More Malaysians caught with fake driving licences in Australia – three drivers convicted for “lesen terbang”

Here we go again. Yet another report of Malaysians caught with fake driving licences in Australia, and in the same location as that which took place earlier this year. This time, no less than a trio of culprits were hauled up for being in the possession of lesen terbang.

In a Facebook post made by the NSW Traffic Patrol and Highway Police account, it was revealed that officers attached to the Griffith Highway Patrol made the discoveries following a series of roadside testings.

The first case took place on September 17, and involved a 42-year-old Malaysian man from Mildura. Officers were on patrol along the Mid Western Highway near Rankins Springs when they stopped a 2009 white Holden Cruze sedan for roadside testing and license checks.

When requested to provide his drivers license, the driver produced a card that resembled a Malaysian driver’s license as well as a Malaysian passport. Noting that the licence contained a number of flaws. the police conducted a check on the Malaysian road transport department (JPJ) portal, which revealed that the driver only held a motorcycle class license that expired in 2005.

Further checks noted that he had never held any class of license in any Australian state or territory, and it was also revealed that he had been residing in Australia on a bridging visa for the past six years.

The second and third cases took place the following day, on September 18, when police stopped a 2003 blue Nissan X-Trail at a stationary roadside testing site. Also stopped was a 2001 silver Toyota Tarago following closely behind the Nissan.

The driver of the X-Trail, a 34-year-old Malaysian man from Junee, was requested to produce his drivers license, to which he produced a card that was said to be a Malaysian driver’s license. When asked what that document was, the driver stated to police, “that’s my drivers license. I need it for work.” He also produced a NSW photo card.

Asked for the same document, the driver of the silver Toyota Tarago, a 22-year-old Malaysian male, also from Junee, produced a similar card. When asked what that document was, the driver told police that “my friend made this for me, so I can drive in Australia.” He also produced a Malaysian passport.

Police inspected both licenses and again identified a number of flaws. Checks made on the JPJ portal revealed that both drivers have never held any driving license in Malaysia. Further checks noted that both drivers, who have been residing in Australia on bridging visas for the past few years, had never held any class of license in any Australian state or territory.

All three drivers were issued with a notice to attend Griffith local court on December 7, following which all were convicted of the following offences – possessing a false document to influence the exercise of public duty and never being licensed to drive a vehicle on the road. In the post, police added that they have furnished these details to the department of immigration for a review of their visas.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Squid on Dec 30, 2022 at 2:31 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia none are being caught hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 3
    • UTurn M on Dec 30, 2022 at 5:22 pm

These are the same Pakatan loving peeps that would have no problem flying back just to vote for their favorite party but no brains to get proper license either in Msia or in Aussie. These PH lovers are the greatest shame to Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 95
      • Dinkidies aboo on Dec 31, 2022 at 8:32 am

What has this got to do with PH or malaysian politics. Sore looser…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • BN Cybertroopers Sdn Bhd on Dec 31, 2022 at 9:57 am

Did you not get the memo? We’re supposed to stop attacking PH. We’re on the same sides now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Jullie on Dec 31, 2022 at 10:29 am

Did they hv a PH sticker on the windscreen?
        If you look closely it cld be a PN.:)-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Abg jago on Dec 31, 2022 at 10:48 am

Ah ko. Sume bnd nk politik. Tayar kete sorong jiran sblh aku pon ko nk politikkan kalau ko tau

• Xarifa Lee on Dec 31, 2022 at 10:49 am

What to do Malaysia are brought up with ” Kopi O” lifestyle. Malaysia are full of lawlessness. Every think is sick in Malaysia, look at LCS, 1MDB, A4 Skyhawks and etc …..
        The whole Malaysian ” structure” is sick.
        Even Bollywood and China Filem potray People from Malaysia are Crooks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • Walaun Hunter on Dec 31, 2022 at 1:20 pm

Walaun detected

• orang PAS on Dec 31, 2022 at 1:49 pm

Ini semua salah MCA Wee kasiong…

• They are on a bridging visa that is expired, which means they can’t/haven’t left Australia. Also this has nothing to do with PH.. Check yourself before u shame yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • They are on a expired bridging visa, which means haven’t or can’t leave the country. Ain’t nothing gotta do with PH here. Shame on you.

