PM Anwar’s daughter gets brake-checked on highway – what does Malaysian law say about brake-checking?

We’ve been there before – the driver of a vehicle ahead of you suddenly hits the brakes, and before long, it appears that the road ahead was clear, and there was no good reason for them to abruptly slow down. In essence, this was the situation faced by Nurul Ilham Anwar, daughter of Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Known as brake checking, the act of abruptly applying the brakes in cases like this one has less to do with ensuring the brakes on one’s vehicle are functioning as they should, and likely more to do with an act of retaliation towards another road user that has wronged or offended them in some way.

While Malaysian law does not address the act of brake checking specifically, this falls under reckless and dangerous driving, as described in Section 42(1) of the Road Transport Act 1987.

This states, “Any person who drives a motor vehicle on a road recklessly or at a speed or in a manner which having regard to all the circumstances (including the nature, condition and size of the road and the amount of traffic which is or might be expected to be on the road) is dangerous to the public shall be guilty of an offence and shall on conviction be punished with imprisonment for a term not exceeding five years, and to a fine of not less than RM5,000 and not more than RM15,000.”

Clearly, brake checking is dangerous and should not be done, and the outcome of misjudgement by any driver involved could result in other innocent road users getting collected by an out-of-control vehicle in the process.

Malaysian law has the tendency to put the blame on the car behind when it comes to collisions, so in this case the onus is on us to be able to provide evidence that the car in front is in fact driving dangerously.

Once again, a functioning dashcam would prove valuable in the event a police report is made, which then can be furnished with video evidence, especially if the following vehicle does not stop in time and collide into the brake-checking vehicle. Retention of evidence is key, therefore use storage that holds up to the rigours of Malaysian heat.

If you have yet to equip yourself with a dashcam, it would be a good idea to get one as soon as possible. It’s a wild place out there.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• walaun on Jan 20, 2023 at 7:43 pm

green car, which political party is green colour?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 34
    • TaliPAS on Jan 20, 2023 at 8:20 pm

You called?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Ask the driver to come to my office and I’ll teach him about tarakelola of driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Angry Voters on Jan 21, 2023 at 10:19 am

Driver will come with the rakyat protesters to show him that his bangsawan daughter should not deserve any special treatment. She too must follow the rules: ikut kiri jika bukan memotong.
          Power to the people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
          • Johorean drivers are the worst in Malaysia on Jan 21, 2023 at 6:05 pm

How u know she road hogger?

Maybe the Proton Iriz was rhe hogger all along and got pissed off from the high beam or tailgating like many Bangsa J drivers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • How you know she is not overtaking?

• Casual reader on Jan 23, 2023 at 9:16 am

If she was able to be tailgated by an Iriz, she isnt overtaking lar, use common sense.

• She tailgate the iriz, not the other way round. typical product of malaysian education, english pun susah nak paham

• Putang inamo TaLIPAS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Avenger on Jan 20, 2023 at 10:38 pm

People wouldn’t normally do that unless she was being an ass and likely she was. What was she doing on the fast lane in a near empty highway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • qwerty on Jan 21, 2023 at 11:03 am

“First saw this car near the toll gate when she honked at me for going towards the Touch N Go lane. I have signaled to go to the left, but I didn’t see any signal of her going right (towards Smart Tag lane). Guess she was mad about that”

• Normal people wouldn’t do that under any circumstances. And most likely she try to memotong at the fast lane because obviously there’s one green car in front of her

• Casual reader on Jan 23, 2023 at 9:18 am

Memotong what? There are NO CARS on the middle! Unless u saying she saw the mythical ghost VW Beetle lar.

• Anak PM so what? on Jan 23, 2023 at 2:48 am

Looks like not only your constituent voted you out.
      Even the roads are asking you to leave

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Suka sama suka on Jan 20, 2023 at 7:58 pm

Careful green car. Later you feel something entering your exhaust pipe then susah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
    • PH Supporter on Jan 21, 2023 at 10:22 am

PH only knows to do that, threats and mobism. Gangster government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
      • Johorean drivers are the worst in Malaysia on Jan 21, 2023 at 6:07 pm

Ironic cuz this was mostly done by BN rempit supporters in the past. Luckily they all got fired when BN bergabung with PH and cleansed themselves

• Casual reader on Jan 23, 2023 at 9:39 am

Dats farnie. Now PH gabung with BN, all dat you said about BN is also true for PH. Kah kah kah!

• I crashed my car inyo somebody who abruptly stopped his car for no reason. The lane forward was empty. But cops say it waS my fault for being too close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Bob_B78 on Jan 20, 2023 at 10:04 pm

It is your fault. Even if the car you banged don’t have any working braking lights you are still at fault unless it is night time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Don’t think it is brake testing. More like no confidence in driving cos the speed don’t look fast.

• Ask the driver to come to my office and I’ll teach him about tatakelola of driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Ask the driver to come to my office and I’ll teach him about tatakelola of driving

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Papa will take care of this on Jan 20, 2023 at 10:00 pm

Don’t worry honey. The car will be impounded, driver receiving police hospitality and warmth of a lockup

• An idiot did that to me. I was on a bike on a wet day. Had the impression the retard was trying to kill me. When I honked, he tried to side swipe me after getting into position. A lot of crazy people out there. Watch out and give them wide berth.

• Ismail Ras on Jan 21, 2023 at 7:59 am

2×5

• KalauDahMiskin on Jan 21, 2023 at 10:11 am

Where got road bully? Nampak biasa2 saja or mungkin brake tapi tak la sampai category road bully or mungkin dia terbrake sbb ada benda jatuh like hand phone. otherwise the green car driver is normal.

Jangan la perasan sangat? Stay cool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
  • Proton 90's king on Jan 21, 2023 at 6:29 pm

Brake switch rosak kot..

• Fast driver on Jan 22, 2023 at 5:24 pm

How about slow driver taking fast lane? Any law can compound this kind of attitude? Sometimes left lane is empty but still got slow driver stay on fast lane at below 80km/h even the sign about 110km/h. Should compound this kind of driver also if got video. Educate driver to be more responsive and responsible.

• Casual reader on Jan 23, 2023 at 9:40 am

Yes should compound her even if she is anak PM so what.

• Anak PM so what? on Jan 23, 2023 at 2:49 am

Looks like not only youf constituent asked you to leave but also the roads.

• najibrazak on Jan 23, 2023 at 1:59 pm

Video was cut short for her own convenience. Can see from the video that there are no other cars and both were hogging on fast lane for no reason. I am guessing that the green car is not happy our miss Nurul hogging fast lane and not giving way when flashed. Both were stupid if you ask me, the almighty BossKu.

• Thespian on Jan 24, 2023 at 2:14 am

The video showed no break-checking, don’t know what break checking is?

• Hantu Raya on Jan 24, 2023 at 12:07 pm

Gotta wonder what she did to p!ss off the Iriz driver.

• faezfazlollah on Jan 25, 2023 at 10:35 am

Mentang2 anak VVIP laju je amek tindakan, kalau marhaen mcm kita yang kena mana nak ada laju camni

• Actually the police could also issue summons to the recorder because she was clearly using handphone to record while driving. Let’s see if they actually do it =)