Highways toll-free in Malaysia for Chinese New Year 2023 from January 20-21, says PM Anwar Ibrahim

Prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has announced motorists will be able to enjoy toll-free highways nationwide from January 20-21, 2023, in conjunction with the Chinese New Year celebrations that start on Sunday (January 22, 2023)

“After that, please pay your toll fees,” Anwar said after chairing today’s cabinet meeting in Putrajaya. The decision was made after the transport and works ministries held discussions with toll concessionaires, which agreed to not impose toll charges for all vehicle types during the two days.

While no specifics were provided, it’s likely the same entry and exit rules from past exemptions for Hari Raya and the 15th general election last year will apply. As such, the toll-free period should start at 12.01am on January 20 and end at 11.59pm on January 21.

During the promo period, you must enter and exit a highway to enjoy zero charges. If you exit after the deadline, you will have to pay the full toll amount according to your class of vehicle. Should you be unable to reach your exit toll plaza due to congestion or delay, you can exit at the nearest toll plaza before 11.59pm on January 21 and re-enter the highway again, so you need not pay entire amount of your trip.

On the flipside, if you do enter the highway before the start of the toll-free period at 12.01am on January 20, you can do the same and exit the highway and re-enter it to enjoy free toll for the remainder of your trip.

While you won’t need to pay for toll during these two days, you’ll still need to use your Touch ‘n Go card, SmartTAG and RFID tag as usual because the barriers are still operational.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Janji hapus tol tapi diberi tol free dua hari on Jan 18, 2023 at 3:23 pm

Thank you Anwar, for this brief toll free. I am still hoping you will keep your promise to abolish tolls as stated in your manifesto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 19
    • Haters gonna hate on Jan 18, 2023 at 4:40 pm

Can you just shut the hell up ? He just been Minister for like what ? 2 months ? How many things you want him to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jan 20, 2023 at 8:25 am

2018: debt 1 trillion
        2023: debt 1.5 trillion

2020-2022 increased 50% wtf!????

• Kang Daniel on Jan 21, 2023 at 9:33 am

2018: debt 686 billion
          2023: debt 1.5 trillion

2019-2023 increased 119% wtf!????

• Janji dicapati on Jan 18, 2023 at 4:48 pm

refer my name

• Is toll free really essential in daily life or lower daily expenses more crucial

• Corruption ..A Clear and Present Danger on Jan 18, 2023 at 10:13 pm

After 2 months scrutinising all the MOF documents,PM got a huge shock.
      1.5 Trillion RM gomen hutang…from whose legacy?
      It is now impossible to abolish any tolls,except 2 days CNY sweetener.
      During the pandemic lockdown of parliament..seemingly billions of RM r spent.Now MACC investigating,but our hard earned taxdollars have evaporated.
      Even if Joe Low is hunted down n displayed in parliament entrance,a body search will discover a dozen worthless credit cards.Dont expect the billions of RM looted,to be returned.Perhaps millions of rupiah only.
      So,instead of asking for free tolls now,lets weed out corruption first.If we allow corruption to balloon national debt to 2-3 trillion RM..u need to carry a small briefcase.of cash,just to have your Starbucks coffee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • better then nothing from PN gov 32 months. Yillekk . Goods price also naik. SME close down. Hutang negara increasing. Pengsan

• MeToo on Jan 18, 2023 at 4:43 pm

Thanks, this will ensure most of the traffic is concentrated on these 2 days. Definitely helps to ease the congestion….

• It should be toll free as its more like a parking lot during festivities.plus should widen the highway 15 years ago.

• Just let the PM to do his job, as just recently elected.. don’t tell me over night he can change Malaysia into U.S & still no proven record of any PM’s has done so far. DSAI needs time.

• hazri on Jan 24, 2023 at 12:18 am

this is the first time we get free toll on chinese new year right? before this we never had.