• How you know they vote for PH? I think you are the one who created for these people

• I thought in Malaysia , Malaysia think only foreigners of Africans are the one doing fake things or Haram
        business , what shame so Malaysians are also doing mcm mcm, very fast the Malaysia media criticism of other national, that’s is why is not good to throw stone in the market it might hit your father or mother , I hope this is a lesson to the malaysia media a small issue of scam or wayward thinbs against other national very fast they will call warga aisng datang negara Kita , now malaysians become warga asing datang negara orang Australia buat kerje Haram, never judge all people same just because one person or some group did something wrong you count it to be all the people from that country did that, Now can we say all malaysia are into scam , pakai LA otak malaysia media ,

• Rafizi sembang kencang on Dec 30, 2022 at 5:27 pm

Malaysia boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Toyota forever on Dec 30, 2022 at 3:42 pm

Send them back to malaysia with a report to JPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Mathew Abraham. on Dec 30, 2022 at 4:10 pm

Charges all fake driving license who are Malaysian who are caught overseas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • AlibabaChiam on Dec 30, 2022 at 4:27 pm

Many orang asing cina buy lesen terbang still can renew can drive car, salah why JPJ dont take action to check system they dont know Bahasa and no lesen in China how can they pass ujian..tipu JPJ…salah tangkap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • FrankC on Dec 30, 2022 at 5:25 pm

Something for our JPJ and minister in charge to seriously look into. Good thing our JPJ hv a portal to check for fake driving licence. That’s a thumbs up for JPJ.

• Janji dicapati on Dec 30, 2022 at 5:28 pm

Cheating is in their DNA. Can’t do anything about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • orang PAS on Dec 31, 2022 at 1:49 pm

Ini semua salah MCA Wee kasiong…

• pendeka on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:41 pm

pegawai harus dihukum di mahkamah shariah

• There was a time when color photocopiers of certain models (probably good quality duplicators) were banned on Malaysia. Now, every document can be copied, edited and made better than the original, with easily available digital technology. And we seem to excel in such shots. Only the tip of the icebergs are being caught. What a shame!

• “police added that they have furnished these details to the department of immigration for a review of their visas.”

How can somebody be so stupid to show a false document to police in a foreign country? Where he or she holds a non-immigrant visa? Where using a false license is a bigger crime than driving without license? That’s unbelievable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Mike Chng on Dec 30, 2022 at 5:38 pm

Habis lah, kena Balik kampung….

• Mike Chng on Dec 30, 2022 at 5:39 pm

Jobless and banned soon……

• Boris on Dec 30, 2022 at 6:45 pm

33,000 Malaysians have lodged refugee applications in Australia right now, many many more overstaying. Malaysians of working age wonder why now so difficult to get tourist visa to Australia. Boleh Malaysia.

• I am saddened with this *refugee* business, I noticed one of my cousin actually doing this as a business to bring ppl over to Aus and follow by guarantee the *malaysian* they will have no issue with visa as she will sort it out for them as Refugees visa holder.

• Rizal on Dec 31, 2022 at 1:09 am

Sure will be deported soon

• Boris on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:11 pm

33K Malaysians have official refugee claims in Oz, one of the biggest reasons they give is that it is illegal to be homo or bisexual in Malaysia. Boleh Malaysia

• John derek on Dec 31, 2022 at 4:12 am

Mildura,junee,is not Malaysia ,it’s probably indonesia.get your facts correct before publishing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • Tjoker on Dec 31, 2022 at 9:25 am

Both are cities in Australia where these Malaysian men live. Check your facts

• Tajul on Dec 31, 2022 at 9:28 am

Those are the names of towns in Australia where the offenders were supposedly to reside during their stays…

• john derek – mildura and junee both in AU. the news is correct. your comprehension is weak.

• Bigfart on Dec 31, 2022 at 10:04 am

Don’t try to be a smart ass and read carefully

• Jim Derek on Dec 31, 2022 at 10:05 am

Both places are in Australia, as per the article. Get your facts right before publishing.

• Are u dumb? Learn to read before u try to correct others.

• Mildura and junee is actually the town in australia that they were staying.

• Those towns are in Australia lah. Google lah before posting!

• Mildura and Junee is a name of the town in Australia.

• zfalcon on Dec 31, 2022 at 11:34 am

You comment without understanding the news… mildura, junee refer to place in Australia… lol….

• Unforeseen on Dec 31, 2022 at 12:07 pm

Those are cities in Australia

• Lions on Dec 31, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Cities in Australia

• Lions on Dec 31, 2022 at 12:18 pm

Cities in Australia.

• Mildura and Junee, are the Australian towns that they are living in.

