The Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM) has stated on its Facebook page that driving against traffic is an offence, and any driver or rider found to have committed the act can have action taken against them under Section 42 (1) of the Road Transport Act (Amendment) 2020.
The offence comes under reckless and dangerous driving, and those convicted shall be punished by imprisonment for a term of not more than five years, and with a fine of not less than RM5,000 and not more than RM15,000.
A person convicted under this section shall also be disqualified from holding or obtaining a driving license for a period of five years from the date of conviction, the statement continued.
Instances of driving against traffic has resulted in death, even if some in other cases have emerged unharmed. In the first nine months of 2021, the transport ministry reported that there have been 807 accidents involving vehicles being driven against the flow of traffic. Of this total, 29 fatalities were recorded, while 17 cases had serious injuries, 49 with minor injuries and 712 cases involving damage.
use OKU card then everything kawtim…haha
Sam shd have used OKU card and plea insanity LOL
how about motorcyclists that ride ON the 5-foot pavement where people and children walk? Why aren’t authorities doing anything about it?? They ride up the pavement and zoom along, sometimes at speed on the pavement meant for pedestrians! As usual, only when a motorcyclist hits and injures (or kills) a child will the authorities act. Hopefully it doesn’t happen
Mr.Niuh
You got a point.Just see,any response.
Another sore eye is ,daily ,riders treating traffic lights like colorless cones.
Driving against traffic is not MASS violations daily.
Mass violations ,daily..without fail r the riders(pink or green) that speed past red traffic lights.
These riders have auto revert vision…when approach traffic lights..they r color blind.Once they landed into abang polis”s saman or hospital,they revert to normal vision.
Now,operasi is TOUCH N GO.Wait until a VVIP’s nenek or datuk got killed,then we have OPERASI SECARA BESAR BESARAN,but too late.
HOPEFULLY ,our new honourable Home Minister will look into this matter.
Only 5k fine…
Read: “MINIMUM RM 5000”
While the police are going after road users going against traffic, how about road crazies who think driving without lights is OK. See lots of them around and these can be worse than driving against traffic
Recently more and more riders and drivers choose to go against traffic, not sure why, just can feel it is increasing…
Catching those (kapchai) motorcyclists will be tough. It is a daily thing, happening from kampungs to exclusive neighbourhoods. And, I have no idea when they started thinking that the traffic laws don’t apply to them.
How about those running the red light I still see lots of motorcyclist still running the red light
Motorcycle riders seems like exempted on all traffic rules…beating red lights, parking anywhere they want, crossing roads thru pedestrian crossings, counterflow one way lane, speeding on a slow moving traffic, swerving on roads as if they were in a race track like their idols Marquez and Rossi, turning on junctions without signaling lights…and a lot more, thinking that they are not liable in any kind of traffic offences…
Excuse me, stop bashing all motorcycle riders, there are motorcyclists that follows the rule. Similar to car drivers some who dont follow rules. These applies to all vehicles.
5k saman, bullshit PDRM got accident, rider or driver not yet die, no come die already then come, always like tht at ipoh perak, got isue blocked, sambill kopiduit kawtium nonsen PDRM…. PDRM trick and trifick all wolds know.
How about those motorcycles that use high beam specially in the morning? I hope those modified very loud motorcycle exhaust will also be included to be fined.
I doubt this is new law, so what has changed? There is no deterrence due to lack of enforcement, you can impose the death penalty and it will still be the same
Please don’t just give lip service get PDRM & JPJ to act without any sympathy or biases. PDRM please have credibility. So that you can clean up Malaysia and Stand proud for cleaning Malaysia.
Take FIRM action and stop talking. PDRM can contact for issues. That ROAD TRAFIC offences have become a bloody nuisance is as clear and night follows the day is crystal clear.
Civil claims for damages are rampant.
Kindly do not let me write all down.
Start acting and act with fury.
Wany some advice contact me and I WILL HELP PDRM.
5O solid years in Practice in law and still the rot getting worse is NAUSEATING.
TQVM. Bala
Talk only. Many motorcylist will ride against traffic and as a motorist, we have to give away. Just rewind CCTV installed at the road and thousands can be caught if PDRM really spring to action. Cheap talk cannot reduce accident.