Knock your head! If you think PH is benefit to you, does PH are using for stealing pocket peoples money and making burden to all than BN. If we learned anything that is no more PH, if not, you better learn more history. Agree from someone said”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • Non-responsible voter on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:58 pm

Regret voting for you, not only just incompetent, corruption and talking nonsense. But because you have been talking nonsense. With PN, new party, not going to vote too due to corruption but traitors.

• Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:31 am

BN manifesto also don’t have health care reform pledges….no minimum wage…no price reduction for hybrid cars

Roadtax for EV also expensive how to afford

• Roti john Reborn on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:32 am

This shows that rakyat Malaysia have full confidence on Perodua’s Game-Changing quality. No wonder Perodua is always on the No.1 spot, total sales is always 3X more than Proton

• Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:39 am

“But BN and PN are not doing much better and more useless than PH. LCS Scandal also got. One news shows that Najib stolen RM100 billion from Malaysia and Stashed from his overseas. Covid lockdown always favorite from PN. When flooding season coming, BN is ignoring flood season and BN also make promises for public transport during either pandemic/endemic but in the end today, already broken promises and also what happened on LRT breakdown recently causing transport system is in the mess.” Someone said

In addition, someone said “PAS under PN got RM2 billion corruption/scandals for flood mitigation project to an Umno-linked company.

• Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:40 am

Bro, bring your anger issues elsewhere. this is a car site, not a politics site. i’m not interested in your frustrations” Copied from someone else

• Mr Mar on Nov 11, 2022 at 10:01 am

Go campaign at other site la, so annoying

• Zachariah Picanto on Nov 11, 2022 at 10:33 am

nonsense. Car sales are high now because Malaysians always want to gaya and show off their new car when they go back kampung near the end of the year. this has nothing to do with BN.

Rakyat is your typical macai that belip everything in BN ceramah. whatever BN tells him, he will say “syukur ada BN, pergi mampus PR/PH/DAP”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Amran on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:04 pm

Syukur BN… ada duit beli keta mampu milik. pegi mampus PR/PH/DAP nak kite jalan kaki pegi keje
        https://paultan.org/2022/05/31/driving-a-car-in-malaysia-should-be-made-a-luxury-not-a-necessity-says-dap-assemblyman-liew-chin-tong/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Dee Eem on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:54 pm

• Pirates of the littoral combat shit and train on Nov 11, 2022 at 2:36 pm

This dude hallucinating on some kind of weed.
      Perodua has been doing well from Ajibkor to Mamak to Moidin to now resigned Sabrikor.
      They do well cos of hardwork,not hallucinating like u ,eating political garbage.

• Curious on Nov 10, 2022 at 6:31 pm

What happen to ur join venture with Dreamedge and the conceal sample car which suppose to be launch by tis year or the project did not materialize.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:24 am

Total 25,849
      Bezza −6,768
      Myvi −6,130
      Axia −4,989
      Alza/ Aruz/ Ativa =7,962

• Ativa’s figure?

• GoGoP2 on Nov 10, 2022 at 9:14 pm

Well, what to expect from best car seller in Msia. Congrates and well done p2.

• Celup King on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:37 am

The rambutan seller is so proud of outselling in number of fruits the durian seller but still the durian remains THE KING.

• Zachariah Picanto on Nov 11, 2022 at 10:34 am

Well done Perodua. Despite what bashers say, you always succeed and make Malaysia proud. I wish our other carmaker could have done the same but they required a foreign China carmaker and Li Chunrong to save them

• tapsoba on Nov 14, 2022 at 6:13 am

And Perodua require foreign model to reach this stage. At least the other carmaker is a real one with real homegrown models and those made most of their sales figure compared to their foreign models.

• Still waiting for my Axia and Myvi since July.

• tapsoba on Nov 14, 2022 at 6:21 am

Still waiting for my Alza since June. I don’t mind waiting really but when you see many others posted that they book their car in Aug & Sept but already get theirs makes you wonder why yours still not arrived. I even saw one person who seems to be extremely proud that it only took 3 days for them to get their car, if you said they paid cash, I saw some who is buying with cash also made to wait since July.

• hooooray for affordable cars! quality ok also lah