• tczainol on Dec 31, 2022 at 1:54 pm

Just google Mildura or Junee, both towns are in Australia. Probably their local address

• Deepsh8 on Dec 31, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Mildura & Junee are the towns where those Malaysians reside in Australia u fool

• nizam on Dec 31, 2022 at 2:55 pm

Mildura and Junee are cities/ place in Australia, according to google

• Tipah koyak on Dec 31, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Those are towns in Aus where they are staying right now. Duh….

• sarawak sarawak on Dec 31, 2022 at 3:53 pm

Mildura and Junee are towns in australia la.

• Those are the places they stay in Australia. Check out before pin pointing.

• Detmario on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:13 pm

Mildura and Junee is a city in Australia…Both of the drivers live in these 2 cities….you also get your facts right

• Aladin on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:26 pm

That a place in Australia loh.. where they stayed..

• Aladin on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:27 pm

That a place in Australia loh

• Boris on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:27 pm

Mildura & Junee are in NSW, Australia. Get your facts correct before opening your cake hole. These are some of over 40K Malaysian overstaying in Oz.

• arenara on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:47 pm

These are cities in Australia where they stayed

• James labu on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:52 pm

But the look of the license are similar to what we’re having in Malaysia

• Denoiz on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:58 pm

Most probably, those are territories/cities in Australia not Malaysia

• Mathew on Dec 31, 2022 at 5:31 am

They are all fake asylum seekers… Visa scammers. Should deport all of them to Malaysia. There are more thousands malaysians in Australia on fake asylum claims.

• “asylum seeker” – mostly on elgibitiqew pretext.

• Anda semua iri hati..anda semua tahu, susah dpt kerja d malaysia dan kalau dpt pun, gaji sangat ciput.. Biar la diorg kerja d Australia dgn cara apa sekalipun.. Bukan diorg minta tanggung anda semua makan dan minum.. Beras kamu di rumah kurang kah kalau diorg kerja di Australia..?? Saja tanya..

• Anda semua iri hati..anda semua tahu, susah dpt kerja d malaysia dan kalau dpt pun, gaji sangat ciput.. Biar la diorg kerja d Australia dgn cara apa sekalipun.. Bukan diorg minta tanggung anda semua makan dan minum.. Beras kamu di rumah kurang kah kalau diorg kerja di Australia..?? Tanya je..

• Luminous Brahman on Dec 31, 2022 at 10:25 am

tech savvy professionals from malaya migrated to oz starts lucrative fake driving license biz there

• Jean Michele Lee on Dec 31, 2022 at 11:25 am

These are the idiots that will give Malaysians a bad rep. My daughter is on a work visa and is serious about working towards a PR status. These guys should be deported back to malaysia to sort out their issues. When will inconsiderate Malaysians ever learn? Stop bring so selfish and ignorant!

• MauHalalkamauHaram on Dec 31, 2022 at 1:08 pm

Bail lah.

• Sohai on Dec 31, 2022 at 1:33 pm

Fake driver license? Big deal…
    Heard of Foreigners get fake IC.

• its easy to spot malaysian driver in australia. Failed at roundabout, tailgating, not giving signal when changing lane. easy target for patrol car. Police there know already.

• Why do you stupid journalists always cover for these drivers by blurring out their faces & names? They’re under 18 ah?

• Guts theme on Dec 31, 2022 at 8:15 pm

Very good chocolate go to jail.

• Dont be idiots on Dec 31, 2022 at 11:07 pm

Kudos to Aussie police.
    Send the idiots back to where they belong. If you idiots read this, my middle finger is on you. Don’t spoil our images in Australia with your crimes.

• This U turn Guy, something wrong with his KEPALA….your brains pergi CUCI DULU LA…

• I thought in Malaysia , Malaysia think only foreigners of Africans are the one doing fake things or Haram
    business , what shame so Malaysians are also doing mcm mcm, very fast the Malaysia media criticism of other national, that’s is why is not good to throw stone in the market it might hit your father or mother , I hope this is a lesson to the malaysia media a small issue of scam or wayward thinbs against other national very fast they will call warga aisng datang negara Kita , now malaysians become warga asing datang negara orang Australia buat kerje Haram, never judge all people same just because one person or some group did something wrong you count it to be all the people from that country did that, Now can we say all malaysia are into scam , pakai LA otak malaysia media ,

• Celicazz on Jan 02, 2023 at 11:09 am

Ni jenis kutuk negara sendiri berbakul-bakul pastu acah duk oversea dia terpaling maju.

Lesen pakai lesen terbang mindset serupa bangsa pakai cawat.

• Sanjivraj on Feb 27, 2023 at 10:18 pm

Yamaha 15zr